Toast Thank you Josh Kennedy

JK is my all time favourite athlete, across all sports.

He is the reason why my son got into footy.

He is the reason my wife started supporting the Eagles (mostly for his looks I have to say, but still, lol).

He is the reason I turn on to watch game after game in this abysmal season.

I love his passion, determination, footy IQ, his humble personality, the clutch goals, the beard, even that horrid stutter step run-up he had for a while.

I have taken a while to process the retirement news, and I’m still devastated even though we all knew this was coming.

Thanks for the memories JK. You will always be remembered and missed.

I am man enough to say I had a few tears, knew it was coming but devo when it did.

Champion/legend of the club. Dont think words can describe the impact he has had with the club.

Thank you so much JK enjoy your retirement.

If the rest of the boys dont come out breathing fire and cant get a win for a club legends last game, they shoulb be all sacked immediately.

Mark Robinson on how West Coast picked up a champion after trading Chris Judd​

Josh Kennedy was a Sunday arvo treat.

The Eagles play everywhere and anywhere, but the Eagles at Subiaco on a Sunday were must-watch TV, and have been for decades.

And here Josh Kennedy flourished.

Not more than at any other ground, for he was a travelling star, but Kennedy in the wild west was a spectacle for footy lovers.
He kicked bags of goals. And all sorts of goals. He was one of the most accurate kicks from long range. He could kick curlers from the boundary, or could kick a drop punt from the same distance and same angle if the conditions demanded it.

From the opposite pocket, where right footers aren’t advantaged, he could kick right to left, which doesn’t leave a lot of margin for error.

Early days, he was twinkle toes in his run up, a shuffler in his footy boots, and that made him at times a comedic punchline for the commentariat, which is made up mostly of goal kickers.
By the midpoint of his career, he was Mr Reliable in front of the sticks.
Now, at the end, the same commentariats would tip their hats to Kennedy.

He was a no-fuss footballer. He didn’t always jump around and high-five teammates after kicking a goal. He’d smile under that bushy beard and make his way back to the square and set his mind for the next.

He was professional and unflappable, and was always presenting himself for teammates with the pill. And if it was a bad kick, he’d never grumble. He’d wave his hand and get on with the job. Guessing here, but there would be thousands of hours of footage of Kennedy playing football and there wouldn’t be one second of him berating a teammate.

Looking at him, he looked dishevelled at times, an ol’ style footballer, but gee he had yards of class.
His first bag of six goals came against Hawthorn at Subi in 2010. He kicked 10 against the Bulldogs in 2011 at Subi. And in 2015, he kicked 11 goals against the Blues at Subi.

It was probably about then the great debate started.
Kennedy’s first big headline came via one of the most famous trades in football history, when Chris Judd departed the Eagles for Carlton and Kennedy, who had played 22 games and kicked 11 goals, was shuttled west to make it happen.
That was in 2007.

In 2022, Kennedy’s final big headline is much less dramatic, but far more profound: Kennedy retries a champion.
There’s no doubting that.

He retires on Sunday and, before that game, has kicked 715 goals from 292 games.
On the all-time goalkicking list, he currently sits at No.24.

On one side of him is Matthew Pavlich (700 goals) and Collingwood’s first champion Dick Lee (707). On the other is Tom Hawkins (716), Nick Riewoldt (718), Carlton all-timer Harry “Soapy’’ Vallence (722) and the truly greats, Peter Hudson and Wayne Carey (727).

If that group made up your fantasy footy dinner party, you wouldn’t be disappointed.
Contacted Tuesday and asked to describe Kennedy, Carey, the Riewoldts and Hawkins, did not hesitate to respond.
Carey: “He’s a great player. He has the ability to push off his opponent, he puts in early bodywork and he has the ability to work over his opponent and find space. Modern-day defenders still say their most difficult opponent is Josh Kennedy.

“Jack Riewoldt and Josh have the same craft and their craft has to be good to get separation from their opponent. And he had really good hands, great hands, he always put the hands out on the lead.’’
“He’s been a star and he’s a ripper bloke.’’

Nick Riewoldt: “His ‘split technique’ or ability to create separation between himself and his opponent using footwork, multiple short leads and change of direction is as good as I’ve seen.’’

