Terry just can't help himself

look on the bright side at least he didnt pick up Leigh Brown.

Don't worry about leroy Brown,ex Freo and Roos,player.
Has plenty of upside.Gorilla backman ,who can pinch hit up forward and ruck if required.
Only 26 years old,no injuries,was selected at pick 5 in 1999 draft.
Could turn things around,at our club.Only need him for depth and experience,and could quite possibly turn things around like ex fro team mates,like clement,holland and medhurst,all struggled at other clubs and Mick turned their careers around.
But your rightlucky he went to collingwood because i doubt whether Terry Wallet could turn him around.
Hislop good pick up for tigers will add much needed grunt in Tigers midfield and can play another 10 years,good pick up.

The OP was about drafting delisted players.
Trading is a key part of list management as well, Port showed that in 2004.
My point is not many delisted players go on to get better, yes there are always exceptions such as Guerra, but on the whole delisted players are a waste of time.

There are always exceptions. So why are you judging now who we drafted. This kid has lots of talent. So i would prepare to eat your words.

If all goes to plan, Leigh Brown won't play for the Pies next year.

But if we get a serious injury to one of our KP players, I'd be more comfortable putting Leigh Brown in as cover than an 18 year old that we've just drafted and who has never played AFL football.

Yup, and that's good list management to ensure coverage like that.

Of course, you'll cop crap on BF for it from people who'll think anything less than a star performance from a recycled player is a huge waste.

eg. Kent Kingsley, who was recruited as cheap, experienced cover when we had Brown out with a broken leg and Richo having had some soft-tissue problems the previous year...Luckily, he wasn't really needed, but people still bring it up as if it was a huge error.

whys isnt anyone saying the same thing about choco williams???

took david rodan with their last pick in the ND a couple of years ago

Took ex cat jason davenport with their last pick in this years.

oh yeah thats right, its because rodan went on to become one of ports best players in the last 2 years. and personally i think davenport will become a very handy contributor in the next few years, how many 70+ picks turn out to be stars anyway, a very low percentage. so whats wrong with giving someone in their early 20's a go, you have seen how they developed so their is less risk in that respect anyway. And 20 - 21 isnt old, if they can play you will get nearly ten years out of them

You are much better off taking a risk on a bottom aged 17 year old.
In 2006 Richmond passed on their final pick and took Kent Kingsley in the pre season draft.
Blind Freddy could have told you that would end badly.

Say they took a chance of a young 17 year old who went pick 7 as an 18 year old in 2007 that might have hit the jackpot. Rhys Palmer was available in 2006.

All risks won't turn out as well as Rhys Palmer but you have more chance than with a delisted player.

Very surprised the Tiger's only took 3 picks given the uncomprimised drafts coming up.

I don't think you can rookie 17 year olds can you? They could get snapped up next year if you don't punt on them now in the draft.

More surprised Sydney didn't have a massive restructure of their list. They are on the decline, so why not try to fix that problem now as much you can, rather than wait until the draft gets very hard to rebuild from when the Gold Coast re-enters.

It wasn't just us that passed on, and it was pick 70 which is quite high, plus nothing else went that was quality. PSD pick will be interesting.

Everyone, Hilsop was smart, he's already had two years of AFL work and is still a kid. Gee unless you're a fetus it's a failure. :rolleyes:

It wasn't just us that passed on, and it was pick 70 which is quite high, plus nothing else went that was quality. PSD pick will be interesting.

Everyone, Hilsop was smart, he's already had two years of AFL work and is still a kid. Gee unless you're a fetus it's a failure. :rolleyes:

I'm not talking about passing on just pick 70, I'm talking about only having 3 selections in the draft, given the up coming drafts are going to be severely restricted.

That is a fair point.

However, the counter is that the Tigers traded one of those picks away for Adam Thomson, who is young and is AFL capable and I'd suggest will be a handy pick up for them and will be as likely to be around until after the GC draft concessions have evaporated as Mitch Banner...

Should they have off loaded more of their older players ahead of the draft? That is a slightly different question than was posed in the OP.

I would just like to know what is the obession with Hawk supporters and the tigers????.Like the others said why not critise the other clubs that do it Hawk44 or a you implying the hawks havent recyled a player before:confused:.

I reckon the Tigers have done well considering their paucity of picks. I really think they should have had a bit more of a dip at this draft, but I can't really fault their choices.

Vickery is an excellent pick up and the Tigers are lucky to have him. I have no doubts about Hislop's ability, although I would question whether the coaches at Punt road are the ones I'd be trusting to bring the best out of "wayward" characters. Maybe with quality young people now finding their way down to Punt road with the likes of Deledio and Cotchin, the culture at Tigerland will allow a promising youngster like Hislop to develop.

That is a fair point.

However, the counter is that the Tigers traded one of those picks away for Adam Thomson, who is young and is AFL capable and I'd suggest will be a handy pick up for them and will be as likely to be around until after the GC draft concessions have evaporated as Mitch Banner...

Should they have off loaded more of their older players ahead of the draft? That is a slightly different question than was posed in the OP.
fair enough points you raise.

i think this is the second time Wallace has used only a few selections, and its surprising as their list seems a little unbalanced.

i just can't really see the strategy behind their rebuild looking at their drafts since he took over.

i think this is the second time Wallace has used only a few selections, and its surprising as their list seems a little unbalanced.

i just can't really see the strategy behind their rebuild looking at their drafts since he took over.

