U/16 National Championships

he had 29 possies against the northern bombers last year in his first game of senior footy and hasn't looked back, picked up a fair few votes in the bnf last year. would easily of been in the top 5 players in the under 18 carnival, captain of the u16 team really speaks for its self. i dont no what footy games u have been watching, but it obviously hasn't been any of his. certain draftee.:thumbsu:

max brown quotted that it was the best debut game he had ever seen!:thumbsu:

i noticed same darley cried to his mother and he reakons he is too good to play state footy! i think he needs to lose weight and pull his head in

Seems like someone is maybe a bit jealous here???
from all reports the kid can play.
15 i think still? so would be u16s again next year!
and would prob get a game at 6 other clubs in premier league atm!!

I think u fish 03 need to pull your head in and give the kid a break

russell is the most underated in that pararaph you seriously have down played his ability in comparisoon with weller, tuxworth, mott and rundle radford has the smarts but no pace.
mate no disrespect to luke russel but he wouldnt carry mav wellers boots to the ground, dont get me wrong he can play but compaired to mav weller he doesnt even come close

Having recently watched young Sam Darley play recently I would say that he is a very good young player......... But, and it is a big but....... He will never get anywhere as long as he has the attitude he has at the minute. I don't think I have ever met a 15-16 year old with a bigger head. I think he believes he has already made it which will be the begining of the end. Time will tell. But honestly I can see him playing local footy in tassie for a long time as the next step will be to hard for him as he will have to start at the bottom of the food chain and from ll reports he thinks his a lot better than that.

I hope he can prove me wrong though

mate no disrespect to luke russel but he wouldnt carry mav wellers boots to the ground, dont get me wrong he can play but compaired to mav weller he doesnt even come close

yeah well i wouldnt of said it like that what do you like about the both of them? what parts of there games what do you think they need to improve on?

Having recently watched young Sam Darley play recently I would say that he is a very good young player......... But, and it is a big but....... He will never get anywhere as long as he has the attitude he has at the minute. I don't think I have ever met a 15-16 year old with a bigger head. I think he believes he has already made it which will be the begining of the end. Time will tell. But honestly I can see him playing local footy in tassie for a long time as the next step will be to hard for him as he will have to start at the bottom of the food chain and from ll reports he thinks his a lot better than that.

I hope he can prove me wrong though

thankyou!

thankyou!

NOrthern lad and the fish 03, you mus not know much about sam darley then!
northern lad, to say he will struggle to make the next step it crazy, going from playing under 15s and kicking 7 in a grand final to this year playing seniors gathering 21 touches and will go close to winning the U/19s b&f and talking to a dad whos son was in the state team told me about darley ripping it in practice matches.
The Fish 03, Mav Weller is the best player in the state and is better then Rusell, Russell is a good player but no where near as good as Weller. Saying Darley is a cry baby and too weak minded player? must of played aginst him then? bit jealous?
i think Northern Lad and The Fish 03 need to pull their heads in to know that, Weller is the best in the state and will get drafted and the same for darley

northern lad, to say he will struggle to make the next step it crazy, going from playing under 15s and kicking 7 in a grand final to this year playing seniors gathering 21 touches and will go close to winning the U/19s b&f and talking to a dad whos son was in the state team told me about darley ripping it in practice matches.
The Fish 03, Mav Weller is the best player in the state and is better then Rusell, Russell is a good player but no where near as good as Weller. Saying Darley is a cry baby and too weak minded player? must of played aginst him then? bit jealous?
i think Northern Lad and The Fish 03 need to pull their heads in to know that, Weller is the best in the state and will get drafted and the same for darley
couldnt agree more mate, ive only seen darely play 3 times but all those times he has been good, probably hurt himself abit by not going away in the championships but no doubt he can play i dont think he is as good as mav though, mav is well rounded can play in alot of positions and rolls ie forward middle tagger, would get drafted today if the afl would allow it

yeah well i wouldnt of said it like that what do you like about the both of them? what parts of there games what do you think they need to improve on?
what do u mean u wouldnt of said it like that??? there is no other way to put it, luke russel has alot to improve on if he wants to make it, and i mean alot. mav doesnt need to improve on much, just needs to keep working hard and keep doin what his doin:thumbsu:

THanks for the stats gloryman or should I say Mr Darley......

I would love to see both boys drafted. My question is why did Darley pull out of the state team? Its been mentioned that he thought that all the lads in the team had big heads and that he would rather play with his mates..... Its also been stated that he got a ribbing from some of the boys and didn't like it and rang home for mum to collect him and then pulled out of the team. For a kid who is so good he must not have to much up top as anyone with any sense knows that if you want to play at the top level you need to put your hand up at those types of carnivals to get noticed by clubs.

