Tips for 2011

tassie_footy

Rookie
Oct 24, 2009
Launceston
Gold Coast
Glenorchy to win the flag from Clarence.. Hobart wooden spooners may not win a match.
:eek: (Darren Crawford) to win the Tassie Medal..
Yes this is a portait of the winner of the medal.

No one will still get near clarence i saw that first hand on saturday at west park they were really good having 100+ tackles there loss to glenorchy has reunited there season and all i can say is good luck stopping the roos i hate them as much as the next bloke but they are well and truely back... south launie for the wooden spoon, nathan street or jackson obrien for the tassie medal.

Top 4 will be Clarence, North Hobart Glenorchy and Launceston in no order. Far too early to pick a flag winner out of that.
Devonport will win the wooden spoon by a mile.
Zane Murphy will make up for last year's disappointment and win the Tassie Medal.

Top 4 will be Clarence, North Hobart Glenorchy and Launceston in no order. Far too early to pick a flag winner out of that.
Zane Murphy will make up for last year's disappointment and win the Tassie Medal.

Calvin, I reckon we will find that with the roster setup for clubs to play everyone in their zone 3 times it will be difficult for 3 Southern teams to finish in the top 4 and make the 5. (not final 6 this year!)
Clubs up North will play the likes of D'port and Sth Laun 3 times each, so Nth Laun, Laun, and Burnie more than likely will get 6 soft wins on the board.
I envisage that Lauderdale and Hobart - particularly at their home grounds will be more than competitive and may spring some upsets. Nth Hobart, Clarence, and Glenorchy will all beat each other once during the season I reckon. The Southern clubs will have to beat the Northern clubs when they travel to Hobart otherwise one of them might miss out on the final 5.

Is this the way others see it??

Strongly agree with your devonport pick.. but i do think they have some improvemnt with young stars such as quade byard, battle betweent them and south launie if you ask me but you may be on the money.

Calvin, I reckon we will find that with the roster setup for clubs to play everyone in their zone 3 times it will be difficult for 3 Southern teams to finish in the top 4 and make the 5. (not final 6 this year!)
Clubs up North will play the likes of D'port and Sth Laun 3 times each, so Nth Laun, Laun, and Burnie more than likely will get 6 soft wins on the board.
I envisage that Lauderdale and Hobart - particularly at their home grounds will be more than competitive and may spring some upsets. Nth Hobart, Clarence, and Glenorchy will all beat each other once during the season I reckon. The Southern clubs will have to beat the Northern clubs when they travel to Hobart otherwise one of them might miss out on the final 5.

Spot on I'd say.
You would think Nth Laun and Burnie will rack up 6 very easy wins against Devonport and Sth Laun (dont forget the % either). Launceston will make top 3 regardless cause they are a quality team.

Am picking from " left field " Brer Fox to make a comeback as playing coach. Only playing 1 game against Glenorchy. Now that would get the crowds back to the footy and have aker watching his back!!

So far have only seen North Hobart, Launceston Hobart and Glenorchy play.

Very impressed by the intensity of the Launny v North game and think both teams will see september action. Glenorchy were good against the Tiges but didnt show the same intensity (or had it nullified by an impressive Tigers outfit) as North and Launny.

Im tipping North over Clarence in the grand with Devonport to take home the wooden spoon.

I think we will see more of the same from Hobart who will win a fair share of games and may slip into the finals, but they'll take some time to get to the level of the previously mentioned teams.

I have no idea about anyone else so wont make a judgement.

I think its pretty clear that Glenorchy and Clarence will fill the top two spots. I think the remaining three will be Launceston North Hobart and Burnie in no particular order. I reckon Lauderdale will make big steps this year and Hobart should improve also. North Launy may improve but its a bit hard to assess them until they play one of the top sides. South Launy have become a bit of a worry. I think they are a pretty good club but what is it going to take for them to transfer the abundance of talented juniors into success at senior level. They seem to promise a lot each year but deliver little. The real worry is Devonport, no players coupled with massive debt. How can they survive financially ? Their crowds this year will comprise of wives and girlfriends. They will most likely suffer huge losses on their home games which will send them even deeper in to debt. The people at the club at the moment are doing their best Im sure but are they up against insurmountable odds ?

This is so spot on it isn't funny, the southern clubs this season are disadvantaged, particularly those fighting for the last spot in the finals because they will not be able to play sth or D'Port as frequently to rack up % and easy wins, so Nth Launny may well be in the box seat and Burnie by virtue that they have the best home ground advantage in the league however Clarence showed that they are stil a long way off. Hobart will win more games than people expect especially as they will suffer less from Mariners, Glenorchy on the other hand have a few Mariners who are more integral to them I believe?

My top 5 will be (in no order)
Clarence
Glenorchy
Nth Hobart
Launceston
Nth Launceston

with Burnie and Hobart and Lauderdale all seperated by %

AFL Tas will have fun justifying bringing in a team from Kingston/Huon/Channel based on the fact that the above order may not change for a couple of years with Sth and Devonport way behind the others and Burnie always susceptible to self destruction.:rolleyes: Another team that will get smashed every week wont help Wadey and Dom Baker:cool:

Nth Launny may well be in the box seat and Burnie by virtue that they have the best home ground advantage in the league however Clarence showed that they are stil a long way off. Hobart will win more games than people expect especially as they will suffer less from Mariners, Glenorchy on the other hand have a few Mariners who are more integral to them I believe?

It always intruiges me that people say Burnie has the best home ground advantage in the league. The real issue is the travelling and it is just as far from Burnie to Hobart as it is from Hobart to Burnie isnt it ?
The Dockers put up a creditable performance against Clarence on Saturday and led them for 3 quarters before the Roos took control in the last quarter. The Dockers are still a very young side and once the new recruits settle in they will suprise a lot of teams. It will be interesting to see how Hobart go against Clarence on Saturday, Graeme Fox has a very young side also and I hope they do well.