Jack Riewoldt: “I have always looked up to him as a player and as a person. He looked to have a great work-life balance and was a master in the art of playing forward. One of the good guys of AFL football.”

Tom Hawkins: “I’ve often watched Josh throughout his career to try and pinpoint what has made him such an incredible player for so long. I always come back to the conclusion he is elite in three main areas on the field: Work rate, reading the game/identifying space and within his own unique goal-kicking routine he is lethal in-front on goal. Particularly in big moments.’’

As for the Judd-Kennedy trade, it was a win-win, although Kennedy’s 15 seasons at the Eagles against Judd’s seven and a half at the Blues would have Eagles chiefs mightily chuffed. To be honest, we are all chuffed because he made lazy Sundays entertaining.

Hopefully a packed house for the great man this week.

Get to the game if you can.
Coming from Melbourne! Wouldn’t miss this for the world. Hope as many of you get down to Optus on Sunday

"Champion" gets thrown around a lot but it's pretty fitting for Kennedy, seems like an incredible person as well as footballer player. Personally think he's criminally underrated in terms of KPFs over the last 15+ years. I'd only have Buddy ahead of him.

Not upset he wont be able to kick 6 goals against us every derby anymore though...

If more players had Kennedy's attitude towards the game, the AFL would be a far better place.

Champion player, champion bloke.

Feel incredibly lucky to have been able to watch him go round, how spoiled we supporters have been.

This has hit me today even tho it was coming for a while. Growing up as a kid I was envious we never had a gun KPF in the mid 2000's and then funnily enough I was spewing when Jk became part of the Judd trade. Didn't really have to wait to long TBH with His 2010 being very promising and his 2011 being his breakout year.

Hopefully he gives us one last stutter before he bows out

View attachment 96865080_269312470892016_742595941353127936_n.mp4

Watching through these highlights

• he was an incredible kick off his left, very underrated
  • he’d have 800 goals if he was just a little bit more selfish, gave off plenty
  • when they erect his statue outside Optus, it should be JK leaning back slightly with those long arms of his outstretched celebrating yet another goal

This has hit me today even tho it was coming for a while. Growing up as a kid I was envious we never had a gun KPF in the mid 2000's and then funnily enough I was spewing when Jk became part of the Judd trade. Didn't really have to wait to long TBH with His 2010 being very promising and his 2011 being his breakout year.

Hopefully he gives us one last stutter before he bows out

View attachment 1464340

I reckon he will

Watching through these highlights

• he was an incredible kick off his left, very underrated
  • he’d have 800 goals if he was just a little bit more selfish, gave off plenty
  • when they erect his statue outside Optus, it should be JK leaning back slightly with those long arms of his outstretched celebrating yet another goal
I know he's played 17 season but he still had his fair share of injuries. Reckon he would have had 800 if he played over 300 in that time frame

If the team put in anything less than 150% for him on Sunday I will riot

Two things that I've noticed in all the well-wishing.

1. Oppo fans calling the Judd trade a win-win. No, we outright won. We got the best of Judd, and a KPF who would be the greatest of the modern era if he wasn't competing with the greatest of all time. I often hear about how Judd set standards at Carlton, and helped lift them out of a bad era. But being brutally honest, he didn't lift them up enough for it to balance out how flipping good JK ended up being.

2. The comparisons with Jack and Tom are fair, they're all relatively closely bundled together. But you have to give JK serious credit for keeping up with those two while travelling as much as both of them combined. No wonder his knee is cooked.

As sad as it is to see him retire I'm happy for him. He has achieved so much. Much like Lecras am glad both retired with a premiership medal before there careers were done. There's nothing Kennedy hasn't done at AFL level. He would have no regrets which makes me happy. Can't wait to watch him play one last time and cheer him off into retirement. A true legend of our club.

Congrats to Josh Kennedy, but selfishly disappointed he won't be there for 1 last derby, would have loved to be able to partake in the celebration of his & Mundy's great careers. 2 very likeable blokes regardless of who you support.
yeah me too, would be nice, but perhaps waters down the accolades that both JK and Mundy deserve if they share a day

Toast Thank you Josh Kennedy