No Oppo Supporters The TAN 80 - ICE COLD VB & CRAFT BEER LOVERS WELCOME

Makes you wonder where Australia might be if Gough hadn't been prevented from nationalising all future mining operations way back in the way back...

8ab699eefc368d2e5f577c39ccaef4da

74eea0172c7f99d7161c22c717a58724

dc8e6081d8ed2366cc74d0a0a13c9d54

Vienna, Austria, has long been hailed for its progressive social housing policies, which started in the 1920s and 30s and today see more than 60 per cent of the city’s 1.8 million residents living in subsided housing, while more than half of the housing market is either city-owned flats or cooperative apartments.

Eighty per cent of Viennese are renters, and thanks to strict rent control laws pay only 20 to 25 per cent of their income on housing — and in some cases as little as 8 per cent — compared with more than 30 per cent in Australia.

The income cap to access social housing is so high that 80 per cent of people qualify, and once approved contracts never expire even if the resident’s income increases, leading to greater economic diversity within the communities.

“If people don’t have to struggle all day long to survive — if your life is made safe, at least in social conditions — you can use your energy for much more important things,” Peter Pilz, a former member of Austria’s Green Party who took over his grandmother’s social housing unit, told The New York Times last month.

Speaking to Politico last year, Vienna’s deputy mayor Kathrin Gaal said the city’s social housing policies had been “shaped by the political commitment that housing is a basic right”.

“We insisted on not privatising social housing in the 1980s and 90s, when other cities were selling their municipal housing projects,” she said. “Today, more than ever, we can see that this strategy has been successful — once the apartments are gone, the city has only a small lever to regulate rents.”
Mate we would have so much money we could make it snow at Ayres Rock if we wanted to

It'd still be sitting underground while beaurocrats work out what to do. And most of it wouldn't even be found...like which gov't would have drilled holes in the middle of the desert to search for it?
The Left would never have dug a hole for fear of upsetting an orange bellied parrot.

Always love the way economists and politicians tiptoe and dodge around how Norway's very sizeable sovereign wealth fund (as opposed to practically all other countrries' massive debt) came into being and why they are one of the few countries which has anything remotely similar.

It'd still be sitting underground while beaurocrats work out what to do. And most of it wouldn't even be found...like which gov't would have drilled holes in the middle of the desert to search for it?

Leaving aside the fact that 'socialist bureaucrats' have actually proven pretty good at identifying and exploting resources throughout history(!;)), by the 70's, we already knew where all the major deposits were - mostly from government geological surveys. We were shipping ore out of the Pilbara in the 60's, we'd discovered all our major deposits of everything else.

Always love the way economists and politicians tiptoe and dodge around how Norway's very sizeable sovereign wealth fund (as opposed to practically all other countrries' massive debt) came into being and why they are one of the few countries which has anything remotely similar.

Spot on there.
Twiggy burns diesel for 20 years and now lectures us on being green.

Leaving aside the fact that 'socialist bureaucrats' have actually proven pretty good at identifying and exploting resources throughout history(!;)), by the 70's, we already knew where all the major deposits were - mostly from government geological surveys. We were shipping ore out of the Pilbara in the 60's, we'd discovered all our major deposits of everything else.

Take your point on iron ore, but it’s everywhere and more of a logistics exercise than mining. Esp DSO.
Nickel, lithium, copper, even gold I’m not so sure.
I reckon we’d have ended up with a truckload of oligarchs buying footy clubs if the state owned the resources.

Spot on there.
Twiggy burns diesel for 20 years and now lectures us on being green.

Never know what to make of him, but it's genuinely frightening how all-in he is on this EU Digital Services Act.

They've granted themselves the power to censor literally anything on the internet coming into the EU under the guise that it is deemed 'misinformation.' And it's not a judge, jury, or independently appointed tribunal who decides what is 'misinformation' - nope, the EU commission itself will decide.

Criticise a politician/oligarch on a public platform like we just did?

If the hordes of scanners take a dislike, best case scenario, the text disappears and so do our our social media accounts. But of course, they reserve the power to freeze your bank accounts so you can't work, pay rent or buy food, accuse you of supporting terrorism or whatever else takes their fancy, for simply stating an opinion or verifiable fact they don't like.

Over the last 2-3 years we've gone way deeper, way faster into Ministry of Truth territory than I believed possible and it seems 'Twiggy' is all for it.

Take your point on iron ore, but it’s everywhere and more of a logistics exercise than mining. Esp DSO.
Nickel, lithium, copper, even gold I’m not so sure.

The combination of state ownership of a particular valuable resource and democratic oversight worked well for Norway, don't see why it couldn't have here.

Instead we have private domestic oligarchs, whose profit in terms of billions is dwarfed by the 83% foreign owned profits heading overseas, all paying a really pathetic average 13% tax rate and leaving us with a mess to clean up (or never be able to clean up) while they're at it.

It's the definition of '3rd Word' level dumb governance and exploitation of a populace. Last I looked a year or two back, we statistically ranked right alongside Angola when it comes to getting shafted. :sadv1:

I reckon we’d have ended up with a truckload of oligarchs buying footy clubs if the state owned the resources.

3809bb289a483209d4737c2bb5ce8dc92a4da3ba

;)