Autopsy The 2017 AFL Grand Final - What did you like, learn or hate?

Like: Tigers deserved each and every minute of that. Their comeback from around this time last year when they were just sinking dramatically, to now, is incredible

Learn/confirmed: If you play fast footy, don't slow down in the grand final.

Hate: People talking down Dustys game - he wasn't the standout, because Richmond had so many players stand up, but he was around equal best with 4 or 5 others, so he deserves it. Umpiring whinging

There wasn’t a clear ‘this guy was head and shoulders better’ standout but for his ball use Martin was head and shoulders above the rest in a scrappy game skill wise. Aside from his lack of tackles I actually thought his game was very Selwood-like. Ie. his impact from 29 touches was far bigger than a lot of 35-40 touch matches.

Liked: The Tigers flag will provide a lot of joy to a lot of people, and they earned it. I didn't predict it but who gives a **** what I think.

Jacob Townsend is the first player from the Giants inaugural list to win a premiership medallion. Who would have thunk it. Serious congratulations to him, turns out heart and effort, and being a bit of a prick on the field can bring success.

Learnt: Crows fans will have to tough it out a bit longer. I think they've build a very good side the slow hard way, the upside of that is they wont fall away anytime soon

Hated: Nothing. What happened was meant to be

Liked: Richmond, played 4 quarters as a team and got what they truly deserved to get.
Learnt: Never get too carried away yes Taylor Walker.
Hated: Adelaide, horrible effort especially once some calls did not go their way not sure if that would have made any difference on the result but most of them looked scared out there. You don't get this chance very often. They'll either learn from it or not in the future.

Liked :- congrats to the Tiges. Sloane gave 100%.

Learnt :- Eddie Betts had obviously used up all his "umpires pet" points, ...................... or they should be lining up at OPSM on Monday.

Hated :- lack of recognition for Houli's game, kept them in the game early.

Liked :- congrats to the Tiges. Sloane gave 100%.

Learnt :- Eddie Betts had obviously used up all his "umpires pet" points, ...................... or they should be lining up at OPSM on Monday.

Hated :- lack of recognition for Houli's game, kept them in the game early.

From who? Everyone agrees he had a great game. Whatever you think of the medal, everyone has been pretty unanimous that Martin, Houli and Rance were the three best.

Liked: really liked that josh caddy has found his place in the game. At the suns he was a talented kid in a bad side, at Geelong he was a trier who was reasonable but just never really found the right fit. At the Tigers he has a perfect role for himself and is playing it very well. Good on him.

Hated: the crows insipid effort. Doubtless they were fantastic this year but losing a prelim and then seeing the side that smacked us put in such a poor showing makes the prelim even harder to take. We wouldn’t have beaten Richmond today but I’d like to think we’d have put in a better effort than what the crows showed.

Learned: Martin is at the very least the equal of Dangerfield and truth be told, he is the better player right now.

Liked: 4 quarter effort from Richmond. They have extracted every ounce of talent from that list, and it's nice to have been wrong about Dimma.

Learned: A "second to the ball" team can win the GF comfortably. Houli can play.

Hated: the increasing impact of the cult-like status of famous players. It's affecting everything - commentary, umpiring and (yes) the Norm Smith.

Also that I have no idea any more about what is incorrect disposal and prior opportunity. Somehow we need to shake up these rules because it is mystifying at the moment and that's not good for the game.

Finally, Channel 7. Absolutely everything about their coverage was shit.

Hated the finals series as a whole. Boring as ******* bat shit.
Looking forward to the new deal in only 20 short years when the mcg won't be hosting the gf every single year no matter who finishes higher.
Equalisation? There's a good place to start.
Loved: all the salt from supporters of interstate teams claiming the AFL is biased towards Vic teams. You could have played the GF at Port Augusta today and the crows would have still copped a hiding.

Liked: The Crows lost and my facebook feed is in absolute meltdown. Seeing the Tiger army go ballistic. Seeing Brendan Gale and Richo in tears of joy.

Learnt: Finishing on top of the ladder in the regular season means nothing. When it comes to previous form during the year, that also means nothing.

Hated: I actually hated the Crows performance after half time. Most of the team went missing bar a few players (Crouch brothers, Knight, Cameron and Sloane).

I didn't look too much into Walker's quick speech to be honest.

I learnt that the captain of the Adelaide football club is a very poor loser and his speech was a disgrace to all supporters of the Adelaide football club...

The coaches reaction while the speech was going on was enough to confirm his disgust as well!
what did he say?

Like: Tigers deserved each and every minute of that. Their comeback from around this time last year when they were just sinking dramatically, to now, is incredible

Learn/confirmed: If you play fast footy, don't slow down in the grand final.

Hate: People talking down Dustys game - he wasn't the standout, because Richmond had so many players stand up, but he was around equal best with 4 or 5 others, so he deserves it. Umpiring whinging

Nah Rance and Houli both had better games but i think Martin was in the best 5-6 on ground.

Learnt: You don't need to be the best team in the completion to win the flag.

Also, being the trending player elevates you drastically in Norm Smith voting. There were at least 3-5 better players than Dusty

Seriously, go suck a fat one. Your days of AFL entitlement are over. Welcome to the world of equality.

Liked: 4 quarter effort from Richmond. They have extracted every ounce of talent from that list, and it's nice to have been wrong about Dimma.

Learned: A "second to the ball" team can win the GF comfortably. Houli can play.

Hated: the increasing impact of the cult-like status of famous players. It's affecting everything - commentary, umpiring and (yes) the Norm Smith.

Also that I have no idea any more about what is incorrect disposal and prior opportunity. Somehow we need to shake up these rules because it is mystifying at the moment and that's not good for the game.

Finally, Channel 7. Absolutely everything about their coverage was shit.

And finally you know feck all.

Who would you have voted for? Rance early was immense repelling the constant flow into Adelaides forward line and rebounding the ball.

Houli was a standout when the game was on the line. Martin got a lot of it late in the game.

Seriously, go suck a fat one. Your days of AFL entitlement are over. Welcome to the world of equality.

What? Maybe have another one and drive home champ..

Richmond were by far the best team today, that's no contest. But they weren't the best side this year and the rest of your statement is jibberish

What? Maybe have another one and drive home champ..

Richmond were by far the best team today, that's no contest. But they weren't the best side this year and the rest of your statement is jibberish

I've said this many times in the past - and I didn't think I'd get to say it about Richmond.

The aim of the game is to win the Grand Final. To do that, you have to qualify for it by making the finals and winning finals.

If you get there, but don't win the GF - by definition, you aren't the best side for the year. If you think Adelaide were the best side this year, you're thinking about it wrong.

The best side is the one that is good enough to make the finals, good enough to win their finals and good enough to win the Grand Final.

Calm down mate.

One day, this premiership will be just one in the history of the game.

You on the other hand, posting shit like this will always be remembered as an ungracious flog.

Magnanimous in victory and gracious in defeat,grasshopper.

Autopsy The 2017 AFL Grand Final - What did you like, learn or hate?