Thanks for the memories Max Rooke

The game needs more nuggety blokes. I guess there's still Jarred Moore and Jarryd Blair - is must be a Jarr(a/e/y)d thing.

He always wanted to play League, perhaps he might show up at Parramatta next year. :D

Max Rooke is the only man I ever truly loved. :p Such a hard bastard (for the new sanitised AFL) who was a touch leftfield too. The debate being generated by some utter mongs on here shows he got under the skin and good. Farewell Max, only your retirement has made me feel quite depressed about what has happened in the past month to Geelong.

Now, the rest of you can continue to derail this thread and sprout petty bs.

And to the Saints fan talking about karma against Max, karma is Stephen Milne and that chance he had to get a boot on to the ball in the dying moments of the 2010 Grand Final.

Good post, mate.

It's actually similar to a post I made earlier when I said Rooke will be remembered (mostly by Cat fans) as the Geelong weirdo with facial hair who had a go, but who was basically a pretty ordinary, limited footballer.

For some reason, this opinion is not considered to be "correct" enough for the main board.

Hopefully the mods leave your post as it is and don't delete it.

Thats my problem with all your points right there....

For me, there is a BIG difference between calling someone a 'plodder', which you did, and a 'pretty ordinary, limited footballer'... who may I add, gave everything he had and went hard in most of the games he played.

You can call him out for not being OUTSTANDING all the time, and the thread may deceptively lead you to believe he was because its a toast on the main board, but by not rating him at all and by declaring he was soft, a bench warmer etc... genuinely does make your posts look uninformed, because there is a difference.

geez - must have been utter rubbish to only scrape into that perennial wooden spooner geelong :rolleyes:

i loved him - ive always got time for a blue collar bloke in a blue chip team who gets in on heart and toughness

if you havnt got anything nice to say - piss off and start a max rooke hate thread in the bay where you belong- and see how many people care.

Shame on you for being so intolerant of diverse opinion.
Nothing wrong with an opinion except if you state it as fact, which is what you have done. Point is, almost all and sundry have disagreed with what you have stated.

In my opinion, nobody will remember Max Rooke, apart from one-eyed Geelong fans. Let's face it: he was a very ordinary footballer. Revered by teammates for his bravery, but not really as tough as many people claim, otherwise he would've spent less time on the sidelines re-habbing and actually played more games. If he was as tough as people claimed, he also would've stuck with the christian name his parents gave him. There's nothing tough about changing your own name to "Max". I actually think there is something vaguely ridiculous and conceited about re-naming yourself.

I would rate Max Rooke behind Dean Wallis for his contributions to his team's premiership as the semi-skilled hard bastard. Say what you like about him, but at least Dean Wallis held down a position for the entire season. He wasn't a bench warmer like Rooke.

Threads like these really belong on the Geelong Board. Why would anyone other than a Geelong fan care if Max Rooke has retired? It's not as though he was an ornament to the game, or even contributed a solitary highlight in his ordinary 130 game career. Lord knows why the moderators and Geelong fans get so uptight about people expressing their honest opinions. This isn't the Geelong Board, for chrissakes... We're allowed to be sensible and honest on the main board, aren't we?
Hi Chewy,

Good to see you still write pompous essays on why your ridiculous opinions aren't as dumb as they actually are.

Regards,
STC

Nothing wrong with an opinion except if you state it as fact, which is what you have done.

Point is, almost all and sundry have disagreed with what you have stated.
What a load of bollocks! All I ever did was give my opinion. I even typed the words, "In my opinion" which is something I don't normally bother doing. I think it's unnecessary to do so. Of course, it's just an opinion!

What do you actually mean by this:

Nothing wrong with an opinion except if you state it as fact, which is what you have done.

Please, do tell....

If you ask me, you're the one who is somehow trying dress your opinion up as fact. Why else would say that "almost all and sundry have disagreed with what you have stated" ? Do you think that because your opinion is more popular than someone else's it somehow makes it a fact?

