The Melbourne Kangaroos?

If you are so keen on mergers then perhaps you should examine the possibility of Carlton merging or relocating and mind your own f**ing business in relation to other clubs. It is one of your own clubs ex-presidents who is running one of the stadiums thats trying to grind Melbourne clubs into the ground financially. I repeat - if You think there are too many clubs in Melbourne then examine the possibility of your own club relocating or merging and mind your own business when it comes to others. It's not that long ago that Carlton was in severe trouble both on and off the field. Obviously the experience has done nothing to undermine the (undeserved) arrogance of some Carlton supporters. :thumbsdown:

Tissue ?????

It's only a matter of time pal, might as well face the reality whilst you can.

Port Adelaide have posted losses only 3 times, they would be up millions.

So that point is void.

Sydney, well thats different, thats a growth area. And if you know anything about business..

If Port are up millions, then why are they asking for AFL assistance?

And as Sydney have now been in the growth market for more than 20 years,..... cough.....current membership average for the countrys biggest city considering time there and recent success.

They still receive concessions.

I'm no business expert and you obviously are, so just let me know how you would fix this problem?

Cheers.

The first Victorian club to go should be Melbourne and I wouldn't even bother to merge them with another AFL club. Melbourne simply has nothing to offer a potential merger club other than blandness and meaningless. North and Footscray should be made to merge.

All three clubs are hopeless and have been basketcases for 10 plus years. Given that these clubs survive due to the AFL drip, they should have no say in influencing how the AFL structures the competition.

The first Victorian club to go should be Melbourne and I wouldn't even bother to merge them with another AFL club. Melbourne simply has nothing to offer a potential merger club other than blandness and meaningless. North and Footscray should be made to merge.

All three clubs are hopeless and have been basketcases for 10 plus years. Given that these clubs survive due to the AFL drip, they should have no say in influencing how the AFL structures the competition.
I think the first club to go should be unlisted.

Oh look, it's 'Unlisted' bluespooner.

Mate, you may as well list your club as 'irrelevant uninformed opinion.'

Yes, its Adelaides fault, probably the largest drawing interstate bar Sydney in Melbourne.

It wouldnt be the fact your club has lost 90% of their games over the last 2 years.

3rd lowest at the G I have been lead to believe since the AFL began.
It's not Adelaides fault they are completely unappealing to anyone who wants to watch a game of Footy, no.

And I think you will find the AFL began in 1897. I'm sure i can find hundreds of games at the G that drew lower crowds.

You have a very odd way of measuring profits.

Welfare is an extraordinary item.
Every team gets approximately 8-9mil from the AFL per season. Lets start deducting all AFL contributions from club profits and see how they look, hey?

Ironic, given that your club would have gone under a few years back, if not for the late RP diverting some of his dubious profits towards Carlton's coffers.

So that point is void.

Sydney, well thats different, thats a growth area. And if you know anything about business..

Just wondering if you've got that answer for me yet champ.:confused:

They've been there 30 years and their membership is falling, their ratings are falling, they only have 18k members in Sydney.

In business, yes, that's called a loss leader. To get the TV ratings, the AFL subsidises Sydney.

But you dn't need TWO loss leaders.

There is a direct Demetriou quote in that.

"It's now up to the Kangaroos as a board to make a decision on whether they wish to pursue the AFL's $100 million package or the James Brayshaw plan."

I think you will find that if you dug out the actual breakdown of Demetriou's "package" a massive chunk of it went into infrastructure and development of the game on the GC and not necessarily into the Kanga bank account!

The devil is always in the detail!

So that point is void.

I will bet your left nut that this year Port posts a loss of more than all those three previous losses put together!

I hope Port get themselves out of it actually...........they seem to be the only Adelaide team in the AFL that plays a style of footy that doesn't put people to sleep or damage the AFL brand!

Certainly, i would have a look at the fine print, but byjesus that is a fair whack of cash isn't it?

Yes alot of cash........but the box with cash was "ticking" and it depended on the Roos giving alot away to the AFL/GC, including their soul. It was a loaded deal!

As a recent convert to the Roos, I reckon they did the right thing. You could reasobaly predict that within a few years any semblance of the NMFC would have been stripped bare to be a full on GC club!

$100 million dollars, North were offered by the AFL to relocate north.

$100 million dollars!!!!

http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/kangaroos-abandon-gold-coast-relocation-20071206-1ffi.html

Were offered a half mil per game for 3 games a year on the Gold Coast.
and North said no.

The shit for brains express has just left the station.

Well, speaking of SFB...........if you really believe that headline figure was worth $100 million, you'd be keen to hear of a business opportunity being offered by the widow of the former head of the Nigerian treasury.

It sounds a damn sight better than being called the Melbourne Kangaroos.

