Thank you Brian Cook

Thank you Brian for your service to our club.
Can’t fault you topping up your super with Carlton cash.
Maybe you can get the Blues to come to KP once a year to see the stadium you built!
But will it still be called the Brian Cook Stand?

please take scott with you.

He probably will. A lot of Geelong supporters have called for change, we are starting to get it, so I hope none throw their arms up in the air and say we are now destined to drop to bottom 4. Things were getting stale, new faces, new ideas, a fresh reenergised group with new challenges, exactly what Geelong needs.

I'm really surprised he didn't retire.

What's left to do? They must have offered him heaps.
A mate of mine was bidding to buy a holiday house in Torquay 3 years ago.
Cook beat him.

My mate pulled out at 1.5. He said 'cook gets paid too much, that was overs'.

So if you leave a 20 year role, you're in your 60's, have a nice house in Torquay, why keep going?

Good luck to Carlton of course. He will help. I just can't fathom the personal decision.

Cook beat him.

So if you leave a 20 year role, you're in your 60's, have a nice house in Torquay, why keep going?

Good luck to Carlton of course. He will help. I just can't fathom the personal decision.

I’d say he definitely weighed up whether to retire, or spend 3 more years to try and turn around a rabble of a club, as like a last project to accomplish before he does retire.

Good luck to him, if he pulls it off it’ll be incredible, massive job at hand over at Carlton, but yes I’d say they offered a hell of a lot of money to get him.

Thank you Brian for your service to our club.
Can’t fault you topping up your super with Carlton cash.
Maybe you can get the Blues to come to KP once a year to see the stadium you built!
Surely his first task is to ensure the safe trade of Sam Walsh to Geelong for a 3rd round pick 😉

We owe Alex Popescu, Frank Costa, and Brian Cook all an enormous debt of gratitude. Without them, there may well not be a GFC today.

Wish him well, but feel a little sad he didn't stay to oversee the final stages of the redevelopment.

Thanks for the memories and the flags, Cooky.
The perfect storm that changed the tide for the Geelong footy club,nothing here but fond memories and bloody heaps of them.

Cook beat him.

Sounds like your mate gets paid too much as well, if that's the case. 1.5. mill for a holiday house is absolutely insane.

Cook beat him.

he got paid stupid money. he is 66 and had no intention to go again
his dream was to be on the afl commission, and they simply dont want him there
end of day is that the money is heaps - but pagan, malthouse and co have seen the power of reputation destruction the blues way

Sounds like your mate gets paid too much as well, if that's the case. 1.5. mill for a holiday house is absolutely insane.

Gee mate, he bought a pub in his early 20's.
Has spent 30 years working his guts out. (Says never buy a pub though)

Still drives a $15k car for example.
Married his girlfriend he met at 15. They've never been apart. He's the salt of the earth.

As far as I'm concerned he can do whatever he wants.

Maybe Brian can do us one last favor and make the recruitment of Scott and Scarlett to Carlton a reality. I'm sorry Scotty but to quote the Port CEO (who at lease acknowledges they have a problem) "No point talking because until we actually win a Premiership, no-one is going to believe us after that performance". Yet we regularly get that insipid performance in the finals, and we keep getting asked to believe - its starting to feel like a cult.

Gee mate, he bought a pub in his early 20's.
Has spent 30 years working his guts out. (Says never buy a pub though)

Still drives a $15k car for example.
Married his girlfriend he met at 15. They've never been apart. He's the salt of the earth.

As far as I'm concerned he can do whatever he wants.

That's all fine. But why is Cook not the same, then? You make it sound like he's been phoning it in when he's obviously put in massive hours and expertise over a very long period of time. I would see that he's just as entitled as your mate to be bidding on that house. And it doesn't sound like he was planning for it to be his holiday house, either.

Rules for some, perhaps?

Thanks Cooky.

But anyone but Carlton, surely.

Fair enough. For me, though, anyone but Geelong just wasn't going to feel right at this point. Still, it's his life and he definitely owes us nothing.

A legend of our club, whatever goes on from here.

he got paid stupid money. he is 66 and had no intention to go again
his dream was to be on the afl commission, and they simply dont want him there
end of day is that the money is heaps - but pagan, malthouse and co have seen the power of reputation destruction the blues way
I think it more smacked of the appeal of a big new challenge.

West Coast and Geelong are great clubs, but they aren’t the same as a big Melbourne club.

I wonder whether maybe things were a little too comfortable with him and the football department. Cause as soon as hocking arrived, and apparently rustled some feathers, all the sudden things are changing.

Should have been done a while ago.