MRP / Trib. Tribunal Thread - rules and offences discombobulation

And so it begins.

The opinion of a neurologist whose profession are understandably professionally opposed to any potential collision causing head trauma are calling for a 'heavy penalty' of at least four weeks for SPP to 'send a message'.

And guess who pops up to back the call...David King.

There is zero chance this gets a fair, independent and unbiased assessment based on the incident and AFL rules. This is all about the 'look'

'I’m not apologetic - this must be a severe penalty. I’m sick of this conversation,” King posted on social platform X.'

Retired: Angus Brayshaw.

Neurophysiologist Dr Alan Pearce, who has conducted extensive research on sports-related concussion, and North Melbourne great David King are calling for the MRO to slap Powell-Pepper with a heavy penalty. Pearce said a four-game ban was required to back up the AFL’s claims that it was serious about the issue.​

“If the AFL is serious about athlete health and wellbeing, and it’s meant to be their greatest priority, then he needs to have at least three weeks off, if not four – preferably four,” Pearce told this masthead on Saturday.

“It’s more about the AFL’s rhetoric around this than criticism of the player. I’m more about the fact they keep talking about player health and wellbeing as their greatest priority. Well, let’s see it.

You have no right to contest the ball like that in this day and age. You are simply not permitted to run at an opponent in such a reckless manner, make high contact and knock the player out. Intent is entirely irrelevant. It's a careless act that concussed an opponent. That action leads to that outcome and the consequence is abundantly clear. You have three alternatives to what SPP did:

1) Engage in the contest in a tackling motion
2) Charge in the manner he did but don't make high contact
3) Do not contest at all as 33 other players on the ground at the time managed to do

It's stupidity. Yes it's split second stupidity but it's stupidity nonetheless. Does anyone think a smart player like Travis Boak or Scott Pendlebury is going to get suspended for something like that? No chance. SPP walks a fine line with his approach to the game and every now and then he's going to get burnt. It's up to the coaching staff to decide if the upside of his game style outweighs the downside of this sort of thing happening occasionally.

Poor take

You have no right to contest the ball like that in this day and age. You are simply not permitted to run at an opponent in such a reckless manner, make high contact and knock the player out. Intent is entirely irrelevant. It's a careless act that concussed an opponent. That action leads to that outcome and the consequence is abundantly clear. You have three alternatives to what SPP did:

3) Do not contest at all as 33 other players on the ground at the time managed to do

It's stupidity. Yes it's split second stupidity but it's stupidity nonetheless. Does anyone think a smart player like Travis Boak or Scott Pendlebury is going to get suspended for something like that? No chance. SPP walks a fine line with his approach to the game and every now and then he's going to get burnt. It's up to the coaching staff to decide if the upside of his game style outweighs the downside of this sort of thing happening occasionally.

4) Speaking of doing nothing, he should have just sat on a deck chair with ken

You’re talking about decision making without the context that is staring you in the face.

Look at the time on each of those screenshots.

From when Rioli tackles Keane to impact approx 1 second passes.

From when Rioli turns Keane into spp, when any decision can be made , is a fraction of that 1 second. No time passes on the counter. It’s clearly fractions of a second.

I’m not sure what kind of action you’re expecting from spp at that point, there’s only two options. Brace and protect yourself or not. It made zero impact on the outcome. He was hitting Keane high either way. In theory he should not have turned, let them both get concussed and then it doesn’t look as bad on spp. What a world.
Oh Please!

He made the decision to run full tilt into a situation where the tackle was being made. What the heck was his intention? He doesnt make a tackling motion. He shows zero purpose, other than just run in, and then drop his shoulder as they impact! It was as dumb & clumsy as all hell!

Secondly, once he had made the dumb move, you say he had no time. Utter bullsh!te. He is an elite, trained, footballer. He had enough time to make a decision mate! A decision to twist his upper body 45deg, and jam his shoulder into Keane. Sure its a split second, but they train in slit-seconds! Having made the decision to run into the contest, in that instant he could, and should, have made any of a number of better decisions:
**Slide clockwise left, instead of dropping his shoulder to the right. They would have still collided but with less damage.
**Just prop and let Rioli swing Keane into him, and cop whatever happens. He made the bed ....!
**Or how about actually fricken doing something! Like maybe lifting his arms to grab, effectively supporting Rioli's tackle. Sure he cops a blow, but once again, he made the bed ... !

