The Footy Show's 2019 format revealed (and other Nine AFL stuff)

The term PC is a curious one, one that is bandied around as much as "yeah nah".

Ive read and heard some suggestions that this is the cause of tfs demise. I've also seen in dispatches that the marngrook show be brought to commercial tv to fill the void. Now, if that occurs i am positive there will be cries of PC for its introduction.
In summary everything is PC.

i hope you w***ers who bagged the show are happy now.

first you bitch and moan about thee being a lack of football content, and the show is all about entertainment and jokes.

they give you more football content, then you criticize it for it not being entertaining enough.

i hope you w***ers who bagged the show are happy now.

first you bitch and moan about thee being a lack of football content, and the show is all about entertainment and jokes.

they give you more football content, then you criticize it for it not being entertaining enough.

Great straw man argument.

Sometimes things just need to end.

We have more than enough football related shows now, landscape is very different from 15,20,25 years ago.

In its heyday (which spanned a long time) it was probably the 2nd most successful sporting show in Australian TV history, behind Wide World of Sports.

If you want to enjoy your footy the best thing you can do is just no watch or listen to football related shows. They make the game crap. Watch your side, games you have an interest in, go to your club site and you will find you start enjoying it a lot more.

Who cares if a player farted? That's all these clowns go on with these days. Its all about scandal, bagging coaches, players etc.

In its heyday (which spanned a long time) it was probably the 2nd most successful sporting show in Australian TV history, behind Wide World of Sports.
huh?

In the history of sporting shows in Melbourne television it, The Footy Show, probably captured some of the veteran audience that loved World of Sport that ran for god knows how long. From early sporting tv history here to mid 1980's. Tried to throw a flavour of that and original Thursday night League Teams and World of Sport relaxed live feel together and treat it like a sportsman's night. Was dying a natural death when Sam getting too old he losing interest in following game closely and final nail was the awkward real life stuff of Gary and Bill's. Meaning the natural lightness and humour could not keep them involved that was part of chemistry of these types of shows. Once it became forced it was totally over. New hosts etc, just changing seats on sinking ship.

All tv shows have a certain time length that naturally will run it's race. If a shows last well over a decade, it has had a good life. Over two decades rare air.

World of Sport was the parent, Footy Show the offspring of Westpac Footy Panel that was part of the footy theme each Sunday. Sam Newman uniquely part of both shows. The old fossil outlived many but time waits for no man.

Ive read and heard some suggestions that this is the cause of tfs demise. I've also seen in dispatches that the marngrook show be brought to commercial tv to fill the void. Now, if that occurs i am positive there will be cries of PC for its introduction.

People complaining some ****wit like Newman taking the piss out of people in the streets who aren’t as fortunate.

Or complaining about clear racist or sexist jokes isn’t PC, it’s just plain human decency that is now rightfully called out, as it should have been years ago.

2) Allowing Billy and Gary's personal issues to dictate who would be on the show

ever since the Lyon and JB co-hosting partnership ended the show has been horrifically bad. It's just got progressively worse with every misjudged iteration of the lineup since Lyon's departure in 2015.

Picking Brownless over Lyon was a huge mistake. Lyon wasn't and isn't an amazing talent but he's harder to replace than Brownless whose entire shtick is being a buffoon.

People complaining some ****wit like Newman taking the piss out of people in the streets who aren’t as fortunate.

Or complaining about clear racist or sexist jokes isn’t PC, it’s just plain human decency that is now rightfully called out, as it should have been years ago.

Times have changed, society moves on and will always prevail.

It was overdue for being put out of its misery, ever since the Lyon and JB co-hosting partnership ended the show has been horrifically bad. It's just got progressively worse with every misjudged iteration of the lineup since Lyon's departure in 2015.

So true. Lyon spoke about the footy show on SEN this morning with watson. Both are open to going back for some sort of special with the original members, for old times sakes.

It is interesting listening to him commenting on the show, he mentioned dunstall, dougie etc but not billy.

I agree. People use it for the sake of using it. Like fake news a elitist or leftist or rwn

One they made brownless and Crawford the centre of attention that the end of it. Billy being a pisshead isn’t funny

So true. Lyon spoke about the footy show on SEN this morning with watson. Both are open to going back for some sort of special with the original members, for old times sakes.

It is interesting listening to him commenting on the show, he mentioned dunstall, dougie etc but not billy.

Who were the original members? Was it just Edward as show host, plus comedian Trevor Marmalade from Hey Hey it's Saturday and Sam from World of Sport ?
The players were just guests but at some stage Dunstall was a regular ?

Who were the original members? Was it just Edward as show host, plus comedian Trevor Marmalade from Hey Hey it's Saturday and Sam from World of Sport ?
The players were just guests but at some stage Dunstall was a regular ?
first panelists, or regulars

dunstall, dougie, watson i think

I can't speak for free to air people, but, The Footy Show became non existent to me once the new Fox Footy channel and AFL 360 started. I can get my footy fix at 5:30 (Perth time) every day and watch it during dinner without it feeling like a chore. Who wants to stay up till 10/11pm to watch a boring/nothing happening show? Did the Footy show even go that late anymore?

The footy show was must watch when it begun as it had the hard hitting news and teams before anyone else. 20 years later and media coverage is 24/7 so they lost their most important aspect, relevance/first with he news. Sure Sam's mailbag, streettalk, almost footy legends were awesome but the real reason you tuned in was for the teams and the news (and the above were the entertainment)

I stopped watching altogether about 5 years ago, and the 5 years prior to that I watched the first 30mins to see what news and sams mailbag. I didn't give a shit about the teams (as already knew them) and certainly couldn't give a shit about what the players think about each game and their tips.

Once eddie left it went downhill (although he needed to leave - he was becoming to much of a flog (and still is)) - Garry and JB did an ok job and after they departed it was done and dusted.

The last nail in the coffin was the changes in attitude to jokes. No longer could you make fun of people or be a bit edgy without people going into hysterics.

I wonder if they might bring back the grand final footy show each year?

(and those saying to move the crew from Sunday footy show to the Thursday timeslot - why kill 2 show to save something that is not saveable)

The Footy Show's 2019 format revealed (and other Nine AFL stuff)