This season is a joke

Apr 10, 2004
Bushrangers
Brisbane beating Freo? Come on. It's been good to me betting wise this season but really some results are just stupid.

Not much logic to this season, anyone can beat anyone on any given day. It seems to be all about motivation and/or confidence.

Port and Brisbane down the bottom, Tigers and Crows up the top. It's amazing.

gandaal said:
A joke? Barring personal issues with the performance of my team, and some very dodgy tactics by several clubs, this has to be the best season I've ever seen.

Yep, all those who were bored by Brisbane's ascendancy, now is your time. Look at the attendances. The draft has worked. Footy wins. As do the fans.

No guaranteed winners. All is up for grabs. If you doubt this, predict the premiers. There has been a singular lack of this prediction on this forum so far this season, even though it's half-way through.

All is brilliant, so far.

I reckon it's been great (well obviously my team losing once has helped), this season is very even and has produced many upsets. Probably the most upsets I've ever seen in half a season. Who would have thought 2 weeks back that Geelong would be under the pump?, or that Saint Kilda would be playing the 14th placed Port to try and have a positive winning record?

No givens this year.

very even like '97 and alot of 'upsets' so judging by the way the season has panned out, essendon should beat the eagles on friday night......

and pigs fly.

Been a very interesting season so far. Although there's been some dreadful games on offer standard-wise, the last few weeks have had some good free-flowing footy again, which is pleasing.
I don't know anyone is better than 50% in their tipping so far.

Pretty much it's a case of selecting who you think will genuinely win on form and ability, and then tipping against them.

Tigers 1945 said:
Pretty much it's a case of selecting who you think will genuinely win on form and ability, and then tipping against them.

hahaha
no no
probably the most effective tipping strategy, is one i used to tip my online NRL tips ( 2 weeks before the season start i go through and tip for the whole year :) , cause i have no idea)
completely random tipping, it really has to be the most effective tipping.

anyways
the footys coming to Tassie tomorrow :D im not going , cause i dont care, Port lose by 117 last week? what does that mean? on form
youd suggest a good win by them>?

yep a super season it is
horray for llamas and alpacas with antarctic penguin intelligence, and infact hoards of penguins, plotting to overtake the Aust Govt :mad: watchout Johnny

CAMEL said:
yep a super season it is
horray for llamas and alpacas with antarctic penguin intelligence, and infact hoards of penguins, plotting to overtake the Aust Govt :mad: watchout Johnny
You're scaring me ;)

Also this season it's funny how much things can change in one week. Before Geelong played Freo they were flag favourites, now everyone says they're gooone. Essendon had a win last week and Sheedy was talking finals, now look at them. Its happened again with Freo, great win on the road now there's real problems for them. Brisbane, the end of an era for sure last week, now they manage to win at Subi.

Some good rules for tipping this season:

1. Fremantle:
Take a look at the bookie's odds. If either Freo or their opponent are paying $3.50 or more for a win, tip that team no matter the venue, form, or past record. If both are under $3.50, then tip the favourie.

2. West Coast:
Always tip West Coast unless they are playing the bottom team (c.f. Carlton in the Wizzer, Collingwood)

3. Brisbane:
Always tip against them at the Gabba

4. Adelaide:
Unless it's their second away game in a row, tip them to win.

Please add more!

Patrick Bullet said:
Some good rules for tipping this season:

1. Fremantle:
Take a look at the bookie's odds. If either Freo or their opponent are paying $3.50 or more for a win, tip that team no matter the venue, form, or past record. If both are under $3.50, then tip the favourie.

2. West Coast:
Always tip West Coast unless they are playing the bottom team (c.f. Carlton in the Wizzer, Collingwood)

3. Brisbane:
Always tip against them at the Gabba

4. Adelaide:
Unless it's their second away game in a row, tip them to win.

Please add more!

5. Western Bulldogs:

Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 5 or greater then they will win.

6. Essendon:
Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 5 or greater, then they will win.

7. Carlton:
Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 7 or greater they will win.

johnnyhoward said:
You're scaring me ;)

Also this season it's funny how much things can change in one week. Before Geelong played Freo they were flag favourites, now everyone says they're gooone. Essendon had a win last week and Sheedy was talking finals, now look at them. Its happened again with Freo, great win on the road now there's real problems for them. Brisbane, the end of an era for sure last week, now they manage to win at Subi.

I laugh every week at who the new favourite for this week will.

I guess becuse the Eagles scraped home against the Tiges they are now favourites.

Brisbane and Collingwood are back.

Adelaides a sure thing for the 8.

Geelong are hopeless, wont win GF.

Essendon will miss finals.

------------

Ok now next week, complete opposite. Essendon talking final,s Geelong firm to favs, Adelaide in danger of missing top 6, Brisbane and Collingwood firming for wooden spoon. List goes on.

Week to week, its just crazy, as is the closeness of the comp. Anyone can beat anyone this year (except maybe carlton beating someone :p )

Its great.

camsmith said:
I laugh every week at who the new favourite for this week will.

I guess becuse the Eagles scraped home against the Tiges they are now favourites.

Brisbane and Collingwood are back.

Adelaides a sure thing for the 8.

Geelong are hopeless, wont win GF.

Essendon will miss finals.

------------

Ok now next week, complete opposite. Essendon talking final,s Geelong firm to favs, Adelaide in danger of missing top 6, Brisbane and Collingwood firming for wooden spoon. List goes on.

