That game was our season

if you look at the repeat games this year.......
we beat the siants lost the 2nd

beat the roos lost the 2nd

beat the bombers won the 2nd

beat port lost the 2nd

next 2 games

lost the 1st to both sydney and the doggies

so by saying this i think that we have more to play for and especially after how we lost to sydney and the doggies...

if we cant beat atleast one of those our season is over

If we lose both, we will in all likelihood finish 6th and play Brisbane/Essendon or Collingwood at the MCG.

Regardless of how we go over the next few weeks you would have to be a brave man to write our season off...2001 ring a bell?

Lets keep our season into perspective, we are 4th with 2 rounds to play with the 11th and 7th placed sides to follow...

I guess we should pull up stumps for the year then, we're down to 4th and have no chance to be competitive in the finals...

On the flipside it was good to give Port's 10 supporters some joy :rolleyes:

we must smash the bulldogs who are the weakest side going around.........

and we must show sydney that they cant keep pushing us around, then and only then will we shake up the finals............

If we lose both, we will in all likelihood finish 6th and play Brisbane/Essendon or Collingwood at the MCG.

Regardless of how we go over the next few weeks you would have to be a brave man to write our season off...2001 ring a bell?

Lets keep our season into perspective, we are 4th with 2 rounds to play with the 11th and 7th placed sides to follow...[/quote]

thanx mate........excatly the point i was making......
wich is why i dont understand all this talk about this one game that we lost by only 5 in the last dying seconds when it could have gone either way.............

and remember we beat port in that 2001 semi.............at their home ground...

our season starts in september..............

Don't let 2 minutes of footy this afternoon change peoples thoughts on what has been a very very good season for the Hawthorn Footy Club. I did think you guys would make the finals this year, but at no stage did I think you would play the footy you guys have churned out this year.

It's all part of the learning curve, and i'm sure the players, whilst disappointed, will take quite a few things out of the game.

Got to be honest, that loss is going to hurt, that game was in the bag on more than 1 occasion today. The undiscipline free kicks, 50m penalties all added up in the end. 1 point up, 1 minute to go, get numbers back, this is something that hawthorn do all the time, why not this time, some very poor decisions in the box and on the field today, ALL game.
I have to once again raise the question, and I know most Hawk fans wont like it, is Sammy Mitch over rated, in saying that we all know he can get the footy, but maybe running one way so often restricts you developing the defensive side of your game, his game today on cornes was WOEFUL!!!

If we win next week, there is a good chance that is all we need to finish in the top 4.

Lets keep the tightness of the competition into perspective, we are up and down like a rioter scale. Even if we lose the last 2 and limp into the finals in 6/7th there is a good chance we will play a winnable team at the MCG – where we play our best football, and from there we could very easily play a Kangaroos (MCG) or Port (AAMI) for a spot in the Preliminary Final.

Lets keep this result in perspective, we lost a winnable game against a fellow top 4 club on a ground both clubs have a very good record on.

If we win next week, there is a good chance that is all we need to finish in the top 4.

Lets keep the tightness of the competition into perspective, we are up and down like a rioter scale. Even if we lose the last 2 and limp into the finals in 6/7th there is a good chance we will play a winnable team at the MCG – where we play our best football, and from there we could very easily play a Kangaroos (MCG) or Port (AAMI) for a spot in the Preliminary Final.

Lets keep this result in perspective, we lost a winnable game against a fellow top 4 club on a ground both clubs have a very good record on.

i think we need to win atleast one game to garuntee finals...

the bombers the lions the swans the dogies or the crows if one or two of those clubs win two games and we loose two then its guna be difficult..........

I'll be confident again next week. Was a big disappointment for me probably because I was so confident going into the last quarter.

But moving forward........gotta get momentum into the finals with brilliant wins over the next two weeks.

GO HAWKS!

We had our chances to win the game and we didn't...

The pleasing thing is that we are putting ourselves in a position to win games consistently and really that is all you can ask for.

Sure some will go our way , like the Geelong game earlier in the year and some wont.

Both teams had there chances to win it, they were just a liitlle cleaner with their execution when it mattered and a little harder at it , and their tackles stuck... which is why they got the decisions there way..(on a side note Boyle needs to develop his defensive game - i counted 4 missed/feeble attempts to tackle today)

The umpiring apart from 2 decisions - Hodgey's and the disallowed mark to the Port player was pretty much spot on today ...We were second to the ball most of the day and very sloppy with our tackling all day..

I lost count on how many times we jumped or fell on top of them - just stupid, lazy football.

We gave away 2 goals today and that was the difference , Port didn't give away goals and they were more disciplined.

In the wash up we've got possession of the the ball (Crawf) on the wing with 104 seconds to play and we were 7 points up...GAME OVER...

It required 3 kicks sideways or backwards and the game is iced...

instead our most courageous and experienced player took the wrong option (so forget this young list crap) - good effort but no chocolates - now for the doggies

GO Hawks

i think we need to win atleast one game to garuntee finals...

the bombers the lions the swans the dogies or the crows if one or two of those clubs win two games and we loose two then its guna be difficult..........

