MMA-UFC UFC 290

Whittaker had such a good line about him in his press conference, said when he was a welterweight he was one guy he didn't wanna fight " he looks like the type of guy who would bite you if he could "
Hooker had one on Izzy's channel as well. Something about knowing Robbie was a real psycho because he barely said a word, afraid whatever came out of his mouth would scare people.

Lawler headlines the prelims. Personally I think he should've been first or second fight on PPV!
Should've been swapped with the Nickel fight, but those Americans love their wrestlers.

Crute vs Menifield - I think Jimmy gets KOd this time.
I think (and hope) that Jimmy will get the decision win. Last time basically all that made it close/made him gas was a guillotine attempt, if he was never rocked he would've cruised through to a decision

Lol mate he got dropped twice at least. Poor guy only survived because of the wrestling and the cage grab

Right but he only lost his advantageous position then gassed due to a failed guillotine
Man he was gassed from getting his head caved in. I love Jimmy but if he gets hit in the head by Menifield again he's going down.

Will expand more on what I looked at

Crute won the first 3 odd minutes of the round with his wrestling
Screen Shot 2023-07-07 at 11.30.58 pm.png

Crute then tried to lock in a choke
Screen Shot 2023-07-07 at 11.32.33 pm.png

Which Menifeld slipped out of made him rocked which then led to:
Screen Shot 2023-07-07 at 11.34.58 pm.png

If Crute never tried the choke, wouldn't have been as gassed and I don't think he would've got rocked in the way he did, I reckon his team made the adjustments they needed to since that first fight

Will expand more on what I looked at

Crute won the first 3 odd minutes of the round with his wrestling
View attachment 1731678

Crute then tried to lock in a choke
View attachment 1731679

Which Menifeld slipped out of made him rocked which then led to:
View attachment 1731686

If Crute never tried the choke, wouldn't have been as gassed and I don't think he would've got rocked in the way he did, I reckon his team made the adjustments they needed to since that first fight
That's the 3rd round no? He was getting pieced up on the feet at the beginning

1st

He got pieced up at the end of the 1st after the choke
I don't remember him wrestling till after he got pieced up but regardless he still under uses it. Seems to be a really good wrestler with good BJJ but instead he gets into a who goes to sleep first contest and has no head movement

Basically it went 5-4.30 they felt each other out
then 4.30-2.00 he wrestled until that attempt, after it got stuffed all logic went out the window for the next 2 rounds

Actually in round 2 Menifeld lept him against the cage but that was only because of how gassed crute was.

Basically it went 5-4.30 they felt each other out
then 4.30-2.00 he wrestled until that attempt, after it got stuffed all logic went out the window for the next 2 rounds

Actually in round 2 Menifeld lept him against the cage but that was only because of how gassed crute was.

Fair enough, Izzy was saying that he spoke to Crute ( always take this with a grain of salt ) but sounded like he had some sort of health issue leading in and wasn't 100%

We'll see if he learns.
I was always shocked he was such a bad kickboxer when he was trained by Greco.

Fair enough, Izzy was saying that he spoke to Crute ( always take this with a grain of salt ) but sounded like he had some sort of health issue leading in and wasn't 100%

We'll see if he learns.
I was always shocked he was such a bad kickboxer when he was trained by Greco.

I know Jimmy has been training boxing this camp, he's been at my boxing gym (Shadows in Eltham) sparring one of the amateurs and I think he trains out of a boxing gym in Tarneit a bit. Anyway tightening up his hands would help him for sure, seems to have a grappling advantage against most guys. Cardio lost him the last fight, well he drew I guess but he didn't look great after trying for the early sub.

And JDM's fight off with his opponent pulling out, unlucky for him, would have been a great platform for him, bit of talk about him, he could be a star I reckon.

I know Jimmy has been training boxing this camp, he's been at my boxing gym (Shadows in Eltham) sparring one of the amateurs and I think he trains out of a boxing gym in Tarneit a bit. Anyway tightening up his hands would help him for sure, seems to have a grappling advantage against most guys. Cardio lost him the last fight, well he drew I guess but he didn't look great after trying for the early sub.

And JDM's fight off with his opponent pulling out, unlucky for him, would have been a great platform for him, bit of talk about him, he could be a star I reckon.
JDM can def be a star, another first round masterclass with his hands and he will become a name in UFC circles for sure. Alot of really good judges rave about him. Definitely got beautiful hands. I love Crute, just seems a rippa fella so hope he does well and of course VIC represent with Pharjack

The trainers down our gym don't like MMA but they reckon Jimmy is a great bloke, the gym dog Alfie loves him too so that's good enough for them ha ha

Sleeps in a camper with his dog or something and just seems chill af. Also a tough campaigner, to keep trying to fight against Smith with the nerve being kicked out then surviving against Menifield oh heart. Let's go Jimmy

I hope he can get that Smith fight again, with his knee right he should have a big advantage on the ground. Walker might be a good fight for Jimmy depending on which Walker shows up, most inconsistent fighter on the roster.

Any guy who can submit Paul Craig has serious ground skills. Weird he didn't use it more

He has said he was carrying the bad knee a while, that must affect your grappling, well everything I guess but hard to get a TD if your knee is rooted I reckon.
Haha still managed it allright against Smith without his leg working lol

This is shocking news. I have no idea what this means for Harrell's future prospects, but hopefully he has successful surgery and can live a normal life going forward.

JDM not fighting tomorrow sucks, but it should see him a certain starter for the Sydney card.

This is shocking news. I have no idea what this means for Harrell's future prospects, but hopefully he has successful surgery and can live a normal life going forward.

JDM not fighting tomorrow sucks, but it should see him a certain starter for the Sydney card.

I feel for jack . He said he’s a prize fighter. So no pay or what happens?

Not sure mate. Where a fighter had done a full camp, travelled half way around the world and successfully weighed in I would imagine he would get paid his show money at least.

MMA-UFC UFC 290