VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

As predicted six months ago on this forum, Parade will do a double drop.

They weren't left in a great state by the previous coach and are headed the way of Ivanhoe.

Brenton, D Matthews is indeed a gun. Played with him from '99 to '04 and in my time of playing ammo footy I have seldom seen a more complete footballer. Yes he is getting on a bit (36) I think, but I would still think he would hold his own. Maybe people wanting to s*it can him should have a look at his record.

He's record, spare me! He has played C to Z grade his entire career and been OK... Ask him why he didn't make it with the big boys, something about being heartless!

Why I am on a roll, see you in D2 Parade. A s h it a bunch of blokes you will not meet!

It looks like Bulleen Templestowe might be an outside chance of making the finals. The scenario is if Prahran loses by a big margin to Hampton Rovers, and Bulleen Templestowe beats Old Mentonians, then the Bullants are only 2 points behind with one round to play.Then if Prahran loses again to Therry (highly unlikely, but in VAFA footy anything happens) and Bulleen Templestowe defeats Yarra Valley, Bulleen Templestowe, against all odds would end up making the finals and likely to play either Hampton Rovers or Old Mentonians in the first semi final. You could say the Prahran- Rovers match for the Two Blues would be a grand final, knowing that if they lost to the Rovers, then they would have to rely on Old Mentonians to beat Therry-which would make OM's task a little bit difficult seeing the Lions won yesterday, and if that doesn't happen, then for Prahran to win against Therry and hope that Yarra Valley defeats Bullen Templestowe (for the other 3 teams-Oakleigh, Old Mentonians, Hampton Rovers, it doesn't matter any way seeing they're already locked in), then Prahran stays in the four.
So what do you think going to happen in the final two rounds in the H & A season-could Prahran survive and stay in the four, or would Bulleen Tempestowe, against all odds, make the finals at the last minute ahead of Prahran?

It looks like Bulleen Templestowe might be an outside chance of making the finals. The scenario is if Prahran loses by a big margin to Hampton Rovers, and Bulleen Templestowe beats Old Mentonians, then the Bullants are only 2 points behind with one round to play.Then if Prahran loses again to Therry (highly unlikely, but in VAFA footy anything happens) and Bulleen Templestowe defeats Yarra Valley, Bulleen Templestowe, against all odds would end up making the finals and likely to play either Hampton Rovers or Old Mentonians in the first semi final. You could say the Prahran- Rovers match for the Two Blues would be a grand final, knowing that if they lost to the Rovers, then they would have to rely on Old Mentonians to beat Therry-which would make OM's task a little bit difficult seeing the Lions won yesterday, and if that doesn't happen, then for Prahran to win against Therry and hope that Yarra Valley defeats Bullen Templestowe (for the other 3 teams-Oakleigh, Old Mentonians, Hampton Rovers, it doesn't matter any way seeing they're already locked in), then Prahran stays in the four.
So what do you think going to happen in the final two rounds in the H & A season-could Prahran survive and stay in the four, or would Bulleen Tempestowe, against all odds, make the finals at the last minute ahead of Prahran?

Jascave,

What are you talking about? Prahran only have to win one of their last two games to make the four, one against Hampton, one against Therry. Now they'd be 50/50 at home against the Rovers, and 90/10 at home against Therry.

And margins are irrelevant unless they draw a game.

Therefore, if you are offering odds on BT making it, I among a number of others might be pretty keen to have a look at them and maybe take a piece of them!
Not quite as complicated as you first suggested my friend.

I reckon the first semi final would be played on a Sunday, the second semi final on a Saturday (regardless of who the teams are). But whoever wins the first semi final would only get a 6 day break compare to the team who loses the second semi gets a 7 day break between games.
In all honesty, I would have preferred the VAFA go back to the 'old' 4 week finals series rather than a 3 week finals series, which means that each team that are in the finals get a week's break between games rather than a 6 or 7 day gap between matches, and would also give most people a better chance to compare each team's form and get a better idea of who will play off for the grand final-and possibly win the premiership.
Any thoughts on this?

He's record, spare me! He has played C to Z grade his entire career and been OK... Ask him why he didn't make it with the big boys, something about being heartless!

