Live Event Toby Greene fronts the tribunal - Suspension appeal

As the experts on dirty players everyone will have to bow to Footscray supporters superior knowledge
d84af05d4763c59aa2680f928ced53c5

3b74bc511a1781ae5e357b2d194b3bd3.jpeg

Over the history, I think most clubs have em.
Cept Tobes has quite the resume. And accumulated unprecedented disrespect from his fellow players.
Sorry. Had to throw in the Grinter. Clearly going for the ball.

I think people may find the premeditated 'looking around to see if the umpires were around then going in for the face' action will carry quite a bit of weight. Its a bit hard to argue one was reaching for the ball and just was careless when one has the presence of mind and time to stop and look around to see whos watching first
Much more likely was that he was looking around for the umpire as players often do when appealing for htb. If you actually watched the replay of it this is the most obvious explanation for him looking up.

Any other explanation is highly imaginative.

I dont understand how anyone can in all reasonableness consider that Collingwood - or Richmond either for that matter - have anything to do with Toby Greene and his complete lack of discipline or (un)sportsmanlike conduct? It really is a long bow

Disregarding evidence from the victim. So clear that the decision was already made before he walked in.

Greene is both a brilliant player and an idiot, but he didn’t deserve to get suspended for this.
Neale’s testimony seems... unreliable.

But what happened last week is supposed to be irrelevant, just like all his past incidents.

You cannot justify his suspension by saying he has done the same thing twice.

Yes players get a week for some rough tackles and that always causes uproar. You know why that is though? Because in every incident I can think of the player ends up with concussion. If they don’t end up concussed they avoid missing games.

Is Neale concussed? Does he have any issues as a result of Greene’s hand making contact with his face?
So we should only suspend this thug when he is successful in damaging someones eyes...when a class player like a Pendlebury or a Cripps emerge from the bottom of the pack with an eyeball missing?
Even if you don't believe Greene is trying to eye gouge, a player only needs to turn his head slightly for one of Greenes fingers to enter his eyes.
But lets just let Greene keep doing this until he actually does some real harm or perfects his technique.

Really, is that your idea of what is acceptable on a sporting ground? FFS what game did you play?

This guy keeps going in after others have laid a tackle and scrunching his fingers into the face of his opponent who is helplessly pinned down after they have been contesting the football. Greene himself is not even the tackler or part of the initial contest.
Greene when doing this is reaching in and all the time looking in the direction of the umpire to see if they are watching him. Obviously intentional.
There is no justification for his hands to be anywhere near the face of an opposition player.

Im not sure where you learnt your legal studies from, but someone saying they "cannot recall if it was near the eyes or not' is not deemed conclusive evidence

A lot of Collingwood fans have become legal experts in the last couple of days. Still means nothing here, the tribunal can come to whatever conclusion they wish.

Also, if the charge is ‘unreasonable contact to the eye region’ and the victim can’t recall any contact to their eye region, it raises doubts about the integrity of the charge.

A lot of Collingwood fans have become legal experts in the last couple of days. Still means nothing here, the tribunal can come to whatever conclusion they wish.

Also, if the charge is ‘unreasonable contact to the eye region’ and the victim can’t recall any contact to their eye region, it raises doubts about the integrity of the charge.
True, although their conclusions are rarely based on any rigorously applied legal standards.

On LG-H930 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Agree.
Surely the first question has to be
"What are you appealing? Please explain why your fingers were dangling around his face? What were you hoping to achieve?'

Doesn't the appeal have to be a point of law though lol

Maybe Tobes can make up story number 20 lol

Doesn't the appeal have to be a point of law though lol

Maybe Tobes can make up story number 20 lol
'I looked up momentarily. Blinded by the brightest of bright gabba lights. And I reached for my eyes to protect them. Little knowing in my temporary blindness, I reached for the wrong pair of eyes".
Sounds legit.

Assuming Toby Greene can somehow clean up his act and somehow not get involved in any unsavoury and or controversial incidents in the next 2 years, people will still find a way to hate on him anyway.

I also don't understand why Dogs fans are still mad at him over the boots in Dahlhaus incident, considering how disruptive Dahlhaus was in his final year at the Dogs (didn't Bob Murphy call him out for being a flog ?) before exiting in acrimonious circumstances ? I find that a bit weird tbh

Well i havent just become one in the last couple of days, at least since 2007 though

The AFL need to keep this f***er rubbed out for the sake of the game. He is a piece of s**t.

Go watch the Ballet or Ballroom Dancing instead of footy if Greene triggers you that much. It's a contact sport ya know and it has to be said, he has not seriously injured any player over the years. Calling him to be banned for life is the calling card of an Broadway musical Drama Queen.

'I looked up momentarily. Blinded by the brightest of bright gabba lights. And I reached for my eyes to protect them. Little knowing in my temporary blindness, I reached for the wrong pair of eyes".
Sounds legit.

Should be a classic appeal! Get The Castle lawyer lol

Toby must have been stealing other players get out of jail free cards for years with the amount he's used. His stockpile must have run out this week.
Definitely the type of guy to cheat at Monopoly.
He can play footy ok but he's too stupidly dumb to play Monopoly.

Great result, the guy is a sniper that has had weak penalties applied to his dog acts for years.

d84af05d4763c59aa2680f928ced53c5

3b74bc511a1781ae5e357b2d194b3bd3.jpeg

Over the history, I think most clubs have em.
Cept Tobes has quite the resume. And accumulated unprecedented disrespect from his fellow players.
Sorry. Had to throw in the Grinter. Clearly going for the ball.

No one will remember Toby 5 years after he retires

When Libba Jr was being shopped around, Richmond people didn't want him because his Dad was a dirty campaigner 20 years ago :p

So why did Greene put his hands into the face of his of Neale anyway.
He wasn't the tackler. Neale is pinned to the ground....do you think he was wiping his nose for him?

Go watch the Ballet or Ballroom Dancing instead of footy if Greene triggers you that much. It's a contact sport ya know and it has to be said, he has not seriously injured any player over the years. Calling him to be banned for life is the calling card of an Broadway musical Drama Queen.

It is a contact sport and he is a good player, but going at peoples eyes and face when they are lying on the ground is not tough, it's a piss weak act.

Of course he shouldn't be banned for life, but people not liking someone who goes at peoples faces, has been fined for spitting in the past and has assaulted someone with crutches doesn't seem that strange to me.

Again, Im not sure where it is you have gained your idea of the legal system, but that statement is just entirely fallacious

It is a contact sport and he is a good player, but going at peoples eyes and face when they are lying on the ground is not tough, it's a piss weak act.

Of course he shouldn't be banned for life, but people not liking someone who goes at peoples faces, has been fined for spitting in the past and has assaulted someone with crutches doesn't seem that strange to me.

Well that is fair enough, and I do agree he really needs to spend a large part of the pre season seeing a shrink/getting anger management counselling.

Toby at the very least deserves an opportunity to try change and mend his ways, it's amazing how bogan Dane Swan got forgiven for beating up a cleaner at Red Square with his mates, but what Toby did to that security guard (which is 100 % indefensible and out of line) at a similar age seems to forever be associated with Greene..

I find the whole hypocrisy and double standards of it all extremely distasteful.