turnbull stakes

go fullta

Feb 28, 2006
victoria
get excited boys!! have a look at these fields.

http://www.ozracing.net.au/cgi-bin/rsb/public/format_wgt_rating.cgi/0610FLEM.DGN?State=V

i have my 1st game of cricket this week but i also have the option of going down to flemington...after looking at these noms, i know what i want to do..hmmmmm

some of my favourites are going around
  • amyjaye power
  • the fuzz
  • blahnik
  • harvard
  • tears i cry
  • swick
  • lauras charm
  • perfect persausion
  • bellini rose
  • tipungwuti
  • haradasun (i reckon he will the turnbull, flemington will be just what he needs)
  • game serena (the local)

Quite a few of my favourites are going around as well:

- Red Lord
- Laura's charm
- Pantenny
- Haradasun
- Tears I Cry
- Fire in the Night
- El Daana

Must say I am extremely looking forward to this!!!!

Myfavourites going around the track...

Race 2 - Pit Lane (my personal favorite, guineas winner for mine)
Race 3 - Mufasa
Race 4 - Belcentra
Race 5 - Shadoways, Cocinero, Here De Angles
Race 6 - Let Go Thommo
Race 7 - Sirimone
Race 8 - Tawqeet, Haradsun, Efficient, Morasco, El Segundo, Eskimo Queen
Race 9 - Bugatti Royale, King of Ashford (Watch this one come home, on the outside)
Race 10 - Permaiscuous

Early thoughts...

Nato in the first race is a grey speedstar out of Encosta De Lago who has won 2 trials.

Like Roughie I'll be hoping Pit Lane can show it's best in the 2nd.

Alfalfa in the 3rd is a potential Derby runner.

4th will be a wide open one..would like to see Bantry Bay fire a shot..thought it was alright..

In the sprint you would expect Swick to improve again on his first up effort.

Flash Trick at its best will go alright in the next.

If it gets a run Trick of Light is one to follw in the 7th, will go real well on this track.

I'll be putting on a Haradasun Turnbull-Cox Plate double..cos should he win he'll move into 2nd fav you would think in the big one.

Light Vision to continue his winning ways in the BC..

Vormista in the last perhaps after that cracker of a run last time.

Super race the Turbull. Flemington will suit both Haradasun and Marasco. They will fight it out Id imagine. Only bad thing about this field is it leaves nothing in Caulfield Stakes next week and practicly gifts Miss Finland the race.

Manifold

35303 Jestatune 4.40 1.85
35302 Sleek Chassis 6.50 2.37
35306 Riva San 7.50 2.62
35310 El Daana 9.00 3.00
35315 Perfect Persuasion 9.00 3.00
35301 Forensics 10.00 3.25
35314 Absolut Glam 11.00 3.50
35304 Extension Of Time 13.00 4.00
35308 Catalan Bay 13.00 4.00
35307 Bel Mer 15.00 4.50
35319 Frangelico (3e) 17.00 5.00
35318 Beaming Bella (2e) 17.00 5.00
35313 Serious Speed 21.00 6.00
35316 Bird Of Fire 26.00 7.25
35305 Bantry Bay 26.00 7.25
35309 Bonded 35.00 9.50
35320 Cluny (4e) 35.00 9.50
35312 Grand Journey 51.00 13.50
35311 Lil Orpen Annie 101.00 26.00
35317 Bourgogne (1e) 101.00 26.00

Gilgai

35408 Swick 4.80 1.95
35412 Stanzout 5.50 2.12
35404 Here De Angels 6.50 2.37
35405 Monet Rules 8.00 2.75
35415 Miss Judgement 10.00 3.25
35409 Stickpin 12.00 3.75
35407 Cocinero 13.00 4.00
35416 Flying Object 14.00 4.25
35403 Electric General 15.00 4.50
35402 Honalee 17.00 5.00
35413 Keltah 17.00 5.00
35406 Shadoways 18.00 5.25
35410 Annas Choice 23.00 6.50
35414 Lord Of The Dance 26.00 7.25
35411 Shadowmaker 31.00 8.50
35401 Valedictum 81.00 21.00

