The Fully Ticketed fiasco of Essendon.

Roonaldo! said:
What about the actual seat?

I have to pay the booking fee + the cost of the ticket.

The booking fee is what Ticketmaster7 charge, and they charge it for every event they sell for, be it for the Dome, Rod Laver, wherever. That fee goes straight to them, has nothing to do with the Bummers in any way shape or form.

Besides, how else will you get the seat? You can't get one anywhere else but with Ticketmaster, so they have you by the balls in this case. If you want to place blame, then direct it at them. The Bummers don't set the booking fee, they do.

I hope that clears things up for you.

Sexiano Ronaldo said:
Besides, how else will you get the seat? You can't get one anywhere else but with Ticketmaster, so they have you by the balls in this case. If you want to place blame, then direct it at them. The Bummers don't set the booking fee, they do.

I hope that clears things up for you.
No.

Essendon set the fully ticketed thing.

I pay my membership to:

A) Give money to the club

and

B) Make it easier to get into the ground. Scan the card and in.

This game is the only game i have to book tickets for.

Roonaldo! said:
No.

Essendon set the fully ticketed thing.

I pay my membership to:

A) Give money to the club

and

B) Make it easier to get into the ground. Scan the card and in.

This game is the only game i have to book tickets for.

Correct, Essendon set the 'fully ticketed thing'. However, they did not set the booking fee, which seems to be the basis for your pointless gripe. Again, the Bummers don't make any money from the booking fee, nor do they have any influence on it. Ticketmaster isn't owned by the Bummers.

Why they set a fully ticketed arrangement for their games i'm not sure, but I imagine it would be because of the size of their supporter base warrants it - i.e. if you want to go to a bummers game have a ticket in advance or don't bother.

If you have a 14 game membership, go to a ticketmaster outlet and pay the 5 bucks and you're done. Is it worth such a big sook?

I believe the idea of a fully ticketed game is to prevent the fiascos of the early days of Colonial Stadium where there would be queues at the gates & the place is sold out. I pre book a reserved seat for any games where I believe there will be a big crowd rather than take the chances of being up the back of level 3....so it doesn't make any difference to me.

Is there an additional cost to reserve a seat in what is normally general admission seating?(level 3) & if so who gets the extra $$ for this?

countryroo said:
I believe the idea of a fully ticketed game is to prevent the fiascos of the early days of Colonial Stadium where there would be queues at the gates & the place is sold out. I pre book a reserved seat for any games where I believe there will be a big crowd rather than take the chances of being up the back of level 3....so it doesn't make any difference to me.

Is there an additional cost to reserve a seat in what is normally general admission seating?(level 3) & if so who gets the extra $$ for this?

There is an extra cost. Usually level 3 is open admission to everybody. At these fully ticketed games they will cost you at least $16.80 on top of a 14 game membership.

You are all a bunch of sooks! For gods sake! Us Essendon members pay this fee every bloody week to go to the footy!. Geez I reckon its about time we beat the roos weve struggled the last few years even though weve been the better team. Lucky weve hit our straps. Hopefully its an open free flowing game thats exciting to watch and hopefully the dons can beat the biggest over achievers of 2005!

Disco Clarky said:
hopefully the dons can beat the biggest over achievers of 2005!

Based on what are you suggesting we've over achieved? On the media's assessment of our team? IMHO our list as a whole is better than Sydney's, Adelaide's and Essendon's. Melbourne is probably in front of us in their development but has a lot of soft spots that can be explored, and the Cats have more youngsters with AFL experience. But I think we comfortably belong in the lower half of the final eight.

The media has made a big deal from our perceived lack of star factor. I dismiss that. What we lack is one or two players in certain positions. The star factor is rubbish, as apart from ageing stars of Brisbane and Port (only Tredrea really) the only other team that has any would be West Coast. Unlessa you have 4 or 5 genuine champions, having one or two doesn't really help is it just allows the opposition to focus on those star players.

IMO we have an even team with some more genuine talent in the VFL (Trotter, Smith, McIntosh etc) and 6th spot is ours for a good reason.

Booked my ticket at the beginning of the thread, will pay the price regardless, also cost of petrol and accomodation too, then back again next week for the Eagles game on friday, just can't get enough of them Kangas at the moment.

Me and a group of 6 people booked our Tickets on Tuesday.

Level 3, Row F, Near the wing....Cost me $16.30 for a concession (usually $11.50 at the ground it think, not that i'm ever able to buy tickets at the ground)

Not bad i thought considering last week i booked a group of 2 on Monday before the game and got Row S Level 3.

Disco Clarky said:
You are all a bunch of sooks! For gods sake! Us Essendon members pay this fee every bloody week to go to the footy!. Geez I reckon its about time we beat the roos weve struggled the last few years even though weve been the better team. Lucky weve hit our straps. Hopefully its an open free flowing game thats exciting to watch and hopefully the dons can beat the biggest over achievers of 2005!

Have fun Disco Clarky,

Your hard earned cash week in week out keeps the competition afloat so that Clubs like our's can continue on........We're not worthy to be playing the 16 Premiership winning Bombers.....Your team should have won the flag in 1996 and 1999.......Your team has hit it's straps......You're the better team whenever you lose.....

It's a pity that Essendon does not play footy at Windy Hill any more......Watching North play the Crows at Moron Park is akin to watching North play Essendon at Windy Hill (on a bad day!).

row t level 3 aisle 36

im there and the game is an awesome one on the footy calender

i might be in the nose bleed section but at least at telstra dome it can rain all it likes

Disco Clarky said:
You are all a bunch of sooks! For gods sake! Us Essendon members pay this fee every bloody week to go to the footy!.

That would be because your club doesn't care about screwing you over for an extra fee. How much did they sell out you bomber members to the ticketing agency for?

I reckon it must be our turn for the home game, regardless of the cost of tickets etc.

jozeph said:
Booked my ticket at the beginning of the thread, will pay the price regardless, also cost of petrol and accomodation too, then back again next week for the Eagles game on friday, just can't get enough of them Kangas at the moment.

Suspect you're already on the way, but if I read this sooner we should have got a few together for a few celebratory brewskies after the game.

The Fully Ticketed fiasco of Essendon.