The Great Interstate Myth

Try being a WA team who has to travel half or the whole way across the country every second game! we have it tough but still continue to do well. Every other team only has to travel around the corner to play the other teams. The travel time must fatigue WA teams a huge amount. Every other team has it so much easier then us

Difference by car is irrelevant to this discussion. Difference by plane is more like 10 minutes.

As the crow flies:

Adelaide to Melbourne - 655km
Sydney to Melbourne - 713km

(distances from TravelMath.com)

Considering the speeds that passenger planes travel at (roughly 800 km/h), I'm willing to concede that the distance and travel time by air is probably neglible.

However, the effect on the body of travelling is a key factor, and the lost time every week... and there is a theory it affects players longetivity, as the WCE havent had a 300 game player yet...

Yet Adelaide has had more 300+ game players in its 20 year history than Collingwood has in its 119 year history.

You have no idea who I am or what I do for my club. My contribution has been noted by Collingwood. Shame the Saints wont celebrate your lack of contribution. It just a shame you have to continue to use excuses like umpiring, six day breaks, injuries, interstate travel and bouncing balls. You just don't stop trolling Collingwood or making excuses.. Just ignore it and stand up and win. That is what good teams do.
Happy to meet you for a beer at the Pies vs Saints game and show you my contribution to the club. You may just be surprised.

hate to burst your bubble mate but you don't contribute anything towards the team winning on the weekend! neither does SUPPORTERS complaining about travel/umpiring decisions etc. i find it funny/interesting when people make comments such as 'Just ignore it and stand up and win. That is what good teams do' suggesting that the attitude of the supporters somehow has an impact of the results of the game. Just because the team you support is currently the best going around doesnt mean you personally are better in any way...

Saw thread title.....
thought to oneself that a collingwood poster created it.....
opened thread.....
was proven correct.....

It is almost laughable that clubs complain about traveling interstate. Supporters
bicker over who has travelled 4,5 or 6 times. Well let me tell you that interstate travel is irrelevant. You go interstate you win, you come home you win. Pretty simple really. Playing teams like Geelong, Carlton or Collingwood twice at the MCG is far tougher than any interstate game. It would be easier playing all the interstate teams at their home ground instead of six blockbusters at the G.
Clubs who complain about travel are the clubs who will continue to fail as they look for excuses before they begin. Interstate clubs who travel all the time must find the travel discussions so amusing.
Stop sooking about interstate travel, stop looking for excuses and go and win no matter where you play.
Poor you.
The other thread not good enough?

All teams play worse interstate.
It is a FACT.

Collingwood travel the least.
Another FACT.

Percentage of matches won 1997-2010.

Code:
                    Victoria Interstate     Difference
  Carlton              42.49    31.06        -11.43
  Collingwood          51.12    44.07         -7.05
  Essendon             58.27    29.69         -28.58
  Geelong              64.59    42.96         -21.63
  Hawthorn             51.54    36.96         -14.59
  Melbourne            44.94    27.40         -17.54
  North Melbourne      56.74    46.88         -9.86
  Richmond             43.06    27.27         -15.79
  St Kilda             58.91    35.37         -23.54
  WB/Footscray         54.10    44.51          -9.59

Saw thread title.....
thought to oneself that a collingwood poster created it.....
opened thread.....
was proven correct.....

Yes I laughed when i opened it too. Of course you have to be able to win on the road to win a flag. However having lots of home games makes it much easier to get a better position at the end of the home and away season. Home finals give a big advantage. Think the gf can be a different ball game though as other factors can come into play.

Despite the pies being the best team in the league I think most Collingwood supporters realise deep down they have an advantage hence the need for threads like this. At the moment they would be the best anyway. Their supporters whilst enjoying the clear advantage in some way would probably rather not have it and there would be no need for these defensive threads.

Its more to do with money rather than a desire to create unfairness. However in this respect the AFL , in comparison to other sports and bodies in other countries , is pretty backward in this capacity. Any governing body should take great pains to ensure a competition is fair to its best possible degree. The AFL despite any protestations isn't doing this on the basis of money and as such leaves itself open to inappropriate financial motivations.

They are so affronted when a player has gambled - a practice known to be addictive and severely problematic for some individuals. Yet they have the hypocrisy to actively promote such behaviour for financial reward. I would take the AFL's outward displays of taking the high moral ground on certain issues more seriously if they weren't so easily swayed by how much money they are getting. The sanctions against the Pies players was nothing to do with morality.

