Redleg_24

Jul 23, 2010
Prahran
NYGiants/Twins/North Sydney Bears
Usually I am not one for starting baseless rumours and starting threads for the sake of stirring the pot, however, I have been informed by a friend who is a business associate of a player on the current list (don't ask me to name the player, won't happen) that the problems at the MFC go beyond just a lack of game plan.

My source, who is not a football follow at all, tells me the said player described the problems at the MFC in the following ways:

- Many of the senior/older players are pissed off at Bailey and the FD. They feel that they are not getting opportunities and are more or less being forced to play at Casey simply because the FD is solely interested in getting games into the younger blokes.

- Many of this group feels that this is unfair and are disenchanted with the coaching teams attitude. They feel that if a player is not performing and is not the best player on form, they do not deserve a spot in the team. I tend to agree.

- A lot of the senior group were angry at the decision to let Junior go and also to move on a couple of other members of the playing group.

- A lot of the players do not get along with each other. There is no sense of unity (it shows on the park). I am led to believe that there is a core group of 'friends' at the club but others that are not within the group do not feel that they are part of the 'team'. We do not have a team of mates who want to be alongside one another. This scares the hell out of me. Reason: I have had this feeling just from seeing the players on the field and in warm-ups.

- Th players don't like the style of play that the coaching staff ask them to play. What **** me! as if this wasn't obvious. You see Moloney, Watts and others all throw there hands up in the air when they extract the footy, look up and have not a ****ing thing ahead of them, so they retreat and handball to a flat footed opponent who is under even more pressure, he looks backward again....you get the point!

- The said player has indicated that he is seriously considering giving the game away at season's end .... what a worry!

I was really shocked and angry to hear this info from a source who nI trust and who would have no reason to throw fuel on an already burning fire. However, was I suprised? Not really! This had been my casual observations for a while.

So, what can we do? Well if all of what I have said above is true, and I have no reason to believe that it isn't, Bailey has lost the playing group and failed in his role of mentor and needs to go at season's end. He has failed to get the fire in the belly, the desire to win, the passion to play as a unit and build the passion for the MFC. The last sentence is the biggest worry. Those 40 something blokes on our list should appreciate, respect and care about pulling on that famous jumper everytime they run out. I don't see it. Bailey doesn't know it, so how can he teach it!

We have united this club in so many ways in recent years. Off field we are a united group. The on-field story is different. We need to sell the passion to the players. This passion can only be sold by one, the auctioneer if you like; THE COACH.

DB you may be a nice fella and all, but you just ain't got the fire, the passion, the plan, the desire and the credibility to go beyond this season.

If I am wrong, and DB takes us to the next premiership, i am happy to have eggs thrown in my face. We NEED to bring MFC people into our FD department and coaching team. Those that have experience good and bad teams, those that bleed red and blue, and Bails ... that just ain't you!

RL24

I would be inclined to believe this. As you've pointed out, to some extent you can tell of the lack of harmony in the group from the on field performances. I made a post sometime last week which queried the same thing, and I'm convinced there is an off field issue.

Maybe its inevitable when you go the heavy bottom out (i.e. tanking) route like we did. You build a culture which becomes reliant on draft picks and therefore individuals rather than a team. Watts is a great example; it's been said numerous times that if he wasn't a no.1 he wouldn't be getting a game at the moment. That's gotta be disheartening not only for other players but also for Watts himself. How can you expect to build a team culture on fragmentation?

Perhaps high draft picks also lead to complacent players who were naturally talented at the game through high school and so did bugger all in terms of workrate etc. Then you throw these guys into the mix with the real battlers, lower drafted players who have worked their asses off from day one to get into the 22. Its not surprising that these two backgrounds will come into conflict at some stage.

But surely these conflicting groups can be brought together? And whose job is that? It lies with the coach to an extent, and with the FD. But at the end of the day, some players are gonna have to really work on their attitudes if they want to be there.

If some players don't want to be there (i.e. your source seems to be toying with the idea) then let's clear them out. **** it, let's have another rebuild but this time recruit players who actually want to pull on the jumper.

This thread and my post may be jumping the gun. We're being unrealistic if we think the rebuild that we've embarked on is going to go smoothly and then culminate nicely in a premiership. But from our weak performances so far this year, it would be equally unrealistic to stick our heads in the sand and pretend there isn't something else going on behind closed doors at the club.

If I am wrong, and DB takes us to the next premiership, i am happy to have eggs thrown in my face. We NEED to bring MFC people into our FD department and coaching team. Those that have experience good and bad teams, those that bleed red and blue, and Bails ... that just ain't you!

RL24[/quote]

mate good post but to me this comment is rediculous... we are full of MFC people in our FD... see if these names mean anything to you... Stynes, Connelly, Viney... Pretty sure these guys saw things at both ends of the spectrum...
And in all seriousness if the boys dont wanta play for the jumper they can go get ****ed... massive massive disrespect to the MFC and to the supporters, and especially JIM...

Obviously the player in question is not getting a game. And if he wants to give the game away , then piss off I say. Some of these professional athletes really need to step into the real world for a minute. You don't like all your work colleges.....boo hoo!....you don't really like your boss......boo hoo!.

