Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 3

Part 4 is here:

Not enough new investors while prices were falling and some investors selling out means we don't currently have enough stock on the market. East Coast investors not able to come in right now.

Here's an easy to read graphic from Pete Wargent.

Eh73U-CWAAEZIPp

Apparently there is a massive rental shortage.

From... all of the people coming in?

People losing their mortgages so now renting?

Combination of people earning less with the increasing casualisation of the workforce (or losing their jobs outright) and REIWA beat-up (which they are prone to do). There is plenty of stock, and house prices are not going to rise any time soon, but according to REIWA it's a property apocalypse in Perth all the time. I've lost count of the amount of fearmongering and unfounded optimism on house prices news reports on Channel 7 sponsored by REIWA - basically, they spend shitloads per year trying to boost the housing market via the fear of missing out on investment properties.

apparently heaps more people are renting on their weeks off from fly in-fly out; ie they're not going to Bali between swings and have to rent.

some of the shit being peddled for 250 a week is atrocious, one bedrooms that haven't been touched since the 1990s. and they're going instantly.

Fair enough - that PDF may also be evidence of WA performing strongly during COVID times.

Yes. Hopefully today's employment data further confirms this.

I believe we have done well for two reasons - firstly, we had relatively high unemployment prior to COVID. Now all of those people on Jobseeker have had their income doubled. WA got a greater proportion of that compared to all/most other states. More money = more spending, particularly for people on the dole, who have a lot of pent up demand.

Secondly, people now cannot holiday outside the state. WA probably had a lot more people leaving for overseas or interstate holidays than they had people coming in. This means less money leaving than usual.

Good times. I hope we keep crushing it.

I would trust any news related to real estate less than I trust the "facts" some people spew about covid on the coronavirus thread.
when real estate related news isn't telling us that it's a good time to invest, that's when we know shit is truly going to hit the fan

Say what now?

Who did what, will be decided by the courts but more likely an out of court settlement of $40m to keep the details hush hush

What I will say is an oil company paid $75m for $12m of sand
One company misrepresented no payment was made and one company not payment received for the sand
The payments happened offshore to hide the payments

The sand was allegedly illegally mined under a state agreement limited to a very specific commodity (not sand)
No royalties to the government received, no native title royalties paid
Some one in government provided authority for the sand to be mined under a fraudulent "flood risk"
Some one in government directed the mines department not to grant a license to a legal sand supplier
This happened under the Barnett government

What hasn't been presented in court is how the $63m ($75m-$12m) was divided up but will be unless a settlement is reached

Who is paying the 40mil and if it’s the government how do you hide that

I think the question is who received the money, why was it paid offshore, why the payment was denied and why did the government make very interesting instructions to departments

My gut feel is a US entity will pay it to avoid the possible criminal element

Let’s see how this plays out

I think the question is who received the money, why was it paid offshore, why the payment was denied and why did the government make very interesting instructions to departments

My gut feel is a US entity will pay it to avoid the possible criminal element

Let’s see how this plays out

I’m not going lie this is a little confusing

Company A and B with the assistance of a former premier have allegedly committed fraud against the government to the tune of 75mil plus

I then presume it’s the state govt who has taken them to court

I then presume these companies are going to pay the govt 40 mil to go away

if this is the correct version then I’m seriously pissed that another crime is taking place in that the media is obviously complicit in keeping it all quiet, that the govt are also complicit in that they are prepared to accept less than What was stolen (why) and more importantly that Barnett if he did what is being said, walks away with his “I’m a good man” tag still attached - again, why

I’m not going lie this is a little confusing

Company A and B with the assistance of a former premier have allegedly committed fraud against the government to the tune of 75mil plus

I then presume it’s the state govt who has taken them to court

I then presume these companies are going to pay the govt 40 mil to go away

if this is the correct version then I’m seriously pissed that another crime is taking place in that the media is obviously complicit in keeping it all quiet, that the govt are also complicit in that they are prepared to accept less than What was stolen (why) and more importantly that Barnett if he did what is being said, walks away with his “I’m a good man” tag still attached - again, why

An aboriginal group with the assistance of a Mining Titles expert has taken a US oil company to court along with a US industrial commodity supplier.

The way it works......and to protect the innocent/ or not so innocent.......certain government department employees may work with tenement plaintiffs (mining Titles experts funded by bikies) by providing "look over here", "here is this email and or report", "this tenement looks like a s69 of the mining act" etc etc. They provide information in return for a slice of the pie. It is a dirty aspect of mining and dominated by links with bikies to launder money.