If I were in the AFL I would gladly play 18 games of the year at the MCG or Dome than have a short career by travelling every second week

to be honest i would rather have what the interstate sides have and play 10 true home games and 2 against the local rival then play 16-18 games in Melbourne and play a majority of them against other teams that use the venue.

the travel factor isnt a issue these days unless your a Western Australia on QLD side but the true home ground advantage is massive for those teams.

I would like to see us travel more, but its just not us, there are a couple Vic sides that dont travel a lot.

hate to burst your bubble mate but you don't contribute anything towards the team winning on the weekend! neither does SUPPORTERS complaining about travel/umpiring decisions etc. i find it funny/interesting when people make comments such as 'Just ignore it and stand up and win. That is what good teams do' suggesting that the attitude of the supporters somehow has an impact of the results of the game. Just because the team you support is currently the best going around doesnt mean you personally are better in any way...

Obviously you have no idea how a footy club works do you. It is interesting that the 14 million Collingwood have made from membership this year will go towards a 20 million upgrade of the Westpac centre that will make it the best sporting facility around by a long way. A fair contribution towards the football department by people who don't help. Sorry to burst your bubble but you have no idea.

Guess when your handed the best draw year after year you can use that as a selling tool for sponsers and membership. A footy club that has been handed so much but achieved so little.

It's laughable to suggest that travelling interstate doesn't make any difference.

and the OP is making that suggestion?

With the competition expanding to 18 teams next year, the only fair thing to do is have Victorian teams play more interstate teams, away. You can't have the Eagles play more 'home' game for instance. So, for the sake of enhancing the competition and creating an equal playing field, this is a very reasonable pathway.

It's laughable to suggest that travelling interstate doesn't make any difference.

and the OP is making that suggestion?

With the competition expanding to 18 teams next year, the only fair thing to do is have Victorian teams play more interstate teams, away. You can't have the Eagles play more 'home' game for instance. So, for the sake of enhancing the competition and creating an equal playing field, this is a very reasonable pathway.

Collingwood will play the same amount of interstate games next year but you can bet your acorns theyll lose there trip to Perth and be handed GWS.

Whereas the Crows have four 300 game players, with seven 270+.

Carlton have only managed four 300 gamers, six 270+ in their history so perhaps the travel helps longevity? :confused:

You aren't being serious are you?

Adelaide does travel, but even you know that it's not comparable to the distance that the Eagles and Dockers have to travel.

Adelaide to Melbourne = 650 kilometers,

Perth to Melbourne = 2,750 kilometers.

One game at the Etihad requires:
3 days away from home, 2 days of travel, 5,550 kilometers traversed, and everything else that comes with travelling high altitudes after a game.

Don't play ignorant.

im a member of my club too, doesn't mean im delusional enough to think that i contribute to the results on the weekend. its easy for you to say 'Clubs who complain about travel are the clubs who will continue to fail as they look for excuses before they begin' when your team is clearly the best and would win anywhere but the facts are for most teams home ground does give a big advantage and to suggest otherwise is stupid.
Plus im sure the players/coaches dont complain about it and just get down to business, people getting on here and complaining clearly has no impact.

Guess when your handed the best draw year after year you can use that as a selling tool for sponsers and membership. A footy club that has been handed so much but achieved so little.

That paltry little club has achieved 1500% more than the great St Kilda.

will go towards a 20 million upgrade of the Westpac centre that will make it the best sporting facility around by a long way.

does that mean you're getting a football oval?

That's a new one :thumbsu:

we should keep a list of all the things that Collingwood supporters believe makes them a better club than St Kilda as apparently proven by a solid no point Grand Final victory.

Top of my head

Saints bottom 6
Saints Etihad specialists
Luke Ball (said GF aside)
Collingwood recruiting staff
Collingwood coaching staff
Optioned Camry Centre
Culture
History
An appendix can be devoted to Kissdeath

Wellingham at North
Sam Reid

and now we can apparently add Sooty's ever so Modest 'it was all me' contribution > Hump's contribution :thumbsu:

Actually I have rated St Kilda many times in many threads including stating that they will bounce back. I have also defended your Captain many many times. It comes back to the old St Kilda 'the world is against us'. I actually don't give two hoots about the Saints and have rated them for many years. Such a shame you have to make sweeping random statements. Collingwood are better than St Kilda and have been for most seasons over the past 110 plus years. That is why we have won 15 flags and you have won one. we won't even get in to the wooden spoon count. Simple really

Collingwood are better than St Kilda and have been for most seasons over the past 110 plus years. That is why we have won 15 flags and you have won one. we won't even get in to the wooden spoon count. Simple really

Very simple

I already counted that one under 'history'