This is so spot on it isn't funny, the southern clubs this season are disadvantaged, particularly those fighting for the last spot in the finals because they will not be able to play sth or D'Port as frequently to rack up % and easy wins, so Nth Launny may well be in the box seat and Burnie by virtue that they have the best home ground advantage in the league however Clarence showed that they are stil a long way off. Hobart will win more games than people expect especially as they will suffer less from Mariners, Glenorchy on the other hand have a few Mariners who are more integral to them I believe?

My top 5 will be (in no order)
Clarence
Glenorchy
Nth Hobart
Launceston
Nth Launceston

with Burnie and Hobart and Lauderdale all seperated by %

AFL Tas will have fun justifying bringing in a team from Kingston/Huon/Channel based on the fact that the above order may not change for a couple of years with Sth and Devonport way behind the others and Burnie always susceptible to self destruction.:rolleyes: Another team that will get smashed every week wont help Wadey and Dom Baker:cool:

Its really too early to pick the final 5 but someone out of Clarence, North Hobart, Glenorchy, North Launceston, Burnie & Launceston has to miss out. If BF people think Hobart & Lauderdale are stronger than Devonport & South Launceston, then the final 5 may well have 3 northern & 2 southern teams in it. As it would be harder for a southern club to pick up the 5th finals spot. All very interesting;)
AFL Tas running another team would be fun considering how the Southern cats & the Devils both went. Who would leave their current club to support it?
Could Tassie footy really afford to bankroll a whole new club? I guess It would cost some $200,000+ to run a club. managers, salary cap, trainers & fitness guys. footy equipment, ground rental, umpire costs etc. How would they fund that? Would they get any volunteers? I still reckon they would have to use a current club. Surely that would have to be Kingborough FC?

Its really too early to pick the final 5 but someone out of Clarence, North Hobart, Glenorchy, North Launceston, Burnie & Launceston has to miss out. If BF people think Hobart & Lauderdale are stronger than Devonport & South Launceston, then the final 5 may well have 3 northern & 2 southern teams in it. As it would be harder for a southern club to pick up the 5th finals spot. All very interesting;)
AFL Tas running another team would be fun considering how the Southern cats & the Devils both went. Who would leave their current club to support it?
Could Tassie footy really afford to bankroll a whole new club? I guess It would cost some $200,000+ to run a club. managers, salary cap, trainers & fitness guys. footy equipment, ground rental, umpire costs etc. How would they fund that? Would they get any volunteers? I still reckon they would have to use a current club. Surely that would have to be Kingborough FC?
heard the LFC president wasn't to happy with the outcome of the tribunal
last night. i'm sure what young brennan did was out of character but the fact is he got what was probably the right punishment. tribunal could have gone a bit lighter considering he copped a bit of punishment straight after the incident.
the amusing thing that came out of last night was the evidence from the young bloke that got a headbutt. from where i was watching on saturday to have dizzy spells from that feathering the following day, he must have a very sensitive cranium. will he miss a week after that shattering knock?

Is there footage floating about on the net?

From all reports young Thor was told by the club to exagerate the incident to make sure someone from NH got weeks after the Brennan incident, where i don't believe anyone got reported??

Was told that from a very reliable LFC member and father!!

From all reports young Thor was told by the club to exagerate the incident to make sure someone from NH got weeks after the Brennan incident, where i don't believe anyone got reported??

Jess wells got off cos he reported 4 striking smith but umps got that wrong it was someone else he hit

By the sounds of it AFL Tas are running an investigation into the whole melee thing. Lauderdale have vision of De Goyer striking Brennan whilst on the ground and of Brown (Coach) hitting another player whilst looking the other way :thumbsdown: (poor form that).

lauderdale should be careful, vision on the news the other night shows dienno punching degoyer with his head turned away while 2 lauderdale blokes holding him down. as for brown , the look away punch, very impressive that one.

whats worse than dobbing a player in at the tribunal?
lying thru your teeth, fabricating evidence off your own bat or by instructions from someone within the club who wields a bit of power.
either or its piss poor form & this kids going to regret it down the track.

lauderdale should be careful, vision on the news the other night shows dienno punching degoyer with his head turned away while 2 lauderdale blokes holding him down. as for brown , the look away punch, very impressive that one.

The player he hit was looking the other way. It’s called a KING HIT!
I can’t for the life of me imagine how that’s impressive??
The 2 Lauderdale players were pulling Degoyer off Brennan, not holding him down, big difference.

[/b]

The 2 Lauderdale players were pulling Degoyer off Brennan, not holding him down, big difference.

beg to differ mate. sitting here looking at vision now. dienno definately hits degoyer while he's looking away. as for hevey, if thats a king hit, well you've got no idea. got what he deserved for giving someone a verbal spray while they are unconscious.

Was talking to Justy Veitch on sunday. he said hevey said to the young bloke that was knocked out, "Thats footy champ, you deserved, should have got hit harder" Thats when Norths coach punched him. Pitty Brown didn't knock him out!

[/b]

Sorry big black dog, as a lauderdale supporter this is getting very embarrassing, if any one was to hit any of our players like brennan did i would hope the retaliation would be as swift and brutal as north hobarts was. I was very surprised he actually did what he did, it reacked of Winter, it looked very bad live and it would be good to see the tape if hutchtv could put it up. Unfortunatly we will loose a lot of respect in the football community if what happen with Boscott is true as you would never want any player to lie at the tribunal to get another play suspended. I will probably have to retract my comments that lauderdale have improved as a club over the last 18 months because this whole debacle has ruined any of our credability

Tips for 2011