The 'Grog Squad' gets targetted

Someone's always going to be offended about something.

He's Moore, he's Moore
He's Kelvin, Kelvin Moore
He's got red hair but we don't care

Why don't you go into bat for the rangas?
What is so clever about this? I know it must have taken six GS members 4 hours on the VB to come up with it, but why? Is our football so dull?

I don't go in for the chanting/singing myself, but I'm accustomed to it as a backdrop to a day at the footy. Harmless.

Anyway I'm done defending the GS's right to barrack as they've done for a long time. There are official avenues for you to whinge to.

Someone's always going to be offended about something.

He's Moore, he's Moore
He's got red hair but we don't care

Why don't you go into bat for the rangas?

So your cool with racial and sexual abuse then?

No they're not. If you have SFA money buying a membership for a losing team is a lot harder to justify than a winning one.

Stuff like this pisses me off, still remember a poster once saying interstate members were nt real members because they never went to games. Seriously!

People support the club the best way they can, and competitions to decide who are the better supporters are as relevant to footy as the grog squads homo chant

Why bring up conversations from other forums and completely misrepresent what was posted.

Seen it on all forums, the attitude that those who have a membership or go to all home games are better than those who dont. If you don't think it, don't say it

The Grog Squad is here to stay until the 'authorities' try to close them down. It would have to disperse them I guess...and that would be pretty hard to maintain. If they chant and don't discriminate against people I'm happy for them to enjoy their day and chant clever things or even nursery rhymes. But they are not an outlaw bikie gang, and if you don't like singing and chatting move to another part of the ground. The Grog Squad won't miss you! (btw....as a kid...the Grog Squad saved me from a fearful bashing once from a Rival Team's Squad when I stuck up for a kid younger than me who was being abused)---That's not vindication for the Grog Squad...just my 2cent true story.

Oh well we did the same thing we do every week today and the security and pice did nothing, If there was a week they were going to act they would have this week. Since they did nothing im sure to believe were not doing anything wrong. I mean kids come home from primary school learning the word "F***" these days yet people crack it over that? We are never racist and most of the time never abusive. You get abusive people all over the ground, I find it crap that they targeted our group this week. Seriously guys harden up the word f*** is used that many times in everyday conversations its hardly a swear wor anymore. Keep up the good work guys :thumbsu:

if they are not doing anything wrong they should leave them alone if there are ones causing grief fair enough and that goes for any part of the ground not just where the grog squad stand , they will probably try and stop people chanting support or yelling support for their side the way it is going , as i say it is footy not a theatre show where you sit and be quiet and clap at the end , we make noise at the footy and that is the way it is .

i am sure you are better then the cats group that stands there or near there in their games , they are feral .

slow news day for the papers i would say

That's Ok Tugga.90 percent of the groggy are Maurice Rioli or club 80 3121 members.
A long time ago when I went to the footy and saw them I thought"wtf is this chanting crap"

I was sooo wrong.
Love every minute firing up the players singing.

You can tell Jack gets fired up when the grog squad is rocking.
There is no law against singing for your club.

You either hate it or love I guess.
I just love the atmosphere and you meet the same faces and forge friendships along the way.

I see blokes in wheel chairs go and have a sing after the game and it makes their day.
tell that to the tools that reported me for being too loud in my support for my hawks i said to the security guard since when was supporting my team against the rules , i was not abusing any one nor was i swearing so how is yelling GO HAWKS real loud wrong 7 complaints i copped so i was told after i did not send any sms about the high pitched girl behind me ,
10 seconds after he left i did what i was doing and did not change i yelled to my team i added it was a footy game not opera and did not stop supporting my team the same way all the way through , it was the game you beat us in by the way , so congrats for that too by the way .

Same as any club or group or anything I guess. There are some absolute smokers in there and there some real good people too.
I can vouch that one day years ago maybe 10? I was about to get ejected for grabbing hold of one of them who was blind and knocked my nephew over walking past but just said some smart arse comment.
One of the leaders I suppose you could say came to my defence and shouted down the dickhead so there are certainly responsible types too.

One bloke went too far and swore like a trouper and got duly kicked out yesterday.

Like I said ,if anyone goes OTT ,they get sent out.

Was pretty tame yesterday like it always is.
The only time the grog squad gets a bit out of hand is in big games when others come in and carry on too much.

I never stand with the GS on game day but always make my way behind the goals after a win to join in on the chants and singing. I bring my younger brother (11 yo) and not once thought that he shouldn't be there because of the foul language (wow "lets go f*&N mental) is as hardcore as it gets. I wish afl matches had at least half the atmosphere as european soccer matches...

