The Age Footy Legend no 7: Gary Ablett Snr

Jun 11, 2007
[redacted]
Legend No.7: Gary Ablett
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/legend-no7-gary-ablett/2008/06/29/1214677845426.html

By John Harms

IF YOU ever saw Gary Ablett play you will remember him. And you'll know exactly what I'm talking about. The mention of his name will have you shaking your head.

If you are too young to have seen him play, then I suggest you go to one of those internet sites such as Youtube. From time to time I logon myself, and just a few minutes of highlights make that familiar smile return to my face. That smile you get when you watch him. That Ablett smile.

I'm not sure words can convey what sort of footballer Gary Ablett was. He wasn't conventional. Not a classical player like Bob Skilton. Nor a thinking player like James Hird. Not a routine champion like Wayne Carey. Nor someone whoever sat down to work out how he could make the most of his ability. He just played.

Yet he could do all the conventional things, but in his own way. Even the way the ball came into his possession. Or the way he carried it. Or the way he collapsed his lower body when he realised he was a storey and a half high and had to return to terra firma without ruining his knees and ankles. It all had his own look. The Ablett look.

It is safest to say this: people - a lot of people - went to the footy to see Ablett play. They were drawn to him, beckoned by the promise of a dazzling performance. Even though there were many times when he disappointed them. Because Ablett's genius wasn't always set free. You could never be sure.

Part of his attraction was that he seemed to do everything on natural talent alone. People loved that he wasn't one for training; he just wanted to play footy. That he could be erratic. That he wasn't one for the business or the enterprise of footy. He was somehow outside the system, never on the conveyor belt of the industrial complex that football was becoming, during his time.

No-one doubted his ability. But after a short stint at Hawthorn in 1982 he decided VFL footy wasn't his go. He disappeared up north, before having a year in Myrtleford where his feats beggared belief. Geelong picked him up.
He was 22 during that first Geelong season. He had a mop of sandy hair. When he ran it trailed in the wind like Manikato's mane. He looked to be moving so fast. Because he was. When he set after the footy it seemed no-one could match him for pace.

Even though he played on a wing or a flank in those early days he was the lead character whenever he pulled on the boots. The game was about him and he drew the eye. He was big and strong and not afraid to use his physical power. There was an element of brutality in him. And he managed to strike fear in many of his opponents some of whom were injured when they got in his way.

By the late '80s he was the freak. His talent remained untrimmed by the demands of his club or the competition. He would start on a wing, have a stint in the centre, roam about, go up forward for a while, and kick 14. Especially against Richmond. And then he cemented his place with nine goals in the 1989 grand final against Hawthorn.

People were intrigued by him. He was restless. When he sat out of footy for half a season there was genuine disappointment across the entire footy community. We wanted Ablett.

We wanted to go to the footy or watch on TV with the prospect that he would be flying for marks, kicking 60-metre goals (post high), bursting through packs.

He leapt closer to the heavens than anyone of his era. A pack would form, and suddenly Ablett would appear above it. He could run and fly or he could get his knee on the shoulder of opponent (or teammate) from a standing start. And at the instant the players' jump launched him higher.

Yet he was very human. A man of some complexity. Seemingly lacking peace or serenity.

By the '90s he looked like the players of yore. Like he could have stood with the thugs and urchins of 1920s Collingwood. Like the Colliers he looked old when he was a young man. Like he could win a gurning competition.

This oddly shaped athlete. Balding. Rounded shoulders. A big bum. Massive thighs. Who played with little facial expression, rarely showing emotion even when he had stunned the crowd with his brilliance (again). And kicked 100 goals a year, before his knee gave way. Ablett, considered one of the greats, sadly, faded away.

For me he will always be the greatest, partly because of what we saw, and partly because I suspect he had even more to give. As ridiculous as it sounds I reckon we never saw Gary Ablett at his absolute best.
He was an untamed colt; the rawest brumby. And the most talented.

