The worst day/s of your life as a footy fan?

went to the 2004 grand final very sure of a 4peat, we decided late in the peace when the game was beyond doubt that we would stay at the ground until our boys left the ground. that 15-20 minutes were some of the longest in my life sitting there listening to the seemingly endless playing of that dreadful port adelaide song.:(

went to greet the team the next morning at brunswick oval and vividly remember Lethal telling the fans not to get used to this grand final thing as it was extraordinary what this team had done, he went on to say it may be 20 years before we appear in another GF, sounding very Nostradamus like now.

went to the 2004 grand final very sure of a 4peat, we decided late in the peace when the game was beyond doubt that we would stay at the ground until our boys left the ground. that 15-20 minutes were some of the longest in my life sitting there listening to the seemingly endless playing of that dreadful port adelaide song.:(

went to greet the team the next morning at brunswick oval and vividly remember Lethal telling the fans not to get used to this grand final thing as it was extraordinary what this team had done, he went on to say it may be 20 years before we appear in another GF, sounding very Nostradamus like now.

Lions could have won it if not for the crap Prelim fixturing the week before... at the very least it would have been a close GF with Port otherwise.

It was the first year where the Prelims were 24 hours apart and the last time a non Vic side got shafted by the MCG rule, Brisbane had to play their home prelim in Melbourne v Geelong.

Brisbane looked absolutely dangerous in their QF against STK, and a 4-peat looked almost certain.

After the Prelims... Port were already at home on a Friday Night, Brisbane didn't get home until Sunday.
At the very least, Bris v Gee should have been Sat Arvo, Port v STK on Sat Night.

a 4-peat would have been more memorable than seeing Chocco pull on his tie

nice going AFL :rolleyes:

Lions could have won it if not for the crap Prelim fixturing the week before... at the very least it would have been a close GF with Port otherwise.

It was the first year where the Prelims were 24 hours apart and the last time a non Vic side got shafted by the MCG rule, Brisbane had to play their home prelim in Melbourne v Geelong.

Brisbane looked absolutely dangerous in their QF against STK, and a 4-peat looked almost certain.

After the Prelims... Port were already at home on a Friday Night, Brisbane didn't get home until Sunday.
At the very least, Bris v Gee should have been Sat Arvo, Port v STK on Sat Night.

i have posted this nearly verbatim in another thread a fair while ago. didn't want to sound too salty.

that was why i went in so confident, the footy we were playing towards the end of 2004 was some of the best we had played in that 01-04 period. in hindsight the footy gods were against us in 04, with what you posted along with untimely injuries to Brown, Lynch (again in hindsight both shouldn't have played) and Hart + the physically draining wet prelim v the cats, it all conspired to stop the 4peat. looking back, very proud that we were still in that game late in the 3rd quarter.

thanks for the opportunity for another salty rant re 2004.

We've only played them in one since. And we lost by a kick, going in as underdogs. Though we should have won - we led by 20 I think at 3qt
Not really, we were on top alot of that game and really dominated the last qtr. You were making the most of your opportunities throughout the match.

Me and a couple of mates decided to save our pennies and fly from Perth to Melbourne for a weekend of Footy, friend 1 is a WCE fan, friend 2 is a bombers fan and I love the pies - we found a weekend when the bombers were playing eagles at etihad, collingwood were playing the lions at the G - the weekend started great, we got to melbourne did a tour of the G, got super cheap tickets, like $15 to enter because the game had started already to see cats v blues and we only missed 5 minutes.

The bombers v eagles was a decent game, everyone was happy but due to overlooking the times the pies game was due to start very shortly after so we had to run and get a taxi and get to the G asap then walk up 10,000 flights of stairs because we were in the nosebleeds but shit wasn't a problem I was finally seeing the pies live! joy turned to horror as I found out Pendles was withdrawn before the game </3 and then watched as we lost Reid, Beams, Elliot and Cloke (I will remember fondly for when he was being carried off by 2 trainers, saw the ball coming towards him so he pushed the trainers away and applied pressure - dude couldn't walk but still pushed through the pain, champion in my eyes)

I know its really not a bad day for a lot of people, but as a not so well of guy who saved for months to go see my team and have this happen it really soured the whole trip which had been fantastic up until that point, I'll never travel to see the Pies again because I figure I'm bad luck (I went to Freo V Pies when we nearly stopped their unbeaten streak in 2015)

Woe is me.

