VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

Just tell us its neither of Saul Caddy or Jason Clarke and we will all sleep better...

saul wont play there next year.. not in bulleen temp's same division anyway..
saul is easto's (BT coaches) nephew.. so couldn't see him playing against us..
came up to darwin for a run with us but had to go back down south after one game to get ankle surgery.. gun bloke

Hey Scribe - wondering if the fact that a new side called Fitzroy Stars are about to be admitted into the Northern Footy league's newly created Divsion 3 has reached the ears of those at the Fitzroy Reds yet?

As a professional ($$$paying side) they may attract some of the country boys the Reds seem to get every year.

had a quick look on here and noticed alot of blokes are tipping nobs to be bottom again this yr, i guess it will be a wait and see but after last seasons performance it might have awakened the dragon within at the gillon so should be interesting this coming season, i hope all you guys are wrong and they pop strait back up to C.
what are everyone elses thoughts?

chicken, who is set to coach nobs next year now that the club and killa have parted ways?

dunno mate but from what ive heard on the grape vine the club is not happy at all about being down in D1 again after a very long time of being up in B and A grade. So im tipping they will be sourcing out someone that will inspire the boys down there to go full tilt and get back up to C and then back to B in the not too distant future.
by the way what is the standard like in D1?

Hey Scribe - wondering if the fact that a new side called Fitzroy Stars are about to be admitted into the Northern Footy league's newly created Divsion 3 has reached the ears of those at the Fitzroy Reds yet?

As a professional ($$$paying side) they may attract some of the country boys the Reds seem to get every year.

Nup - that's news to me CU.

Umm....given we're talking about Div 3 NFL, which I presume is akin to the bottom half of Div 2 in the old DVFL, I doubt there'd be that much $$$ to throw around. Probably enough to cover your hospital bills at the Epworth or St Vinnie's emergency ward every second Saturday arvo.

If guys from Fitzroy Reds want to dash off and play money, Northcote Park and West Preston/Lakeside aren't far away, as are a couple of EDFL sides. Based on current discussions, it appears about 6 senior guys who missed last season will return. Not sure how many are moving on at this stage. U19s should come up with a good core, so hopefully we can have greater continuity in our playing list between 2007 and 2008.

I recall Brunswick Power starting in the VAFA in the late 90's as a D4 side, then dropping back to Club XVIII before being ejected from the league and going to the WRFL and getting smashed every week by 20+ goals.

I hope the Fitzroy Stars don't have the same sort of backing....:eek:

Nup - that's news to me CU.
Umm....given we're talking about Div 3 NFL, which I presume is akin to the bottom half of Div 2 in the old DVFL, I doubt there'd be that much $$$ to throw around. Probably enough to cover your hospital bills at the Epworth or St Vinnie's emergency ward every second Saturday arvo.

True, Div 3 NFL may not have a great level of appeal to some, but why would Div 4 VAFA have any more appeal? Especially to guys coming down from the country with no real knowledge of the suburban leagues?

Surely $50 a week in Div 3 of any league versus zero in Div 4 of another will tempt some?

PS. If you are already connecting the dots between Brunswick Power and Fitzroy Stars, maybe you know more than you let on?

True, Div 3 NFL may not have a great level of appeal to some, but why would Div 4 VAFA have any more appeal? Especially to guys coming down from the country with no real knowledge of the suburban leagues?

Surely $50 a week in Div 3 of any league versus zero in Div 4 of another will tempt some?

PS. If you are already connecting the dots between Brunswick Power and Fitzroy Stars, maybe you know more than you let on?
The Fitzroy Stars were a team formed many years ago consisting almost entirely of members of the local aboriginal community. I know, because i have relatives that played against them in a now defunct league. Perhaps the Aboriginal community are forming a side, similar to AJAX did with the Jewish community, which I think is a great idea. I for one would love to see them go around. It would be entertaining footy.
I could be wrong, but I am pretty sure that's the history behind them.

The Fitzroy Stars were a team formed many years ago consisting almost entirely of members of the local aboriginal community. I know, because i have relatives that played against them in a now defunct league. Perhaps the Aboriginal community are forming a side, similar to AJAX did with the Jewish community, which I think is a great idea. I for one would love to see them go around. It would be entertaining footy.

Maybe you can be their full forward Mappa?

After all, looking back on some of your goals this season, in particular that stupid freak effort against Parkdale in round 17, maybe you have some latent indigenous heritage?

Andy McLeod is half Irish, half aboriginal - doesn't sounjd so far fetched does it?

