Draftee
Jun 28, 2008
melbourne
detroit pistons
Hey all,

Thought id give you all a rundown of training today as i went down for a look.

Lucky i didnt arrive until 9am, as the group was off doing a yo yo running test (similar to beep according to bater on the vid).

Group in some sort of rehab or limited training were Spencer, Jamar, Meeson, Johnson, Blease, Tapscott, Davey, Wona, Garland, Jurrah and Gawn. With Davey, Wona and Garland doing some hard running and drills and looking near 90%. Gotta say was stoked to see Garland running, marking and kicking today, thought the day would never come.

Around 8-10 Casey boys were there, who completed all the training including a simulation game near the end.

Was really keen to see the new boys, and here are some observations for you on them and others who impressed:

Scully - prolific runner, just like at the champs, did not stop just amazing. Skills ok, but with his engine is sure to be a ball magnet, still skinny though.

Trengove- Impressed me so much, as has been echoed so many times
just seems to have such composure, great skills, great tackler, great competitor (gun gun gun).

Moloney- Already been said, but he just bleeds red and blue. Always talking, encouraging, busting a gut, runs to the right spots and i think his grab and long kick style of play has long gone (B&F top 3 for mine).

Sylvia- Looks a totally different footballer to say 18 months ago. He just belongs and he knows it. Wont say his cocky attitude has gone, but a much more mature Col inhabits his head space now. Really hard trainer, nasty tackler, and oozes class, found plenty of the ball in simulated game too.

Petterd- On the fringe of best 22, but i think he has to play. Foot skills are really solid, strong overhead, a never say die attitude and has bulked up a bit too. Every side needs a guy like him to can really play anywhere. Was impressed.

McKenzie- Watched him in the match simulation and was a real terrior. laid a couple of great tackles, and was in a lot of the play. Gotta admit I wasnt sure about this guy or where he would fit, but with a couple of injuries, he could fit in really well as a top up player.

Frawley- Was matched up against Newton in the simulation and those two had a mini scuffle (funny as), but the mini chip just loved it. Was pretty good contest, will Frawley spoiling really well. They went through him and Warnock a lot running out of defence, and he has a really great kick on him. Expect him to rebound a lot from defence this year. Big solid boy too.

Strauss- Gotta say this guy intrigues me, was used a lot through the kick outs, but found himself lost a few times, kicking was good without being great, hit some great ones, then stuffed a couple up. Interested to see how he progresses this year.

Others to train well I thought were Jones, Warnock, Jetta, Dunn, Cheney and Grimes, and i think joel the mac from brissie will certainly fill in some gaps for us too.

Some who to me were down or not spectacular were: Bell, Watts, Bennell, Maric and Bartram. (or i might not have seen their best work :) ).

Cheers for that. :thumbsu:

It's good to hear about Frawley and Warnock emphasising the run out of defence. Warnock showed a few glimpses of this near the end of last year. The more defenders who can generate run and rebound the better as we won't be predictable. Joel Mac will only help in this regard and Bennell/Strauss will hopefully master it over time.

Great run-down mate, really appreciate it. A few random questions:

I notice you say you weren't impressed by Watts - can you explain further.

Intereting too re Strauss. I heard he was supposed to basically one of, if not the, best kicks in his draft? Does he look like he's solid (physically) enough to play seniors?

Newton v Frawley - did Newton do anything to suggest he'll get some chances at FF this year?

Thanks again

Thanks for that mate, usually have to check 'ology and 'land for these reports so good to have someone that heads down on BF.

Interesting you included Watts in that bunch, I've heard from a few people he's still been a bit raw and made a couple of sloppy mistakes. Having said that though they also usually mention as soon as he makes a mistake he picks up his game and tries a lot harder so I'm not worried about it yet.

Really looking forward to seeing Strauss getting a game and feel Sylvia and Chip are in for great years!

Hey The Dr,

No worries, i always hang out to hear what's happening when others go to training.

Watts didn't stand out, perhaps because he was in the main group, but for a guy with so many wraps, perhaps we need to wait until 2011 to see rapid improvement. Not such a knock, just don't think he is ready just yet. Was also given a bake by one of the coaches, but again perhaps he is judged harder than the others.

With Strauss, I personally think it might be a confidence thing, does he feel like he belongs yet? But he certainly took his fair share of kick outs, so he will get his chance, and yeah he is big enough to do ok, a nice size and is a smooth mover, like I said, perhaps needs to feel like he belongs.

Newton has some urgency at least, that's what i liked, he actually wanted to beat chip, so that was encouraging, and the guys seem to all really like him (couple of pats on back and bum).

hey LM,

I think watts will be a great player, just not ready....yet. FWIW i totally agree with u on the sylvia and chip years, probably add morton to that too, still a bean stalk, but just so smooth over the grpund. Have a feeling strauss will get game time based on those kick ins.

Hey The Dr,

No worries, i always hang out to hear what's happening when others go to training.

Watts didn't stand out, perhaps because he was in the main group, but for a guy with so many wraps, perhaps we need to wait until 2011 to see rapid improvement. Not such a knock, just don't think he is ready just yet. Was also given a bake by one of the coaches, but again perhaps he is judged harder than the others.

With Strauss, I personally think it might be a confidence thing, does he feel like he belongs yet? But he certainly took his fair share of kick outs, so he will get his chance, and yeah he is big enough to do ok, a nice size and is a smooth mover, like I said, perhaps needs to feel like he belongs.

Newton has some urgency at least, that's what i liked, he actually wanted to beat chip, so that was encouraging, and the guys seem to all really like him (couple of pats on back and bum).

