The Flood Crisis

I live in Graceville, here are some pics of my area. I was extremely lucky, but heaps of friends and family weren't. My uncle has a huge mansion on the river, and it didn't just flood, it washed away.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6086237&l=b0291edff1&id=536276133

here is a bit of a story in the Australian about my little area, I live on Strong Avenue, which is adjacent to Graceville Ave and Verney Road East (mentioned in the story)

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/someones-in-strife-you-go-to-them/story-e6frg6n6-1225986635510

F*** mate, you were lucky by the looks of it.
I'm feeling so sorry for all the people that have been affected by these floods, it's honestly pretty devastating.

I live in Graceville, here are some pics of my area. I was extremely lucky, but heaps of friends and family weren't. My uncle has a huge mansion on the river, and it didn't just flood, it washed away.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6086237&l=b0291edff1&id=536276133

here is a bit of a story in the Australian about my little area, I live on Strong Avenue, which is adjacent to Graceville Ave and Verney Road East (mentioned in the story)

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/someones-in-strife-you-go-to-them/story-e6frg6n6-1225986635510
That's full on Thommo. It didn't look too bad but when you said there were houses under the water and it went up another 2-3m, you're lucky with your house! Hope your friends and family were insured, even still it's a headache you don't need.

at least 50% of people thought they were insured, but aren't.

Only Suncorp and Westpac cover for 'this type of flood', all the other majors don't cover floods, due to some obscure definitition. Although to be fair to AAMI, who I am with (and luckily don't need to claim) they have it pretty clearly poijted out in their policy docs that they don't cover for flood by ANY definition.

I was certainly a very lucky resident of our street, only 3 houses didn't get any water - in fact we didn't even get anything downstairs either. To give you an idea, I am number 156, and am about 3/4 way up the street, and only 3 houses weren't flooded.

At first I had the same "anger" to you over the slow approach of the government to this crisis, but when you look at the situation, there's very little the goverment could have done better.

Even if they had of sent what remains of our fully trained armed forces (after the best had been deployed overseas) into the area, most of their equipment, talent and personnel would have been useless against what Mother Nature has thrown at QLD anyway.

No one, especially not the army/navy etc had the technology or knowledge to predict exactly how bad this disaster was going to become, or know exactly where the worst of this was going to hit, so sending the armed forces into different areas blindly may have caused more harm then good.

Having said that, as soon as it is physically possible, every man and women who is currently enlisted in the defence force in this country, should be heading to QLD to assist in the biggest recovery and rebuild in this country's history, or else I will join you in blasting any and all governments.

If I was the PM, I'd even be bringing some specialist troops home from overseas (surveryors, builders, etc etc) to start rebuilding QLD's effected areas, as soon as is possible.

Lives have been lost, but if the Government doesn't act fast, and throw all it's resources at the recovery and rebuild of virtually an entire state, then we will have our own "Katrina" on our hands, and QLD will struggle to ever rebuild properly.

This is true Matty, being in Canada I barely took notice of it until I kept seeing the headlines after christmas and around the NY. So I went back over all the video clips from thehun and the age online from when it first started around a week before Xmas. That way I feel like I get a better understanding being so far away. Nearly every weather report/news report early on made little comment on uncoming rain.

That really shits me when companies use a loophole to avoid paying out their customers/employees, but it's definitely something you need to check and double check with your insurance. Fair enough if they say they don't cover it, but saying you do but only certain types is almost a con.

Can't disagree Ed, some insurnace companies are a sham and that includes the big ones.

I did work for AAMI as a part of the management team many moons ago and I have to say they are one of the best companies I have worked for period. I did work in claims and managed in that area too. I am glad to hear AAMI is not one of the ones being a$$es about this situation.

Although clearly stating ANY FORM of flood is not covered is devasting for all those ppl who are insured with them but I guess as long as it is clearly printed, unlike the hidden clauses.

Yep, I checked my documents when the flood was clearly coming, and they couldn't have been more clear. Under a massive heading "What we don't cover", FLOOD, was 3rd on the list.

One annoying thing is that my insurance premium will skyrocket now, because the underwriting process won't recognise that I wasn't actually flooded.

Yep, I checked my documents when the flood was clearly coming, and they couldn't have been more clear. Under a massive heading "What we don't cover", FLOOD, was 3rd on the list.

