Recruiting Trade & Free Agency V

Robbo has written this

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/05/they-ve-got-it-wrong-robbo-questions-bombers-trade-strategy/

I don't think Robbo has actually thought about it, both Smith and Stringer are upgrades on players like Green and Colyer or in the case of Smith a potential replacement for Jobe. Both can kick goals from 50m out, something both Colyer and Green have struggled to do.

Having Stringer frees up Walla and maybe Fanta to move up the ground, Walla in 2016 was very creative through the midfield, and Fanta has looked dangerous when he has gone into the middle.

Stringer has indicated that he wants to have a crack at the midfield.

“They have talent, but what we saw on the weekend is that talent doesn’t win you footy games. Work ethic wins you footy games,” he said.

Geez Stringer has won a premiership and was a key part of that Grand Final win, clearly Robbo was in the members bar so he missed it.

Seeing a few trade hypothetical suggesting we end up trading pick 11 to WB for Stringer plus their second round (pick 26), which would then presumably be on-traded to GWS for Smith.

Just on gut feel that doesn't seem to get the job done. In the current market I'd have thought Smith has slightly better currency than Stringer, and is probably worth a mid to late teens pick (and I'd agree with the GC list manager and others who've priced Stringer with all the garbage going on as being no more than a late teen/early 20s pick).

Would it be a more even deal to have pick 11 go to GWS for Smith and their pick 23 (which gets them back into the first round, given their stated preference to go to the draft this year), and then on-trading 23 to WB for Stringer? It's a compromise between the Doggies opening offer and ours, and feels fair given all the risks involved in bringing him onto the list.

We could then look at 28 to Saad as a straight swap, or a player if GC prefer that to picks (there will likely be a few good kids still available at 28, so we'd not be completely opting out of this year's talent pool if we took that approach).

Are gws up for a discount if we take another player as a salery dump ie Griffen?

How about pick 28 + Langford for stringer
Next year's 2nd for smith and Griffen
Coyler and or myers for Saad.
Draft inside mid with 11 instead of trying to turn Langford into one.

Jeez, going to be a busy trade period for Dodoro, hopefully we can get it all done without resorting to trading Francis. That seems like the sort of thing that will be looked back upon in years to come with shakes of the head and murmurs of 'wtf were they thinking?'

You'd think we have enough steak knives like Colyer lying around that we don't need to trade out a promising kid like Francis.

Would trading in these 3 stop us from drafting Boyse? 4 players over 20, would dodo opt to go an 18 years old with our first pick. Which could be well into the 40s or later

It’s going to take some crafting to get done but if we can get creative I don’t see why we can’t turn pick 11 and 28 into three players nominated.

All depends on what the other teams say. Looks like Gold Coast won't be hard to deal with because they are letting saad go with good intentions and GWS are normally pretty good. The stringer trade is the hard one.

Would trading in these 3 stop us from drafting Boyse? 4 players over 20, would dodo opt to go an 18 years old with our first pick. Which could be well into the 40s or later
Would we even need Boyse if we're trading in two proven AFL level forwards?

Jeez, going to be a busy trade period for Dodoro, hopefully we can get it all done without resorting to trading Francis. That seems like the sort of thing that will be looked back upon in years to come with shakes of the head and murmurs of 'wtf were they thinking?'

You'd think we have enough steak knives like Colyer lying around that we don't need to trade out a promising kid like Francis.

I would rather Essendon trade itself out of the next two or even three drafts than trade Francis, the kid just needs an injury free preseason.

so much salt around!

feel like im in the dead sea... everyone in the industry is willing this not to happen.. they wont be able to do it they say! too hard to deal with! have no picks to use!

then on sen this morning, numpties calling in saying we must have fiddled the system.. overpaid players compo to give them smaller contracts so we could fit in these new players..

pls.

suck it up princesses.

We back.

Don’t worry about getting the 3 deals done.
Doubt Dodoro would’ve sold the club to the three of them if he thought he couldn’t get all the deals done.

We’re getting three (if Stringer commits) players who are going to improve the team, no other way to look at it.

Bring on Monday!!

That's the bind you do put yourself in.

Not getting the deals done is not an option. The next sell become much harder and potentially impossible if you can't get deals done.