GARY ABLETT

Born: October 1, 1961
Recruited from: Myrtleford/Drouin/Hawthorn
AFL/VFL debut: 1982, for Hawthorn
Games: 248 (Hawthorn, six games, 1982;Geelong 242 games, 1984-97)
Goals: 1030 (Hawthorn nine, Geelong 1021)
Farewell game: September 8, 1996

Career achievements

Honours: Carji Greeves Medallist 1984 (four-time runner-up); Coleman Medallist 1993, 1994, 1995; All-Australian 1984, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1994, and 1995 (captain); Norm Smith Medallist, 1989 grand final (with a finals record-equalling nine goals); Leigh Matthews Trophy as AFLPA MVP, 1993; Selection in the AFL Team of the Century; Selection in Geelong's Team of the Century; Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee; voted Geelong's Greatest Player Ever in 2006; 11 games for Victoria (captain in 1995). Captain of Geelong, 1995-1996. Club leading goal-kicker: 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, and 1996. Awarded Mark of the Year in 1985 and 1994. 1994's mark declared Mark of the Century.
Fifth on all-time leading goal-kickers list.
All-time leading goalkicker for Geelong.
Oldest player to kick 100 goals (33 in 1995).

How fukn disrespectful putting the games greatest at number 7. :thumbsdown:
The age has always been sh!thouse at rating players.

No i think the age has got it spot on. They are ranking legends of the game - the guys with the greatest influence upon its history!

The write up was very good - Ablett was the most gifted player of them all. He was the wild bush man who just played the game. He did not have the involvement of the others ranked ahead of him - no coaching premiums like Matthews or Barassi, no great leadership qualities such as Carey or Ian Stewart and he certainly was no personality! He was simply an extraordinary player who's sublime football ability is unparalleled. I like the fact that he is down the list somewhat, i think it adds to the mystique that surrounded him.

However, i get the feeling that if you created a list of players that would make you go and watch a game of footy - he would be well and truly in the #1 position!

How fukn disrespectful putting the games greatest at number 7. :thumbsdown:
The age has always been sh!thouse at rating players.
The best aren't always first, ask Selwood what he thinks about number 7.

Ablett had more to give? yikes , despite all he has done he is still marked harshly.

I think if u asked the top six who they thought was the best player a lot of them would say Ablett is rite up there . I hope his recent troubles havent come into consideration with this choice.

I didnt see any of the triple brownlow medalists play, and i was too young for Leigh Matthews, though his record is fantastic. I grew up watching Carey, Lockett, Voss , Hird and Buckley. Not to mention a few other outstanding players that are too many to nominate. These players were fantastic ofcourse, but even without my support of Geelong, i can comfortably say Ablett was the best of that group.

Listening to Mark Robinson on SEN this arvo - he rated King Gazza the First as the most watchable player he'd ever seen. He had no great leadership qualities OR ambitions, and he wasn't a sparkling media personality. The bloke just wanted to play footy, and he could actually play a bit:thumbsu:

Just re-watched (for the tenth time or more) an hour or so of Gary Ablett highlights from his Hawthorn days up until 1991 or so. John Harms had it spot on. That Ablett smile.

F*cking GROUSE player!!!

Gary Ablett kicks 10.6 against the Crows in a losing team in 1993 and polls 1 vote, Matthew Richardson kicks a couple of 4's and 5's and is lauded as a champion, same with Reiwolt, same with Hall. The media drives what a player will be remembered for nowadays instead of the on field feats. Just imagine if he spent the whole week working on his and his opponents game as they do now.

If a player was to picked out of everyone at there peak to be the franchise player for the club Gary Ablett would easily be the number one choice, people came to watch him play he left people in amazment (including me), he was the AFL Michael Jordan. IMO no one has come close to him in terms of footballing ability.

Would be interested to see the stats on his year playing in Myrtleford.

