Travel USA travel tips and tricks

planning a trip atm w/ some friends. only doing the south mostly.

plan is fly in la and hire car.
4 nights vegas
3 nights san deigo
3 nights la
fly to nola for 3 nights
fly to miami and hire car.
5 nights around miami & key west
fly to atlanta and hire car.
2 nights atlanta
1 night birmingham (stopover)
2 nights memphis
2 nights okc
3 nights dallas
3 nights austin / daytrip san antonio
fly to san fran for 3 nights before heading back.

any thoughts/advice/stuff we should do in each city?

ta.

Quite a trip there! Some thoughts:

- I reckon 4 nights in Vegas is too much. The place is insane and you won't sleep at night and you'll spend the day by the pool drinking. 4 nights of that is an effort. Maybe hire a luxury car here for a day if you are with mates to split costs and go for a hoon on the back roads. vegasluxuryrides.com from memory.

- Nola is cool but 3 nights again might be pushing it. Not a lot to do here apart from partying.

- OKC is really cool. Stay in Bricktown and not sure when you will be there but if its baseball season head to a game. They have a triple A team there called the RedHawks. Cheap entry, cheap beers. Good start to the night. Also checkout the Timothy McVeigh(I can't remember the real name) museum. Touching stuff.

- Think someone already suggested it but checkout Nasville. Better than Memphis(although both are cool). Nightlife there is some of the funnest I've ever had.

- Instead of Dallas, go to Fort Worth. Very close to each other and probably technically the same city. So many bars and big college crowd.

- San Fran awesome. Alcatraz obviosuly a must here.

Aside from that I'd try and see as many sporting events as possible ie time your arrival into places so you can see games.

Looking at doing a 4-4.5 week trip in May/June with a mate. Will look something like this:

2/3 nights LA
3/5 nights San Fran
4/6 nights Vegas
2 nights somewhere in Texas, most likely Austin
Road trip Vegas -> Miami (5-8 days driving)
Fly to New York for 7-10 days.

Questions:

Has anyone done the LA - Miami drive before? Any hidden gems to stop at along the way? We need places to stay for single nights or two nights at a time along the way. New Orleans might be an option for a slight detour.

Car hire isn't too expensive by the looks of it either :thumbsu:

Can't believe that if your exploring the deep south, you aren't stopping in Nashville. Driving from Atlanta to Nashville only takes four hours. I would by-pass your Birmingham stopover and highly recommend spending at least two nights in Nashville if you can. Great nightlife and Southern Food on Broadway and I would recommend going to the Grand Ole Opry even if you aren't the greatest country music fan. Also Jack Daniels distillery is only couple hours away from Nashville.

Also, you only really need one full day to experience Memphis. Apart from Graceland and Beale St, their isn't much else to do.

- I reckon 4 nights in Vegas is too much. The place is insane and you won't sleep at night and you'll spend the day by the pool drinking. 4 nights of that is an effort. Maybe hire a luxury car here for a day if you are with mates to split costs and go for a hoon on the back roads. vegasluxuryrides.com from memory.

- Nola is cool but 3 nights again might be pushing it. Not a lot to do here apart from partying.

- OKC is really cool. Stay in Bricktown and not sure when you will be there but if its baseball season head to a game. They have a triple A team there called the RedHawks. Cheap entry, cheap beers. Good start to the night. Also checkout the Timothy McVeigh(I can't remember the real name) museum. Touching stuff.

- Think someone already suggested it but checkout Nasville. Better than Memphis(although both are cool). Nightlife there is some of the funnest I've ever had.

- Instead of Dallas, go to Fort Worth. Very close to each other and probably technically the same city. So many bars and big college crowd.

- San Fran awesome. Alcatraz obviosuly a must here.

Aside from that I'd try and see as many sporting events as possible ie time your arrival into places so you can see games.
thanks guys.

added nashville. mates want a minimum of 4 nights in vegas, but that includes a daytrip to hoover dam/grand canyon.

No, IMO 4 nights is the absolute minimum for Vegas.

Once you have done the Grand Canyon, Hoover Damm, shopping, a show, a buffet and then some gambling you have spent 3 days.

You need 3 to 4 solid days to see half the strip. It's ridiculously busy.

anyone been to miami have any tips for getting to sunlife stadium without a rental car? from what i can gather from research theres virtually no public tranpsort to it and its in a fairly shitty part of town.

NitroFan,

I went to Dolphin Stadium in 2007 when the Marlins still played there (assume this is the same stadium). It was a long way from South Beach. Only option without a rental car is a cab or a bus I believe, but depending on where you are staying in Miami the bus could take forever. I would suggest taxi. From memory it was about $80 from South Beach one way.

Hope this helps.

If you were going to drive down the East Coast from Maine to Florida and then finish in New Orleans with say a four night stay in New York and see the sights along the way, how long would it take you?

I reckon this website has pretty much every road trip covered: www.autotoursusa.com/en/

Just look for New England, East, South and Florida and match them up to your interests.

I would want to spend at least 4 weeks doing that trip.

mates want a minimum of 4 nights in vegas, but that includes a daytrip to hoover dam/grand canyon.

Las Vegas for 4 nights is fine; it worked well for us anyway. An extra night would probably have been too much, any less and it would've seemed rushed.

If you can afford it do the Hoover Dam & Grand Canyon by helicopter. It's a hell of a lot of fun and the round trip only takes about 3 hours. Leave in the morning (10ish) and get back early in the afternoon. With the extra 5 hours or so you could go do the rides at Stratosphere and New York-New York, check out the aquarium/shark reef/whatevs, indoor skydiving, see another show...plenty to do with the extra time really.

Have fun. Let us know what happens and how you go once back.

Cheers :D

Yeah I have taken advice from others and have taken an extra 2 weeks off to recover before going back to work.

My boss went to the US last year - got back on the Sunday afternoon and was in work by Monday morning - Nope sorry, not gonna happen!!!!! :D

What's the best place (hostel) to stay in New York? Looking for a place that has a party vibe, but is also good for getting around and touristy stuff.

Chelsea International is good. Great part of town, extremely well serviced by public transport. Cheap and clean.

If you are going in summer, beware, the rooms don't have air conditioning.

Whatever you do, don't stay uptown.

I reckon this website has pretty much every road trip covered: www.autotoursusa.com/en/

Just look for New England, East, South and Florida and match them up to your interests.

I would want to spend at least 4 weeks doing that trip.

Thanks. Thought 4 weeks might be necessary however have already been to Washington but that gets countered by going to Atlantic City.

Soho is a great part of town. Well connected to pub transport, lots of retail and great little cafes and restaurants.

No trip to Soho is complete without visiting Mamoun's falafel on Macdougal St.

Whilst on Mcdougal go to cafe wha for the best house in NYC, Wed - sun nights

Travel USA travel tips and tricks