Why I am on a roll, see you in D2 Parade. A s h it a bunch of blokes you will not meet!

Deano, this blokes had a crack at me as well. Normally posts on "B" Grade and will see Parade in D2. I'm tipping he has not taken his quick eze tablets or can no longer afford viagra, as i said in the "C" grade forum he is more than likely on the soft side where it really matters.

Your out on your own there Quick Eze. Tell a guy who played AFL and came back to his junior club to play for nothing, then had a full knee reco that he is heartless???
Either you are fishing for a bite or you are an ignorant d i c k h e a d..
Or maybe you are both.

Your out on your own there Quick Eze. Tell a guy who played AFL and came back to his junior club to play for nothing, then had a full knee reco that he is heartless???
Either you are fishing for a bite or you are an ignorant d i c k h e a d..
Or maybe you are both.

Clearly both.

Jason. STOP IT! Seriously mate. You need to give the Rovers talk a rest. We're not locked into a finals berth. We've got 2 tough games ahead and BT could mathematically still make it ahead of us if we were to lose both and they gain percentage. There are no guarantees until Round 18 has been played out, so quit with "plotting the Rovers finals success".

And on your topic of 4 weeks of finals, you're forgetting that we had to put the season back 2 weeks to accommodate this drought crisis we endured earlier in the year. We too, are aware that a game played on Saturday and another on Sunday means a side gets the extra day break. Let's just worry about those issues when they arise. For now, focus all your energy on Round 17 and then again Round 18 from Sunday.

BTW, how OG's are not in finals contention is beyond me. Won't go trawling through old posts, but I'm sure I've said previosuly they're the best side we've played. Whether it was the loss we needed to have or not, they're still the classiest act we've come up against and duly deserved the win on Saturday.

The Mentone and Therry results we big turn ups. Some had an inkling Mentone might've been spent from last week and that YV are a decent enough unit at home to pinch the win. But Therry winning was an inconceivable result for many that have seen both sides. Kudos to Scribe on that tip.

For all you OP fans out there. Welcome to the D2 show.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227676&page=151

But Therry winning was an inconceivable result for many that have seen both sides. Kudos to Scribe on that tip. [/URL]

Mick,

That's why they pay me the "big bucks" :D
'Bout time I got one upset right!!
Great to see the Lions finally get off the mark....now can they go 2 in a row?

Just goes to show, there's no certainties in footy....2 rounds left and the Raiders still have 2 chances to save their bacon!!! (Mmmm....bacon....)

Cheers

Frase

Jase, seems like your broadside delivered to the Tigers did the job. Did you go to the game? You must've loved seeing them beat Collingwood?

Please give the Saints a massive spray later on this week...it might be what they need to beat the eagles!!!!

Yes, I went to the game (although got there with 10 mins to spare, no thanks to Connex-again), and the most pleasing thing for me was to see young players like Deledio (best game he's played since being drafted to the Tigers in 2004), Foley (brilliant) and others really getting out there and having a real crack at Collingwood. Leading up to this game I decided it was time a few 'home truths' had to be told. So, that's why I gave them a massive broadside-and it worked!!! There are some suggestions that Collingwood were not 100% focussed on the job at hand. Boy, do the Magpies need Nathan Buckley right now! I can't see no reason why Richmond couldn't take the game right up to West Coast and giving the Eagles a real massive fright at Subiaco, especially with Judd still not 100% fit.If Wst Coast wants a game of finals football, OK, we'll give them one. If Richmond can win another one or 2 more games for the year, it would give the Tigers a little bit of confidence heading into '08.

Ugly - word on the grapevine is that your U19s game was abandoned at half time due to a massive all in brawl that included BT club personnel and spectators??? Rumor has it that Bentleigh started it, BT finished it - and the umpires abandoned it. You know what happened?:confused:

bentleigh came out thinking they were tough.. bentleigh player started laying into one of the Bt boys on the ground for no reason.. BT player reacted.. all in.. umpire done the stupidist thing of all by stoping the play instead of throwing the ball up which is normally what stops $hit like that from going any further... bulleen walked off unharmed and bentleigh hardly walked off at all.. not sure what will happen from here on.. BT were 38 points up at the time..

As for dean matthews, he's kicked 40 goals for the year, so can't see how he is useless... other bloke is a moron..

