Flogstradamus Tom Boyd Deal Haters

media_4641b7b0-33b4-11e5-9bfb-2916713ca3fb.gif

Those are the best haha

I have a lot of respect for Ben Brown. It takes huge dedication to being consistent for a player his age to literally not improve at all between his first and third seasons.
So a guy that actually improves every season versus a guy that gets effectively paid, on average over seven years, to be an inanimate carbon rod that has 15 years worth of potential ahead of him. I know who I'll pick.

Doggies fans need to stop comparing Boyd to Ben Brown, McCartin, Sicily & other young KPPs. Sorry guys but we really don't care how much hidden potential Boyd may or may not have, the issue were debating is just how foolish the Dogs are to pay top dollar for potential instead of results.

Boyd is sucking $1m a year out of your salary cap - a fairer comparison is other players on comparable wages, which is probably why you guys keep mentioning Kurt Tippett all the time, but in actuality Boyd ought to be compared with Franklin & Ablett who are on similar money.
Certainly not Coleman medalists like Roughead, Riewoldt & Kennedy who earn significantly less than Boyd, nor up & comers like Josh Bruce & Josh Jenkins who are miles ahead of Boyd but wouldn't earn much more than half his wage.

Delude yourselves all you like, go on about how hard it was to fill your salary cap, how much trouble you've had developing decent KPPs or how hard it is to attract elite talent to your small boutique club, but at the end of the day Boyd's performances are what really does the talking and at this very moment you're paying a mediocre forward/ruck $1m a year to keep him out of the reserves, mostly to minimize your embarrassment.

That may well change in future but right now Tom Boyd is the biggest joke in football.

Doggies fans need to stop comparing Boyd to Ben Brown, McCartin, Sicily & other young KPPs. Sorry guys but we really don't care how much hidden potential Boyd may or may not have, the issue were debating is just how foolish the Dogs are to pay top dollar for potential instead of results.

Boyd is sucking $1m a year out of your salary cap - a fairer comparison is other players on comparable wages, which is probably why you guys keep mentioning Kurt Tippett all the time, but in actuality Boyd ought to be compared with Franklin & Ablett who are on similar money.
Certainly not Coleman medalists like Roughead, Riewoldt & Kennedy who earn significantly less than Boyd, nor up & comers like Josh Bruce & Josh Jenkins who are miles ahead of Boyd but wouldn't earn much more than half his wage.

Delude yourselves all you like, go on about how hard it was to fill your salary cap, how much trouble you've had developing decent KPPs or how hard it is to attract elite talent to your small boutique club, but at the end of the day Boyd's performances are what really does the talking and at this very moment you're paying a mediocre forward/ruck $1m a year to keep him out of the reserves, mostly to minimize your embarrassment.

That may well change in future but right now Tom Boyd is the biggest joke in football.
Well said

Why do I keep seeing Kurt Tippett comparisons being made in this thread, surely the bathwater drinkers don't actually consider him an example of a successful KPF? o_O:$

So a guy that actually improves every season versus a guy that gets effectively paid, on average over seven years, to be an inanimate carbon rod that has 15 years worth of potential ahead of him. I know who I'll pick.

Hang on, Boyd is the next Jarrad Waite now?

Not sure why Doggies fans keep on mentioning McCartin when he's one of a very long list of young KPF's who've gone past Tom Boyd, James Sicily being the latest addition.

Its amazing to think Matt Taberner is statistically more effective than Boyd, a kid who's struggling to get a game in Freo's forwardline.

Whack!

Fair dinkum most of you flogs wouldn't recognise a potential gun tall forward if he popped up in your porridge. Big Tom will peak when our list is peaking. We are very content with his progress.

Once again I feel compelled to quote myself from Oct 2014.

Mate he is on track for 30-40 goals this year (and that is just the beginning). Why you keep quoting one of your more idiotic posts is puzzling.

The fact you think he is on track is a giggle.

Wow you think he may kick 30 goals this year which is a whopping 4 more goals that I predicted. :eek:

All that for a Mill a year, break out the party pies and sausage rolls. :thumbsu:

The fact you think he is on track is a giggle.

Wow you think he may kick 30 goals this year which is a whopping 4 more goals that I predicted. :eek:

All that for a Mill a year, break out the party pies and sausage rolls. :thumbsu:

Or if we want to take the other extreme of our range predictions. Boyd will kick forty which is more than double the 17 you predicted.

Face it, even in predicting a range and you are miles off.

But you still feel compelled to quote your own dumbass 'prediction' and prove what a Noddy you are. :thumbsu:

Or if we want to take the other extreme of our range predictions. Boyd will kick forty which is more than double the 17 you predicted.

Face it, even in predicting a range and you are miles off.

But you still feel compelled to quote your own dumbass 'prediction' and prove what a Noddy you are. :thumbsu:
You saying "he will kick 40 goals" yet I am the noddy. :eek:

Dude we have about 4 players that will kick over 50 goals yet all are on about 500k less than him.

Spot the difference?

You saying "he will kick 40 goals" yet I am the noddy. :eek:

Dude we have about 4 players that will kick over 50 goals yet all are on about 500k less than him.

Spot the difference?

So what, we paid a premium to get a potential gun KP fwd. Is he worth it right now? Nah. But that is a very short term view to take. And hey if all of my best players were nearing or over thirty I'd agree. But that is not the position of our club. On the weekend we had 5 100 game players. Second least to Brisbane. With that team we ran a three time premier pretty close. Boyd will peak just at the right time.

So is he worth it in the sense we could well be underpaying him when he peaks in a few yrs? Hell yeah.

But you only look like a noddy predicting 17-26 goals a year for Boyd in his career. At 20 he will comfortably beat that and it will be onwards and upwards from there.

Flogstradamus Tom Boyd Deal Haters