• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Under 18's B Grade

I don't think I said that anywhere ruckman and why would I say that? If West are switched on the game should be a close and hard fought contest. Based on current form and finals experience Sydenham might still be slight favourites this week and the team to beat.

hey chip boy seem to no alot about westy you wouldnt be the so called father of one of the boys who isnt getting a game thats why you get on here bagging the coach, he noes who you are.

ive got the inside mail that westy players have already conceeded victory at skool!!!!

....sumfin i shoulda dun last week!!!

i just ran down the pub to check the sportsbet odds

Prelim Final
Flounders $1.40
Westy $4.00

For Flag
Westy $5.50
Flounders $2.00
Roxy $1.80

wat uz recon?

Lionheart, this is the first time you've made a sensible post and as long as you continue to be sensible and start a worthy debate I will respond.

Your odds for the prelim final are not a fair assessment. I reckon sharks might be slight favorites. $1.90 sounds more reasonable and West $2.00. This is an even money contest. Remember the sharks may be in red hot form, but west have only lost the one game for the entire season by 8 points. $4 is very generous.

As for the flag. My market would be Roxy at $1.90, Sharks and Westy at $2.20. There appears to be very little between the three sides on paper.

Dmac my friend how you going buddy. Hope Kel and bub are good. You know me too well cos it is just one week at a time and l expect Westy will be fired up and ready to fight for the chance to play Roxy. But l promise you my guys are ready for the challenge;) Cant hang around cos we have our vote count but will be playing poker again shortly and maybe catch up there. Hows the body holding up and did ya get a few kicks:D:thumbsu:
Yeah i'm good mate and all is well at home. Yeah i haven't played poker or awhile now either but will get back into it.
Nah body is stuffed only played a handful of games and realised i was gone. Just didn't have the mindset to get thru it and obviously had other things occupying my time with bubs and work.
So thats it for me but may get involved in some capacity again, hey maybe i can do an apprenticeship under u since ur the supercoach ha ha.

Will catch up soon mate for a beer.

Do u still have the same mobile number from awhile back when i seen u last.

The thing that will beat westy is their mindset if not a very good team. Their confidence must be shattered after their first loss of the season and memories of their finals campaingn last year will linger on. But great sides bounce back. Time will tell.

There MAYBE a slight chance that S H could beat themselves, heres why:

HUGE win against the mortal enemy
Westy losing and showing signs of last year
Syd H blitzing teams like they did last year

This isnt a critisism or a negative statement, i am just a nuetral observer from a team that didnt make finals.
Personally i rate S H highly, and with the boys back from seniors, they appear to have quality all over the park.
Not the same side that only beat us by 11pts

Yeah your spot on again ruckman cos we had 10 of our best out against westy last time and l was rapt with the result even thou they had a few out as well.
And as long as you remain one of the few people here who talk football, l always respect that:thumbsu:

Fair crack HBK havent i also called a spade a spade and never got into the negative s**t that goes on!!!!:eek:

Nah not talking about you mate, lm talking about some of the guys who take pot shots at me. lm probably the only guys on here who dosnt hide my identity and l only do that so you guys know that l really am the coach. Its a good insight for you guys into what a coach really thinks of other teams, and l pick up little things here and there that might help me:D

There MAYBE a slight chance that S H could beat themselves, heres why:

HUGE win against the mortal enemy
Westy losing and showing signs of last year
Syd H blitzing teams like they did last year

This isnt a critisism or a negative statement, i am just a nuetral observer from a team that didnt make finals.
Personally i rate S H highly, and with the boys back from seniors, they appear to have quality all over the park.
Not the same side that only beat us by 11pts
Thats a fair call mate with us beating TL, but l assure you that we wont come out flat cos l really think Westy will come out firing. They are a different side from last year and l dont think we can compare them to what happened last year. From what lm told, Westy are made up of a lot of first year players who have been dominant in the past so l dont think there confidence will slip that much. They only went down to Roxi( who are a great side) by a couple of kicks so they shouldnt be to down in the dumps. Its up to their coach to instill self belief in the guys that they are unbeatable and its our job to smash it out of them:mad:
Should be a good game that might be closer than what people think.

It seems that the results from during the year are not a real guide as both Roxy and SH had a players up in the seniors and did not field their best sides, where as Westy had put their best team out for most of the year.(injuries etc aside). In SH case their seniors were that crap that their U18 were the next best they had to choose from and for Roxy Patane and Saad were in their seniors best players. If Westy go out this week I think it will be because they are beaten by a better side not because they choke. If SH had a full squad all year then they might of finished on top undefeated instead.

