dzussy
- Sep 28, 2018
- AFL Club
- West Coast
Does that mean a yellow ball?
Im tipping a pink ball, with glowing streamers. Gil style.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Does that mean a yellow ball?
The AFL made a decision that was directly against every fan poll opinion out there.
Also, more tv ratings does not mean more individuals watching the game if you actually look into it. But the AFL will try and tell you so.
This isnt a about traditionalism for the sake of it, a day GF is so much better for the majority for a number of reasons.
More bells & whistles with the halftime entertainment and some fireworks after the game...
Whoopty-f**kin-doo
Let's scrap something great so Channel 7 can maximise their TV ratings in Sydney and Brisbane
So having the Grand Final start 2 hours late is changing something from great to bad?... Interesting.
Yeah but what if I want to emulate some of the action from the 1st half like hodge's banana or krakouer's speccy? I love doing this after a few beers and snags as do many othersYou do realise you will still be able to have a 20 min kick to kick at 3:40.
It would just be before the game starts if it is a twilight game.
The arvo bbq either starts a bit later, or simply goes a bit longer. More time to catch-up with mates and enjoy the day...
It really is a non-issue.
I think the GF no matter the time will always be great. If they feel it will bring more money in then just say that.
Gillon directly quoted the majority of fans want it to stay a day grand final, looking after the fans should surely be the number one priority?
The AFL however rarely worry what their fans think so we will end up with a twilight GF which is again a decision that is only in the middle. If it’s moved it should be to a night GF, don’t do it half way.
The majority of fans haven't decided that they prefer a Day Grand Final, only a few heavily biased polls show that.
They are the only polls we can go off, there won’t be more people attending or watching a twilight GF. And it changes every year those numbers pending who is in the GF.
Every single statistic we have say that the twilight time slot gets more people watching... but okay.
You can manipulate polls to show anything you want based on who you ask and how you ask it.
What statistics? Night footy easily rates higher than twilight which is why all the other finals are night games.
I get that you want it moved and I respect your opinion but you have no more evidence than I or anyone else.
How is the change inevitable if the resounding majority want a day Grand Final? If I wanted to watch a crappy halftime show with fireworks, I'll watch the Superbowl. I'm convinced the AFL just love to find new ways to ruin our game.
What do you do now if you want to emulate some of the action from the 2nd half?Re: halftime kick to kick in the dark
Yeah but what if I want to emulate some of the action from the 1st half like hodge's banana or krakouer's speccy? I love doing this after a few beers and snags as do many others
Superbowl is one of the most watched sporting events in the world because of the crappy halftime show with fireworks... millions tune in just for that that normally wouldn't watch it..
So how is that ruining a game? on the contrary it promotes it by putting it on the map. Believe it or not promoting the game actually helps the game flourish.
If your'e worried about the AFL ruining the game worry about rule changes like below the knee rule, taking the bump out etc...that shit ruins the game not what time the grand final is.
Until there's an official announcement I don't think we need yet another thread about this.
Let's face it, we're all too pissed to kick the footy after the game. Halftime kick to kick is a tradition that will be lost foreverWhat do you do now if you want to emulate some of the action from the 2nd half?
The story that a 4:30-5:00 start instead of a 2:30 start will somehow ruin all the bbqs and kick to kick stuff is just ridiculous.
And if you have a 4:30 start half time would be about 5:40, the current time celebrations are still going so if you want to emulate Hodgey you still can have the additional half time kick!! How is that, just found you an extra kick-to-kick!!
So most ‘halftime’ traditions will still happen at 5:40, but starting later opens up more new ‘pregame’ traditions. The BBQs still happen, and you actually get more time to enjoy them before the game starts.
This was one of my first thoughts. There are no shortage of people with a wobble on when they arrive at the current afternoon game. Anti-social behaviour will likely increase in some quarters. The game will likely become mid-strength triggering the above to go harder earlier. People with tickets will be refused entry. None of this actually matters, and people will learn better behaviour if they are attending, but it will be messy the first few years.Bogans hammered before the game even starts... woo hoooooooooo.....
So nothing will change then?Bogans hammered before the game even starts... woo hoooooooooo.....
Two games per week are played in the twilight slot. They aren’t broadcast on 7. Half the time you forget it’s on. It’s not even in prime time. How does twilight rate better than day?Every single statistic we have say that the twilight time slot gets more people watching... but okay.
You can manipulate polls to show anything you want based on who you ask and how you ask it.
Two games per week are played in the twilight slot. They aren’t broadcast on 7. Half the time you forget it’s on. It’s not even in prime time. How does twilight rate better than day?
While McLachlan repeated that the change to evening was inevitable, he also said that a majority of the public still favoured retaining a day grand final, and that "incumbency often prevails'' in decision-making.
"I think it's inevitable, but that's a view about at some point in the future,'' he said.
McLachlan also said the decision was "not a money issue'' and that the league would not receive any further dollars from the broadcasters if they made the switch this year.
"Last year's grand final was one of the best days of sport I've been to ... what a day,'' said McLachlan, who would not be drawn on the recommendation.
"Every room I walk into, every online survey, every focus group - the majority want to keep it.
"You will find incumbency often prevails.''
source- the Age
Doesnt really sound like its a done deal to shift it
It's been discussed since the 90s. Much like nuclear fusion energy it's always been just around the corner, sometime soon, any year now.It’s inevitable!
Like the sun coming up tomorrow!
FFS, somebody look up the word “inevitable” for Gillon.
Gil... mate... for the bloke actually charged with making the decision, it could not possibly be less “inevitable”.