U18 2010

Glad you didn't take me up on the offer to make the tipping interesting, Lemms !
Nice kicking by Rupo, Bullants coming good a bit too late, Oakleigh and Old Camb disappointing.

Glad you didn't take me up on the offer to make the tipping interesting, Lemms !
Nice kicking by Rupo, Bullants coming good a bit too late, Oakleigh and Old Camb disappointing.

Pulled this weekends' tips right out of my ear TM !
Werribee appear to be peaking at the right time of the year. Still able to grab the double chance.

Yeah the Tigers looked good, plenty of run and heaps of numbers around the ball. A big finals ground will really suit em. On recent performances Rupo should get their revenge on Oakleigh this week..........

I'm from Werribee and just trying to assess the other teams in the competition a little better and would like some of your feedback as well.

Watched Old Camberwell on the weekend as they got destroyed by Rupertswood, really think they have the team to be able to win games if they figure out how to slow the other faster teams down!

Definetely one of the slowest teams in the competition and some interesting positional moves.

They need to get some more pace on the backline and run it out of there and less of their bigger, slower players chasing tails the whole game.
Perhaps moving their talented red head forward out of the goal square and maybe to the half forward line could help. They have two very similar looking midfieleders who are very strong through the core and have potentially been carrying the team into divison one.

Rupertswood showed that they had real pace and class about them. A very well drilled, quite diciplined side. They will certainly be hard to beat come finals time but showed that they rely very heavily on the runners off the half bakc line setting up play.

It's going to be a cracker of a competition come finals time!

On current form it looks like Rupo v Werr for the big one. I would probably have my money on Rupo purely on consistency. Oakliegh will need to turn their slump around and Old Camb have not done enough all year to be a serious contender.

Results R16 : Lemms 5 (33) Minder 3 (31) Rissoles 3 (25)
Tips R17 Div 1 : Rupo v Oak , St Bedes v Werr , Old Camb v Bullants
Div 2: Aquin v Therry , St Bern v UHS , St Johns v St Mary/Sal

TM, Oakleigh went through a similar slump earlier in the season, I can only assume they are juggling qualifications between all of their sides. Any idea ?
Yeah Lemms, I reckon just trying to balance numbers, one the problems a district side has trying to juggle both 18s and 19s, although Werribee seem to do it easy enough, maybe they have a bigger list and less injuries. Oakleighs team lists last week showed only 19 each side might be struggling with injuries and availability.

So, a district club is the only type of vafa club with juggling issues, Minder?
I suspect all Clubs with U18s in this new competition are still coming to grips with what junior feeders can do for their Clubs moving forward. I know of a number of Clubs other than district Cubs who have U18s playing in their U19s and Seniors.
I firmly believe that the vafa heirarchy and their ‘upper echelon’ of clubs have yet to fully appreciate what a vibrant, junior ‘upper age’ group of competitions will add to their popularity and consolidation.
Thankfully, in the second year of this U18 competition, there has been a limit of 4 U19s players allowed to play (as opposed to any number last year, which made it a farce).
Once other Clubs realise that vafa U18s (18 or under as of 1st July - which is more post Year 12 than not) is not the same as other U18 junior competitions, I suspect there will be a rapid increase in signed up teams.

Agree Riss, standard of VAFA 18s is sensational. It will be even better if those 'upper echelon' clubs decide to go with 18's and grow the comp again in 2011. I know we embraced the opportunity of 18s as a vehicle to prepare a 19s team and went outside the club to attract boys, this year having around 8 or 9 playing on permits from 4 different local U17 teams. This can create the 'juggle' headache but it has been a great opportunity to introduce young local players to our club.

Results R16 : Lemms 5 (33) Minder 3 (31) Rissoles 3 (25)
Tips R17 Div 1 : Rupo v Oak , St Bedes v Werr , Old Camb v Bullants
Div 2: Aquin v Therry , St Bern v UHS , St Johns v St Mary/Sal

Righto here we go... Rupo, Werr, Bullfrogs (finishing off the season very strongly), Therry, UHS, Jocs.

Agree Mindy & Riss that the standard of the comp is very good indeed. I agree that more clubs will get on board as it is a terrific bridge between junior & senior ranks. The jump from 16's to 19's is massive. The Rupo boys didn't win a game in 19 Nth 2 last year, having said that, they learnt a hell of a lot very quickly. A lot riding on this round for Werribee and also OC - will be an interesting weekend. Good luck to all.

Just heard Lemms, brief answer I got was they only had 11 available after injuries, work committments, seniors and MSJFL finals. I know they really struggled last week for numbers with injuries and 2 of their best playing seniors. Heard they have 9 junior permit players who all have MSJFL finals committments this weekend. I believe these 9 are from 4 different Under 17 teams who have all made junior finals! Hopefully they can get some back next week and for 18s finals. Probably good they let Rupo know early to give them time to make other arrangements for their lads tomorrow morning.

Results R17 : Lemms 4 (37) Minder 4 (35) Rissoles 3 (28)
Tips R18 :
Div 1: St Bedes v Rupo , Oak v Old Camb , Bullants v Werr
Div 2: Aquin v St John , St Mary v UHS , Therry v St Bern

Was interesting to see that Therry lost to Aquinas, they were a sneaky chance for finals, but now are well out of contention, Div 2 looks interesting, Div 1 will be a surprise with anyone challanging for the flag

Rupo and Werribee look the standouts , very skillfull and full of quick running players, Both sides are well coached and these two look the goods

Tips R18 :
Div 1: St Bedes v Rupo , Oak v Old Camb , Bullants v Werr
Div 2: Aquin v St John , St Mary v UHS , Therry v St Bern

Bullfrogs are playing some good footy at present - would have had an impact in September, think the Tiges may be too good this weekend though. Seems like playing Rupo 4 times has hurt the Bullants chances. Div 2 wide open, I like the look of Bernies, good club and a very young enthusiastic side.

Yeah Bernies coming good at right time, like last year. Hard to read form of UHS & StMarys. I reckon Bullants might continue good form and finish with a win at Zwar helping the Krushers hold 2nd spot if they can't get over OC this week.
Whisper is Div 1 semis to be at Snake Pit and other Div 1 finals at Coburg City Oval.