Week to week, its just crazy, as is the closeness of the comp. Anyone can beat anyone this year (except maybe carlton beating someone :p )

Its great.

I agree.

It's bloody fantastic....stupid results are happening every second match, which can only be good for the game.

Your side can be no-hoper dead set certainties for the spoon one week and then a couple of weeks later be genuine finals, if not Premiership contenders.

Witness (dare I say it) Collingwood's resurrection from the grave.

Three weeks ago they were 1-7, virtually laughing stocks and nearly everyone's spoon favorites.

Now, 7th June, they have knocked off the two ladder leaders, with their captain and best player soon to return and suddenly they might be contenders.

Two weeks ago, Geelong are travelling like Grand Finalists and NOW they are shyte.

Similarly, a week or so ago the Bombers were on the up and now you wouldn't have 20 cents on them to make the 8 at 2 to 1.

Freo are world beaters one week and deadset hopeless cannon fodder the next.

Adelaide can't possibly amount to anything this season....or can they?

The Saints can't seem to make up their minds whether they are playing for a Flag or another priority pick.

Port get flogged 2 games out of 3 and then look like they might be on the verge of resuurecting their season....only to get flogged again.

The Lions are has-beens, old ,slow and decrpit...but still can manage to win in Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne and at the same time manage to lose 5 out of their 6 games at the Gabba.....they're back!!.....no they're NOT!!.....yes they are!!!....no they're not!!!!

Carlton win the Whizzer and have the AFL world at their mercy....and then fall in a total heap..................THEYRE GAWN!!!.............or are they?
..............they'll probably play the best game of footy in 112 years next week and beat my mob by 238 points....and then be touted as "genuine" finals contenders!!!

The Swans are ugly, boring and coudn't possibly be at threat.....but they keep winning enough games to worry the living suitcase out of the other "contenders"

Melbourne look the goods but just when you want to bet your mortgage on them, they put in a shocker.

The Kangas(as usual) start like a bomb and (as usual) fall in a heap before (unusually) pulling off a stunning upset against the "has-beens".....They must be back!!!...........Or are they????

The Hawks are just trying to be "competitive" but along the way sem capable of doing just about anything.

The Tigers have had a stunning start and must be certainties to make the 8.................or are they??? Their best player suffers the most horrfic injury since the Battle of Hastings in 1066 and now they're no hope..............or maybe they are???..............after all they run the "best" team in the comp on form to within 1 point!!!

Bulldogs???.....Who knows ........could go through the rest of the season undefeated or conversely not win another game until Round 16 ,2009.

That just leaves the Eagles.........they must be absolute certainties.............NOT!!

Remember the Saints last year?????...................best side in the comp by a country mile............also 10 and 1 (from memory) after 11 Rounds and virtually unbackable to at least play in th GF.............then the inevitable injuries,suspensions anf form slump and they coudn't do any better tha a Prelim Final.

The Eagles have been virtually at full strength for 11 Rounds and despite that, looked fragile in Melbourne...........................and we all know where the GF is played.

Just wait till a n injury or two bobs up, especially to some of their gun midfielders...........there's still 11 Rounds plus finals to go.

So there you have it.........a totally unpredicable and crazy season

Aint it great? :D

Fire said:
5. Western Bulldogs:

Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 5 or greater then they will win.

6. Essendon:
Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 5 or greater, then they will win.

7. Carlton:
Regardless on who they are playing, roll a dice. If the number is 7 or greater they will win.

Loved that one, another one

8. Collingwood:
If they are favourites and are expected to win, they wont, give them no hope in hell? Back em

Certainly a joke tipping wise. Far beyond a joke as far as umpiring standards go. The season itself... I said 5 weeks ago that I don't think there will be any priority draft picks this year as the bottom side will win too many games. Someone actually posted a ladder last night with the bottom side missing the finals by about 1 game. I know that sounds far fetched but tell me right at the moment that it's no possibility at all. Loving it (except for last night, bloody cats. Well done to Collingwood though.)

This season is great. it's so even and it proves that on any given day the team that is switched on will win. it makes for great footy and unpredictable footy.

dave_27 said:
very even like '97 and alot of 'upsets' so judging by the way the season has panned out, essendon should beat the eagles on friday night......

and pigs fly.
Yeah, no sorry mate.
Not gonna happen,
flying_p.gif

luthor said:
The Eagles have been virtually at full strength for 11 Rounds and despite that, looked fragile in Melbourne...........................and we all know where the GF is played.

Just wait till a n injury or two bobs up, especially to some of their gun midfielders...........there's still 11 Rounds plus finals to go.

So there you have it.........a totally unpredicable and crazy season

Aint it great? :D

been there, done that, we have midfield depth.

I haven't backtested my trading system or anything, but geez I reckon if you'd backed the 3 ruffest ruffies every week, you'd be light years ahead of bank interest so far this year. I picked North last week because everyone was way too fast to get off them, and the odds were inviting. They beat the lions, but I bet on the Lions this week because everyone was way to fast to get off them and the odds were inviting! Who's down&out and under the pump next week??? More than half of them will win, i reckon. By this far through the season you'd expect things to have settled out into a predictable expectable pattern. But nah, yeah! Just watch.

Best season I've ever seen too.... god bless the socialistic opium of the Manassas what is the afl nowadays.

This season is a joke