One annoying thing is that my insurance premium will skyrocket now, because the underwriting process won't recognise that I wasn't actually flooded.

Whilst that is technically correct. Wait for some word from AAMI. All those years ago when Sydney had the first massive hail storms I walked in (worked in Melb) to work at 7.30am with something like 250 calls in the queue (2 calls was busy at that time) and by 10am AAMI had made the decision to apply the excess but not affect anyones policy in terms of ratings. NRMA had a message stating they were too busy with calls and try back later, which went til mid afternoon....

So with the extent of the disaster and that is key for insurance companies - disaster as once that has been declared then they are allowed to utalize their massive insurance policy (if it covers floods ironically) which then all they do is pay a massive excess and then can claim all the damages from their customers.

I am not saying they will end up covering ppl that are not covered under their policy but they may do something for their policy holders that have been affected? It certainly wont compensate them for their loss but it might be a little bit to help out.

Again it is devasting and Victoria now looks to have some trouble heading their way. Makes our snow storms over here at the moment quite small in comparison. Although shovelling 25cms of snow out of the driveway at 6am this morning so the misses could get out for work was annoying enough.

In terms of the premium skyrocketing, maybe maybe not. Technically if AAMI does nothing for the flood victims (as under their policy; including their car insurance side as their policy states) then really they have incurred no costs....

Thus your premiums should not be affected. Alternatively if you did not claim you will not lose your rating and thus the only increase would be a general price increase in the premiums which you probably see most years anyways. Therefore it all comes down to what, if any claims they undertake in Qld and more specifically your postal code, as this is what would determine your premium for the most part. Given they do not cover floods they base their premiums based on thefts/fires/etc. in that postal code region. If those things come down you may normally see a drop in price, if those things are on the rise then normally the premiums go up.

yeah, but I think I might switch to one with flood cover - although I think if I didn't go under this time, it would take armageddon to get me

So would I as the only reason for insurance is to protect you so may as well get flood coverage. Any insurance company that decides to include floods from now on will be very busy ppl soon.

I read the article in the herald sun and it appears you will be better off not having any insurance at all. They are saying if you have insurance but not flood coverage too bad, but if no insurance at all then there is assistance being provided. Bit rich if you ask me.

So would I as the only reason for insurance is to protect you so may as well get flood coverage. Any insurance company that decides to include floods from now on will be very busy ppl soon.

I read the article in the herald sun and it appears you will be better off not having any insurance at all. They are saying if you have insurance but not flood coverage too bad, but if no insurance at all then there is assistance being provided. Bit rich if you ask me.
Cave Emptor m8 the gov needs to rebuild those that didn't have any insurance at all before those that chose not to cover for floods.

Blame insurance companies first.

Cave Emptor m8 the gov needs to rebuild those that didn't have any insurance at all before those that chose not to cover for floods.

Blame insurance companies first.

Easy to blame the insurance companies and as stated earlier, those that say they cover flood but then seperate it in the fine print and only cover one type and do not cover several other types. That is shoddy. However as it has been pointed out AAMI clear states in the things NOT COVERED and floods of any type are not covered. So hard to blame AAMI for that.

Sorry m8 not completely blaming insurance companies as I said at the start of the post - let the buyer beware - but it certainly isn't the govt's fault so to be clearer blame the careless insurance buyer or the shoddy insurance companies first before blaming the gov.

You are right and the govt will no doubt do a good job. I guess they must decide who goes first and rightly so those that are without insurance at all should be the first.

It is just tragic and everyone over here in Canada knows about it and they are watching the footage daily and reading about it. Terrible for everyone involved.

You are right and the govt will no doubt do a good job. I guess they must decide who goes first and rightly so those that are without insurance at all should be the first.

It is just tragic and everyone over here in Canada knows about it and they are watching the footage daily and reading about it. Terrible for everyone involved.
My own state of Victoria is starting to feel the pinch as torrential rain has been hitting the west of the State for two days now with rainfall likely to exceed 300mm for the last two days - fortunately no deaths yet but the incredible deluge from Qld down to western vic is damn near unbelievable. :eek:

I hail from the great state of victoria and all of my family are there as well. I am watching that with great interest as well. It is just amazing coming from Australia yet not being there and no danger of myself losing possessions to see it all unfold.