Normally this results in a plaint and the forfeiture of a tenement, which is then picked up by the plaintiff or paid a handsome fee to go away or buy back the asset. However ever once and a while they dig up real gems like this case.

In this case emails and reports were provided to a plaintiff supporting the claims his tenements were not granted due to this alleged fraud. The attack on the US companies, by the indigenous, is simple:
1) Why was sand mined under the guise of flood protection?
Their response, it was flood protection and no payment was paid or received for the sand
2) That's an interesting response......can you explain the $75m payment made off shore with the supporting evidence it related to the sand including emails and invoices?
Ummm, shit ****
3) OK let's talk about the royalties, the indigenous royalties and GST
Umm, shit ****

That's where it has got to in the courts to date. What is happening outside of court now is:

1) Do you wish to explain why $12m of sand was sold for $75m
2) Who got a slice of the pie...........and do you wish these emails be presented in the courts
3) Perhaps lets look at who used ministerial approval to over rule a flood risk report rejected 20 year ago by government departments, to support the mining of sand on a state agreement with specific limitations (ie can't mine sand).

I'm only hearing one side of the story at the moment but it marries exactly what I've read in the court. I actually hope this doesn't get settled behind closed doors. If a settlement is reached, it will be 2/3 indigenous and 1/3 the mining titles expert.

The media wouldn't know about this, as they don't have the right relationships or understand the underworld.

What shits me though is ASIC doesn't know......all they have to do is drink coffee at Black Tom's and they'd clean up half of the corruption in WA.

Further, if all of the mining industry knows about the corruption in DPAW, the DoE and DoMaE, why doesn't the CCC? especially when the departments are made aware of the corruption?

I ask myself this.....how can a serial plainter secure sensitive department emails and reports but the CCC can not?

How can the mining industry know about the bikies laundering funds, yet the AFP and Austrac don't?

I will confirm it happened under Barnett's government and it did have ministerial approval. Whether that is Barnett or other, I will reserve judgement until I have more information.

What is certain is paying $75m for $12m of sand, denying the payment happened, using off shore funds, not paying GST, royalties and the indigenous, illegal mining under a state agreement and receiving ministerial approval is all very interesting.

Power Raid should win the Walkley award based purely on those posts. Whatever happened to investigative journalism that shone the spotlight on all these industry known secrets. Banking, Aged Care, Recycling, the list goes on for industrys that are dodgy and everyone knows it.

Whilst I'm getting stuck into WA premiers, I can't believe Emperor McGowan has decided the hard border shut down will go through to March end.

I guess Health Advice can conveniently see an election 13 March 2021.

Whilst I'm getting stuck into WA premiers, I can't believe Emperor McGowan has decided the hard border shut down will go through to March end.

I guess Health Advice can conveniently see an election 13 March 2021.

Agreed - pushing his luck now and I’m a die hard leftie

I wonder if it’s also because WA money Is staying in WA because there does seem to be a lot of places heavily booked and we are seeing our own state

It’s also a lever he may get to hold over mining companies and the like to employ WA workers as there was quite a drop in the unemployment figures for last month

Power Raid should win the Walkley award based purely on those posts. Whatever happened to investigative journalism that shone the spotlight on all these industry known secrets. Banking, Aged Care, Recycling, the list goes on for industrys that are dodgy and everyone knows it.
Journalists are hindered by the truth, they don't get to publish random information without evidence or context*.

*Obviously, footy and entertainment 'journos' not included.

Journalists are hindered by the truth, they don't get to publish random information without evidence or context*.

or because the owners of said media don’t want it published

there’s so many stories that never see the light of day because an owner/editor has said no

If you can point me to where I can view these journalists work that would be appreciated because all they ever do is say "a source" and that seems to get them free reign. Of course they may issue an apology at a later date which is buried on page 5 of a newspaper in small print.

A lot of it has been covered by media and the courts.

What hasn't been reported is the backroom negotiations. It is worth noting the WA government has sort to have this thrown out of court but the federal court didn't agree with the government.

or because the owners of said media don’t want it published

there’s so many stories that never see the light of day because an owner/editor has said no
100 per cent. Reckon there's some quality journos sitting on some great stories because they can't get them published. And it's not like we're spoilt for choice here in WA. Still plenty of good journalism coming out of the ABC.