I reckon it will be a cracker of a game, both teams play very free flowing football and launch their attacks from the HB line. I think SH are a bit more potent up forward but also potentially more undisciplined in a tight contest. BTW how many of SH's boys go up next year, would have to be most of them I would have thought.

I'll be paying to watch this game even though I dont support either of them!!!

well done to sydenham on the 50 point win.
it was a good match, westy tried but sydenham are just too good.
since we played them second last round i knew they would be the team to beat.
i reckon they'll go all the way.
next week will be the one to watch, im definatly going :)

westy boys didnt choke these finals.... narrow loss to roxy... and sydenham r just to good
jst shows that if syd and roxy had their full list throughout the year... westy and tl woddnt of been top 2
theres gotta be a rule on players pplyn seniors i reckon

westy boys didnt choke these finals.... narrow loss to roxy... and sydenham r just to good
jst shows that if syd and roxy had their full list throughout the year... westy and tl woddnt of been top 2
theres gotta be a rule on players pplyn seniors i reckon

That's right now we want rules brought in to stop a club from fielding it's best possible side because Sydenham appear to be quite dominant.

Look at it from a different perspective. Because of players playing at senior level over the past 3 seasons Sydenham just missed out on finals in 2006, got in the finals last year but they had to beat Roxy in the last game (a massive hurdle) to do that and this year they missed out on that important double chance. So instead, let's bring in rules to limit how many players go up to play senior footy instead of worrying about how many go back to the 18's during finals. Scary thought if you had to have played Sydenham on that basis throughout the year.

Just think, their average winning margin in 3 finals games this year is a massive 96 points. From their last 28 quarters (7 games) of football including the finals they have won 23 and lost 5 (2 yesterday including the last when the game was all over).

It may have been a very one sided competition don't you think? Oh and let's not kid ourselves by thinking its just a matter of getting the boys to go back to the 18's and click together. Credit needs to go to the coaching staff for getting the team where it is today.

And let's not forget there is one more important game to be played.

That's right now we want rules brought in to stop a club from fielding it's best possible side because Sydenham appear to be quite dominant.

Look at it from a different perspective. Because of players playing at senior level over the past 3 seasons Sydenham just missed out on finals in 2006, got in the finals last year but they had to beat Roxy in the last game (a massive hurdle) to do that and this year they missed out on that important double chance. So instead, let's bring in rules to limit how many players go up to play senior footy instead of worrying about how many go back to the 18's during finals. Scary thought if you had to have played Sydenham on that basis throughout the year.

Just think, their average winning margin in 3 finals games this year is a massive 96 points. From their last 28 quarters (7 games) of football including the finals they have won 23 and lost 5 (2 yesterday including the last when the game was all over).

It may have been a very one sided competition don't you think? Oh and let's not kid ourselves by thinking its just a matter of getting the boys to go back to the 18's and click together. Credit needs to go to the coaching staff for getting the team where it is today.

And let's not forget there is one more important game to be played.
I agree that there should be some changes made, perhaps once 4 senior games have been played they cant go back. Then clubs could still rotate their 18s through the seniors. If Sydenham had those boys playing 18s all year then at least the coaches of the other teams have a chance to look at the team during the year and try to plan to beat them, as it is, it is like coming up against a whole different team. In the case of Sydenhams coach, he sees what he is up against all year then gets all the best players back as well as the knowledge of his opposition. The other point in this discussion is about the 9 or 10 boys that have played under 18s all year then miss out on playing finals....probably not a good feeling to be one of them. Not trying to take anything away from SH..great under 18 team, well coached. How does everyone think the future looks for their seniors though???

Don't know where you guys get your facts from but if you think 9 or 10 boys have come up for the finals series from the seniors then you'd all better do some further fact finding.

Remember, Sydenham have only had a senior team for 4 seasons and have probably won just over that amount of games in that time. They need to blood their up and coming players and look at them as the basis for the future. Other clubs who have been around for a long time can afford to buy big name players, Sydenham most probably cannot. As for coaches looking at teams during the year, they only have 2, maybe 1, opportunity to do that anyway so I don't think there is a valid arguement there. I believe coaches need to probably think outside the square and do more homework on their opposition. Maybe they can get some tips from HBK.

there has been some interesting reading from the last few posts.

Should there be rules/restrictions?....there is currently rules inplace to gun players playing for another team (cannons/jets), that they need to play 4 club games to to eligable to play for there club come finals.