Look at the Hawks last year. I have no doubt that the bigger picture of trading is the reason they sold the farm not because they believed O'Meara was worth what they paid.

Having said that I'm going to go into full meltdown mode if we trade a promising kid to get it all done.

Robbo has written this

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/05/they-ve-got-it-wrong-robbo-questions-bombers-trade-strategy/

I don't think Robbo has actually thought about it, both Smith and Stringer are upgrades on players like Green and Colyer or in the case of Smith a potential replacement for Jobe. Both can kick goals from 50m out, something both Colyer and Green have struggled to do.

Having Stringer frees up Walla and maybe Fanta to move up the ground, Walla in 2016 was very creative through the midfield, and Fanta has looked dangerous when he has gone into the middle.

“They have talent, but what we saw on the weekend is that talent doesn’t win you footy games. Work ethic wins you footy games,” he said.

Geez Stringer has won a premiership and was a key part of that Grand Final win, clearly Robbo was in the members bar so he missed it.
And smith would be elite for tackles as a small forward. Robbo gonna Robbo

That's the bind you do put yourself in.

Not getting the deals done is not an option. The next sell become much harder and potentially impossible if you can't get deals done.

Look at the Hawks last year. I have no doubt that the bigger picture of trading is the reason they sold the farm not because they believed O'Meara was worth what they paid.

Having said that I'm going to go into full meltdown mode if we trade a promising kid to get it all done.

c'mon mate, you were bemoaning the other day the lack of players we have in the 22-25 age bracket - this is an instant influx of 3 of those, almost redresses it instantly.

I know ideally we do it all with picks, particularly in a soft draft but we cant have it all - if we need to give a player, so be it .. as long as the player name doesn't start with L or F, I might be ok with it.

Robbo has written this

Reckon the defensive mindset that Robbo is on about doesn't involve recruiting 1-2 defensive players and that fixes all of our issues.

Every player in the team needs to have a defensive role and be accountable as illustrated by Tigers. I am sure Woosha will be instilling this into all of our players.

I reckon what really cost us was a lack of genuine depth and when Fantasia, Ambrose, Hurley and Hooker got injured, we had no ready made replacements of the same quality and lost momentum.

And when they returned they were not playing as well as pre-injury.

Stringer, Smith and Saad add genuine depth and class. Devon Smith has more average tackles per game than both Dustin Martin and Trent Cotchin.

Reckon one reason why Martin played so well this season was he appeared to be told to tackle less and to concentrate on being their primary play maker.

Previously he would run out of gas but a combination of tackling less and resting up forward improved his ability to run a game out.

So every player performs a role. Woosha was reluctant to tag. Reckon that is something that he will need to change against all teams including Brisbane etc

Robbo has written this

Thought Robbo was spot on.

Trade week isn't about winning premierships.

At best it's about looking good during the year. Premierships are being won by sides who stop their opponents.

Upgrading Colyer and Green with better attacking players is not going to change a thing if we play Sydney in Sydney in a final.

And smith would be elite for tackles as a small forward. Robbo gonna Robbo

Robbo a dipstick...

oh, defence and guts wins flags now - just because the tigers nabbed one...pfft

if that were the case carlton would have won a flag.. all they have is defence and guts

last time I checked goals win games, and we are flushed with them - not only that, when our pressure game is on (gee, wce, port) its as relentless as anyones...

we don't need to bring in players who are more defensive minded, we just need to keep concentrating for a full game on our own defensive attitude.

its a game style tweak, not a player choice tweak.

Thought Robbi was spot on.

Trade week isn't about winning premierships.

At best it's about looking good during the year. Premierships are being won by sides who stop their opponents.

Upgrading Colyer and Green with better attacking players is not going to change a thing if we play Sydney in Sydney in a final.

If we bring the game we played vs wce, gee , port against Sydney - it stacks up ( like it did the first time we played them)

we can pressure fine when we want to, when its 'on', we are a near unstoppable mix of pressure and electric pace.

I know we still need the grunt defensive mids, agreed, but I don't think its all about bringing in that type of player, think its more about maintaining the concentration to mster the gamestyle we need to play, equal parts pressure and attacking verve. Not too lopsided in the attack favour.