I never mentioned that Sam could not play, because it is obviuos to all he can. The point I'm trying to make is that why pull out of a state team for something as minor as that if you are serious about your footy? You would have to be aware that you don't very often get drafted from a local league no matter how good of player you are.

I personally hope he gets it together and relieses he has to play at state level to get seriously looked at. And the real reason he pulled out of the state U/16's comes out. Because if it is either of the above mentioned reason it would be very very disapointing

THanks for the stats gloryman or should I say Mr Darley......

I would love to see both boys drafted. My question is why did Darley pull out of the state team? Its been mentioned that he thought that all the lads in the team had big heads and that he would rather play with his mates..... Its also been stated that he got a ribbing from some of the boys and didn't like it and rang home for mum to collect him and then pulled out of the team. For a kid who is so good he must not have to much up top as anyone with any sense knows that if you want to play at the top level you need to put your hand up at those types of carnivals to get noticed by clubs.

I never mentioned that Sam could not play, because it is obviuos to all he can. The point I'm trying to make is that why pull out of a state team for something as minor as that if you are serious about your footy? You would have to be aware that you don't very often get drafted from a local league no matter how good of player you are.

I personally hope he gets it together and relieses he has to play at state level to get seriously looked at. And the real reason he pulled out of the state U/16's comes out. Because if it is either of the above mentioned reason it would be very very disapointing

i guess thats the One Million dollar question we are all asking ourselfs!
weller and Darley Stars in the near future

couldnt agree more mate, ive only seen darely play 3 times but all those times he has been good, probably hurt himself abit by not going away in the championships but no doubt he can play i dont think he is as good as mav though, mav is well rounded can play in alot of positions and rolls ie forward middle tagger, would get drafted today if the afl would allow it

thanks for that chalky! guy grey is your name isnt it?

russell has twice the athletic capacities mav! and quadrouple sams!
you wait until the AIS is anounced this week we'[ll see! how did somerset go on the weekend chalky?

russell has twice the athletic capacities mav! and quadrouple sams!
you wait until the AIS is anounced this week we'[ll see! how did somerset go on the weekend chalky?
this isnt chalky i do know guy hes a good bloke but i aint him, somerset went well and beat queeny. should be a good game this week against the raigning premiers. and plz stop comparing luke russel to mav your making yourself look like an idiot and losing all credability, luke hasnt got half the talent mav has and u should know that

chalky! mate stop kidding yourself half of burnie no its you! who else is from somerset and would have the slogan goal square i mean seriously! all the best for the finals mate!

mate half of burnie know you talk sh!t and your posts are rubbish so who gunna care what u say!! i mean come on luke better than mav it almost makes me laugh at how little some ppl know about football but still make rediculous calls and make themselves look stupid, have you even played the great game of ours???? i bet u havent. maybe you should just stick to watching the celtics and not worry about bigfooty anymore, i mean seriously, luke is a gun i agree but at the moment he wouldnt carry mavs boots to the ground. luke is playing in under 17 grand finals why mav is a vital part of the docker machine and will maybe have a senior premiership medal soon, not to mention he was in the top 5 tazzie players at the under 18 championships, and captained the u16s and was the best player in the under 16 championships, has played 30 odd senior games with burnie to lukes 3 or 4.
ps: this is not a shot at luke russel i think he is a great kid with lots of tallent but just me proving a point that some ppl are dumb who get satisfaction with writing dumb sh!t on the net and pretending they know stuff.... :thumbsdown:

You could be right Chalky not that flash on computers and would be way too busy at work to play here, I too have seen both boys, different kettles of fish so to speak , I think that Luke is more of a natural ball getter at the stoppages but Mav is working on this thanks to Plappy giving him run with roles, both draftable and Mav is as committed to this more than anybody I have ever seen, remains to be seen whether this will be a good thing or not, all good kids in the Docker Under 17 group , well done to them and congrats to both Casey and Luke coming back in for the pre final after getting home at 3am, not bigheads thes e boys

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68351

TASMANIA has emerged victorious by four points over the Northern Territory in the Division Two Under 16 Championship at the MCG.

In a high-quality game, Tasmania just came out on top kicking 14.6 (90) to beat the Northern Territory 13.8 (86).

Sam Rundle kicked five goals for Tasmania, but the real star was Maverick Weller, who finished with 23 possessions and provided a lot of through the midfield.

For the Northern Territory Steven Motlop had a blinder kicking five goals, while Steven May also presented an imposing target, although he failed to capitalise in front of goal, kicking 1.4 and one into the man on the mark.

The Northern Territory started the game strongly but failed to convert, taking a narrow three point lead into the quarter time break.

