FootyEater

Mar 21, 2007
Western Australia
Scarbrough Eagles
Guys, i know that we all now have a stance on recruiting players from other clubs, it hasnt really worked for us in the past, although taz, solly and mcpharlin have all played great footy for us, but a friend of mine who is very much informed on the comings and goings in the afl told me an interesting piece of information about Paul Bower. apparently, the blues have offered him a rediculously small contract for a guy who is 21 and has been sensational in the back line for the blues this year, this contract has been taken as kind of an insult, especially when the blues have offered the world for a guy like warnock who hasnt even played a game for them, add onto that the fact that the blues have to sign murphy, kruezer, gibbs ontop of the guys they already have like judd and the salary cap is looking kind of small. given the facts that paul was all australian CHB state U/18's, a WA boy, we have heaps of room in the salary cap and our own deficiencies in the backline, maybe there is a chance for us to get one back on the blues for their raping of us with warnock. i know a good talented young CHB would always be welcomed at our club, especially if we end up towards the bottom, we could use the preseason draft to bully them into a trade like they did with us.

suggesting some B/S going around!!

if we were able to look at getting Okeefe in the pre-season then im sure that Bower + Warnock in Salary would = Okeefe's salary

remember that Judd was on a massive front ended deal, so as every year goes by more the room there is in our cap!!

I believe a second contract should be a blood long one for any young player who has proven themselves like Bower has. I hope the put him on a long one and lock him in at the club for ages on a young players salery.

Guys, i know that we all now have a stance on recruiting players from other clubs, it hasnt really worked for us in the past, although taz, solly and mcpharlin have all played great footy for us, but a friend of mine who is very much informed on the comings and goings in the afl told me an interesting piece of information about Paul Bower. apparently, the blues have offered him a rediculously small contract for a guy who is 21 and has been sensational in the back line for the blues this year, this contract has been taken as kind of an insult, especially when the blues have offered the world for a guy like warnock who hasnt even played a game for them, add onto that the fact that the blues have to sign murphy, kruezer, gibbs ontop of the guys they already have like judd and the salary cap is looking kind of small. given the facts that paul was all australian CHB state U/18's, a WA boy, we have heaps of room in the salary cap and our own deficiencies in the backline, maybe there is a chance for us to get one back on the blues for their raping of us with warnock. i know a good talented young CHB would always be welcomed at our club, especially if we end up towards the bottom, we could use the preseason draft to bully them into a trade like they did with us.

How did we rape you in the Warnock deal? You sound like a idiot, and you prolly are now piss of back to your board.

If we have offered the world for Warnock who hasn't even played a game how is it that we r*ped you on the deal?!?!

You can't have it both ways.

I spoke to his old man at the Odin tavern last week while watching the the brisbane game.

I asked how Paul was enjoying his year and how he liked living in melbourne. He said he couldn't be happier.

Didn't sound like he was looking to come home anytime soon.

While I dont doubt you one bit, whether Bower was happy or unhappy at Carlton his dad would have given you that exact response.

Dont think he'd say "yeah look, you seem like a good bloke so keep this under your hat. Paul's unhappy and will be gone by the end of the year".

Knowing Freo's trading policies we would probably come out with Pavlich, Hill and their first round draft pick. I say go for it.

While I dont doubt you one bit, whether Bower was happy or unhappy at Carlton his dad would have given you that exact response.

Dont think he'd say "yeah look, you seem like a good bloke so keep this under your hat. Paul's unhappy and will be gone by the end of the year".

Fair Point Bazza

I, think, you, should, use, spacing, a, little, more, and maybe, a, few, less, commas, just, to, make, your, post, is, more, readable.

Guys, i know that we all now have a stance on recruiting players from other clubs, it hasnt really worked for us in the past, although taz,.....

2 points...

(1) Why on Earth would ANYONE want to play for Freo. Haven't heard of anyone wanting to be traded to that place. It's clearly been a failed AFL experiment.

(2) You'll be merged in a few years with either Port or Tassie so it's an academic fabricated rumor anyway.

:)

I was at the pub with Matthew Pavlich the other week, and he said he hates Freo and loves Carlton so much he'd play for us for $100 per year plus a 3-cheese omelette every Saturday morning. True story.

That's BS Faz. As if the Pav would say he would play for 100 bucks and a 3-cheese omelette every Saturday. Just plain stupid and a lie.

Everyone knows footballers don't eat 3-cheese omelettes, and Juddy would never let him anyway!