COLLINGWOOD 4.3 5.3 6.6 8.8 (56)
BRISBANE LIONS 6.1 10.7 15.11 18.15 (123)

1994 Preliminary Final against Geelong. I can live with the 1998 GF loss against Adelaide because we were our own worst enemy, kicking poorly in the first half and then being outplayed in the second, but the 1994 Prelim will stick with me forever because as hard as we played and as brilliant as Carey and others were, the result didn't hinge our performances but on the umpiring decisions and in the dying seconds, Ablett mark and goal. The free kick count was 33-13 in Geelong's favour, they kicked 5 goals to nil from free kicks. And then Ablett who was well held by Mickey Martyn all game takes a mark in the goal square from a flukey kick with 5 seconds remaining and boots Geelong into the GF. And the fact that a week later they perform so badly only adds insult to the injury. 22 1/2 years later and I'm still gutted.

Off field, the first day or two of the Carey/Stevens entanglement was a pretty low point for my club. I think the Herald Sun devoted 20 odd pages on the first day. I'm not sure 9/11 garnered that kind of coverage from that insipid tabloid.

That 94 prelim was absolutely unbelievable.
It was like I had been punched in the face with brass knuckles.
Time has helped but still when I read about or see it, an ever smaller part of me goes wild with rage.

I actually took solace in the Cats thumping the next week.

Should have won at least 3 prems with that team. But we didnt.

That 94 prelim was absolutely unbelievable.
It was like I had been punched in the face with brass knuckles.
Time has helped but still when I read about or see it, an ever smaller part of me goes wild with rage.

I actually took solace in the Cats thumping the next week.

Should have won at least 3 prems with that team. But we didnt.
We missed out on an Eagles v North GF in the nineties. I don't think they even crossed paths much. Carey v Jakovich in a GF. Amazing.

1989, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2008 Grand Finals....probably 2008 out of the bunch. With that loss Geelong lost any right to claim true greatness. That team should've won 5 flags! Winning 3 is a great run, but true ultimate greatness eluded them. 2008 GF is the worst footy day of my life.
08 was yours to lose. Couldn't care what anyone says. You did everything you could to lose that day and Hawthorn took stock of their chances. Predominantly goal kicking. You were the best team by far that year, and you were at your peak in terms of performance. You just failed to take your chances. You definitely should've won but then who knows what would've happened in 09?

Don't blame the fixture. If they were good enough they'd have won.

08 was yours to lose. Couldn't care what anyone says. You did everything you could to lose that day and Hawthorn took stock of their chances. Predominantly goal kicking. You were the best team by far that year, and you were at your peak in terms of performance. You just failed to take your chances. You definitely should've won but then who knows what would've happened in 09?

We were the best team by far but our best footy was in the second half of 07 IMO.
13 wins from round 12 onwards by an average of 55 points.
Though you can extend that back to round 6 and it becomes 19 wins by an even bigger margin (just happened that it was flattered a bit by a 157 point win over Richmond.

Disappointed that the drug saga has prevented any mention of Drew Petrie's back to back goals in the 2014 EF, especially considering that it's the only time Essendon have been within 10 goals of winning a final for over a decade.

For North Melbourne, given that anybody under the age of 35 can't fully appreciate the '98 Grand Final, I guess I'll just name the 2013 season in general. Missed finals by one game and lost 10 games that season by 16 points or less. Highlights include surrendering a 37 point lead to Geelong (the close the roof game), having Naitanui kicking a game-winning goal after the siren, being so inept against the Gold Coast in the wet that Matthew Richardson suggested we concede a goal so that we could reset play, losing by a point to Carlton and, last but not least, losing by a point to Adelaide after having a five-goal lead with 13 minutes left in the game.

2013 Elimination Final......

Only surpassed 2 years later by sitting amongst other Richmond supporters at 3/4 time of the 2015 Elimination Final vs North and collectively looking at each other knowing what was going to happen in the last quarter.

2009 ANZAC Day when all those front-running Essendon flogs came running back into the MCG after Zaharakis kicked that goal. The way those flogs, who had given up on their team ten minutes earlier and actually departed the ground, celebrated that win was one of the most embarrassing thing I've ever seen.

2011 GF was a complete downer for me.

2003 GF was putrid too but I knew we were no chance going in and that was confirmed by about quarter time. We were still in it at 3/4 time in 2011 although with injured players (Reid, Jolly) some players stinking it up (Dawes, Didak, and Swan blanketed) I knew it wasn't looking good. What happened next was heartbreaking after one of the best H/A seasons ever and the only chance I've had of seeing the Pies going B2B. Who know's if I'll ever get that again in my lifetime (although I'd be more than happy with just another flag anyway)?

2007 Semi vs Collingwood, the extra time game. I choose this because the 2005 GF lossis softened having won in 2006, the 2007 loss had me devastated. It was genuinely the end of an era.

we should have beaten Collingwood... we just had too many outs,
we should have had a home QF anyway that year... we lost a derby game to lowly Freo in the minor round

Don't know how we would have gone against Geelong in a Prelim or GF though.... the Cats were just untouchable that year.

The worst day/s of your life as a footy fan?