Thread in support of Malthouse

I should probably steer clear for obvious reasons.

But I will support Mick on one point.

I liked that he said what we all think, and basically yell out at the footy anyway. I've been calling Milne a rapist at St.Kilda games for 5 years. So awesome that Mick said it, as silly as it was.

A simple John Safran voodoo-chicken-bloody-type-curse would suffice, I would think, to ensure he kicks a grand total of 0 goals 34 behinds for the rest of the year. That would indeed be a visible, satisfying type of revenge for supporters of football. Outside of football I'm in no position to comment.

I wish we had top-line sports journo's like George Plimpton or Norman Mailer, whose prose and vision is sweeping. Instead we get these pygmies.

New York in general just has a really fine tradition of great writers writing about sports.

It seems to me though, that even if we had great writers, and even if they were inclined to write sports, no-one would read them.

Malthouse is a great coach and if i was him id never front the media for a press conference and get and assistant coach to go or if not id just say no comment for everything and keep it very brief.**** the media the can right what ever they want and i hope they continue to critise us becuase thats when we play out best. GO PIES!

Seriously but folks, MM acted like a DH and hardly for the first time. It's been overblown but that doesn't hide the fact that MM is a failed coach of Collingwood and he under pressure. I suspect he is crapping himself that he will end more than a decade at Collingwood flagless. We realy should have pulled the trigger when we had the chance but we are not brave enough to have taken the punt.

Mark, while i agree MM can act like DH quite often, you would think he had just blown up a bus full of nuns with the way the media has reacted.

MM inability to win flags is not the issue here

It's a Field day for Other Supporters and Media to get stuck into collingwood and make us look like we are the Worst Organsation in the Entire World.

Well They Can get F**ked - They are all Jelouse:thumbsu:

Seriously but folks, MM acted like a DH and hardly for the first time. It's been overblown but that doesn't hide the fact that MM is a failed coach of Collingwood and he under pressure. I suspect he is crapping himself that he will end more than a decade at Collingwood flagless. We realy should have pulled the trigger when we had the chance but we are not brave enough to have taken the punt.

So you agree with the Media then?

Well They Can get F**ked - They are all Jelouse:thumbsu:
Fig.%2077.jpg

I reckon yer spot on there TD

hopefully this galvanises the group and there would be no better way than to get the monkey off our back and defeat hawthorn.as regards to what he said to milne, well perhaps the truth hurts.you want to start something dont winge when you get put back in your place.

Mark, while i agree MM can act like DH quite often, you would think he had just blown up a bus full of nuns with the way the media has reacted.

MM inability to win flags is not the issue here

It kind of is.

- MM doesn't have a flag in 12 years (I say 12 because we wont win one anytime soon)

- MM is being sacked in a 'nice' way through this succession plan. Eddie is basically saying "Mick, you've had 10 year with nothing mate, I'm giving you 2 more, then you're out"

- Collingwood are also looking shaky already THIS year, which doesn't bode well for him, or his last year as coach

- Media is mounting pressure over the Buckley issue from the word go

- Mick is assumed to be feeling this pressure

- He lashes out at Milne who bagged his adopted son Paul Licuria

See the link there?

I don't care about Malthouse's sledging on-field, I don't really care about that and I don't think it's a big deal. However he shouldn't have lied and it was wrong of him to do so. But his reason that he posted on the Collingwood FC website, in my opinion, were acceptable. If they were true or not then that's a different matter.

It kind of is.

- MM doesn't have a flag in 12 years (I say 12 because we wont win one anytime soon)

- MM is being sacked in a 'nice' way through this succession plan. Eddie is basically saying "Mick, you've had 10 year with nothing mate, I'm giving you 2 more, then you're out"

- Collingwood are also looking shaky already THIS year, which doesn't bode well for him, or his last year as coach

- Media is mounting pressure over the Buckley issue from the word go

- Mick is assumed to be feeling this pressure

- He lashes out at Milne who bagged his adopted son Paul Licuria

See the link there?