Just keep on complaining if it feels right. I'm sure our less passionate supporters will carry the club through.

I rate your posts Ron higher than almost all others on BF and it seems like you have one of the more switched on footy brains who seems to know what he's talking about.

But you seem to have an air of superiority about you because you hang out with the "cool kids". I hand over my $$ as do many others. You and other GS members are no better than any other Tiger supporter...regardless of how long you've been watching the Tiges and regardless of how much noise you make.

I get it that most of the blokes in there are great supporters of the club and do a lot of fantastic things both for the club and outside of. But again I will repeat, you and other GS members are no better than any other Tiger supporter.

...If they chant and don't discriminate against people I'm happy for them to enjoy their day and chant clever things or even nursery rhymes. But they are not an outlaw bikie gang, and if you don't like singing and chatting move to another part of the ground....

Agree 100% . As long as they don't discriminate, they can sing as many songs as they like for as long as they like. If people don't like it, they can move. No point carrying on if you have the option of moving.

But you seem to have an air of superiority about you because you hang out with the "cool kids". I hand over my $$ as do many others. You and other GS members are no better than any other Tiger supporter...regardless of how long you've been watching the Tiges and regardless of how much noise you make.

Thanks for the praise but this needs some correcting. I don't hang out with the GS at all. I wouldn't know any of them from Adam, have never stood with them or even stayed after the game when a larger group congregates after a win.

My opinion on this subject stems from growing up when footy had an edge, when it was slightly wild, when sensational events were prone to erupting on the field. (Now most of the sensational stuff happens off it.) I stood in the Bay 12-13 area through the late 70's & 80's with the old man and a group of blokes we didn't know outside of Saturday afternoons. There were some rough types; some had been in jail, some boasted of dodgy deeds, some were obviously alcoholics. But they were always vocal in support of the Tigers (although Emmett Dunne the policeman was occasionally ridiculed) and were there every week without fail. It was Richmond against the world, just like the attitude Hafey had instilled in the team. The old man eventually started working on Saturdays and I decamped to the old Northern Stand in the 90's and early 00's, and first took up a spot near the GS in 2004 after a chance meeting with a mate. He said 'come behind the goals, the Grog Squad goes off and it's a great atmosphere'. That was the day Richo kicked 10; needless to say, a memorable occasion.

I identified the reference to 'the Grog Squad' with the early 80's when young blokes sported badges on their duffel coats proclaiming 'Official Richmond Grog Squad'. (I'm not sure of the history in between.) Like Smasha, I initially thought WTF is this shit (chanting/singing), it doesn't belong at the footy. But over time I've become accustomed to the chants and admire the GS's willingness to break into song when we're getting pantsed; I simply wouldn't have the fortitude. I acknowledge that some of the chants push the boundaries of PC. (Actually they step right across the line. I like to watch the reactions of opposition supporters when the f-bomb gets dropped. Occasionally it's bemusement, but usually a grin or even a laugh.) But above all else, I recognise that, like the rooster on the property over the back fence which wakes me at sunrise, they were there first. If I didn't like it - and I didn't warm to it at first - it was up to me to move. The mate I'd been going to the game with for the previous eight years obviously didn't appreciate the bogan element and never returned.

It just irks me that some people want to pull rank and decide that the GS shouldn't do their thing. Who the **** are you to piss and moan after all these years? It's a big stadium with a lot of vantage points that won't offend your sensibilities.

I've got Foxtel and could very easily stay home on days like yesterday, but go to the game without fail for the live experience. I view moves to silence the GS as symbolic of the corporatisation (read: hijacking) of the game from the public. The image consciousness, rule changes, the MRP fiascoes, the ticket monopolies, the make-it-up-as-we-go-along so as to maximise profit - I resent it all. They just about own it, but not quite; those who walk through the gate retain a stake. Am I misguided in perceiving that I own a tiny slice of the game? Possibly. But that's what I'm speaking in defence of.

Thanks for the praise but this needs some correcting. I don't hang out with the GS at all. I wouldn't know any of them from Adam, have never stood with them or even stayed after the game when a larger group congregates after a win.

My opinion on this subject stems from growing up when footy had an edge, when it was slightly wild, when sensational events were prone to erupting on the field. (Now most of the sensational stuff happens off it.) I stood in the Bay 12-13 area through the late 70's & 80's with the old man and a group of blokes we didn't know outside of Saturday afternoons. There were some rough types; some had been in jail, some boasted of dodgy deeds, some were obviously alcoholics. But they were always vocal in support of the Tigers (although Emmett Dunne the policeman was occasionally ridiculed) and were there every week without fail. It was Richmond against the world, just like the attitude Hafey had instilled in the team. The old man eventually started working on Saturdays and I decamped to the old Northern Stand in the 90's and early 00's, and first took up a spot near the GS in 2004 after a chance meeting with a mate. He said 'come behind the goals, the Grog Squad goes off and it's a great atmosphere'. That was the day Richo kicked 10; needless to say, a memorable occasion.