Good one. :D:thumbsu:

In any case, please point out what this supposed DISAGREEMENT is that people have with my opinion.

a) I said that Rooke is a plodder, a jobber, an ordinary footballer who knows his role, a player with limited ability who tried his best. Geelong fans say the same thing, but in more loving tones.

b) I said that apart from Geelong fans, most people won't remember him. Trust me, they won't. Ablett, Bartel, Stevie J, Chappy, Scarlett and Lingy will be remembered. Not Rooke.

c) I suggested the main board on Big Footy is not really the place for those who wish to see only postive 'fanboi' comments about their team mascots and 'heart and soul' scrubbers. You can't seriously argue with this. I've seen hundreds of threads more derogatory than this feelgood love-in.

I questioned whether Rooke deserves to be considered the toughest man since Chuck Norris after he missed so many games through injury. This seems to have raised your ire, but I was merely playing devil's advocate. There are plenty of footballers who play injured. There are also plenty of footballers who have also suffered debilitating injuries like Rooke, but who were also ridiculed for being soft, overweight, unfit and slow.

Of course, I don't think Rooke is SOFT. Only an utter moron would suggest he is. A bit like those nimrods who try to suggest that Campbell Brown isn't tough, purely because they don't like the way he can be a bit of a sniping bastard. Ring any bells?

Talk about losing all credibilty. And you call me a troll. Yeah, good one, SJ. :thumbsu:

Disagree

An example of trolling is when you earlier made an crack about Peter Crimmins being soft (or when you made repeated cracks about Trent Croad being soft)

Both of them tough-as-teak champions who played 200 games and were good footballers who actually won awards. Sorry. Crimmo would've played 200. He played 176 games and then died of cancer.

Those comments of yours were designed purely to get a rise out of me.

Trolling.

You said he couldn't have been that tough because he suffered several injuries.

What the **** is that? Absolutely ridiculous.

Agree very much with bigfarter in that his loss hurt me much more than that of Ablett or Bomber. He exhausted all possibilities and tried to get as much out of himself as he could. You just know he was shattered when the docs told him he just couldn't do it anymore.

LongBomb said:
A shame there's always a ****wit who will try and derail a thread like this.
Disagreeing with people is not "derailing a thread". Nor is disagreeing with the premise of the OP. Wake up to yourself! Big Footy's Main Board isn't for the Geelong Cheer Squad to post drivel about their b-grade players and then expect everyone else to follow suit. It's an open discussion where everyone's views are tolerated.

That's why a thread such as this would suit you better on your own club board. You get to pull each others' puds about what a legend Max Rooke was and the mods over there give infractions to anyone who disagrees, thereby protecting some of you precious pussies from getting upset.

The OP reckons Rooke is a "legend", "one of the toughest players ever" and he says, "Thanks for the memories". I disagree on all counts. If the thread was about Michael Voss or Mark Ricciuto, I would probably agree and post something more complimentary.

There's no need to attack me personally for expressing my personal view and THEN try to claim the high moral ground. Gee, how messed up is that? I'm entitled to have a different opinion. Just because some of you don't like my opinions, it doesn't make me troll. That's absurd and childish.

LongBomb said:
There's a good reason chewy was banned from the main board.
You have no idea what you're talking about, so don't even pretend that you know.

And please try to follow the rules and avoid abusive personal attacks and evasion of the swear filter. You could receive infractions for that type of stuff.

Some of the points chewy make are fair, his legend grew after 09 Grand Final but he was never in our best ten players at any one time. He is a wonderful character who will forever revered by us, but he was no star. I think that was why he was loved so much, he was just a guy who walked off the street With no special ability and became a Geelong hero.

Max Rooke facts suggest otherwise ;)

You gotta respect Max Rooke.. Put everything he had into his footy and the Geelong Football Club. I didn't think he was any good when he was young but he sure come along way since those days ..
Becoming a cult figure and 2 time Premiership player and to become one of the hardest players to ever play the game just shows the character of the man..Sad that he actually went out like this he still had so much to offer..