I can see some creative logic. It's a pretty tenuous link. Really it's just sensationalist news.

New York in general just has a really fine tradition of great writers writing about sports.

It seems to me though, that even if we had great writers, and even if they were inclined to write sports, no-one would read them.

Could be right about New York - an abberation in America as well. What did Woody Allen (Alvy Singer) say about New Yorkers:

"Don't you see the rest of the country looks upon New York like we're left-wing, communist, Jewish, homosexual pornographers? I think of us that way sometimes and I live here."

Still, good journalism can get by in an internet age. Hopefully.

I can see some creative logic. It's a pretty tenuous link. Really it's just sensationalist news.

No doubt.

I'm not saying it IS about his coaching, I'm just saying that that's the link the media is spinning to make it seem like this was about 'pressure'.

I don't believe this had ANYTHING to do with pressure.

This to me, seemed simple and straight forward.

Mick Malthouse ADORES Paul Licuria. Like I'm serious, he loves the guy so much so that he's basically called him his favourite player/person ever.

He'd adopt him if he could.

Now, how would any father react when they're 'son' is slandered like that in the heat of battle?

Retailate.

Essentially, Mick's favourite son was called a f**ott right in front of him, and his 'paternal' instinct kicked in, made all the more easier by the target of the vitriole involved.

Very easy to call Milne a rapist. What could he have called Lenny Hayes? nothing.

Reiwoldt - sook
Kosi - Goof
Milne - rapist
Schneider - actor?

Milne was an easy target for Mick under the circumstances.

The media is just trying to spin this now as pressure that Mick is supposedly under. I personally think he's under NO PRESSURE WHATSOEVER.

How can he be?

He's 60 odd years old, has a guaranteed 900K a year job secured for the next 5 years, with 3 of those years being out of the spotlight.

I fail to see how he's under major pressure.

In before "He's won no flags lol".

So? He's won 2 with West Coast, he probably doesn't feel he has to prove anything to anyone.

Could be right about New York - an abberation in America as well. What did Woody Allen (Alvy Singer) say about New Yorkers

Funnily enough, Woody himself actually wrote a really good sports piece titled A fan's notes on Earl Monroe right around the time of Annie Hall.

Still, good journalism can get by in an internet age. Hopefully.

It's not so much the age that concerns me as the geography.

I'm quietly proud of Mick, to be honest. He and the Collingwood football club are being torn to pieces over this, specially with much more interesting football news occuring (Melbourne winning, Adelaides problems, Fremantle winning 3-0 for the first time ever, injuries, Richmonds bad behaviour after the Sydney loss, and more).

The fact that Mick defended Licca after Milne insulted him and possibly Didak, with such passion and disregard for the consequences (that we can see happening now) shows he really cares about the group of players, and his pure loathing of Milne (which most of us can agree with). Milne was in instigator of this event, and was just waiting for this sort of thing to happen after hovering around out pack sledging anything he could. Yet when he gets a few insults handed to him, he and the football club follow it up like this.

How come all the heat is on Mick, anyway? I haven't read a personal apology from Milne regarding his comments to Paul Licuria yet? I thought the AFL would have been as harsh on him after making the announcement this week that they wanted to rub out homophobia in the players.

I'm quietly proud of Mick, to be honest. He and the Collingwood football club are being torn to pieces over this, specially with much more interesting football news occuring (Melbourne winning, Adelaides problems, Fremantle winning 3-0 for the first time ever, injuries, Richmonds bad behaviour after the Sydney loss, and more).

The fact that Mick defended Licca after Milne insulted him and possibly Didak, with such passion and disregard for the consequences (that we can see happening now) shows he really cares about the group of players, and his pure loathing of Milne (which most of us can agree with). Milne was in instigator of this event, and was just waiting for this sort of thing to happen after hovering around out pack sledging anything he could. Yet when he gets a few insults handed to him, he and the football club follow it up like this.

