With the amount of money we poured into keeping foreign automotive corporations here, we could have gone a long way to subsidising our own automotive manufacturing industry and built cars Australian's actually want to buy. Holden lost loyalty because they weren't Australian anymore as much as anything (though there were plenty of other issues which also came from being controlled by a clueless US corporation).
The argument is made that our market is too small and too isolated to be cost effective, I'd argue that no isolated nation with a landmass as huge as ours can afford to be reliant on imports and the goodwill of foreign corporations for something as basic as transport.
If you nationalise the whole shebang - or just use a cooperative arrangement rather than a corporate one which is forced to provide constant dividends to investors - and don't limit manufacturing to solely cars, but include buses, trucks, military vehicles etc. then there's plenty of market for Australian manufacturing, not to mention scope for exporting - particularly on the heavy transport and military side of things.
You start fixing an economy like ours by strictly limiting foreign investment to only genuine partnership arrangements (as opposed to exploitation of our resources and zero profits staying here), then identifying where we leak enormous amounts of money to overseas corporations, plugging those holes and making sure the people know exactly who and what they're supporting with their purchasing choices.
I used to think that. Then I did some work in a place using IBM software and they used the Lotus equivalent to Office. I've never complained anywhere near as much about Office since. Lotus products were so bad. I think they've died now. I hope so, they were total sh*t. Free, but garbage.
Ahhhh, that it were all that easy.
Not enough Richmond.Saturday arvo viewing sorted.
Must have been a close and exciting match that got the lungs working!German HIV expert Prof Hendrik Streeck said the new virus might not be spread on surfaces so easily as first thought.
Prof Streeck said the home of an infected family his team visited "did not have any live virus on any surface". (Telegraph)
So it must be lethal in terms of air transmission.
The soccer match in Bergamo was a super spreader.
Not enough Richmond.
Slowly getting through listening to my Jazz CD/Vinyl collection...heaps of company from Sasha...heaps of tea...no footy but life is still pretty damm good!
So's my corned beef on rye bread with hot english mustard sanga!
When I want a break there's gardening and Motortrend TV from the good old USA on VPN watching both Gas Monkey and Misfit Garage and car restros!
Jeez the Yanks know how to do a good Ute Resto!
Thank you to all the Tiger supporters that still pop in on here with your comments...feels like the footy season is still rolling on...and still unbeaten!
my wife was able to grab a corn beef the other day. I can’t wait to smash into it at some stage. Yum.
Might just watch the first half.there playing the 2013 ef on 7mate. anyone else miss us enough to watch it
3Might just watch the first half.
Dom Sheed game on after it.
I love cooking it real slow with a bunch of aromatics for hours until it just falls apart on the tongs when you finally get around to fishing it out.
Made me peckish just typing that...fortunately I did a double batch of Jamaican rundown last night which just needs a heat through, bloody great prices on quality seafood ATM!