I'd suggest it is more to do with list development and wanting some more time with the cattle he has got, rather than a strategy as such. Guys like Schulz and Hughes, for example, have been on their list for a while and while haven't cemented their spots, have shown enough development to stay on their list. That cycle is a difficult one to break as it can lead to a slightly unhealthy list in terms of age vs experience.

Your a peanut mate and just bias.Unbalanced?? .Our midfield is coming up nicely and you can ask other posters that ,and our backline looks the goods.Yes we have weaknesses like all clubs and you talk about strategy why do you think we took Vickery and Post with our first two picks because we know our ruck and forward needs some work .Please if your going to critise know your facts.

I reckon the Tigers have done well considering their paucity of picks. I really think they should have had a bit more of a dip at this draft, but I can't really fault their choices.

Vickery is an excellent pick up and the Tigers are lucky to have him. I have no doubts about Hislop's ability, although I would question whether the coaches at Punt road are the ones I'd be trusting to bring the best out of "wayward" characters. Maybe with quality young people now finding their way down to Punt road with the likes of Deledio and Cotchin, the culture at Tigerland will allow a promising youngster like Hislop to develop.

Great post mate:thumbsu:

You are much better off taking a risk on a bottom aged 17 year old.
In 2006 Richmond passed on their final pick and took Kent Kingsley in the pre season draft.
Blind Freddy could have told you that would end badly.

Say they took a chance of a young 17 year old who went pick 7 as an 18 year old in 2007 that might have hit the jackpot. Rhys Palmer was available in 2006.

All risks won't turn out as well as Rhys Palmer but you have more chance than with a delisted player.
haha read up a few posts, often late picks and pre season pics can be used as depth players and thats what kent was due to brownys injury and richo at the time was still injury ridden, and in this case with hislop, its a gamble with huge upsides. These sorts of gambles can make a side

Your a peanut mate and just bias.Unbalanced?? .Our midfield is coming up nicely and you can ask other posters that ,and our backline looks the goods.Yes we have weaknesses like all clubs and you talk about strategy why do you think we took Vickery and Post with our first two picks because we know our ruck and forward needs some work .Please if your going to critise know your facts.
Learn to take criticism. Its my opinion, deal with it.

I don't believe its unfounded, I've watched with interest the Tiger's drafting as it has confused me.

I thought Tigers went for far too many outside runners first before getting the nucleas of their side. I think they could be a fair bit more advanced had they gone a little taller and stronger, but they went Meyer, Tambling, JON. That is where I think the imbalance is.

You went tall this year yes, but they take 3-6 years to develop, especially ruckman.

Learn to take criticism. Its my opinion, deal with it.

I don't believe its unfounded, I've watched with interest the Tiger's drafting as it has confused me.

I thought Tigers went for far too many outside runners first before getting the nucleas of their side. I think they could be a fair bit more advanced had they gone a little taller and stronger, but they went Meyer, Tambling, JON. That is where I think the imbalance is.

You went tall this year yes, but they take 3-6 years to develop, especially ruckman.

What a you on about ?? Thursfield,Mcguane,Moore were all there in 2004 the first year when we started rebuilding properly.Two of them got drafted that year.Thats the nucleas of ourside our backline and these guys take a while to develope.

Hawker,

Firstly Craig Cameron is in charge of recruiting not Terry Wallace. Therefore he is the one that has to take responsibility for the recruitment of Thompson and Hislop.

Secondly it is not like they are mature players, considering they are 22 and 20.

It is interesting to see that Richmond has taken 3 players with attitude issues late in the last 3 drsfts (Connors, Collard and Hislop). It is these risks that could make a club but then again could undermine the rest of the playing group if things go badly. Connors looks to be on the right track but with Hislop I hope they have done their homework.

Hawker,

Firstly Craig Cameron is in charge of recruiting not Terry Wallace. Therefore he is the one that has to take responsibility for the recruitment of Thompson and Hislop.

I doubt that is correct.
Certainly at Sydney I'd suggest Roos has the major input into trading for players & the recruiting of recycled players in the draft.

I'd imagine as with most clubs there is a list management group (in your case chaired by Cameron) and they set the overall strategy, with the recruiters focusing on U18 players.

Now I know with the departure of Miller, Wallace may have less influence than previously, but I'd be amazed if he wasn't primarily responsible for the recruitment of Thompson & Hislop.

The coach has the say on players from other teams as they have a much better knowledge than the recruiters who watch junior footy. Clarkson last year made the call on Dew and this would be the same at all clubs. Malthouse would have said he wanted Leigh Brown for example as there recruiter would have been keen for a young player.

I doubt that is correct.
Certainly at Sydney I'd suggest Roos has the major input into trading for players & the recruiting of recycled players in the draft.

I'd imagine as with most clubs there is a list management group (in your case chaired by Cameron) and they set the overall strategy, with the recruiters focusing on U18 players.

Now I know with the departure of Miller, Wallace may have less influence than previously, but I'd be amazed if he wasn't primarily responsible for the recruitment of Thompson & Hislop.

It's been made pretty clear that the recruiting is being done by...the recruitiers. The coach has input into what he would like, but that's about where his role stops.

In previous years when the recruiting staff was just one...I am sure Terry had a much bigger input.

One thing is clear, if Terry leaves after this year, he leaves with the playing list in far better shape than when he arrived.

so it was the clubs fault?

exactly.
Yes and No.
After making the finals in 01,Spud thought we were there.Instead of topping up with kids he went for gems in Hudson,Flemming,Nichol,s,Houlihan Blumfeild.

Its not the club,s fault because at the end of the day the coach should have the final say on the list.

It is the clubs fault for accepting the above:D