I identified the reference to 'the Grog Squad' with the early 80's when young blokes sported badges on their duffel coats proclaiming 'Official Richmond Grog Squad'. (I'm not sure of the history in between.) Like Smasha, I initially thought WTF is this shit (chanting/singing), it doesn't belong at the footy. But over time I've become accustomed to the chants and admire the GS's willingness to break into song when we're getting pantsed; I simply wouldn't have the fortitude. I acknowledge that some of the chants push the boundaries of PC. (Actually they step right across the line. I like to watch the reactions of opposition supporters when the f-bomb gets dropped. Occasionally it's bemusement, but usually a grin or even a laugh.) But above all else, I recognise that, like the rooster on the property over the back fence which wakes me at sunrise, they were there first. If I didn't like it - and I didn't warm to it at first - it was up to me to move. The mate I'd been going to the game with for the previous eight years obviously didn't appreciate the bogan element and never returned.

It just irks me that some people want to pull rank and decide that the GS shouldn't do their thing. Who the [censored] are you to piss and moan after all these years? It's a big stadium with a lot of vantage points that won't offend your sensibilities.

I've got Foxtel and could very easily stay home on days like yesterday, but go to the game without fail for the live experience. I view moves to silence the GS as symbolic of the corporatisation (read: hijacking) of the game from the public. The image consciousness, rule changes, the MRP fiascoes, the ticket monopolies, the make-it-up-as-we-go-along so as to maximise profit - I resent it all. They just about own it, but not quite; those who walk through the gate retain a stake. Am I misguided in perceiving that I own a tiny slice of the game? Possibly. But that's what I'm speaking in defence of.
That's a really good post Ron

Great post Ron.
I will ask one question though. What about those who have the misfortune of having their season tickets right in front of the GS? they have no opportunity to move.

Aren't you allowed to request a certain section of the ground when purchasing a reserved seat membership? Everyone who's watched from behind the goals knows where they are. Suspect the club would be amenable to a seat change/swap. But otherwise a fair point.

Reckon the GS showed restraint yesterday. Didn't notice anything more risque than "More pr0n on SBS".

Aren't you allowed to request a certain section of the ground when purchasing a reserved seat membership? Everyone who's watched from behind the goals knows where they are. Suspect the club would be amenable to a seat change/swap. But otherwise a fair point.

Reckon the GS showed restraint yesterday. Didn't notice anything more risque than "More pr0n on SBS".
Fair enough. I stopped getting a reserved seat membership years ago because I always got sat next to, or near, nuffs who who more intent on bagging the club than barracking. I guess that's the risk you run when you sit anywhere I suppose.
Next year I will up my membership to a reserved seat purely because I see us playing in more blockbusters that will be ticketed.
I stood on the 50m line yesterday not far from the GS and could hear them, but couldn't hear what they were saying. For the most part they are generally prettu good.I guess I have changed my mind a bit.

A number of people, including me made sure they were all aware they were specifically being targeted through social media websites and text messages.

BTW your post before this quote was indeed eloquent. :thumbsu:

I view moves to silence the GS as symbolic of the corporatisation (read: hijacking) of the game from the public. The image consciousness, rule changes, the MRP fiascoes, the ticket monopolies, the make-it-up-as-we-go-along so as to maximise profit - I resent it all. They just about own it, but not quite; those who walk through the gate retain a stake. Am I misguided in perceiving that I own a tiny slice of the game? Possibly. But that's what I'm speaking in defence of.

Nice post. And yeah we're off like mind when it comes to the point above. I don't have a problem with the GS myself other than if they cross the line. I agreed that it's a big stadium and that people can move if they don't want to have to hear them through a game. They're not my cup of tea and I wouldn't stand with them but that's my choice. Others also have the right to choose.

The GS can sing all they want for all I care...as long as they leave the swearing, bigotted, racist comments out. That's all I want. And yeah I may be a little precious about the swearing and god knows I swear like a trooper. But I don't yell it out for all and sundry to hear. There are kids at the footy who are easily led. So let's keep it clean and carry on with the rest. I think you'll find the stadium will leave them alone as long as they don't cross the line with their choice of words.

The 'Grog Squad' gets targetted