Food & Drink The Hangar Beer Thread

As far as session ales go, Coopers’ new number (in the blue bottle) goes okay.

Has a touch of the ubiquitous pale about it, but still also retains unmistakable Coopers yeast notes; overall, it’s a presentable drop.
Ugh, no. It's their stab at the floral craft market and in doing so has lost all distinctiveness.

If you want a session beer the Mild Ale does it in spades without throwing out what makes Coopers Pale a great beer.

I maintain that as far as branded session ales go, it’s better than many you will come across.
But that's purely because "session ale" in this country is code for a lighter version of generic craft beer. They're all crap.

The name itself comes from midstrength English bitters, some of which are legitimately good as opposed to beers for boys who prefer juice.

Right. Time to share my beer discovery of the year so far, I think.

Thursdays I work mornings in Hawthorn and afternoons in Caulfield, a couple of trams apart, and there's a fantastic little bottle shop in Caulfield North where I change lines - Cambridge Cellars.

They have a fridge full of interesting beer I've never seen elsewhere, including a good selection of Samuel Smith's, an assortment of Belgian Trappists and some Israeli numbers, but this is the pick of the litter.

Chodovar Special. It's a classic, slow-brewed Czech lager. A bit Budvar, a bit Weihenstephaner, the perfect accompaniment to anything suitably fried. Highly recommended.

b58a4caaa1251ffbfac78dae8a8758fb.jpg

Right. Time to share my beer discovery of the year so far, I think.

Thursdays I work mornings in Hawthorn and afternoons in Caulfield, a couple of trams apart, and there's a fantastic little bottle shop in Caulfield North where I change lines - Cambridge Cellars.

They have a fridge full of interesting beer I've never seen elsewhere, including a good selection of Samuel Smith's, an assortment of Belgian Trappists and some Israeli numbers, but this is the pick of the litter.

Chodovar Special. It's a classic, slow-brewed Czech lager. A bit Budvar, a bit Weihenstephaner, the perfect accompaniment to anything suitably fried. Highly recommended.

b58a4caaa1251ffbfac78dae8a8758fb.jpg

Not a massive fan of Czech lager - always find it metallic and unsatisfying.

Corona.

It’s water, basically.
I’ve tried that didn’t like it, I think it’s more the case I haven’t tried a very good beer which is why I don’t like them

I’ve had VB, Carlton, Corona, Tooheys and Fat Yak and I haven’t liked any of them. I tried a Furphy around X-mas time and didn’t mind it although I was already pissed at the time and may not have factored in the taste much

I’ve tried that didn’t like it, I think it’s more the case I haven’t tried a very good beer which is why I don’t like them

I’ve had VB, Carlton, Corona, Tooheys and Fat Yak and I haven’t liked any of them. I tried a Furphy around X-mas time and didn’t mind it although I was already pissed at the time and may not have factored in the taste much
Depends what sort of taste you like. Do you prefer a crisp, fresh sort of thing, or a malty flavoured style, maybe something deeper or stronger?

I don't think you're a Pale Ale person, but maybe you'd drink a Golden Ale or Dark Ale instead.

Not a massive fan of Czech lager - always find it metallic and unsatisfying.
Drinking the wrong ones. Pilsner Urquell or Staropramen, I can totally see how you'd get that, and you're lucky to even get metallic out of the generic supermarket "Czechs". A Budvar or this Chodovar though is up there with the best German lagers - by which I mean the best lagers.

Depends what sort of taste you like. Do you prefer a crisp, fresh sort of thing, or a malty flavoured style, maybe something deeper or stronger?

I don't think you're a Pale Ale person, but maybe you'd drink a Golden Ale or Dark Ale instead.
Of I knew which one I liked we wouldn’t be having this conversation haha

I’ve always preferred Rum over anything else, love Captain Morgans but that might be due One Piece :p

Tried Canadian Club last year and didn’t mind it, my mate tried to get me onto cider but that got boring quick.

All crap. What I really recommend though is a solid afternoon's work on a 40 degree day and a very cold anything in the fridge at the end.

Drinking the wrong ones. Pilsner Urquell or Staropramen, I can totally see how you'd get that, and you're lucky to even get metallic out of the generic supermarket "Czechs". A Budvar or a Chodovar though is up there with the best German lagers - by which I mean the best lagers.
Budvar is one of the best European beers I've had.

I’ve always preferred Rum over anything else, love Captain Morgans but that might be due One Piece :p

Tried Canadian Club last year and didn’t mind it, my mate tried to get me onto cider but that got boring quick.
I meant in general.

Some people don't like beer. That's okay, more for me. Also the alcohol of choice in that is Sake.

I meant in general.

Some people don't like beer. That's okay, more for me. Also the alcohol of choice in that is Sake.
I know what you meant, I gave a general idea of what type of alcohol I like, thought that might have given some sort of an idea.

Sake is the drink of choice in every anime mate haha

It's not unusual for young people to prefer sweeter drinks, your tastes usually get drier as you get older. Rum is pretty sweet, spiced rum especially and of the spiced rums, the standard variety of Captain Morgan's is the sweetest one I've come across :p Have you tried any other brands of spiced rum, or dark spiced rum? E.g. Kracken's dark spiced rum is quite different, and drier. That could give some idea of whether you'd find a drier drink drinkable (don't say that five times fast).

As far as beer is concerned, perhaps someone can recommend something that is perhaps a spiced ale as a transitional thing? Or maybe a cider? Some ciders are also sweeter than others, rekorderlig and it's ilk are disgusting, like cheap fermented soft drink, but the drier ones aren't too much different to drinking a light beer. From there you can move to something stronger, craft or niche, such as some of the fellows in here generally prefer.

Anyone good with their Belgians?

I picked up some expiring Saison Dupont from the cheap booze guy at Preston Market a while back and have been enjoying them lately as a "slowly, late at night with a book in front of the heater" option. Rodenbach is the other I've found that works similarly- it's very odd but definitely does something for me.

I followed that with a Rochefort #6 Trappist but it wasn't really my scene - a bit too far down the 7.5%-and-you-can-taste-it road.

They're a bit dear though, so my usual scattergun approach of buying anything I haven't seen before isn't really viable. So - any tips?

What do they offer than the 6 doesn't?
The 8 is a stronger, richer version of the 6 effectively, but doesn't necessarily taste more alcoholic even though it is (9.2% v 7.5%).

The 10 is considerably darker, and stronger again (11.3% to be exact), and an absolute peach.

The 10 is the pick of them, IMO.

Food & Drink The Hangar Beer Thread