Not going to derail the thread, and also I have no problem with threads like this (which at times really should be confined to team boards) but really think posting video upon video of his toughness is over the top. Don't really think it's truly reflective of his career.

But in that particular instance, there was no malice, but there was also no duty of care whatsoever - that isn't toughness.

Like I already said, he went in hard but also was at times rather sloppy in his execution.

Good on him though, he's a premiership player.

The incident was a lot worse than it would've been if Rooke's direct opponent didn't have hold of Rooke's arm while he was airborne.

As for Chewy, for someone who supposedly doesn't rate Rooke at all, he sure is posting a hell of a lot in a thread about him. :p

I hate you Max Rooke. Good riddance.

1st and last goals of the 2009 grand final. Game over.

Screw you for all eternity.

That was your last game. One last act of evil before karma came and ruined you.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA bl St Kilda!

Obviously not in the mold of Max rooke

more like max Sook

How are Geelong your bitches? Please state considering you have been pwned twice by them in the preliminary finals?

Another fine example of your accidental comedic genius.

First you accuse me of making a chilldish comment, then you post, "applause.gif" like a true 13yo

You are hilarious... Really...

You are really a dead set idiot whose obviously underloved in life. Love the irony of your avatar as a supposed hard man

Hawks1.jpg

Didn't he go running from Hawthorn as well like the little bitch he is for money???:confused::confused::confused:

The incident was a lot worse than it would've been if Rooke's direct opponent didn't have hold of Rooke's arm while he was airborne.

As for Chewy, for someone who supposedly doesn't rate Rooke at all, he sure is posting a hell of a lot in a thread about him. :p

He has a man crush like his pal Bosk.

How are Geelong your bitches? Please state considering you have been pwned twice by them in the preliminary finals?
We've beaten you twice easily in the last 2 hitouts ( one in the prelim very very easily)

You are only as good as your last match against us and we owned you both times.

The momentum has shifted from you to us in all regards, ...............deal with it, just as we were told to!!!

Didn't he go running from Hawthorn as well like the little bitch he is for money?
Yeah, well you can't blame him. Brown will earn more money next season than Rooke made over his eight seasons on minimum wage at Geelong. And when people talk about little crying bitches who run from their club for more money, there's probably one or two better examples for you to use, Dymwit. :D:thumbsu:

Thread should be on gee long board.

Should we start a goodbye Goodwin thread or a goodbye junior McDonald thread on the main board?

If you do not want opposing views from opposition supporters then keep it in house...........

We've beaten you twice easily in the last 2 hitouts ( one in the prelim very very easily)

You are only as good as your last match against us and we owned you both times.

The momentum has shifted from you to us in all regards, ...............deal with it, just as we were told to!!!

You're a typical dumb Colliongood supporter. You mention you're only as good as your last match and then some how that refers to two :confused::confused::confused:??? IDIOT!

Yeah, well you can't blame him. Brown will earn more money next season than Rooke made over his eight seasons on minimum wage at Geelong. And when people talk about little crying bitches who run from their club for more money, there's probably one or two better examples for you to use, Dymwit. :D:thumbsu:

Pity the lovechild of the Dawks is a turncoat :D! Hypocrasy considering the Ablett shit from Hawks Fans :D. Also pretty certian Rooke wasn't on minimum wage either :D.

Thread should be on gee long board.

Should we start a goodbye Goodwin thread or a goodbye junior McDonald thread on the main board?

If you do not want opposing views from opposition supporters then keep it in house...........

So you were happy with the Brad Johnson responses about him knifing AKA etc?

I agree with the majority of neutrals, this thread belongs on the Cats board, when a thread like this gets posted on the main board about a player who was B grade at best, the following happens:

1. Supporters of the team that the player plays for calls him a legend
2. Eventually a neutral will disagree
3. FLAME WARZZZZ

Max suits him more than his original name.

Thanks for the memories Max Rooke