I bet if the player in mention gave away the game and stepped into the real world for a minute he might change his mind!. I think these players hava had their egos rubbed their whole career and once they stop getting praised they start to sook.

"Many of the senior/older players are pissed off at Bailey and the FD. They feel that they are not getting opportunities and are more or less being forced to play at Casey simply because the FD is solely interested in getting games into the younger blokes".

So who would these players be?

Newton, MacDonald, Bate?

Their form hasn't warrented inclusion previously because their form at Casey HAS BEEN INCONSISTENT AND/OR POOR. And not just this season.

Who would you rather see running around in the firsts ...."I've done nothing for 4 seasons" Newton or Bail?

The way we are playing would back up some of the points you raise. Lack of intensity, lack of leadership, lack of cohesion amongst the group.

But it sounds to me like the player who is making these claims, is someone who has been playing at Casey and can't get a game(Newton, Warnock, Bate, McDonald) and maybe has a touch of the sour grapes. If they said they are thinking about giving it away at the end of the year, I would suspect it would be one of these guys.

Look, we don't need a team of 22 best mates! You get 30 or 40 guys together, and not everyone will get along. We can't expect that as supporters. But this is there profession and they get paid handsomly to perform on the football field. I don't get along with everyone at my work, but I'm still a team player that does my role. I expect the same from AFL players. They can be spoilt children sometimes and look for excuses why they are not playing well.

As for the Bailey and FD claims. Well, blind freddie can tell you therev are problems with communication between the coach and players. I seriously feel that the whole FD will be gone by the start of next year. Connelly and Viney may be the only 2 to survive. Getting a respectful coach like Malthouse, Roos or Matthews can bring the playing group together and come up with a decent gameplan. Some concerning points, but nothing a new coach with half a clue can't fix...

- A lot of the players do not get along with each other. There is no sense of unity (it shows on the park). I am led to believe that there is a core group of 'friends' at the club but others that are not within the group do not feel that they are part of the 'team'. We do not have a team of mates who want to be alongside one another. This scares the hell out of me. Reason: I have had this feeling just from seeing the players on the field and in warm-ups.

I highlighted this point, because I wonder if the captain being considerably older than nearly the whole playing group has something to do with this. If, the point you raised is true, then the captain surely can see this happening and should do something about it.

Maybe looking back at the decision to make Green captain is a bad one. We wpossibly should have named a younger captain who can associate with both the older(Green, Davey, Rivers) and the younger players on our list. Someone like Grimes or Moloney might have been a better option in hindsight. At least Moloney would have taken them all out on a bender together as a team! Going out and getting pi$$ed together might be just what this team needs right now.

Plus, I also wonder if these little groups going away to boxing camp etc has something to do with clicky groups opening up at the club. Maybe we should concentrate on doing these camps as a whole team, instead of just a selected few.

Usually I am not one for starting baseless rumours and starting threads for the sake of stirring the pot, however, I have been informed by a friend who is a business associate of a player on the current list (don't ask me to name the player, won't happen) that the problems at the MFC go beyond just a lack of game plan.

That is what worries me when were talking about the suggested complete meltdown of our football club. When starting a thread like this, the last thing we want to see is how far removed the source is & that it is apparently only one player.

there are always groups within footy clubs and teams in general, haven't some of you played a team sport before?

this could well be true, however if a player is disenchanted that makes it all the more likely that he is painting a darker picture than necessary and a picture from his point of view (obviously)

while he may feel left out of the group (i'm thinking joel mac as the player tbh as newton and bate seem to be involved with the boys through their twitter and what not) that may be a direct result of him coming into a new culture of this football club

any older player who doesn't realise it's important to blood youngsters when they themselves aren't setting the world alight on gameday needs to have their head pulled in

Well you take feedback like this with a grain of salt but to an untrained person as myself IMO it fits a plausible profile as to what is going on down there.

Symptoms to something bigger was my impression after the Hawks game and nothing has changed. No direction, no cohesion, no teamwork, no enthusiasm on top of no intensity - but why.

I have no doubt some of the senior players would feel alienated at times with the way we play and with our team dynamic.

I also didn't think that it would be as easy this year as last year finding 3 players to let go for draft spots. If some senior players put their hand up to retire through frustration then that concern at least is alleviated.:eek:

Not selling the farm on some second hand comments, but it's easier to see this being correct rather than totally off the mark

As said there are groups in any team sport at all levels, but it's how they work together that matters. But you'd have to be buried in a pretty deep hole to not notice the main group of players at Melbourne are the party boys, lead by Moloney. We've all seen the facebook photos, tweets, etc. Sylvia, Watts, Frawley, Petterd & most of the younger guys are all involved. Then there's the older players, Green, Davey has kids, Rivers is a bit quieter, these guys fill our leadership group & not one is really a hugely outgoing character from all accounts to pull heads in when required from the other group. It almost seems like the younger/less mature group at mfc hold the "balance of power", for want of a better term.

