Umpires

I did think the first quarter sucked in terms of line ball decisions, but nothing would change the result, and the pies deserved the smashing they gave us

Pretty much it in a nutshell. :thumbsu:

On another matter, did anyone notice Maxwell digging his elbow into the small of the back of a Geelong player while he was pinned in a tackle in the first half? Dispicable if you ask me. :thumbsdown:

The umpires are always going to give leniency to those attacking the contest. Geelong players didn't go as hard as Collingwood's and when you're not committed to the contest you're not going to have much joy.

I dont agree with this at all....at all...unless your talking about when the game has settled cos then I agree. Umpires generally try to stamp "my authoritah" from the first bounce and that means the team going in hard gets a bit fired up according to the umps and they have to settle it down by issuing the most stupid frees..cant spoil, no hard tackles, ducking heads, so inconsistent

And that pisses me off. Changes so many games so quickly for no good reason.

Its funny how whoever you support seems to not have the run of the umpires. Same as on here, Geelong and other fans going for Geelong say sh%t umpires, Collingwood say nah its fair enough. How many games do you watch where youre furious at the umpires (might have money on the game or want the underdog to win) and the umpires are going against your team big time and then the OTHER fans on tv start booing when something happens to them like they were getting the raw deal all that time.

Hawks and Saints fans mostly. and I watch a fload of games.

But really, so much inconsistency and overumpiring now and its a shame and noone knows what is going on and noone can dare complain and its f$%ked up. The only person ive heard complain about the primary school teachers is Sam Newman but nothing ever comes from it. And look at cricket umpires they rarely get anything wrong, treat players with respect and can see edges where u think f off how u see that.

Why cant our umpires see all the scragging etc as clearly as that and why are they selective when they pay it.

I wish something was done about it, i really do.

1284044207051.jpg

I would probably favour the Pies early too if there were 70,000 screaming, dirty plebians spitting on me from the sidelines.

And look at this Jabso hero

Having two finals snatched from you guys by the umpires must suck. :thumbsdown:

Haha good stuff but thinking about big games that maybe have changed the destiny of a club cos of the umpires changing the momentum and I think of the Coll/STK final last year and Collingwood started well about 33-18 or so and bang bang bang, free free free STK STK STK, goal, goal, goal, momentum f#$ken momentum.

I remember this well cos STK were the threat to us and I wanted Collingwood to win.

Surely you can see how the umpires dominate the game now, dont you ever watch the footy and keel over and go "fucccccccccccccccccc&&&&en what, how do you pay that one you little c%^t".

I do it 50 times a game no matter who Im supporting and Im going on the game last nite cos my WCE flatmate was also the same at the start of the game with the frees of holding constantly being missed...until it suited them. My WCE mate swears its a ploy cos thereafter they start to even the frees out more like its a conscious decision.

So yeah, f%^k off umpires, you arent bigger than the game, no one knows any of your names, start treating the players with respect and start being more sensible with the frees.

And the umps looked like they had would have an influence on the start of the Bulldogs/Stk game but I think the game was so strange that I still dont know what just happened.

It was like a mutated Geelong Coll game, even the 7 goals to 1 third qtr. Shows you what momentum can do, STK went from gone and missing every target to getting every target. Just like Collingwood started on us when it could have been us having a few things go our way, keep them under wraps like the bulldogs and start getting on top (maybe) the longer the game went. Just one of those years when little things didnt go for us and we met a team in Collingwood who were like us the last few years.

I dont think the umpires had much of an influence though, they werent too bad. Just the odd "what the f******", like the Johnson kicking in danger one, didnt know you can dive crazyily on someones boot and get a free haha.

Bizarre game just proves to me how Geelong have done great getting 2 in such a strong competitive game, have faith in the club and see what happens.

Go for it hero.
How many got done for assault...?
3 on 1.
Gee Swanny is tough...

Lol.
1 post in 4 months, Pies get a win and suddenly this bogan is out in full force jawing off like his sh!t don't stink...
Have fun on that bandwagon douchebag...
I think you'll find it was 2 on 6, until Swan stepped in to defend the 2 (mates), and made it 3 on 6. I think you'll also find that the poor cleaner was the only one brandishing a weapon. But don't let the fact get in the way of a good story.

As for the umpiring, I thought it was pretty even. I saw a few go both way, and while I'd except that we may very well have had the better end of the whistle, I certainly wouldn't think it had any influence in the outcome at all. Fact is, the pies played far better football, and it would have been a total injustice if Geelong won under those circumstances. What any of this has to do with an off field incident nearly a decade ago, I have no idea.

Umpires