Travel The Hangar Travel Thread

anyone got any darwin experience?

have ten days there next year, trying to figure out a rough itinerary

from what i can tell kakadu might be the thing we miss if we dont want to explode the budget.

are Litchfield and Katherine gorge valid substitutes?

is it possible to get to the tiwi with the kids to give them some indigenous learnings ?
A great choice for a family holiday. Dero's suggestions are great. Can recommend the laksa at the Parap markets on a Saturday. Most kids like the Adelaide River jumping crocs, though I did it 30 years ago so it might be different now. Think the footy season will be on then? The Long family is closely associated with St Marys if you want to go for a team.

Parap market is great. It hasn’t changed. The only place to buy a cu in the NT t-shirt or a croc skin hat!

My last Parap laksa was last April although it seems longer (jumping crocs was 30 years ago!). According to my brother there's a good laksa stand and "the other one" at Parap, couldn't tell you which is which. Also, can recommend Hanuman restaurant - my Darwin family's favourite restaurant. https://www.hanuman.com.au/ chef Jimmy Shu

I was last up there a year ago over cup weekend. I normally go for the paw paw salad and the chicken satay.

I recommend trying to find fresh mud crab... better than crayfish or anything else from the seas for mine!

Did you get to Mindle beach market?

forgot to mention the beer-can regatta too! There is nothing quite like watching the locals race on long-boats made out of beer cans through waters where crocodiles are regularly sighted!

Decreasing with every new exposure site, Howie. That sucks mate.

Yeh it's proper balls!

I was only saying to gumbletron yesterday, they want you to spend money on tourism...help the Industry, put your hand in your pocket, huge marketing campaigns, flight vouchers ect...but you still stand to lose thousands and have to worry all week whether there will be a sneaky covid cluster pop up..if your trip will go ahead..who needs all the anxiety? what's the point?
Insurance won't pay out on covid cancel, something needs to change if they want ppl to dig into their pockets for the industry. At the very least some kind of gov guarantee that covers what insurance wont

Yeh it's proper balls!

I was only saying to gumbletron yesterday, they want you to spend money on tourism...help the Industry, put your hand in your pocket, huge marketing campaigns, flight vouchers ect...but you still stand to lose thousands and have to worry all week whether there will be a sneaky covid cluster pop up..if your trip will go ahead..who needs all the anxiety? what's the point?
Insurance won't pay out on covid cancel, something needs to change if they want ppl to dig into their pockets for the industry. At the very least some kind of gov guarantee that covers what insurance wont
It's called a vaccine.

Well considering most in the non geriatric phase arent even eligible yet that's not quite the answer
It would be if it was being rolled out properly. Check out the numbers in Israel and the UK.

Might be a glutton for punishment but we are trying again... Can't get Darwin for nearly the same price but have settled for Fraser island then Port Douglas starting July 17

Doomed for more dissapointment? Probably

Looks pretty good atm. Just had friends go up and back.

I've got a big chunk of leave coming up and I'm in two minds as to whether we book ahead and risk COVID, or just make last-minute bookings and pay a bit extra, though in many cases it's still not expensive for flights or accom even last minute.

Hi all, please follow my new Instagram page. We'll be reviewing various fishing, camping and hiking spots across Victoria. Mainly 90 mile beach, Gippsland lakes and the bass coast 😀👍

20211004_212545.jpg

Maybe the pandemic has forced us to look more closely at what is nearby because we haven’t been able to travel further away. The Ouse Valley Viaduct (less than 20 miles away from me) was built in 1842, cost £38,500 and contains 11 million bricks, minus the odd few that fall out from time to time. DD667C54-58B5-4CC2-A0A0-5567EF4E7778.jpeg
8FD33334-9299-48BF-A258-265C5B0D3AB3.jpeg
D263F888-C045-4151-8ED7-F3DA20AB5FEC.jpeg

Booked tickets to Japan for next year and I’m super excited, never traveled outside of Australia aswell.

Orazio2Joe any tips or anyone else who has gone to Japan? I have a few places I want to see already but with 10 days up there i obviously can’t see everything
It’s been a long wait but finally booked for November this year, COVID’s timing was terrible as I planned on going during Cherry Blossom season but prices have hiked since then for that time of year. Japan in Autumn should still be very good though.

Whereabouts are you heading in particular. Happy to give you as many tips as you need.

For clarity - I was Orazio2Joe, changed my username after the defection :) not just some rando weighing in.

Whereabouts are you heading in particular. Happy to give you as many tips as you need.

For clarity - I was Orazio2Joe, changed my username after the defection :) not just some rando weighing in.
Nah all good mate 😂 My sister and I will be doing 2 days Osaka, 2 days Kyoto and then a week to finish in Tokyo. My sister has been going nuts on the research for it, we already have plenty of stuff put down from the last time I Lurked on here seeing what people got up to in Japan. I reckon by the end of it I’ll be wanting to go back to see what I missed.

Just booked a trip to Hervey Bay for the September school holidays. Never been there. The missus loves it. Looking forward to hitting up Fraser Island and maybe a spot of fishing here and there.

Nah all good mate 😂 My sister and I will be doing 2 days Osaka, 2 days Kyoto and then a week to finish in Tokyo. My sister has been going nuts on the research for it, we already have plenty of stuff put down from the last time I Lurked on here seeing what people got up to in Japan. I reckon by the end of it I’ll be wanting to go back to see what I missed.
There's heaps of resources for Japan these days. I did most of my research on youtube. Abroad in Japan and Paolo from Tokyo where my go to content creators.

I only did a day trip to Kyoto from Osaka. With two days there, I'd be doing one early morning in Arashiyama Bamboo Forest and one early morning and Fushimi Inari. Both are crazy busy so if you can get there as early as possible, you stand the best chance of not being in the crowds. I chose Arashiyama and I can say the early morning was 100% worthwhile.

My favourite part of Osaka and Tokyo were doing the less touristy things - go play some arcade games, walk into a Pachinko Parlour, go into shops like Tokyu Hands and Don Quixote, eat a meal solely from 7-11.

If you're going to the scramble crossing in Shibuya (which, let's face it, you are!), the best view is from the Starbucks across from the station. I don't usually recommend Starbucks, but this is an exception.

Travel The Hangar Travel Thread