How come all the heat is on Mick, anyway? I haven't read a personal apology from Milne regarding his comments to Paul Licuria yet? I thought the AFL would have been as harsh on him after making the announcement this week that they wanted to rub out homophobia in the players.

Good post and agree fully on your descrption of MM and his passion for the players and the Club

Go Pies

As far as I'm concerned, Mick did the right thing in standing by his players and coaching staff. Milne making slurs about Licurias' sexuality would not be acceptable in any other workplace (let's face it thats' what Etihad stadium was on Friday night) so why is it okay for Milne? If this was against members of any team other than Collingwood the media would be all over Milne, but the two-faced hypocrites that we know as the media/press have consistently shown us that they don't apply the same standards evenly across the board. If they did, the vast majority of them would have had to resign from their own jobs. Oh wow they jumped on Heath Shaw and Alan Didak and now Mick, calling for their scalps for lying, well news flash making up unsubstantiated stories for publication or broadcast is also lying. So what about the journos that printed that Nathan had signed with Nth/Richmond/Port etc., and the ones that said Mick had already decided to leave us and coach another side before we announced the current coaching line-up. Judd had supposedly already done a deal with us as soon as he announced he was leaving the Eagles, J. Brown, Ben Cousens and Fevwere also reported as having done deals to come to us. None of these stories proved true, so why haven't the lying turds that published these stories been held to the standard of accountability that they want to hold others to. Maybe the rules only aply to humans not these lowlife pieces of scum.

Simple solution here for the rest of the year

1. Mick attends after match press confrence uses " no comment " every time

2. Collingwood employs a media ban on its players and staff

you watch the media spit it then, but stuff them you dont bite the hand which feeds you.

As far as Caro , listening to Eddie this morning he said that she hasnt called him for 18mths, she is cut like a snake and wants to whack CFC all the time since

Side by Side !!

The whole thing with Malthouse and the "should be sacked"

I don't get why the media and some on Big Footy are calling for Mick to be sacked for lying. Now I saw the paper this morning and the whole crap about "2 years on" do they really think what Mick did on Friday night was as bad for the club as what Shaw & Didak did 2 years ago?

Shaw and Didak did lie, but they weren't almost sacked for lying to the media who the club couldn't care about, it was for lying to the playing group and there for the club and the playing group couldn't trust them.

Mick lied, yes so what, every coach, player and club spokesman lies at some stage during the season, the age old "I think I'm a 50/50% chance" is a lie.
What Mick did was fair game, you go after someone you have to cop your right whack, weather it was Milne copping it or Mick move on, but to call for his head for lying to the media is 100% bullshit!

It's about time the people in the media wake up and see that they are just pen cowboys who mean NOTHING to this game.

As far as I'm concerned, Mick did the right thing in standing by his players and coaching staff. Milne making slurs about Licurias' sexuality would not be acceptable in any other workplace (let's face it thats' what Etihad stadium was on Friday night) so why is it okay for Milne? If this was against members of any team other than Collingwood the media would be all over Milne, but the two-faced hypocrites that we know as the media/press have consistently shown us that they don't apply the same standards evenly across the board. If they did, the vast majority of them would have had to resign from their own jobs. Oh wow they jumped on Heath Shaw and Alan Didak and now Mick, calling for their scalps for lying, well news flash making up unsubstantiated stories for publication or broadcast is also lying. So what about the journos that printed that Nathan had signed with Nth/Richmond/Port etc., and the ones that said Mick had already decided to leave us and coach another side before we announced the current coaching line-up. Judd had supposedly already done a deal with us as soon as he announced he was leaving the Eagles, J. Brown, Ben Cousens and Fevwere also reported as having done deals to come to us. None of these stories proved true, so why haven't the lying turds that published these stories been held to the standard of accountability that they want to hold others to. Maybe the rules only aply to humans not these lowlife pieces of scum.

You Deserve a standing ovation

Thread in support of Malthouse