• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Top 5 Players in the APS

Ziebell was shown up against MGS... is not a dominant midfielder, but gets it cos of his size and uses it fairly well, and when he played as a backman was beaten by Mitchell or Vickers-Willis (both grammar guys beat him when zeibell played on them), and when he went forward was killed by Macciolli. Zeiball was barely seen when he went forward.

Round 3 against Zeiball, whenever zeiball went forward (about half the day) he was matched up by Macciolli, who prevented him from getting a goal and it seemed like he wasn't even playing. Macciolli absolutely towlled up ziebell.

I feel a bit sorry for Jack as he played this game after missing a VC trial game with injury, probably wasn't 100% for this game, and then got (further) injured in this game and now is in some doubt for some VC games.

Jack's been going just about non stop for 2 seasons now with commitments everywhere, and probably a BOG expectation from some people every game. I think he may have had just a quiet one and that's not to take anything from your mate.

yep - i reckon you are spot on. Hasnt had much down time for a while there has been the U/15s carnival in Darwin in 2006. Saw him there - AA - then 2007 U/16s in Brizzie VC nearly got over VM on his turn a game class, just upped on the day by Scully. AIS this year. Jack is "true" talent. Course he was in Canberra for U/14's bottom ager I think and Cairns the year before for VIC I guess that was U/12s. Maybe Scully and Watts the only other two who would have been consecutive Vics reps with him at all these events? Thats a lot of footy - virtually not stop for a kid for say 5 years.

Ziebell was shown up against MGS... is not a dominant midfielder, but gets it cos of his size and uses it fairly well, and when he played as a backman was beaten by Mitchell or Vickers-Willis (both grammar guys beat him when zeibell played on them), and when he went forward was killed by Macciolli. Zeiball was barely seen when he went forward.

Round 3 against Zeiball, whenever zeiball went forward (about half the day) he was matched up by Macciolli, who prevented him from getting a goal and it seemed like he wasn't even playing. Macciolli absolutely towlled up ziebell.

I feel a bit sorry for Jack as he played this game after missing a VC trial game with injury, probably wasn't 100% for this game, and then got (further) injured in this game and now is in some doubt for some VC games.

Jack's been going just about non stop for 2 seasons now with commitments everywhere, and probably a BOG expectation from some people every game. I think he may have had just a quiet one and that's not to take anything from your mate.

I wasnt there but the reports i got he shouldnt have played by all accounts went in with an injury didnt finish the game the previous round . A bit of poetic licence to ,apparently he played 2 quarters on ball and "resting" at CHF "double teamed" started at CHB and was off in the last with a groin injury . So while his mate might be ok did he have to play all over the ground ?compare apples to apples it's pretty easy picking off an injured and tired player double marked . Melbourne grammar coach comented on how ziebell is a freak as well so not sure of game on's judgement on this one to be honest

I'm not the best on the computer and I tried to reduce "the rotating forward's" long post and abbreviate it, which I didn't do very well, just check his post on the previous page and I've rehighlighted my post #196 on Jack (see above)and I hope you see what I was trying to say. :thumbsu:

Yep, was at the game myself, thought he looked a lot less than 100%, hence my comments.

cant name them; herein lies the great skill of your school (assuming you are a xaverian)

edar 07 you cant fool anyone mate as much as everyone wishes we scolarship players we have one which is a hockey player byu the name of Lewis Matthews, No more no less, footy players are all the sons of old Xavs or boarders.

Interesting blog you have going here boys, with some accurate comments and some not so accurate.

Maybe it would be best to making positive comments on players you know or are connected with, rather than canning boys you see play one game a year.

As a person who has witnessed 4 or 5 School/TAC games each weekend for the last 4 seasons, I can advise that it is rare for players to perform to 100% of their ability on every game.

All people in the know were fully aware of Jack Ziebel's groin problems leading into the MGC game, and it was only his huge heart and committment to his school that saw him play.

Be assured, there are no better players in the APS this year than the two Jack's, Watts and Ziebel.

Again I remind all contributors to keep their comments positive.

hey guys, new to big footy. i just wanted to talk about Zeibell, he is the only one i can comment on. i have seen him play both country footy (Wadonga Bulldogs) and APS footy. country footy is very different to APS, due to the fact that they are all men, and i must say it is a lot more physical than APS, Zeibell dominates it and anybody that can dominate in that legue has my respect. also dominates School footy. is out at moment due to an injury ( not sure wat) i think he is due bak next week. has an enormouse right foot, which he uses 99% of the time (doesnt rate the handball) but why would u wen u can kick like that. would not be surprised to see him go high in the draft (20-30). im not trying to be biased, just commenting on what i have seen. i have also played with him and he is a presence on the ground all the time, runs hard all day and has a massive engine, he tackles hard and is very good at the contested ball.
Cheers

how has carter from mgs not been talked about?
seriously good player. fit, fast, and the best skills in the school. one of the best players in the team. however mgs has a fairly even team with no standouts, so he probably wouldnt be in the top 5 in the aps.

from games that ive seen, id put the top 5 as.

cordy
lynch
watts
ziebell
scully

Top 5 Players in the APS