Too many "white guys" talking about footy on TV?

That's not answering my question as to why those numbers are small. Care to take an educated guess?
Apologies I thought you were asking why I had the belief that the numbers were small (ie what was that based on). I didn't realised you were asking why I thought this was so.

There would be a lot of reasons starting with industry entrance bias by females and extending to industry acceptance bias by males and all the same reasons as to why women are under represented in board rooms. Some of them self perpetuating and understandable or statistically relevant based on mothers leaving the workforce and some outrageously biased and unacceptable. It's not something I can answer properly in a big footy post to be honest.

On the flip side, I would love to see a female commentator if she had the ability to engage the audience with the right experience, in depth knowledge
and the right personality.

Sam Lane and Emma Quayle.

The latter is the one sports Journo that knows her shit. In fact, I'd go so far as to say I value her opinions come draft time better than anyone elses, and by a considerable margin.

Mods, move to Footy Fourth Estate?

It is a boys' club, but the problem is not that there are not enough women, but there are too many duds.

On the Swans board we have been having a discussion about who are the worst football journos/commentators at the moment and one of our posters came up with this list:

1 Eddie McGuire
2 Jason Dunstall
3 Dwayne Russell
4 Mark Robinson
5 Damien Barrett
6 David King
7 Jon Ralph
8 Dermott Brereton
9 Sam Landsberger
10 Rebecca Wilson
11 Callum Twomey
12 Bruce McAvaney
13 Kevin Bartlett
14 Brian Taylor
15 Luke Darcy
16 Leigh Matthews

Of course, this is entirely subjective, and it's written from a Swans perspective, but let's be honest there is not a lot of quality there. Where are the next Huddos and Whateleys in the footy media? I agree that forcing diversity for the sake of it is ridiculous, but let's start with getting the most qualified people for the job first. I dare say that if you do that, you will probably start to see a few more women in the media anyway.

No Hamish?

So it's understandable that they can't make the top level, because they don't get an opportunity at any level?

Yep, let's all believe that they always choose the best man for the job, regardless of his gender.
Is there evidence to suggest they don't get an opportunity at community radio or are you going for the "vibe"?

Do you think there's anywhere near as many females as males in sports broadcasting looking to get their foot in the door at the bottom?

Is there evidence to suggest they don't get an opportunity at community radio or are you going for the "vibe"?

You're the one who suggested that the explanation for fewer at AFL level was all of the men doing the "hard yards" at lower levels. Do you have evidence for that? Do you think it's reasonable that neanderthals think women's voices "are too high pitched and whiny" for the AFL, then some at community radio stations might feel the same way? Yes, it's only a guess, but I reckon women might find it harder to break in at any level.

1 Eddie McGuire
2 Jason Dunstall
3 Dwayne Russell
Dunstall is one of the best commentators of football. He is a former elite player and legend of the game, very successful football administrator (got the Hawks back on track), very articulate and knowledgeable about football and unlike most commentators doesn't have any annoying catchphrases or traits. Not to mention when he plays his Chief character on Triple M he's a pisser.

Couldn't read the whole article after I got through the sections about nobody making a fuss about the female NRL commentators doing a good job and "ignorant white men" taking about Adam Goodes.

There is a lack of diversity in AFL media, but this article is pure derogatory horseshit.

I have no issue with whoever being a commentor , special comments or footy analysis person on tv as long as they are the best. As it stands now however more than half of the footy people on TV need the sack as there are many radio counterparts doing a much, much better job. Sam Lane however is absolutely shithouse and shouldn't be on radio or tv for the same reason i shouldn't be. Her voice isn't suited to it.

Having Papalia commentate a couple of West Coast games recently has been great. It's been actual commentary on tv rather than the bullshit circle jerk of special comments and bruce masturbating over cyril.

You're the one who suggested that the explanation for fewer at AFL level was all of the men doing the "hard yards" at lower levels. Do you have evidence for that? Do you think it's reasonable that neanderthals think women's voices "are too high pitched and whiny" for the AFL, then some at community radio stations might feel the same way? Yes, it's only a guess, but I reckon women might find it harder to break in at any level.
The discussion is specifically on the AFL media. The journalist didn't attack community radio for not providing entry level opportunities.

The AFL media, when hiring callers, will have a pool of candidates. This pool of candidates will require, and subsequently have, reasonable experience broadcasting sporting events. If there are no females in this pool or that meet this criteria, the AFL media can't hire them.

Now, community radio MAY have issues providing equal opportunity, but that's irrelevant to this discussion.

If I'm hiring a new mechanic to join my team of primarily males, and 12 of the applicants are male and just 1 female. Then odds significantly favour that I'm going to be hiring a male, and I'm not to blame for the lack of skilled female candidates.

Host - sure. Already happens on Fox and with Bec Maddern on the footy show
Reporter - yep, happens across the TV and radio networks and in the papers
Boundary reporter - should be more, Christie Malthouse was a pro.

But:
Commentator: Kelli Underwood was underwhelming. She called so many Geelong games and acted like a fan of the cats players without knowing the other team. She wasn't really all that worse than the blokes but she wasn't great. Someone else should get a shot but how many young women are out there calling games at local levels? I know it's a matter of the glass ceiling putting women off but surely some have to be trying?

Special comments: I think here the issue is expertise. Ex AFL coaches and players do this job and some are truly experts on the game. Others aren't. Some are stuck with 90's views on footy, others have gone too far with analysis. But why would they give someone who's never played at the elite level (regardless of sex) this job when they can have ex champions with hundreds of games experience? Now an elite level women's league has been established in time there will be women who have played 150 games of football under professional coaches and will have the CV's to say they are experts on the game.

Not this shit again. Equality should see the best person get the job, not people getting the job for the sake of it.
To be fair, the people on tv are absolutely not the best people available. They're all former footballers...or CEOs brothers.

I'm not disputing that, but having for example a female broadcaster for the sake of it, achieves nothing.

Like Bruce McAvaney, Anthony Hudson, Gerard Whately, Eddie Maguire, Tim Lane, James Brayshaw, etc.

We all know plenty about football, hence why we think our opinion is worth posting on Bigfooty. It's quite possible the most intelligent posts on here are by women - you just don't know it because of neutral usernames and avatars (you can be sure any avatar of a good looking woman is representing a male).

I was never a fan of Kelli Underwood but if she can take Dermie's spot then yes please.
They are professional commentators, McAvaney, Hudson, Whately, Lane etc also do Olympics, Horse racing and other sports, we do have professionals working in sports media here in Australia. I have no problem with women being involved, as a i stated we used to have boundary riders , but let's not just pluck one out as a token gesture to please the PC crowd. It does work well in T20 and the girls have been very knowledgeable and i agree many women know more about the game than the blokes in the outer.

dunstall and brereton both got the job by reputation but you can't deny they know what they're talking about. dunstall is quite articulate for a key forward and i think if you don't fall asleep through breretons monologues you'll find he's usually right on the money with his comments as well.
Derm is astute, but he talks to us like we're lucky to be listening to him.

Dunstall is one of the best commentators of football. He is a former elite player and legend of the game, very successful football administrator (got the Hawks back on track), very articulate and knowledgeable about football and unlike most commentators doesn't have any annoying catchphrases or traits. Not to mention when he plays his Chief character on Triple M he's a pisser.

So true he is one of the few I actually enjoy listening to.

Dermie is a flog!

I'm not disputing that, but having for example a female broadcaster for the sake of it, achieves nothing.
Naturally. The pathways for allowing opportunity must change, however, but once again the article does nothing but moan, rather than suggest alternatives.

Too many "white guys" talking about footy on TV?