Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 0 0.0%

Cotchin was very impressive and, at times, showed the way for Richmond when they were in a form slump. He dropped off towards the end of the year, but that's to be expected, with no pre-season, plus it was his first season.

Our form slump was in the beginning of the year. After the Geelong game, we started to come together and get our season back on track.

Im happy to have opposition supporters on our side, but in your case, its only so you can have another crack at Carlton. :p

If Joe Blow was up against Kreuzer in this poll, you'd vote for Joey. :thumbsu:

Our form slump was in the beginning of the year. After the Geelong game, we started to come together and get our season back on track.

Im happy to have opposition supporters on our side, but in your case, its only so you can have another crack at Carlton. :p

If Joe Blow was up against Kreuzer in this poll, you'd vote for Joey. :thumbsu:

Well maybe not so much a form slump, but he led the way in some close games. Especially in his first game where he kicked 2 goals in the wet.

If it was my club that had two no 1 picks in a row and we were going to take an elite mid and elite ruck i would have wanted Leuenburger in 06 and cothin in 07. Both are clearly better than their carlton contemporaries. Cotchin is a supremely talented gut running midfielder with elite disposal while Gibbs is a great stopper but probably wont win that many games off his own boot. One thing Carlton fans must remember is that you will need a Judd replacemant sooner rather than later, and that you can never have too many elite midfielders. Kreuzer is also a gun but he is a little bit too generic for my liking....as in not quite a ruckman not quite a forward, a lot like Josh Fraser but with heart.

I always think best player available with the first pick is the way to go and then list needs after that. In terms of output and what they showed, Riolli, Palmer, Cotchin are all ahead of Kruezer. Thats no blight against Matthew, thats just how it is for young ruckmen.

If it was my club that had two no 1 picks in a row and we were going to take an elite mid and elite ruck i would have wanted Leuenburger in 06 and cothin in 07. Both are clearly better than their carlton contemporaries. Cotchin is a supremely talented gut running midfielder with elite disposal while Gibbs is a great stopper but probably wont win that many games off his own boot. One thing Carlton fans must remember is that you will need a Judd replacemant sooner rather than later, and that you can never have too many elite midfielders. Kreuzer is also a gun but he is a little bit too generic for my liking....as in not quite a ruckman not quite a forward, a lot like Josh Fraser but with heart.

How is a 200cm ruckman with a massive motor, big heart, quality skills with both hand and feet, and a terrific appetite for the contest generic, especially when you consider he is still a teenager? Bear in mind mate, at Kreuzers age, Cox could barely stand upright without falling over his feet!

As for the comparison with Luenberger, Kreuzer has already shown more in one less season. I as a Carlton supporter are more than happy with the choices made, thanks for your opinion anyway!

How is a 200cm ruckman with a massive motor, big heart, quality skills with both hand and feet, and a terrific appetite for the contest generic, especially when you consider he is still a teenager? Bear in mind mate, at Kreuzers age, Cox could barely stand upright without falling over his feet!

As for the comparison with Luenberger, Kreuzer has already shown more in one less season. I as a Carlton supporter are more than happy with the choices made, thanks for your opinion anyway!

Yeah Kreuzer has been better than Leuenberger but passing on the Cotch is just crazy.

I feel sorry for Kreuzer, I hope he can handle the comparisons better than what Tambling did with Buddy.​

Way too early for this poll. Big guys take a few years. We knew that when we took Kreuzer. Cotchin was always going to be better their early years but what will it be in 3 years times. Kreuzer suited our needs in the ruck, around the ground and up forward. If he turns out well his upside is alot better for us then Cotchin. He virtually won a game for us against Port Adelaide something very few 1st year players are capable of.A great mobile big guy is nearly always a better than a great small guy as they offer you more. Bigger risk bur better upside if they turn out. Also depends on need too. At this point no chance i'd swap.

It's like a kiddie comparison of Judd v Jono Brown. Comparing oranges with apples.

I feel sorry for Kreuzer, I hope he can handle the comparisons better than what Tambling did with Buddy.​
You mean the other way around. This is like Franklin v Deledio reincarnated after the 2004 season.

A midfielder wins the rising star in first season, Richmond supporters orgasmic already annointing him a star and the best player from the draft etc etc......sound familiar?

Lets hope Cotchin can back it up year after year unlike Deledio who has finally managed to improve on his first season 3 years later :eek: But by then Franklin's gone flying past him.

You mean the other way around. This is like Franklin v Deledio reincarnated after the 2004 season.

A midfielder wins the rising star in first season, Richmond supporters orgasmic already annointing him a star and the best player from the draft etc etc......sound familiar?
Lets hope Cotchin can back it up year after year unlike Deledio who has finally managed to improve on his first season 3 years later :eek: But by then Franklin's gone flying past him.
and carlton are still waiting for walker to wake up and realise he is in the afl, delidio is miles ahead of walker who was taken 1 year before lids but as yet only played 3 afl standard games

Umm, I wouldnt go too far back mate, otherwise names like Fiora might get a mention. You are somewhat right abot Walker, certainly hasnt lived up to the hype that his status as a number 2 pick warrants, however I reckon he is good to go from now on. Has missed a lot of footy, has a great build, motor and pace. I wouldnt mind betting you will rethink your assessment of him come the end of 09.

Walker certainly has the tools to be the next Deledio, just needs to get his troublesome shoulders fixed and play some consistent football. Also, he is definitely a downhill skiier and will benefit from being in a better team.

Funny, Carlton fans have been saying we might have to wait 3 years for Kreuzer before he stars yet Deledio did exactly that and gets canned for it. Talk about double standards.:rolleyes:

josh fraser or gary ablett jnr..................who would you take ?

Comparing Cotchin to Gary Ablett jnr now? Don't hold back, why not go the 'whole hog' & compare him to Haydn Bunton, Bob Skilton, Dick Reynolds, Ian Stewart & Greg Williams all rolled into one?:eek: The kid is having so much pressure put on him by Richmond supporters, in fact some might suggest he carries the future of the Richmond Football Club on his shoulders.

I've seen a number of non-richmond supporters compare him to Gary Ablett Jr, mainly due to the strength through his hips and creativity with the ball.

Funny, Carlton fans have been saying we might have to wait 3 years for Kreuzer before he stars yet Deledio did exactly that and gets canned for it. Talk about double standards.:rolleyes:
Yes but IS anyone giving Kreuzer three years? No, they are already flogging him after 1 year so why should Deledio be given that luxury?

And Kreuzer should be given 5 years as he is a tall player who hasn't even grown into his body yet.

cmon talk about double standards, carlton suporters everywhere are saying that even cox had done nothing when he was kreuzers age and that he will be this & that.
know your telling me about overhyping cotchin.
cotchin will be a dead set gun NO DOUBT.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-Cye6RGYbM

have a look at this clip and then tell me that you cant see what im talking about.

Yes but IS anyone giving Kreuzer three years? No, they are already flogging him after 1 year so why should Deledio be given that luxury?

And Kreuzer should be given 5 years as he is a tall player who hasn't even grown into his body yet.
lids has performed from day 1
1st year he won the r-star
2nd year was excellent and was getting tagged every week
3rd year showed all that he isnt just a mid but can also go foward & kick goals,

4th year even with a guy like richo dominating won the tigers b/f & averaged around 25 possies a game.

WHAT ELS DOES HE NEED TO DO , HE IS ALREADY A TOPLINE PLAYER