The proposed FFC Song Review - What's happening?

What a dumb question. Where is it stated that anything is?

That's right Clay, if it was stated anywhere, it would mean we are no longer able to make baseless assumptions, AMIRIGHT?

I'm going to make myself an omlette.

It is clearly the number one focus of the board. What else have they done that we know about?

Not much, but I suspect that has more to do with the knowing about, than not doing.

You say that as if it's something to be proud of; as if it's indicative of anything but an arrogant pigheadedness that marks it's proponent as something other than a bone-head who's a few chromosomes short.

I said it because its an accepted fact. Your personal attack on me identifies who the real bonehead is here.

A unique jumper? Yeah... Unique alright... what kind of sporting team uses a flag as the basis for the upper part of the jersey? That's right, unless it's a national team.... nobody. I don't see any Melbourne teams putting the Greek flag on their strips simply because Melbourne has a large Greek population - and yet Freo's link to Italian migration was a dliberate part of the branding back in 94.

The design of the jumper we've got looks like a footy jumper. Moreover it takes more from the look of South and East Freo FC's than the old one did.

So your issue with the old jumper was that it was either too unique or too Italian?

"You're shit".

Geez, way to counter-argue there, Einstein.

I didn't say you were shit, I said the points you put forward were shit. I can tell from your apparent comprehension level that you would struggle to see the difference.

I hope you're not one of those ******s who has a "If you don't like it, leave" bumper sticker on their car?

I hope you don't work in a call centre.

few versions on youtube

[youtube]Ao3ommTJces[/youtube]

[youtube]_-T3LsRE1W0&NR=1[/youtube]

hate it but there is also this
[youtube]AsSTPQ-Y0HU&feature=related[/youtube]
lyrics (because its hard to understand):
and together we will fight until the finals are around,
We'll hit 'em hard
We'll hit em fair,
We will hit em good,
and we will hold premiership
and fans will share our attitude
and everyone around the ship, will shout dockers dockers,
WHERE WITH YOU
You'll never stand alone when there's a battle on the ground, there will always be a docker by yourside X3

and
[youtube]RvRuQ7-tFT0[/youtube]

If these songs are the ones the board are considering, they should all resign effective immediately because they are some deplorable options

What happened to just leaving the song alone???

AFL08, they dont understand leaving it alone. I cannot watch a game that is how bad, the Steves have rooted the club for me. I can listen, no worries. They have got to go. Serious. look at some of these threads that have been going for about a year.

Get the Steves out. Clean out the board too. They just dont understand what a Freo supporter is.

This club is damaged goods now. Yeah great news on apparently the 42 odd thousand members. Where are ya? As the year has gone on, the passion has dwindled.

AFL08, they dont understand leaving it alone. I cannot watch a game that is how bad, the Steves have rooted the club for me. I can listen, no worries. They have got to go. Serious. look at some of these threads that have been going for about a year.

Get the Steves out. Clean out the board too. They just dont understand what a Freo supporter is.

This club is damaged goods now. Yeah great news on apparently the 42 odd thousand members. Where are ya? As the year has gone on, the passion has dwindled.

low crouds isn't just a freo trend. it is across the whole competition including the eagles, and afl attendances havn't been this low since 2006. there realy is no evidence of any negative effect the jumper change has had on the club. hardly damaged goods :rolleyes: you would find it difficult to find a person wearing the old gear instead of the new gear at the games.

...you would find it difficult to find a person wearing the old gear instead of the new gear at the games.

Get your hand off it. You are either blind or don't go to/watch games.

Hope it doesn't get changed. My favourite club song in the AFL with WCE's being a close second.

Not a fan of the recent logo/jumper change either actually. In fact I'm still kind of kind angry about it which makes me wonder a bit.

Hope it doesn't get changed. My favourite club song in the AFL with WCE's being a close second.

Not a fan of the recent logo/jumper change either actually. In fact I'm still kind of kind angry about it which makes me wonder a bit.

Think you might be a closet Dockers supporter:eek:

Have to say I like Freo's song, just needs a more classic arrangement with horns to fit in with the Victorian teams - the squealing guitars don't age well (WCE I'm looking at you).

But if Freo goes with a new song, they should go with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDKSpEfPOTo The Brass Bonanza was the theme song of the now defunct Hartford Whalers (ice hockey)...an absolute classic, just add lyrics and you're good to go!

sigh. its not a great song. but its ours. people will always take the piss out of it, but all this stuff about changing it is highlighting it even more. so now there is potential for double mockery. both at the 'crap' song, and the fact that freo are considering changing it. its lose lose. just leave it as is, and let it get its own history, its own memories, and pride. we shouldn't care what 'others' think, but seeing as we seem to care, i think it should be noted that the attempt to get respect (from who???) is not even working. we are more the focus of mockery than before by virtue of THINKING of changing it.