The fact that syd/hill has come up actually doesnt surprize me......is it possible to have a well balanced team? talls, smalls, runners, strong bodies.....is what needed.......syd/hill have this balance......last year they used u16s to help them with numbers, and this year they appear to have some boys missing games!!! success attracts players, probably 4-5 new players from other clubs.

The issue i have with this argument (rules to restrict senior games) as a player you surely strive to play at the highest possible level, for a few of these boys, they were fortunate to get an opportunity to play seniors, the unfortunate thing is, syd/hill needed u18s in there seniors to stay as competitve as possible, its would be fair to say that when teams play against syd/hill they would promote u18 boys to play against there seniors and rest there actual senior players.....when your body is getting pounded most weeks playing seniors and its fast moving, is it really that much of an advantage??....i understand the argument but its u18 footy, if a coach does there research than its really not that hard to work out who to stop!!

Sure it appears roxy have a massive task ahead of them, but at the end of the day they are human, 2 arms and 2 legs, 18 vs 18. In finals the team more desperite will win

****ing westy the bloody chokers. coudlnt win a final if their lives depended on it. fuking joke they are. just piss off you pretenders.

Probably a little harsh, but at the same time i did say they were pretenders last week!.....Told ya they needed to beat Roxy to get the monkey off there back!!....now its grown to a gorilla

Bit harsh, syd/hill are a class team, was there on the weekend, stood almost in the coaches box (syd/hill) and observed a very stressful 1st half from the coach, than a much relieved man during the 2nd half...its appears to me that he works well with his assistants, question HBK....are they a real help or do you think they are just tagging along for the ride??

I reckon a bit harsh as well. Saw both the huddles and it was like boys playing against men. Westy were physically much smaller than SH and it showed on the ground, that was the main difference for mine. If SH and Roxy Seniors wern't so crap and their U18 played down all year the ladder would look different and Westy wouldn't cop such a bagging. Having said that I though Westy played into SH hands a bit and should have used the open spaces a bit more and moved the ball quickly as they can. SH were very good defensively and gave Westys forwards little chance.

As for HBK being a Super coach, the jobs a lot easier when you've got the cattle. Will be a great game this week with some tough choices for the backline matchups so coaching will be important. Also be good to see whos discipline cracks first as they have both had problems. I think the first team to settle and get a few on the board will be in the box seat.

Should be a great game - looking forward to it!!

:D:D
Probably a little harsh, but at the same time i did say they were pretenders last week!.....Told ya they needed to beat Roxy to get the monkey off there back!!....now its grown to a gorilla

Bit harsh, syd/hill are a class team, was there on the weekend, stood almost in the coaches box (syd/hill) and observed a very stressful 1st half from the coach, than a much relieved man during the 2nd half...its appears to me that he works well with his assistants, question HBK....are they a real help or do you think they are just tagging along for the ride??
Good question ruckman. Both my assistants and my runner are a huge. They have a say in selection and match ups and make as many moves as me on game day. l trust their knowledge and they know what l expect from them so they never let me down. So yes mate they are a great help. My runner( who is the best in the comp ) and the board man( 20man ), both played the same role last year so they didnt just jump on for the ride:D

ive seen roxburgh park and sydenham hillside play a few games but not against each other, and i will be looking forward to watching this game, Should be a really good game to watch, who is going to win it????
Good luck to both sides.

I reckon a bit harsh as well. Saw both the huddles and it was like boys playing against men. Westy were physically much smaller than SH and it showed on the ground, that was the main difference for mine. If SH and Roxy Seniors wern't so crap and their U18 played down all year the ladder would look different and Westy wouldn't cop such a bagging. Having said that I though Westy played into SH hands a bit and should have used the open spaces a bit more and moved the ball quickly as they can. SH were very good defensively and gave Westys forwards little chance.

As for HBK being a Super coach, the jobs a lot easier when you've got the cattle. Will be a great game this week with some tough choices for the backline matchups so coaching will be important. Also be good to see whos discipline cracks first as they have both had problems. I think the first team to settle and get a few on the board will be in the box seat.

Should be a great game - looking forward to it!!
Your right mate, lm not a super coach. Good list of players is always a help( which is what l now have ) as is good assistants. Its still not easy getting the boys playing the way we want them to so quickly so we deserve a bit of credit for that:D

l will say this about westy : As long as they continue to chip the ball and over use the handball, they will struggle in finals. It wasnt a matter of moving quickly, they just over possesed it. It was easy for my guys to lock em in and cause turnovers cos they refused to kick long to a contest, they would only give it to a player on his own. My guys locked them down and hey panicked and turned it over, especially when kicking out. Probably needed to show more faith that their team mates would win the 1 on 1 contest.