Thanks mate.

I must admit - from only seeing him live twice at Casey and twice at AFL level last year, I found Watts got lost pretty easily. Probably a confidence thing of not having the body to compete with hardened senior footballers, but he often lingered around the fringes of contests, neither here nor there.

Once he has the ball or finds space, he's silky as and I have confidence in him becoming the player we hope he does, but maybe it's going to be a longer process than we expect.

Well done DG, good report... What about Miller, how were they positioning him in the set plays??? Also was it a semi serious hitout or one where you felt guys were really trying to make a statement, that they want a position in the team??

Hopefully he was firmly positioned on the bench.

Thanks mate.

I must admit - from only seeing him live twice at Casey and twice at AFL level last year, I found Watts got lost pretty easily. Probably a confidence thing of not having the body to compete with hardened senior footballers, but he often lingered around the fringes of contests, neither here nor there.

Once he has the ball or finds space, he's silky as and I have confidence in him becoming the player we hope he does, but maybe it's going to be a longer process than we expect.

I agree with your post, but how long did you initially expect it to take Jack to start realising his potential?

When he was drafted I honeslty wasn't expecting anything until he's around 22-23. He's only 19 this year.

Hopefully he was firmly positioned on the bench.

:D

Thanks for taking the time to post this, sounds like it would have been a good session to be at.

Does Sylvia look like he has cut down his body fat % & weight a lot? Weird question I know, but by the way he looks it makes me think of when Nathan Buckley cut a heap of weight to improve his tank & it got him a Brownlow & in a similar way Col looks lean.

Not saying Col will do that but if he can get a similar tank he will be awsome working out of the mid.

The fact that Watts keeps getting lost may have a bit to do with his basketball background... I reckon it could take him a few years to really become comfortable and confident with the running patterns, leading, positioning etc required of him as a CHF or FF. Until then, maybe we should just let him run around the forward line, he can do what he wants lol.

Gawn: will the coaches risk him in the NAB Cup if only he and Martin are fit, or just go with one ruckman? Thoughts?

I agree with your post, but how long did you initially expect it to take Jack to start realising his potential?

When he was drafted I honeslty wasn't expecting anything until he's around 22-23. He's only 19 this year.

:D

In many ways I guess I haven't really thought about how long I'd expect it for him to take.... it was just a random observation on my behalf. As in, i'd seen heaps to get excited about, but had noticed that part of his game was a bit off.

As others have said, maybe it's his basketball background and the fact he has taken footy seriously only a few years that makes him look uncertain sometimes.

I don't know if it has been mentioned previously, but apparently Trengove and Scully were the best performers in the beep/yo-yo test.
Jones on twitter has it finishing Scully, Morton/Jones, Trengove.

Pretty decent effort from Scully to beat Jones in particular.

Nice run-down mate. Thanks.

On Scully, you mention he still looks a little skinny. Did he match it physically with the guiys - or was he pushed out of contested situations?

Just wondering whether he'll be physically ready to take on many games this year.

I agree doc,

i dont expect much from watts this year either, just an observation for those who think he is set to dominate and the saviour of our forward issues this year.

I expect him to rip it up next preseason and start kicking bags of 3,4 and five in 2011.

hey demon16,

He just looked much smaller than say Trengove who we know has played with men. But no doubt he will be much like Morton IMO, will play games and do well, use his pace, evasive skills and endurance to survive until he gets bigger. he didnt look out of place in the session today, a skinny kid but still found the ball. You would hope with Jones, Moloney, J Mac, Sylvia and co doing the hard stuff he can be pretty damaging on the outside until he bulks up.

By the way Tapscott on the other hand, is a man child!! just huge for a rookie.

He just looked much smaller than say Trengove who we know has played with men. But no doubt he will be much like Morton IMO, will play games and do well, use his pace, evasive skills and endurance to survive until he gets bigger. he didnt look out of place in the session today, a skinny kid but still found the ball. You would hope with Jones, Moloney, J Mac, Sylvia and co doing the hard stuff he can be pretty damaging on the outside until he bulks up.

Great news. So long as he can find the ball I dont mind which way he plays next year.

He was excellent as an inside, contested posession winner as well as an outside, ball carrying finisher in the juniors. So he wont be wasted if he plays as a receiver next year imo.

Good stuff mate. :thumbsu:

hey demon16,

He just looked much smaller than say Trengove who we know has played with men. But no doubt he will be much like Morton IMO, will play games and do well, use his pace, evasive skills and endurance to survive until he gets bigger. he didnt look out of place in the session today, a skinny kid but still found the ball. You would hope with Jones, Moloney, J Mac, Sylvia and co doing the hard stuff he can be pretty damaging on the outside until he bulks up

From what I have seen of him in the juniors he seems to weave through traffic with a second sense. Some of the stuff he did in packs in the TAC needs to be seen to be believed.

I agree that he might need some muscle to put up with the crunches a 25 y.o. man will give him but in a couple of years he should be able to bounce off them and find the space he needs.

In a weird way he will be a project player for a year or two but once the strength is there he will be a better version of GAJ or Judd or (insert name here).

Who cares about rucks when in 2012 the opp gets the hit out and Scully grabs it from a pack to hands it to Grimes who passes to Morton, who is free again, he handballs to Trengove who pinpoints to Watts 50m out. Watts hands it of to Tapscott who booooms it long to the square and Jurrrrrrraaaah takes a specky and kicks it through on the way down.

Sorry fellas. I got a bit carried away. :D

Training 29-01-10