I do not mean that in a horrible way but hopefully you know what I mean...

I hail from the great state of victoria and all of my family are there as well. I am watching that with great interest as well. It is just amazing coming from Australia yet not being there and no danger of myself losing possessions to see it all unfold.

I do not mean that in a horrible way but hopefully you know what I mean...
Sure I know what you mean I have friends in Gippsland and I watched in fascinated horror as the bushfires ravaged through there recently. In fact I have a friend who's daughter nearly lost her house to the fires when it was stopped barely in time at her back fence by those heroes of the CFA.

My cous got hit by floods last night in Halls Gap.

yeah, but I think I might switch to one with flood cover - although I think if I didn't go under this time, it would take armageddon to get me

Didn't the worst recorded floods in Brisbane reach a peak at over 8m in the 1890's? You'd be boned if a flood that bad reoccured.

My cous got hit by floods last night in Halls Gap.

Didn't the worst recorded floods in Brisbane reach a peak at over 8m in the 1890's? You'd be boned if a flood that bad reoccured.
Sh1t Q so would Melb or Sydney - 8 meters is a liquid landslide of biblical proportions and most capital cities hug the main river bed.

Yeah I didn't mean that to sound rude or to be tactless. I'm just saying floods can be worse so deciding on whether to get house insurance or not on the assumption this is as bad as it will get might not be the best way to make that decision. Although i'm sure that is stating the obvious.

Understood Q seems sound thinking to plan for the worst case scenario with insurance or else what's the point of taking it out in the first place.

This disaster has been going on for over 10 days.i am so angry that the government has done nothing.the Prime minister was at the cricket for 2 days FFS whilest people in Rockhampton, Dalby and Chinchilla where losing their homes.it has taken til now until people have got off their xmas break and realized what the **** is going on...

Even more angrier that the government sent the Australian navy and provided $1 billion in relief to Indonesia after the tsunami and earthquakes,but has done absolutely **** all except provide a few blackhawks for our own country

wake the **** up Australia!

What was the PM going to do, her names Julia, not Moses!

I hate it when you see a pollie on TV during a disaster, it always seems like vote buying. Luckily I've been spared that, being at "ground zero" so to speak. As a Commonwealth employee, I can say that no-one had a break if they could be useful.

Re: Financial aid... we have a good working economy that will provide for those who need aid, Indonesia doesnt, thats why we're better:)

Re: ADF contribution - you don't commit all your resources until you know where they will be needed. I was cutoff for 3 days, didn't need help, so dropping a pallette of TP by Chook would have been a waste of resources, and you'd be bitching about that too!

At first I had the same "anger" to you over the slow approach of the government to this crisis, but when you look at the situation, there's very little the goverment could have done better.

Even if they had of sent what remains of our fully trained armed forces (after the best had been deployed overseas) into the area, most of their equipment, talent and personnel would have been useless against what Mother Nature has thrown at QLD anyway..

You have an agenda, and I can live with that,

Our "best" may or may not be in the Ghan, Timor, Darfur etc, but they total less than 5% of the ADF, and I'll let the boys know that they're second class next time we have a beer. Want to join us?

No one, especially not the army/navy etc had the technology or knowledge to predict exactly how bad this disaster was going to become, or know exactly where the worst of this was going to hit, so sending the armed forces into different areas blindly may have caused more harm then good.

Good call.

Having said that, as soon as it is physically possible, every man and women who is currently enlisted in the defence force in this country, should be heading to QLD to assist in the biggest recovery and rebuild in this country's history, or else I will join you in blasting any and all governments..

And who will help in Tasmania, NSW, and Victoria? I hear WA have some problems too

If I was the PM, I'd even be bringing some specialist troops home from overseas (surveryors, builders, etc etc) to start rebuilding QLD's effected areas, as soon as is possible...

Most of the specialist troops you talk about are here, in Aus, and they have a job to do, so lets get the civvy surveyors, chippies, sparkies and the like and give them the job of rebuildin our community.

Lives have been lost, but if the Government doesn't act fast, and throw all it's resources at the recovery and rebuild of virtually an entire state, then we will have our own "Katrina" on our hands, and QLD will struggle to ever rebuild properly.

I'm in Bellbowrie, one of the suburbs flooded. Our needs can be covered by the civvy sector now, as it should be.

The Flood Crisis