Tasmania came out fired up in the second term, kicking five goals to one. Charlie Riewoldt, the brother of Richmond player Jack, kicked two goals in the second quarter both from strong marks in the goal square.

The third quarter was a real arm wrestle, with the Northern Territory fighting back slightly to go in 15 points down at the last change. At this stage Motlop had kicked four of the Northern Territory's eight goals.

The Northern Territory continued their charge in the last quarter but could not make up the difference in the end, with Tasmania getting home by four points.

Tasmania 14.6. (90) def Northern Territory 13.8 (86)
Goals
Tasmania: Rundle 5, Riewoldt 2, J Green 2, Radford, A.Green, Gillbee, Graves, Owen. Northern Territory: S.Motlop 5, Johnson 2, May, B.Motlop, Lawler, Kruse, Rossides, Taylor

Best
Tasmania: Hislop, Rundle, Weller, A.Green, Mott. Northern Territory: Gordon, Lawler, May, Taylor, Jones.

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68351

TASMANIA has emerged victorious by four points over the Northern Territory in the Division Two Under 16 Championship at the MCG.

In a high-quality game, Tasmania just came out on top kicking 14.6 (90) to beat the Northern Territory 13.8 (86).

Sam Rundle kicked five goals for Tasmania, but the real star was Maverick Weller, who finished with 23 possessions and provided a lot of through the midfield.

For the Northern Territory Steven Motlop had a blinder kicking five goals, while Steven May also presented an imposing target, although he failed to capitalise in front of goal, kicking 1.4 and one into the man on the mark.

The Northern Territory started the game strongly but failed to convert, taking a narrow three point lead into the quarter time break.

Tasmania came out fired up in the second term, kicking five goals to one. Charlie Riewoldt, the brother of Richmond player Jack, kicked two goals in the second quarter both from strong marks in the goal square.

The third quarter was a real arm wrestle, with the Northern Territory fighting back slightly to go in 15 points down at the last change. At this stage Motlop had kicked four of the Northern Territory's eight goals.

The Northern Territory continued their charge in the last quarter but could not make up the difference in the end, with Tasmania getting home by four points.

Tasmania 14.6. (90) def Northern Territory 13.8 (86)
Goals
Tasmania: Rundle 5, Riewoldt 2, J Green 2, Radford, A.Green, Gillbee, Graves, Owen. Northern Territory: S.Motlop 5, Johnson 2, May, B.Motlop, Lawler, Kruse, Rossides, Taylor

Best
Tasmania: Hislop, Rundle, Weller, A.Green, Mott. Northern Territory: Gordon, Lawler, May, Taylor, Jones.
I thought Rundle was great up foward and maverick weller through the midfield and Josh Green Of the wing with his pace .

My mail is Mav Weller will be at GC17 Next year as a 17 year old. Is the goods and will make it:thumbsu:

I hope you are right. I am a little concerned at what i saw in the latter part of the year with Mav. He needs to forget about wanting to get drafted and just go out and play his best football he can. The only person that he has to impress is himself. If he can look at himself in the mirrow after every game then he is well on the way of living his dream. The only concern for me is the **** wits at the helm of these youth sides. They need to teach the basic fundamentals of the game and thats it. Don't feed them bullshit that sends their brain and ego racing ahead of themselves. Keep it simple and keep it in prespective.

I thought Rundle was great up foward and maverick weller through the midfield and Josh Green Of the wing with his pace .

Rundle is a gem. I wonder whether he has been given a speed and power program to do up until Xmas from the experts that run these programs.He reminds me of Selwood from Geelong. I only hope that he is given the right type of program that can give him a shot at being drafted.

I hope you are right. I am a little concerned at what i saw in the latter part of the year with Mav. He needs to forget about wanting to get drafted and just go out and play his best football he can. The only person that he has to impress is himself. If he can look at himself in the mirrow after every game then he is well on the way of living his dream. The only concern for me is the **** wits at the helm of these youth sides. They need to teach the basic fundamentals of the game and thats it. Don't feed them bullshit that sends their brain and ego racing ahead of themselves. Keep it simple and keep it in prespective.

Rundle is a gem. I wonder whether he has been given a speed and power program to do up until Xmas from the experts that run these programs.He reminds me of Selwood from Geelong. I only hope that he is given the right type of program that can give him a shot at being drafted.
Very hard to compare a Rundle to a Selwood, You talk about these so called **** wits that give the boys a big head??? We'll i think it is these sorts of comparisons that give the boys the big heads i mean Rundle and Selwood?????? But i do agree with you in some points He should be on some program along with Mav. But Rundle isn't half the player Mav is ATM. I just hope he is given every oppertunaty to get Drafted and doesn't become an also ran...

U/16 National Championships