Umpiring on Saturday - shocking

Originally posted by Belgarion
Sometimes the umpies make mistakes, but what's the big deal? They are human just like all of us, and we all make mistakes. Players also make mistakes, coaches make mistakes (with moves, etc). That's all part of what makes footy so exciting in my opinion: the fact that on top of the skill of the players you have a huge chaotic, umpredictable factor given by the bounce of an oval ball, the umpires interpretation of deliberately "fuzzy" rules, etc.

I'm a great fan of the umpires and think is high time we fans start appreciating the enourmous contribution they make to the game. Without them we wouldn't have a game.

Belgarion

Well said. Players make many more unforced errors (as a fraction of total possessions) than umpires do (as a fraction of total decisions). Surely Aussie Rules would have to be one of the hardest games in the world to umpire - a lot of decisions are far from black and white and are left to the umpire's discretion (holding the ball, what constitutes a mark, 50m penalties, interference in the marking contest etc. etc. etc.). And of those that are relatively clear, the umpires can't pay them to the letter of the law or the game would be worse off for it (e.g. the 5 m rule in a marking contest). Like everyone, I get angry at poor decisions (as Geelong supporters no doubt did when Munro was paid the mark), but I don't dwell on them. I can't recall the Eagles ever being the better side but losing a game due to poor umpiring (McIntosh WAS holding the ball against the Saints, unfortunately :( )

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring on Saturday - shocking

Originally posted by GoEagles
Had no problems with Fussell - just the other 2 really lowered the standard of umpiring in that game.
They were all shocking. Saw the tape and will be chatting to them tonight at training.

I was watching the rd 5 derby tape yesterday (and very good viewing it was, too :cool: ) and was sorta keeping an eye on some of the dodgy decisions. When you see a really blatantly bad decision, the general cliche is that 'they missed it'. Except, in at least two of the most blatant non-calls, Judd's clear holding-the-ball and Pavlich's choke hold on Kerr, if you watch the replay, the umpire is actually in the correct place- there is no way they possibly could have missed it.

In the latter example, Pav is on the ground next to Kerr, and he puts an arm around his neck and actually flips him across his body- so basically, he executes a judo throw via the neck- I think Cometti called it a 'almost a submission maneouver'. Okay, no worries, these things happen in footy, free kick. Except there wasn't. In the close up shot of it, you can see the umpire crouched in classic 'play watching mode', looking directly at Pavlich and Kerr the entire time the incident happens. The only possible explanations are either the umpire saw someone get picked up by their neck and thrown to the ground, and made a conscious decision that it WASN'T a free kick. Or possibly they were just in lala land, and not paying any attention to what they were watching.

So how do you explain that? how can someone possibly be umpiring AFL standard when they either can't interpret the most elementary of rules, or can't concentrate on what it is they're looking at?

Originally posted by Qidds
I can't recall the Eagles ever being the better side but losing a game due to poor umpiring (McIntosh WAS holding the ball against the Saints, unfortunately :( )

1996, Round 5 v Carlton - but it was a goal umpire that couldn't tell Chris Waterman's fist from Greg Williams boot that never got closer than 2m from the ball. 1 point loss. But I digress.....

Actually, I prefer to blame Williams the dirty, dirty cheat.

Originally posted by Qidds
I can't recall the Eagles ever being the better side but losing a game due to poor umpiring (McIntosh WAS holding the ball against the Saints, unfortunately :( )
The trouble was that it was about the only HTB they paid for the whole day, from memory. I remember that game especially as I was with a Saints-supporting mate at the time, who thought it was all a great lark. As you would.

I do tend to agree with the balance of your post, and for what it's worth I don't think the umpiring is anywhere near as bad as it was 10 - 15 years ago. That won't stop me from calling the maggots rude names, of course.

Originally posted by Mr Q
1996, Round 5 v Carlton - but it was a goal umpire that couldn't tell Chris Waterman's fist from Greg Williams boot that never got closer than 2m from the ball. 1 point loss. But I digress.....

Tony Evans I think it was. Williams signalled to the goal umpire that he had kicked it. The umpire definately lost us that game.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring on Saturday - shocking

Originally posted by goaldrush
They were all shocking. Saw the tape and will be chatting to them tonight at training.
Make sure they don't go unpunished. You tell 'em Suze. You big umpiring guru you.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Tony Evans I think it was. Williams signalled to the goal umpire that he had kicked it. The umpire definately lost us that game.

Evans maybe, a fist certainly.

Of course that doesn't change the fact that Williams was the biggest dirty, cheating scum of the earth. Had the umpires in his pocket until he did the most blatant ump bump of history. The fact he has Brownlow Medals is proof they should drop the fairest component of it. My most hated ever player. Scum, scum, scum.

Originally posted by Mr Q

Mick still does! Actually it was a Tony Evans boot, but the point's well made. That decision probably cost us the game - I stand corrected. It was a fair effort by the Eagles considering Symmons kept Kouta to a lazy 37 possessions (or thereabouts). Those two 1-point losses to Carlton (also 1995 at Subi) are possibly amongst the most painful Wrensted-free losses that I can remember!

Umpiring on Saturday - shocking