No! He does NOTHING! He just runs, and then drops his shoulder. You say he had to "brace for impact" ... Jeez that is dumb! How about run in and tackle, instead of just running in like some idiot! I expect that sort of stupidity from bull-at-the-gate Jones, but not from SPP. He is a tough but fair player, who normally makes good decisions ... but that was rubbish.

I hope they dont use that dumb excuse in his defense!

It's amazing how many people don't get it. Powell-Pepper's right to take part in that contest is overridden by Keane's right to not end up with a brain injury. If the way you're playing the game is resulting in your opponent ending up with a brain injury then you need to reassess the way you're playing the game.

Smash the dislike button guys. I hope he gets 4.

Elevated to the club’s leadership group for 2024, Powell-Pepper’s decision is all-but certain to see him miss the opening rounds of the season, with the Match Review Officer to determine his fate on Monday.

The Match Review Officer will determine if Powell-Pepper’s conduct was reasonable in the circumstances and if he was contesting the ball.
It’s a near-certainty Powell-Pepper will be suspended. With Keane in possession of the ball, Powell-Pepper opted to turn his body and brace for contact rather than staying front-on and try to aid Rioli and tackle Keane.

Powell-Pepper could try to argue he couldn’t have reasonably foreseen the spin, but it is as close to an example of what not to do as we are likely to see this year. The blowback for Powell-Pepper was significant, with Fox Footy analyst David King calling for a “severe penalty”.

“Loads of other options, chooses to forcefully bump to the head,” he wrote. Hasn’t heeded any of the warnings given to date and it boggles the mind to think anyone would still take this course of action.“I’m not apologetic - this must be a severe penalty. I’m sick of this conversation.”

Trying to overturn a likely ban would be difficult at the best of times, but in the current climate, with Brayshaw’s retirement another reminder of the impact of concussion, it would prove nigh-on impossible. It’s an early test case for the Match Review Officer and could see one of the new procedural amendments come into play.

Should the incident be graded careless conduct with high contact and severe impact and the AFL seeks only the minimum three-week suspension, Powell-Pepper is able to accept the sanction with an early plea and avoid a Tribunal hearing altogether.

Whether the AFL wants to push for more and potentially impose a ban of at least four matches or more, we’ll have to wait and see, but Powell-Pepper’s 2024 season is a virtual certainty to start later than most of his peers.

It was dumb, SPP plays hard in a full contact sport, he'll have to learn to play hard and smart, but he's not a malicious player.....ultimately I could see 3 weeks.

The double standards are what really irk me with all this though, perhaps it's just my interpretation but how Maynard gets off completely, after essentially in the last 3rd of a second doing the same thing and turning his shoulder in to bump and causing a concussion, yet SPP will end up with 3-4 is really symbolic of what a sh*tshow this league is at times.

SPP wasn't blindsided, he didn't get pushed, he had time to assess the contest and threw himself into it. He went in too hard into a contest where a bloke was already being tackled, ran out of room and hit him in the head with his shoulder.

Much like the AFL prosecutor with the Maynard case, you're looking too closely at what happens in the last second.

If you can't go into a contest with enough control to avoid hitting someone forcefully to the head with your shoulder, you've gone in too hard. He had to be more careful.

SPP is usually very good at hitting a contest hard but fair, but he missed here.

1. Rioli turned Keane into spp in the tackle
2. He did not go into a contest where the bloke was being tackled. I showed that Rioli tackled Keane in the last second before spp arrived and spp only had fractions of a second once Keane was turned.

None of this is my opinion, I showed this clearly in the still shots I posted.

3. Yeah kind of agree that he might have to temper his attack, which is utter bullshit really. Just the reality of the cluster**** we’re in thanks to league mismanagement.

He needs to squib contests cause he’s not a white private school Victorian.

Oh Please!

He made the decision to run full tilt into a situation where the tackle was being made. What the heck was his intention? He doesnt make a tackling motion. He shows zero purpose, other than just run in, and then drop his shoulder as they impact! It was as dumb & clumsy as all hell!

