The Whole Is Greater Than The Sum Of The Parts

nice fluffy post but very little facts

Enright would kill Bowden if they were lined up on each other now, same as that dud Blake would beat Patto, Varcoe and Tambling would both do no more than each other

Tambling has shown enough that he can be vital part of the jig saw puzzle that is coming together. I have full confidence in his continued improvement. Pattison is developing well.... HE IS 21 FFS. How long has it Taken Hille, Josh Fraser, etc etc to make it? Just because he has played almost three seasons now does'nt mean he will not continue to get better..

I must've gone for a piss on those occassions....oh wait he moved Richo to the wing... that was such a complicated coaching "magic trick" it took him no less than 70 Premiership games to formulate...:eek:

I don't want to be perceived as someone on a crusade to defend Terry Wallace, but I also don't want to completely desert him either. So a couple of other great moves aside from the Richo one that immediately spring to mind, just from this season, were

1) Holding Nathan Brown out of the midfield in Round 1 v Carlton and releasing him in there in the third quarter when the game was up for grabs. That move turned the game our way

2) All week before the Hawthorn game the media were wondering "who would stop Buddy?" He had booted 29 goals in the previous 5 weeks at an average of nearly 6 per match. The discussions were centred only around Bowden, Thursfield, Polak, McGuane or Schulz. Instead, Wallace goes with the previously unlikely Kelvin Moore who kept him to one, constantly forcing him to go out of his "zone" to get a kick.

Good long term plan ??? ... very much yet to be substantiated ... Getting rid of half our list in two years after the Frawley Maelstrom is hardly MENSA stuff , same as the ensuing youth policy

Flaws regarding our recruiting policy ??? ... you betcha ... but i will get to that later

Totally agree with your assessment regarding plough on Match day .... can be great , but at times , can be appalling . The "Peice de resistance" was the Geelong game for mine .. up at half time with the Cho in brownlow medal form up around wing/half-back tearing them a new one , they run out after half time with Richo standing in the goal square getting frost-bite as they slam on something like 8 un-answered goals ...WTF Terry ? ... This was clearly a pre-concieved tactic that went horrible wrong

For a bloke that still has the jury out on plough you are sure building one hell of a case for the prosecution :p

Fact is , when you are paying a bloke like Terry Wallace somewhere in the vicinity of 5-700 k to coach your team , you would think his opinion would be both a sound and valued one .... when he comes out and says that Richard Tambling will be a superstar , i think we are more than entitled to take him at face value ... forget about barrows to push . I am a Richmond member that has stuck by this shyte football club for nearly 30 years of mental anguish and if Terry has either A# ... made that statement without truelly believing it then he should be shown the door right away and B# ... if he does truelly believe it then it is seriously time to start questioning his judgement

You yourself have judged Varcoe as i bit player capable of some great Cameos ... something to that effect . And if Richy Tambling had of been drafted below Buddy then 99 % of these discussions and the ensuing debate would be moot.... correct ? Varcoe = Tambling

Well ... then WTF are we doing drafting a player of this ilk at No. 4 in the draft when we are in the process of tearing our whole house down and re-building it from the ground up ?

Sure ... Geelong taking Varcoe at 15 as some silk to complement what is shaping as a gilt edged midfield that will reap brownlows and premierships probably in the same vain as the last great dynasty in Brisbane ... makes great sense , they have built the engine room ... now for the icing on the cake ... WTF are the RFC doing ? Throw Danny Meyers hat in the ring as well.... pick 12# :thumbsu: ... lets grab an outside finisher :thumbsu::rolleyes:

But i digress ...

Problem is .... Richard Tambling was not viewed as "Travis Varcoe" type when drafted ... not on your Nelly .... Fact is , had super-star tag all over him and was going to be tearing the game to shreds with his speed , skill and agility ... That cannot be questioned Ghost , that is how the pundits had him , thats how Terry Wallace and Greg Miller had him . At this point in his career he cannot be viewed as anything "BUT" ... "A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT"

I agree that life is harsh and the poor kid has copped a huge truckload of undue pressure but thats life in the big city . He is a lovely kid and a great ambassador for his people . but is that going to win us a flag ???

Purely and simply , he is not developing into what the RFC so desperately needs and that is a hard running midfielder who runs flat chat all day , that is what he was drafted to do and midway through his forth season he is running out of excuses

Based on your assessment Ghost ... RT at 4# was a very poor decision , the problem is Terry Wallace and co. will still tell us otherwise ... therein lies the problem;)

Great post, and very convincing in many respects.

I don't want to be too presumptuous, but there's two things I think we agree on from all this a) Richie Tambling is an adequate young player gradually developing into good player, and b) We should expect more from a Pick 4 player in his fourth year at the club.

As for Wallace and his public statements? In an ideal supporters world we'd all be totally informed all of the time about everything regarding our club. But the reality is that an AFL coach, or president, cannot possibly be totally transparent on a lot of issues. It would be counter-productive in many situations. Wallace's opinion is a sound and valid one - but also one that might not be truly revealed to the general populace for the sake of the footy club itself.

Similarly, my boss doesn't reveal all about our mutual workplace, our politicians very rarely tell it like it actually is, and our footy coach is more than likely going to take the default "salesman" approach to the media and the football public. Like I said, take what they say in the public forum with a big grain of salt.

I must admit that I've never even seen Cartledge play so I'll reserve my judgement on him for the time being. JON is a bit of a worry - I doubt that Geelong have one of him on their list - but I reckon I'd persevere with him for one more season.

Shannon Byrne, although a lot shorter than JON, nonetheless has the same ability to either make the wrong decision or mis-kick and cough the ball up. Still, he has a premiership medallion, so he doesn't cop it the same as JON.

Great post, and very convincing in many respects.

I don't want to be too presumptuous, but there's two things I think we agree on from all this a) Richie Tambling is an adequate young player gradually developing into good player, and b) We should expect more from a Pick 4 player in his fourth year at the club.

As for Wallace and his public statements? In an ideal supporters world we'd all be totally informed all of the time about everything regarding our club. But the reality is that an AFL coach, or president, cannot possibly be totally transparent on a lot of issues. It would be counter-productive in many situations. Wallace's opinion is a sound and valid one - but also one that might not be truly revealed to the general populace for the sake of the footy club itself.

Similarly, my boss doesn't reveal all about our mutual workplace, our politicians very rarely tell it like it actually is, and our footy coach is more than likely going to take the default "salesman" approach to the media and the football public. Like I said, take what they say in the public forum with a big grain of salt.
No worries GOJJ ... takes a liberal dose of intelligence to get me to bother these days ;)

Yes ... Tambling is adequate , but our list over the years is an honour roll of "Adequate"

Players that we persist and persist and persist with for 5-7 , 8 years :rolleyes:

If we truelly had the minerals we would trade ... trade now ... could still be worth a second rounder for a club who sees something in him

Fiora =ed Troy Simmonds ....:thumbsu:.. Where is Jay Schulz`s career going ? same path as Ray Hall ... have some vision and make a call on a player like Tambling ...

The Whole Is Greater Than The Sum Of The Parts