That's not to say anyone hates anyone, but there appears an evident divide. Maybe Moloney is dirty on not getting the captaincy & you can see his frustration on the field at times with the gameplan/FD. Maybe he's not said anything to anyone, but he could influence the young group without saying a word. I'm not pointing a finger at Moloney, just posing a situation that could be causing the fractures

Fairly depressing read on a friday afternoon.

That said, it sometimes takes wins, a winning culture, to truly gel a team together. And boy we haven't had a lot of that over the past 3-4 years, inconsistant efforts from a team that is rebuilding. A consistant season or patch of games can bring a team together, but i don't know when that is coming.

At the risk of starting a guessing game, comments of this nature would definitely not be in Joel Macdonald's character, the other lads speculatively mentioned though are a different story...

what makes you say this? Are you guessing?

Guys, I will not back away from my comments.

Those that want to live in denial can. I will not name names as this has no positive gain. Who cares who said it. The FACT is it is happening.

This is the result of not building team culture. Look at Carlton...lots of number one picks, high priced recruits, what have they delivered? F.A. St Kilda, much the same....

This game is more than a list of potential champions. Read 'The Red Fox' if you haven't already. Comradery builds success. Knowing that the bloke beside you has your back and you will have his is paramount. This comes from the social interaction. It is passed down from an older generation. Who is there at the MFC to pass on this sense of belonging, this sense of comradery....that's right, we thanked them for their time and told them to piss off! And the MFC has done it time and time again. It is like the sacking of Norm Smith was the catalyst for all the disloyalty that has followed. At least R. Flower wan't shafted like junior. Other than the Doggies and maybe St Kilda, I believe we, more than most clubs, have the least interested group of past players. Maybe that is due to the lack of success or maybe it is because we are so bad at thanking a player for is contribution before showing them the door. I am not sure.

How can any MFC player show loyalty and respect to a club that knifes so many of its heroes on their way out..cue Shane Woewodin!There was a true red and blue heart....that was passion!!!

If this is true, Scully is gone.
Rubbish. Older players pissed off because younger players are taking their spots. How does Scully fit into this?

For Melbourne to keep him they have to make him think that he is going to be the main man to get them out of their problems.

He was brought to the club as a Judd clone. Judd always plays in the centre square, Scully rarely played there, he was on the wing most of the time.

Like most quality footballers he would want to be a leader and he's not even in the leadership group when it's known that he is one of the best trainers going around, why?

Leading teams is a crock of psychological crap that simply that allows the coach to do what all management does and that is to pass on the tough decisions to someone else.

We all talk about the Scully's, Trengove's and Watts leading the club to bigger and better things but how can they when they aren't allowed to lead.

The leadership group is about making players into leaders so they can become better players, players who are already leaders don't need it because they are going to lead no matter what.

Take control Bailey and do what you want to do, don't leave it to others because ATM you look like you have lost control and created a bunch of whining bitches.

If Bailey can't get the club to play good consistant football then we are going to have to get a new coach with a new philosophy and a new culture so whatever problems Scully has with Bailey (if any) it's not going to matter.

If the club can't come to terms with the way Scully feels he should fit into the club regarding his position in the team, leading the team and a ball park figure regarding money then he will go. This whinging when things aren't going well is a fact of life for everybody not just footballers it will have nothing to do with the decision of Scully staying or going.

don't agree with the Carlton, Stkilda comment. St.kilda have played in finals for many years. Carlton narrowly missed out last year and should make it this year. having said that, i don't believe ratten is the right man either. But both sides have many star players. we do not.

Look at Carlton...lots of number one picks, high priced recruits, what have they delivered? F.A. St Kilda, much the same....

Eh?

Carlton are looking like top 4 contenders after a few years playing finals after rebuilding.

Saints have played in two very close Grand Finals and only just missed out on winning one. Before this they have spent a long time at the top of the ladder.

Eh?

Carlton are looking like top 4 contenders after a few years playing finals after rebuilding.

Saints have played in two very close Grand Finals and only just missed out on winning one. Before this they have spent a long time at the top of the ladder.

Carlton and the Saints have been talking about being the next big thing for ages. Carlton IMHO have not done jack shit for years. underachieved with the number of 1st rounders that have and so forth. Saints...yeh, the came to the big dance and fell short..a little off field disharmony and look what happens.. that is the point I was making...

Anyway, this chat aint about other clubs, it is about what is going on at the MFC. I don't like what I hear one little bit.

I wish you wouldn't post this. The last thing we need now is more doom and gloom gossip that comes from your friends uncles local chinese take away. The players would be down and the media is on their backs, the last thing they need is the fans feeling like absolute shit too.

No-one is going to be happy reading your post. Who does it help? There is nothing we can do to fix the situation internally.

Honestly, i feel like not reading any football news/forums for a while and just watching games/doing my supercoach. It's getting too depressing.

The factions are obvious at Melbourne, have been saying it for the past 2 years. You got the indigenous boys. You got the young gun draft picks. You got the 25 and older crowd. You got the casey boys and then you have Grimes.

If this season becomes a massive failure I have no qualms with moving on any coaches and players that would rather be somewhere else. Please Jimmy trade them while they are still worth something. I hear Franklin was a Melbourne supporter.

The inside word...what is REALLY wrong at the MFC