Two day hangovers

I've had two. One was in this town in Spain called Granada. We went last minute due to a heap of people talking it up. Anyway, get there in the arvo and I think what a cool, unique, almost Aussie looking little city this is... go out that night, get so lathered on one Euro shots and beers, and smoke far too much weed for my own good. The next day was spent spewing bile until about 1am and annoying everyone in my dorm.

The day after that I don't think I ate until midnight. Think I had a few spews that day as well. We left and I saw precisely 0 of the place.

I think half of this is due to my tolerance. I remember not even two years ago, a six pack in two hours was perfect for pre-drinks. I can probably finish off a slab between me and a mate for pres and still get a dozen drinks at a club to feel really pissed. So I reckon your body learns to get over it, or then other days, it realises how much you've had.

These days, I'm either 80% fine or I'm totally destroyed by a hangover. There's no mid-point. Well I guess this is growing up.

I can probably finish off a slab between me and a mate for pres and still get a dozen drinks at a club to feel really pissed.

I bet you can't.

These days, I'm either 80% fine or I'm totally destroyed by a hangover. There's no mid-point. Well I guess this is growing up.

tumblr_mg83ggxCzq1qi9pd5o1_500.gif

You aint seen nothing yet. Wait until you have a couple of quiet drinks, don't feel pissed at all and still wake up feeling like balls.

Former bottle of Vodka a night aloholic while maintaining a high pressure 9 to 7 job checking in ÑDJOI. Hangovers = dehydration it;s that simple. So if you are truly committed to water you will never get anything more than a slight headache, its that simple. By true commitment I mean leaving 2 litre bottles of water next to any place u may pass out, forcing yourself to drink water and more water before every drink.. water solves everything.

I used to get these more regularly than I should have. In bed all day, barely out of bed for work, absolute agony.

It's poisoning.

I'm also a firm believer in not going to bed at the peak of drunkenness, stay awake and make attempts to sober up.

3) Drink as mush as possible before bed - water, sports drinks. Big difference if you can somehow stay up for half an hour and do this.

Step 3 is the only step I need to take. Water. Lots of it. I have a re-housed pint glass I got from who-knows-where. I have three pints of water after a big sesh and wake up with no hangover.

Of course I've gotta piss like a racehorse first thing in the morning, but still...

So I drank a shite load on the weekend but as we were seated at a table for the majority of the night (wedding) I smashed water as often as possible, didn't get overly drunk but woke up fine. I have now realised the power of water in-between drinks and will forever be its friend. Had a flight the next morning and was the first time in a long time I haven't flown seedy. :thumbsu:

For me it depends on what I drink, beers and that I can generally drink a fair amount and not feel a thing in the morning same with Jäger actually funnily enough.

Change to other spirits and drink a considerable amount then I'll be feeling pretty crook until about midday then be sweet.

There is a lot of bullshit around hangovers (the causes, the cures, why they're so bad etc.) but from my own personal experiences, I feel as though I have it all completely figured out.

Firstly, a hangover is 100% dehydration. Forget the bullshit you've read about that horrible headache or nauseated stomach being your body just trying to "break down toxins" - it's all dehydration. The problem is once you're hungover, you're hungover. There's no way to turn it around and this is simply because the effects of dehydration are delayed. Thirst is a delayed symptom of dehydration. Once you're thirsty, you're already dehydrated. Additionally, a hangover is a delayed set of symptoms that mean you're extremely dehydrated. You're unable to turn it around easily because the damage has already been done and once your blood level reaches zero, the 'hangover effect' kicks in.

To avoid the two-day hangover, you must drink water while you're hungover otherwise you'll still be dehydrated on day two. It won't make you feel much better on day one but it's what you do the day before that determines how you feel the next day. As for day one, sleep and time are the only "cures". Otherwise you should treat your symptoms. For example Saladas for nausea, Panadol and water for headaches, lollies for weakness, valiums for anxiety, etc. I always find showering and brushing my teeth make me feel 5% better as well. Other tips are to stay in dark rooms, eat bananas and try to avoid talking to people who aren't on your level. One big myth is that greasy food will help your hangover. This is false. Your body only craves greasy food when you're hungover.

To avoid a hangover, the simple solution is to drink less or not drink at all, but for most of us that is just unrealistic. If you're disciplined enough, drink a glass of water as often as you can. I forget to drink a glass of water throughout the night and therefore I wake up feeling horrendous, but if you drink 1 water for every 1 beer I guarantee you that you will not wake up hungover. The higher water ratio per beer/wine/whatever tickles your fancy, the better you will feel the next day. If you forget to drink water throughout the night, try and down 2L and a bottle of Gatorade/hydralytes with 2 x Panadol or 2 x Fiorinal before you go to sleep. If you have access to valiums it's always good to have 10 - 15mg before bed so you get more REM sleep.

If you still wake up feeling rubbish after these tips it's because you've either had little sleep, gotten on the gear or you've got some other underlying health issue that I suggest you should see a doctor about.

Last but not least I just want to add drink responsibly. Alcohol is a very dangerous drug if not treated with respect. A paramedic turned cop I know reckons that if it was discovered today it would be considered a class A drug due to the amount of damage it does to your vital organs if you abuse it. Be safe friends!

I find work on a Monday a struggle after a big Saturday night, but even after a quiet weekend, Monday is always a struggle.

Wouldn't be hungover for 2 days. Would just struggle at work. But if I had the day off I'd be fine.

Seems every time I get on the piss these days, I'm hung over for two days. Anybody else experience this? I know a few people who like to tell me they never get hang overs, which I think's a crock.

Thoughts.

How old are you? This started for me when I was about 24. Had my first three-dayer a couple of weeks ago, first day was the only one with sickness and headache, second two were just a feeling of general drowsiness and moral bankruptcy.

Walk home instead of getting a cab, buy a bottle of water on the way. Works for me

Two day hangovers