That is correct. They will play at Watt Street, Thornbury.

Maybe you can be their full forward Mappa?

After all, looking back on some of your goals this season, in particular that stupid freak effort against Parkdale in round 17, maybe you have some latent indigenous heritage?

Andy McLeod is half Irish, half aboriginal - doesn't sounjd so far fetched does it?
You could be right Frase. I think I'm half Irish :D

doesn't anyone want to talk about next year?? i've heard some mail that the reds will be strengthened by returning players in 2008. however, the loss of tim davis will be significant. any other comments from around the traps??

Go to the B grade thread OTL and stop pretending to be from the Reds.

You are the same genius who claimed we were about to make a big announcement of a recently retired AFL player as our coach.
OK Einstein - where's the announcement?

It's common knowledge you are not involved at the club, but were on the coaching staff at Old Camberwell instead.

Go away and leave the Reds alone.

doesn't anyone want to talk about next year??
Makes a nice change to talking about 2007

i've heard some mail the reds will be strengthened by returning players in 2008.
Probably just rumours, and it depends who is returning. I might be returning so that pretty much eliminates strength :D

however, the loss of tim davis will be significant.
I wasn't aware that the big champion was away ALL year, but only for about half. If he is not playing though, I'm sure he'll be with us in spirit !!!

any other comments from around the traps??
You can start with anything from Old Camberwell. With their be any payrises due to the success of 2007 ? :D

Been very quiet on BF, and we are entering silly season. At SMD we look like keeping our nucleous of players together. Only 2 retiring and maybe 2 not playing at all and a few recruits. Anyone give us a chance of causing some headaches for D1 clubs?

what teams are in d1 for the 08 season apart from nobs, and could someone give us a brief on what the teams are like in d1.

Depends on who you speak to CM, D is rubbish if you listen to anyone from C Grade upwards. C Grade is rubbish to A and B grade. I think you get the jist. In general there are some good footy players in D grade, with a pretty good standard especially in the top teams. The main difference in D and C grade for instance is the depth. The top players are very good in both, but there aren't as many of them in D grade, and quality does not extend as far down the lists the further you go down the grades. This is a generalisation of course. As far as the teams go, I don't know much about them, but here goes.....

Old Mentonians - should be strong in both grades. Finish second in 2007 and lost the prelim in the Seniors, and Grand Final in the reserves. Gareth Snow won the B&F in D Grade in 2007. Will probably start early favourites.
Yarra Valley - no idea. Finished 8th in 2007
Old Geelong - always pretty competitive. Finished 6th, but premiers in the 2s
Prahran - Finalists in both grades. Top shelf Dim Sims at the canteen
Bulleen-Temp - No news. Finished 5th
Peninsula - Payze is a quality player, not sure of the rest though. Bus trip is one of the highlights of our calendar, especially after 2 wins.
NOBs - Michael Barker lead the C grade goalkicking in 2007 and NOBs finished last, obviously a gun. New coach in 2008. Bit of an unknown quantity.
Fitzroy Reds - A couple of rough years in C Grade, now the Reds will regroup in D and see what happens. Chris Meighen was named starting ruck in C Grade Team Of The Year in 2007 and won the B&F for a second straight year. Gun. New coach in the seniors, but "The Blade" looks to be returning for a second year as coach of the twos which can only be good.
South Melbourne - 2 flags on the trot so they are on a roll. D2 - D1 is a bigger step than D3 to D2 though, but seem to be a quality club off-field so they will probably give it a tilt.
Aquinas - One of the worst grounds in the Ammos if we get any rain(sorry folks, it is), but have the ability to upset a few teams. They do well to be competitive in an area surrounded by EFL teams taking, and paying players.

Looking forward to seeing Fitzroy vs South Melbourne at Brunswick Street. Heritage Round indeed :thumbsu:

There you are, that's about all I have for what its worth (probably nothing) :D

what teams are in d1 for the 08 season apart from nobs, and could someone give us a brief on what the teams are like in d1.

chicken machine, South Melbourne Districts and Aquinas have been promoted from D2 and by my reckoning should be very competitive in 2008, but what would I know, very early to make a call either way.

J-Wash, please check your private messages

In addition to the Heritage Round face-off between Fitzroy and South Melbourne, the curtain-raiser may well herald a coaching face-off betwen Harper and Scribe.

Pencil it in lads.....

chicken machine, South Melbourne Districts and Aquinas have been promoted from D2 and by my reckoning should be very competitive in 2008, but what would I know, very early to make a call either way.

J-Wash, please check your private messages

thanks for the info fellas