Believe we'll get three choices to vote on. The original, A tweak(from orig scribe), and a new song. Personally I'm with Brad Johnson on AFL Teams, who said "You can''t change a club song!". I don't have a problem with our song, just the clipped version the lads sing for a win (if they sang it right it'd be fine). Conforming to some poncy Victorian era is not what Freo was trying to achieve back in '94. Love it or hate it - it's uniquely ours.

What I hate is all the crap press coming out now and taking a poke because we are reviewing the song. All the "here are a few suggestions" articles can take a hike!

After all is said and done, I'll defer to my 4yo who sings the roller and the rockers mighty Freo dockers just fine!:D Here's to the song Tonight !

I don't have a problem with our song, just the clipped version the lads sing for a win (if they sang it right it'd be fine).
I'm with you there. The chant of "Freo Heave Ho" ala The Song of the Volga Boatmen is actually incredibly effective and if a whole massive crowd got into it Russian style would go off.

This gives me shivers (in a good way) from about 1.56 on:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WD0WVL-HjE

I'm with you there. The chant of "Freo Heave Ho" ala The Song of the Volga Boatmen is actually incredibly effective and if a whole massive crowd got into it Russian style would go off.

This gives me shivers (in a good way) from about 1.56 on:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WD0WVL-HjE

Top find Taco. Stirring stuff and is a great premise for a club song.

I actually quite like it when played out at the ground but seriously something needs to be done with the lyrics, almost find it embarrassing when you see the players sing it after the game :eek:
As Aussiblood mentioned, you just have to work out the right bit for the players to sing and get them singing it properly.
While I don't think the song needs to be an issue, it now is and if handled intelligently and delicately (a little nip here, a bit of rearrangement), "traditionalists" and those that don't like the song could probably all be made happy. (I think everyone would have been pretty happy with the old purple haze jumper maintaining the anchor becoming our main strip for example)
My personal view is leave it alone because I don't trust that the current management could come up with a good result plus I really like that our song is actually pretty different. Besides Richmond's, most of the songs actually are pretty bad when you listen to them.

Love the drums in the opening of the song but i don't think they play that bit any more at the ground. It's probably just the words that need to change. ..hit them down below.... (do me a favour)

Sorry to bump an old thread.... but with the song review pending this discussion is still relevant.

Shows how clueless you are Si Botak. The red white and green had nothing to do with Italy. Comment on things you know.

It was specifically stated at the Launch in '94 that it represented two things - the maritime markers for Port and Starboard, and also Fremantle's strong links to the Italian migrant community in the area. So I am commenting on something I know.

I said it because its an accepted fact. Your personal attack on me identifies who the real bonehead is here.

My statement is also an accepted fact; that being resistant to change to the exclusion of improvement is not something to be proud of, and is indeed the hallmark of a true idiot. Now, this was meant as a hypothetical statement; if you re-read what I posted, you'll see all I'm objecting to by your sentence is the implication that it's anything but a bad thing.

As an extension of that, if you are indeed the type of person who thinks in those terms, feel free to be offended. If you're not, don't. It is what it is.

So your issue with the old jumper was that it was either too unique or too Italian?

My issue with the jumper is that as much as you feel it represented freo's football heritage to that date effectively (hence your view that it is unique), I don't.

I didn't say you were shit, I said the points you put forward were shit. I can tell from your apparent comprehension level that you would struggle to see the difference.

I never said your response was a personal attack, and didn't view it as such. Level of comprehension? Really? Allow me to clarify for you if we're communicating on different levels... :rolleyes:

The point I was making when I said "'You're Shit', Nice argument mate" means; "If the point being made is shit, what makes it shit? If you take the time to have a stance on something the least you can do is qualify it."

Clay at least hinted at some kind of logical qualification in his response.... even if he is wrong.

I hope you don't work in a call centre.

Call me, Call me now.

EDIT: Canuckaroo said it... the wailing 90's guitar.... I mean jeez... cringe much?

It was specifically stated at the Launch in '94 that it represented two things - the maritime markers for Port and Starboard, and also Fremantle's strong links to the Italian migrant community in the area. So I am commenting on something I know.
I'm sure you think you are. You could provide evidence aside from hearsay.

My statement is also an accepted fact; that being resistant to change to the exclusion of improvement is not something to be proud of, and is indeed the hallmark of a true idiot.
Where is the improvement?

I'm sure you think you are. You could provide evidence aside from hearsay.

Other than seeing it and hearing it myself back in '94 on TV? Can't provide anything very authorative I'm afraid... but then again I haven't looked until this morning and then not very hard.

First thing I found?

http://fulltext.ausport.gov.au/fulltext/1999/cjsm/v3n2/allegos32.htm

Having said that you could always contact 303 Advertising or Turner Design or try another web search if you're so inclined.

If that's the only source you've found, then it is tenuous at best. It was always referred to as the colours of port and starboard in official documents, or 'maritime heritage'. Never anything to do with Italians. You might as well say the tartan ties of the old days emphasised Fremantle's Scottish heritage.

The proposed FFC Song Review - What's happening?