Turnbull

35202 El Segundo 3.80 1.62
35205 Haradasun 4.50 1.77
35206 Marasco 6.00 2.11
35214 Devil Moon 7.50 2.44
35209 Efficient 9.00 2.77
35215 Eskimo Queen 11.00 3.22
35211 Cinque Cento 13.00 3.66
35208 Zipping 17.00 4.55
35213 Molotov 21.00 5.44
35212 Douro Valley 41.00 9.88
35203 Blutigeroo 61.00 14.33
35201 Tawqeet 61.00 14.33
35207 Blue Monday 71.00 16.55
35204 Gallic 151.00 34.33
35210 Scenic Shot 151.00 34.33

Yeh your telling me, was a terrible ride.. should have won by 2 lengths. get a decent jockey like dunn or rodd on him.

sounds like your talking through your pockets!!

the horse is being set for better races, hence the reason it was sent to the back of the field!! they would of been educating her to settle so she will be at her peak when it counts

i agree lockyer, she should be hard to beat in her next couple, and i think she will be closer to the speed as they will be slower run races!!

i was impressed by fire in the night, he could be a roughie for the cups..

Nah, I don't mind her being a back marker..but like Divine Madonna I think unless the jockey gets her stoked up near the bend instead of switching over heels then finally hitting the go button she will forever just run fast finishing placings. She probably would not have won today, 1st up was a moral beaten ;)

She will be a ripper at Flemington though like DM.

Nah, I don't mind her being a back marker..but like Divine Madonna I think unless the jockey gets her stoked up near the bend instead of switching over heels then finally hitting the go button she will forever just run fast finishing placings. She probably would not have won today, 1st up was a moral beaten ;)

She will be a ripper at Flemington though like DM.

doesnt matter how far from home they are stoked up, they will always struggle to win from that far back. just like fullta, the way she races, ruins her chances of winning more races. divine madonna, amyjaye power, trick of light etc....

rare exception are horses like alinghi, there just freaks

My tips for the weekend..

Race 1
It's all guesswork unless you have some trial form in your pocket or a I Got Chills tip. I like 6 Nato to win based on its two comfortable trial wins, followed by 12 Pachanga with the DH/CW combination who always take these races. Throw a blanket for the other placing, I won't even bother guessing. Win 6, Exa 6/12

Race 2
A couple of potential 3YO stayers in this and Derby candidates. 9 Alfalfa is already a winner over distance unlike most of these, although hard to measure it up yet. 1 Down Under Boy looked good earlier in the year and don't be suprised to see a return to form. 2 The Original always finishes its race off well and will improve with distance. 12 Villain fought it out gamely last start with the eventual winner Dane the Rave (in the next) but streeted the rest of the field that day..looks handy. Box Tri 9,1,2,12

Race 3
3 Pit Lane half answered the question last start if he was good enough against the better 3YO's I thought, and the extra distance will see him improve again. 2 Pins on Parade has been slept on a touch, will be very tough to beat. 7 Dane the Rave nice and fit and to round out the tri. Give 13 Bitter Lager another chance. Each Way 3, Box Tri 3,2,7,13

Race 4
Going for five straight is the emerging 5 Light Vision, who has just improved so much this year and especially the last few runs. His form against Cefalu should stack up against these. 12 Red Lord is on the cups trail and needs to win this after a promising build up. 5 Utility will appreciate the extra distance and is under-rated. Win 5

Race 5
A race I think you need to stay away from, I'd give chances perhaps to 1 Sirmione, 4 Hassle (danger horse at odds!) 5 Danever, and 9 Skiddaw Peak (big watch on this one). Exacta 1,4,5,9

Race 6
12 Vormista is the deserving favourite after her slashing run in the Manikato, an instant blackbooker. 3 Maslins Beach drops back to the Mares class and back in distance and gets Ollie back - watch out. 9 Bellini Rose is another to drop back in distance and is a chance to build on her impressive win rate. 1 Like It Is, 4 Hidden Strings, 16 Brolago into my tri!
Win 12, Trifecta 12,3/12,3,9/12,3,9,1,4,16.