They'll knock out clubs in the process, IMHO 11 wins a draw could well be enough to make the 8 this year...given our percentage we could well finish 6th with 12 wins - although its not a great thought.

Hysteria aside, IMHO we are shoe ins for the finals, regardless of how the final fortnight is...

we need some luck for the next to rounds. We need a few clubs to lose & Dogs to lose this evening.

That game was not our season. That is just plain stupidity saying that.

If you were completely unrealistic and expect nothing less than a premiership, then perhaps it was. But most of us have our feet on the ground, and realise making the finals is an achievement, which we should do even if we lose the next 2 games (provided our % doesn't get smashed).

If we finish in the bottom 4, then so be it, and hopefully we win a final. To think we would make top 4 and win it all, absolutely everything would have to go right, and I never expected it to.

Next year we'll be better for the experiences this year, and a better chance of doing great things.

Disappointed about losing this game, but at least we were very competitive, and in a winning position. Far easier to fix than getting anihilated.

Finally, Port were at full strength, and have many premiership players. They know how to get the job done, and it's something we'll get better at doing.

Basically, people, ya know that lid thing, well it actually means something, it means don't never get ahead of yourself and take things for granted.

They'll knock out clubs in the process, IMHO 11 wins a draw could well be enough to make the 8 this year...given our percentage we could well finish 6th with 12 wins - although its not a great thought.

Hysteria aside, IMHO we are shoe ins for the finals, regardless of how the final fortnight is...

hope your right coz the finals start the same weekend as my birthday and i realy want to celebrate by going to see my club play finals........;)...

Me and the missus have a real love/hate relationship at the moment.
I bleed brown & gold, she is a passive Port Adelaide supporter.

She arrives home with 3 to go and proceeds to watch Port win the game.

Un****ingbelievable. I still cannot believe we lost that!!!

Kick her out!

Unbelievable you married someone who barracks for a team we lost too! ;)

I'm soooooo disappointed!

Lets not get too worried about today. I've only just managed to calm down and i think i've broken my hand after punching the wall several times but it's not as bad as some may think.

We won't play that badly again. We were shocking today and still should have won. We will learn more from losing than winning that one. We will win next week and Port will get pumped by the Cats. This time next week we will be ahead of them again. Top 4 is ours for the taking and all we need to do is win the next 2 games of footy. Sydney are not that good despite all the hype and media "experts" talking them up.

yea we lost, in very disappointing circumstances but no biggie we need to move on...

We have a ledger to even up against the Doggies next week, without doubt I think the boys will be pumped after today's disappointing loss. That's one thing we can all look forward to.

That game was not our season. That is just plain stupidity saying that.

Basically, people, ya know that lid thing, well it actually means something, it means don't never get ahead of yourself and take things for granted.

How can we be ahead of ourselves? We just missed beating 3rd, who weve already beaten anyway, weve beaten 1st, beaten W/C, Coll and North. Stuff the lid all it means is expect the worst, stupid attitude-aim for the top and be shattered if you don't get there!

Lets not get too worried about today. I've only just managed to calm down and i think i've broken my hand after punching the wall several times but it's not as bad as some may think.

We won't play that badly again. We were shocking today and still should have won. We will learn more from losing than winning that one. We will win next week and Port will get pumped by the Cats. This time next week we will be ahead of them again. Top 4 is ours for the taking and all we need to do is win the next 2 games of footy. Sydney are not that good despite all the hype and media "experts" talking them up.

haha..

I don't think we were bad! If we had won the game ppl's attitudes would be slightly different. We were pretty undisciplined at times but that didn't cost us the game because we were winning with a minute to go! So obviously we were good enough to get to that position.

They were just better, I think!

I also think that we will learn so much more having lossed than if we won!
So there's a positive if you're looking for one!

Still I'm pissed and angry, I think an undercover murder plot of Goldspink should be orchaestrated at the stroke of midnight on the night of the 19 th (today). We will rally and make it look like an accident! We shall call it operation w*nker killer!

Word. :cool:

haha..

I don't think we were bad! If we had won the game ppl's attitudes would be slightly different. We were pretty undisciplined at times but that didn't cost us the game because we were winning with a minute to go! So obviously we were good enough to get to that position.

Still I'm pissed and angry, I think an undercover murder plot of Goldspink should be orchaestrated at the stroke of midnight on the night of the 19 th (today). We will rally and make it look like an accident! We shall call it operation w*nker killer!

I agree with everything you said (in fact i think i said most of it) except i can't agree that we played well.

As for Goldspink you wouldn't have to make it look like an accident as no jury would convict someone for that;)

haha..

sory they wernt better we were just worse.........

goldshit is guna have to be ivestigated by hawthorn as to why he hates us so much..maybe one of the players slept with his wife.......or husband wich ever........so he holds a grudge.........

fact is we shouldnt play port in tassie they play better there than us, we wouldve won at the G. When i saw the fixture at the start of the year with port in tassie i wasnt happy, in fact i am starting to think the whole tassie deal is no good when we couldve had a cupple more games at the G instead and won them !

That game was our season