Secondly, once he had made the dumb move, you say he had no time. Utter bullsh!te. He is an elite, trained, footballer. He had enough time to make a decision mate! A decision to twist his upper body 45deg, and jam his shoulder into Keane. Sure its a split second, but they train in slit-seconds! Having made the decision to run into the contest, in that instant he could, and should, have made any of a number of better decisions:
**Slide clockwise left, instead of dropping his shoulder to the right. They would have still collided but with less damage.
**Just prop and let Rioli swing Keane into him, and cop whatever happens. He made the bed ....!
**Or how about actually fricken doing something! Like maybe lifting his arms to grab, effectively supporting Rioli's tackle. Sure he cops a blow, but once again, he made the bed ... !

No! He does NOTHING! He just runs, and then drops his shoulder. You say he had to "brace for impact" ... Jeez that is dumb! How about run in and tackle, instead of just running in like some idiot! I expect that sort of stupidity from bull-at-the-gate Jones, but not from SPP. He is a tough but fair player, who normally makes good decisions ... but that was rubbish.

I hope they dont use that dumb excuse in his defense!

1. He did not make a decision to run full tilt into a contest where a tackle was being made. I showed stills that the tackle was made in the last second, and Keane turned in the last fraction of that …

2. He doesn’t make a tackling motion?

No, I addressed this. He has fractions of a second to make a decision and execute. Not 3 seconds not 5 seconds fractions of a second.

Again, not remotely opinion based, the time is in the stills I posted.

Anyone who wants to claim he could have easily had enough time can google reaction times. The common reaction time just to hit a button your finger is hovering over is around .20 to .35 of a second, around the same time spp had to judge and act once Keane was turned in the tackle. You can just tap a screen your finger is hovering over but expect spp tracking at 30km an hr to be able to do what in the time?

It's amazing how many people don't get it. Powell-Pepper's right to take part in that contest is overridden by Keane's right to not end up with a brain injury. If the way you're playing the game is resulting in your opponent ending up with a brain injury then you need to reassess the way you're playing the game.

Jesus this is a horrific take. Let’s just play flag football.

You refuse to accept that it's the way he approached the contest that's the problem here rather than what happened in the split second before impact. He wasn't just standing in the wrong place at the wrong time and Keane just ran into him. He approached the contest in a careless way which caused a brain injury to an opponent.

It was a characteristically dumb thing to do from a dumb player.

You refuse to accept that it's the way he approached the contest that's the problem here rather than what happened in the split second before impact. He wasn't just standing in the wrong place at the wrong time and Keane just ran into him. He approached the contest in a careless way which caused a brain injury to an opponent.

It was a characteristically dumb thing to do from a dumb player.

How was his running to the contest any different to any other million times a player runs to a contest?

What was he carrying a machete or something?

Also, let's flip the question for a moment.

What's Keane supposed to do in that situation to not end up with a brain injury?

The only possible answer to that question is 'don't play the game'.

And if that's your answer to the question I just posed, the game has a serious problem that needs addressing.

Also, let's flip the question for a moment.

What's Keane supposed to do in that situation to not end up with a brain injury?

The only possible answer to that question is 'don't play the game'.

And if that's your answer to the question I just posed, the game has a serious problem that needs addressing.
The game absolutely has a problem that needs addressing, because the game has a number of inherent risks, one of which is impact injuries. I think Sam will and should get suspended, but this I such a different case to a standard run in and bump case. There are clearly other events that lead to the head contact that are out of Sam’s control. It’s not a simple case by any means.

Sam will get suspended because the games in damage control but realistically the way everyone plays is likely to at some point end up in injuring their opponents due to the unpredictable nature of this game, what the **** are you talking about?

I'd say to point '3' that 30 of the other 33 players were nowhere near close enough to remotely get anywhere near to the contest anyway :rolleyes:

Give Pep 2 games and move on. We all get it, concussion is a serious issue, but this is the wrong type of case to set an example. Granted, it was careless, but there was no malice or intent involved. Fair dinkum, some of the emotive based reactions are bordering on the ridiculous.

These type of bumps that result in a concussion have been suspended for years now. If you choose to bump, you take full responsibility for what happens to that player.

Let’s not act surprised or that it’s some anti port conspiracy. He deserves the weeks and needs to be better.

MRP / Trib. Tribunal Thread - rules and offences discombobulation