Race 7
Another one for a exacta I think if anything. I was fairly impressed with 8 Catalan Bay's last win at the Valley. 2 Sleek Chassis and 3 Jestatune are the highly fancied ones and rightly so. 5 Bantry Bay I rate (but maybe for not much longer) and 16 Bird of Fire stuck on gamely last start despite a tough run.
Exacta 8,2,3,5,16

Race 8
Surely it is time for 5 Haradasun - in 12 of his 13 starts he has run 1st or 2nd..amazing...wonder what that would have been if he ever got a gate? (Doncaster aside) I actually think 2 El Segundo is the best horse in the land on his day, but is prone to the odd poor run more than others. Cup run watch on my old mate 4 Gallic, Melb Cup shoe in 9 Efficient, and 15 Eskimo Queen who will go close in both Cups.
Win 5, First Four 5/2/6,8,9,13,15/6,8,9,13,15

Race 9
I think one of the bets bets of the day and decent value is 8 Swick, who always seems to put in a decent one first up (done) and then goes better 2nd up before fading away in his campaign. 7 Cocinero is an enigma but right in this on best form. I like 9 Stickpin and I like that Willo is on too.
Win 8, Box Tri 8,7,9

Race 10
Tough one to finish off...a few of lost faith in in this a little, 11 Okay Oky and 1 Flash Trick. 13 Harvard is right in form, 6 Amyjaye Power will no doubt run a place, and I liked 5 Roman Squire very impressive up in the QLD carnival.
Tri 11,1,13,6/11,1,13,6/11,1,13,5,6

Have a good one fellas should be a big day!

Race 1 - Exceedingly Good EW. Lottery for the rest.

Race 2 - BamMagera EW. Villian should run well.

Race 3 - On the Warpath EW. Watch out for Husson Lightning back in grade.

Race 4 - Red Lord has been going excellent recently. Great each way chance. I think Cefalu and light vision are the only other 2 in the race.

Race 5 - Skidaw peak is the up and comer against the class of sirmione. Leaning towards Sirmione. Big watch on Blahnik, beat vormista home in ADE a few starts back, Chance.

Race 6 - Maslins Beach with ollie on board can win here. Hasnt had much luck this prep and i think it can win back to mares class. Vormista was a huge run the the grp1 but at $2.70 ill be steering clear. Anything can happen in these big fields.

Race 7 - Riva san was a good tough win last start. Should go well. Jestatune shouldnt miss a place.

Race 8 - Efficient just keeps on being supported. $11 into $7 just a case of whether or not he is 100%. Id imagine they would be keeping him for the cox so wont be fully wound up but expect a huge run. Marasco the danger.

Race 9 - Best of the Day here. Here De Angels. Gun sprinter. Wasnt disgraced behind Gold Edition 2 starts ago when Gold broke her heart out in front. Last start 1400m didnt suit and kicked away to be leading with 150m to go. 1200 is perfect and way down in class from last 2 runs. best of the day.

Race 10 - If you're up dont bet. If desperate maybe Ok Oky or Roman Squire.

Best of the Day - Here De Angels
Best Value - Maslins Beach

There is no doubt it is a tough race to line them up. As you can see by a few differing opinions here. If art house had of run well for 2nd by half a length of something like that would you change your mind? Art House put in a shocker at the valley. I dont know if he didnt handle the track or wat but he was off that day.

My Tips

Race 1 Brattwurst, real pluton
Race 2 The Orginal and Take the cash (eachway if it gets a run)
Race 3 Nine tales, Pit lane
Race 4 The fuzz(looking for this distance) light vision
Race 5 Tears i Cry, Hassel to be steaming home.
Race 6 Maloose, vormista
Race 7 Jestatune, perfect persuasion
Race 8 Cinque cento,zipping and efficient
Race 9 Swick,keltah,electric general
Race 10 Family guy, okay okay, amyjaye power

Quaddie 3 15, 2 8 9 11 15, 3 8 13, 6 9 11 33% for 30 bux

goodluck guys

Does no one give Marasco a chance? Not really impressive in its last start but otherwise does have plenty going for it in this race. Will the blinkers help?

Marasco is a big chance. Has a good barrier. Consistently runs well ad hs proven himself in this company. Should run top 4 comfortably. Haradasun has a poor barrier. El Segundo hasnt won at flemo and is likely to have a flat run. The rest are slighty unproven or cups bound bar efficient.

turnbull stakes