I think you will find that if you dug out the actual breakdown of Demetriou's "package" a massive chunk of it went into infrastructure and development of the game on the GC and not necessarily into the Kanga bank account!

The devil is always in the detail!
Not to mention relocation costs.

Plus around $50 million of that was earmarked to go to the club even if they stayed in melbourne (normal allocations).

Plus the ownership of the club would have been transferred to the AFL.

'Shit for brains' would have been to say '$100 million? Bewdy, where do we sign?'

Then you tell me, what makes North viable in Victoria for the next 10 years?

You knocked back the Greek with the gift.

You knocked back the interstate home game offer,
that we took, and Hawthorn just jizz over.

You stay in North Melbourne, with its minmal infrasructure,
and seek no other markets outside Queensberry St.

All the money guys have gone
(Robb, Joseph, Mantello, Cheatley, Ansett1 and Ansett2)
The guys that bankrolled you in the '70s,
hell they 'aint coming back.

Its fairly clear what north will do and that is to do what they have done for the past 15 years, put their hand out and ask the AFL to bankroll them. They will then justify this by claiming they get an unfair draw, which is the biggest bunch of cobblers of all time.

While the AFL continues to poor money into the unfinancial Melbourne clubs nothing much will change as they have no incentive to improve their financial position.

Geez, there was a thread on this Board last week saying Melbourne were going to refuel, a euphemism for tank so as to get picks 1 and 2 in this season's national draft. Not only are they saying that they want the AFL to fund them but they are going to produce rubbish to ensure they obtain no more then 16 points as they were a skewed draft to delivered more unfair advantages. This is a club that has had 6 picks in the top 21 in the last two drafts.

Absolutely amazing. The best thing for football would be drop these deadweights.

Yes alot of cash........but the box with cash was "ticking" and it depended on the Roos giving alot away to the AFL/GC, including their soul. It was a loaded deal!

As a recent convert to the Roos, I reckon they did the right thing. You could reasobaly predict that within a few years any semblance of the NMFC would have been stripped bare to be a full on GC club!

You're not wrong there mate. What they wanted was a list they could top with draft picks and players stolen from other clubs to gift a flag to the GC early on to try and win over fans.

They would have changed the jumper, the song, the agreement to play 8 games in Melbourne would have been ditched.

There would have been an AFL owned club wearing blue, gold and white on the Gold Coast called the Kangaroos.

Not sure what that has to do with North Melbourne. I wouldn't have supported it.

Great to have you on board mate.

As i posted elsewhere, i cannot beleive that the Kangaroo's went against a report that they commissioned themselves! EVERYONE has told them the same thing but they continue to defy the critics.

Good luck to the NMFC but i hope it doesn't come back to bite them!!!

http://www.kangaroos.com.au/Default....2&newsId=54066

Gemba_report said:
GEMBA EVALUATION

Background

In June 2007, the North Melbourne Board commenced a review process of the options for growth for our Club. The focus of this review was to establish whether our Club could remain as a viable, sustainable, entity based in Melbourne.
Sports, Media and Entertainment Consultancy, Gemba was engaged to bring an independent, fact-based perspective to the issues.

Gemba have a deep understanding of the dynamics that drive successful sports organisations, having undertaken strategic planning for several AFL clubs and many other Australian sports organisations.

Gemba’s brief was to:

Analyse NMFC’s current environment:

- Financials

- Member data

- Organisational structure and resources

- Sponsorship

- Analyse NMFC’s relative performance:

- Benchmark performance relative to the competition

- Explore NMFC’s growth opportunities that would enable our club to achieve its long term growth objectives in Victoria.

- Assess various scenarios against NMFC objectives:

- Objectives developed through consultation with the NMFC Board and CEO to define our club’s picture of success.

Gemba Report Summary

The Gemba Report quantified a potential improvement of financial performance in 2008 and 2009 based on achieving the full potential model, AFL Annual Special Distribution and revenue generated from home games in South East Queensland.

However, forecasting a range between a significant loss to a marginal profit (specific to base case and full potential models) from 2010.

From 2010, to increase football department expenditure by $1m and achieve a profit of $0.5m factoring in the loss of Gold Coast games and reduction in ASD to the average of Victorian Clubs, the NMFC would need to generate an additional $6 – 8m in revenue.

The Gemba report concluded that North Melbourne had significant strengths in certain areas, namely:

- On-field performance

- Membership conversion (members as a percentage of supporter base)

- Strong football culture

Unfortunately, the reality of the external environment and the structural constraints with which our Club is faced make it extremely difficult to step change financial performance.

Whilst, there are opportunities to achieve a better financial outcome (net profit of $0.3M by 2010) with the current management resources and external environment, it is the view of Gemba that this is a stretched goal and will be difficult to achieve.

The Melbourne Kangaroos?