Gary Ablett kicks 10.6 against the Crows in a losing team in 1993 and polls 1 vote, Matthew Richardson kicks a couple of 4's and 5's and is lauded as a champion, same with Reiwolt, same with Hall. The media drives what a player will be remembered for nowadays instead of the on field feats. Just imagine if he spent the whole week working on his and his opponents game as they do now.

I'd bet my bottom dollar that he failed to even get a vote in that game.....whereas Longmire in the same round kicked 6 against a then absolutely pathetic Sydney and gets 3 votes. Gary Sr was crucified in a Brownlow context. Hope his son can redeem that for the name at least.

LOL Polly Farmer at no.6 - Ablett was voted the greatest ever Geelong player. Although the old farts are the ones picking the players - Bobby Davis, Ron Barrasi, Tom Hafey etc... :rolleyes:

In fairness, this is not a list of the 'best' or 'greatest' players - it's 'legends', thus can take into account aspects outside playing.

Farmer played a lot of WAFL football which I doubt would have been included in the Geelong voting, plus he also coached for a time.

I'd bet my bottom dollar that he failed to even get a vote in that game.....whereas Longmire in the same round kicked 6 against a then absolutely pathetic Sydney and gets 3 votes. Gary Sr was crucified in a Brownlow context. Hope his son can redeem that for the name at least.

Don't forget Gary had Garry (Hocking) often taking votes from him - Buddha always polled well, and may even have taken Charlie home if his nose was cleaner and he wasn't sharing the limelight.

I agree with the statement that Gary Ablett Snr could have been even better. Imagine if he had the same training regime that today's players have - if he worked as hard as his son appears to? I honestly believe he could have been better still. But would Senior have survived in the corporate AFL of today? Probably not, we'll never know. I for one am glad that I had the privilege of watching him play live. Greatest player I've ever seen.

Even better privlilege was from 84 to 88 when we use to be able to jump the fence and sit on the boundary for the final few minutes of each match before racing on to pat him on the back before he dissapeared up the race. Damn Capper soon stopped that though as some wanted to have a go at him. Absolute fav memory of mine racing onto the gournd at the final siren, no black bombers or 2nd sirens back then.

Given this was written in 2008, at the beginning of Ablett Juniors reign . . . would he now sit comfortably beside his famous father, or perhaps even poke his nose out infront?

Juniors achievements are breathtaking. Not sure there has been a more dominant midfielder in the modern era.

Given this was written in 2008, at the beginning of Ablett Juniors reign . . . would he now sit comfortably beside his famous father, or perhaps even poke his nose out infront?

Juniors achievements are breathtaking. Not sure there has been a more dominant midfielder in the modern era.
Senior for me. Everyone use to go to watch him, I have been to many games where there was neutral supporters just there to watch the great man.

Junior is the better player.

Ablett Jr was the best player in the AFL from 2007-13, with a short break in the middle for Swan and Judd. I have never seen sustained domination like it.

Very few people outside of Geelong supporters would consider Sr to be really among the favourites for Best Ever. But they would consider Jr - alongside probably Carey, Matthews and Coleman.

Ablett Sr was more unique. But Jr was better.

Senior for me. Everyone use to go to watch him, I have been to many games where there was neutral supporters just there to watch the great man.
Spot on OzeSparky
Senior had that aura about him - similar to Greg Norman or Buddy Franklin in their prime.
It wasn't just neutrals who were in awe - I've seen opposition supporters smile and shake their heads at some of his feats.

I've been an avid football follower for a few decades and Senior still stands apart in my eyes as the best talent I've seen.
Starting as a ridiculously quick winger/flanker who scored goals at will to the beast of a full forward who kicked over 100 three years in a row to win the Coleman each time. Elite to amass over 1000 goals in a career.
Rare combination of sublime skill and raw, frightening power which he wasn't afraid to use.
The famous short twitch fibre which enabled him to produce incredible athletic feats in bursts which made him unstoppable.
His highlight reel is Jordanesque .......how lucky are we to have had Senior and Junior play in the hoops :) :thumbsu:

The Age Footy Legend no 7: Gary Ablett Snr