As for the Bt game on the weekend, another incident against the boys from parade... Number 36 for parade threw a massive cheap shot elbow to O'donnell from BT.. Same bloke who elbowed Peitryk the first time we played them and got red carded.. O'donnell now sits in hospital waiting for surgery to his eye and is lucky not to have lost his eye sight... split open his eye lid and across to the temple.. Recuiring recronstructive surgery from a pig act.. Parade boys been at that kind of $hit all year, and is why they have got themselves nowhere.. All the best to them...

bentleigh came out thinking they were tough.. bentleigh player started laying into one of the Bt boys on the ground for no reason.. BT player reacted.. all in.. umpire done the stupidist thing of all by stoping the play instead of throwing the ball up which is normally what stops $hit like that from going any further... bulleen walked off unharmed and bentleigh hardly walked off at all.. not sure what will happen from here on.. BT were 38 points up at the time..
quote]

Yes, from all reports they did make the mistake of starting a fight in front of a decent contingent of BT supporters. Paid the price for it, apprently. Still, can't condone spectators having a go at players if thats how it happened. Interesting to see the tribunal investigation results - might see both sides siting out the rest of the year.

Spose we best leave it(this topic) alone or to whatever u19 thread it belongs to...cheers to you judda.

I've seen these sorts of incidents before in country football and sometimes in the VAFA. I think Bulleen Templestowe were well within their rights to walk off the field because if they had stayed on, a much bigger brawl would've taken place after the game. However, from reading about the incident, maybe the umpire was inexperienced on how to handle all-in fights and not sure what to do. In my view, what umpires should do in regards to incidents is to either a) throw the ball up, let players decide whether to play football or fight or b) stop the game, wait until the incident calms down (no matter how long it took), then call the captains and the coaches on to the field and give them a reminder that if a all-in fight starts up again, the umpires would walk off, abandon the game (whether it was a home & away, final, grand final) and award the match to which team was in front when the brawl started.

After the rabble that adjudicated our game on Saturday, it's highly likely that umpires as low as the U/19 grades lack any competence.

Can someone please explain when the rule for kicking in danger became extinct? The umpire explained that you have to have your head over the ball for it to be deemed 'in danger' and that it didn't matter if your hands were on the footy. Then later an advantage was paid to a mark and the player with the advantage wasn't the person who marked it. 2 blatant errors in a match riddled with terribly incompetent umpiring.
Having said that, after spending last year up in Cairns, we're still getting the best pick of a very bad bunch.

umpire rang Benny Goodman at half time - who summons both coaches to the phone. BT coach (great ammo statesman) assured umpires chief that BT were ok to continue and would play on - Bentliegh coach said that he was unable to control his troops.

Not a great thing to happen and takes to 2 to tango. It seems this kind of thing is more likely at under 19 level. NOt being there makes it hard to comment - but based on what our coach is saying it seems most of the blame lies with the opposition.

Umpire is well known to BT - not the sharpest tool in the shed - would not have helped the situation........

As for Parade - I reckon it was more an accident that anything else - given the Parade chap had the pill at the time. But who am I to offer advise on elbows.......

I believe Matt Terech was reported for striking and might get a 2 game suspension, but get ready for this-the umpire handed out the wrong card, which was a yellow card, that is used for audible obscenities and not the red card, which is used for reports like striking and other offences. If there ever was a major stuff-up (and I hope this will be brought up tomorrow night at the VAFA tribunal/investigations meeting), that was it. No wonder the standard of D1 umpiring is well below the other leagues. You would think the two umpires who did the Rovers-Old Geelong game were doing a Little League and not VAFA D1. Was there any umpires observers there last week to watch the Rovers-Old Geelong game? If there was, the umpires observers would've picked up the mistake the umpire made in reporting Terech and told the umpire to either change it to a red card (the correct one) or cancel out the report all together. I hope those two umpires aren't appointed to do the D1 Grand Final later this year.

very easy to throw an elbow while you are getting tackle from front on uglie!! judging from your reaction to the incident on saturday i wouldn't have thougth u thought it was an accident!!! just a shame young kids go through plastic surgery and almost lost his eye sight for something so stupid like that..