We should have signed Bower up for 4 years before last month....after his recent good form he will cost us an extra 60k a year.

why that idiot footyeater posted my thread on here i will never know, but anyhow let me explain myself.

firstly- many of us over here feel that you well and truly shafted us in the trade period over warnock, i am one of them, but however that is in the past, suban looks the goods so ultimately im happy, where we were unhappy, was the "take a fourth round pick or let him go to the psd" talk, but that is all history

i think the main point hear is why wouldnt carlton offer a guy that really does look the goods a reasonable contract??? what would you guys think he is worth? what would be reasonable..... i think that a few clubs out there would be prepared to give him a fair pay day.

and as for the dockers merging crap, well we are in the top four most financial clubs in the league and that is even without success, thats a fact..

any way im more interested in the bower issue than any other insults you can throw my way, which, remember, footyeater posted here originally not me

why that idiot footyeater posted my thread on here i will never know, but anyhow let me explain myself.

firstly- many of us over here feel that you well and truly shafted us in the trade period over warnock, i am one of them, but however that is in the past, suban looks the goods so ultimately im happy, where we were unhappy, was the "take a fourth round pick or let him go to the psd" talk, but that is all history

i think the main point hear is why wouldnt carlton offer a guy that really does look the goods a reasonable contract??? what would you guys think he is worth? what would be reasonable..... i think that a few clubs out there would be prepared to give him a fair pay day.

and as for the dockers merging crap, well we are in the top four most financial clubs in the league and that is even without success, thats a fact..

any way im more interested in the bower issue than any other insults you can throw my way, which, remember, footyeater posted here originally not me

Well if he cut and pasted your thread, then Blue Yoss's question above now applies to you.

If we have offered the world for Warnock who hasn't even played a game how is it that we r*ped you on the deal?!?!

You can't have it both ways.

We should have signed Bower up for 4 years before last month....after his recent good form he will cost us an extra 60k a year.

...and if he keeps it up for another 12-15 weeks I am sure the club will happily pay it.

What's with all this trade palava creeping onto the board anyway? Bit early for all the 'heard from a source at the club' and 'just got back from a meeting in the CBD' talk isnt it?

Well if he cut and pasted your thread, then Blue Yoss's question above now applies to you.

monetarily you offered him a large contract, lots of money, dollar signs in warnocks eyes, the world etc

to fremantle you offered what we felt was less than market value, especially since wood got traded for pick 13 the year before

anyway, i dont really care about that deal anymore, its the past, like i said, what would you guys believe he is worth? i think, well i would hope that fremantle would offer him a fairly substantial 3-4 year deal. im interested to see what you think

monetarily you offered him a large contract, lots of money, dollar signs in warnocks eyes, the world etc

to fremantle you offered what we felt was less than market value, especially since wood got traded for pick 13 the year before

The implication is fairly clear. You think Warnock was not worth the salary we offered him but we did not give you what you think he was worth in a trade. The line during trade week was that if we think he is worth that much money, we should give up a comparable amount in trade terms. There is clearly a foot in both camps here.

what would you guys believe he is worth? i think, well i would hope that fremantle would offer him a fairly substantial 3-4 year deal. im interested to see what you think

We think that it is mid season, Bower is one of our shining lights and guaranteed of selection and game time every week (something Warnock was not by the way), and for Fremantle supporters to come on here hoping they can steal him and asking us about a possible trade this early, is a tad premature, presumptious and maybe a little insulting.

I suggest you ask the Drafts & Trading board what they think. We are nowhere near in trade mode as we are still hoping to make finals.

anyway, i dont really care about that deal anymore, its the past, like i said, what would you guys believe he is worth? i think, well i would hope that fremantle would offer him a fairly substantial 3-4 year deal. im interested to see what you think

Doesn't everyone off Freo less than market value for thier players ??? :confused:

If we offered you Cam Cloke for Sandilands we could probably get you to throw Hill in for good measure ..such is the ineptitude of your club.

the warnock deal was fair.... get over it

as for bower, i think he deserves a three year deal, on good money, he is young, he is in peak form, and adds real excitment to our defence, he should be on more money than crabs like russel and houlihan anyway, i just hope management sign him up, because we definetly dont want to see paul be in any other jumper than our famous navy blue

The implication is fairly clear. You think Warnock was not worth the salary we offered him but we did not give you what you think he was worth in a trade. The line during trade week was that if we think he is worth that much money, we should give up a comparable amount in trade terms. There is clearly a foot in both camps here.

We think that it is mid season, Bower is one of our shining lights and guaranteed of selection and game time every week (something Warnock was not by the way), and for Fremantle supporters to come on here hoping they can steal him and asking us about a possible trade this early, is a tad premature, presumptious and maybe a little insulting.

I suggest you ask the Drafts & Trading board what they think. We are nowhere near in trade mode as we are still hoping to make finals.

if i am seeming presumptious or insulting, i apologise, im not meaning to be. im just purely curious as to why the blues wouldnt want to lock him away as soon as possible. i was curious as to whether people would want him on a long term deal or would they be happy to wait for the end of the season, being over in the peel region i take interest in these sorts of things.... forget warnock was ever mentioned, dont think im thinking of trades or anything like that.... how do people rate paul. i think he is a real talent

Well if market value for an out of form, yet to get close to his potential key forward who is the wrong side of 27 and loves to party is worth a top 10 pick in a superdraft + All Australian Paul Medhurst, then I guess we r*ped you.

Generally market value is whatever someone is prepared to pay, and in most AFL trades, market value is much lower when Freo isn't offering to overpay for any glimmer of hope.

Bower is a required player, he's going nowhere (so you can get your hand off it).

thought you guys would be interested in this on Bower