VAFA General Discussion

Not this week, at Caulfield. Both sides should be evenly matched (6 vs 7 last year), hopefully a close game.
Well, you've lucked in. You're in Bedford's area and his team has a bye, so he can drop by. And Briza's best friend and confidant, Mr. Plato, will be there to support his outfit. What more could one ask for on his first flag-waving outing?

Go well!

Over The Post, I see re your appointment my attention was drawn to the location rather than the finishing order last year. Still, only about a kilometre away so Mr. Plato can drop by for an after-game beverage.

Not the most pleasant of days the last time you were there if my memory serves me correctly. Let's hope your hat stays on your noggin and not blowing down the street this time.

A quick look at the appointments seems to indicate you guys are still a bit light on numbers as you go down the grades. Only one fieldy appointment at De La. Jimmyjack should bring a whistle perhaps.:think:

Good to see the Little Master back in Prem where he belongs.

Go well!

Over The Post, I see re your appointment my attention was drawn to the location rather than the finishing order last year. Still, only about a kilometre away so Mr. Plato can drop by for an after-game beverage.

Not the most pleasant of days the last time you were there if my memory serves me correctly. Let's hope your hat stays on your noggin and not blowing down the street this time.

A quick look at the appointments seems to indicate you guys are still a bit light on numbers as you go down the grades. Only one fieldy appointment at De La. Jimmyjack should bring a whistle perhaps.:think:

Go well!

Only 1 ump for De La v The Hedge Burners - Surely they sacrifice an appointment from a lower grade or under 19 match. There is an U/19 game at De La at 9:20, just have the appointed umpire stick around during the reserves and back up at 2 pm.

Getting off the grog for a moment, so to speak ...
Am I right in saying that a few days out from Round 1 we still have no Thirds fixtures?
Hot off the press.

Only 1 ump for De La v The Hedge Burners - Surely they sacrifice an appointment from a lower grade or under 19 match. There is an U/19 game at De La at 9:20, just have the appointed umpire stick around during the reserves and back up at 2 pm.
I see they've addressed it. The power of BF.😂

I was a player in the 80’s when u could get a beer after the Reserves game which was great for pain relief! (often guys from the Ressies had a sip in their cars & then went home & didn’t stay for the after match - so maybe not many additional $’s earned?)

I was Treasurer until recently for a number of years at a different VAFA club & the beer money would have been a small add on ( I’m not sure would have reduced fees materially).

To be honest many of the players only had a can or a soft drink & then went out amongst themselves after the game - a different drinking culture to the 80’s.

In the games where a lunch took place it certainly got more rowdy (impact on umpires?) & u wondered whether something might just happen (but nothing did).

Don’t know the answer.

Do not think it’s a huge money earner that would reduce fee’s materially.

If it happens maybe after half time in the Seniors & only in the Club rooms plus loss of these alcohol privileges for 12 months for the responsible club (home or away) if they are the cause of an incident?
Ps Back of an envelope calculation FYI (Assumptions: I am assuming responsible drinking given 0.05 etc (or else u have other problems!) & my old Club did not have a huge supporter base).

40 Reserves players and 60 Supporters drink after the Ressies game (100). We might get some extra supporters because u can drink during the game but I reckon marginal. By the way we might get a few more than 100 early season but mid winter & the team is struggling- 100 is very optimistic!

Drink 2 cans each

Profit per can $3

9 home games

Additional net cash profit generated: 100x2x3x9 = $5,400 per season. Helpful but note even a small club’s expenses per annnum are well in excess of $200K.

Offsets:

More strain on Canteen volunteers to serve 200 additional drinks (net of coffees/soft drinks) in approx. 2 hours - might need to pay someone to assist $60 per game ($540 for the season)?

Wont sell as many coffees or soft drinks but more alcohol - loss of profit needs to offset against $5,400

Some of the 100 will now not stay for the aftermatch and specific event lunches would also cannibalise some of the revenue above - loss of profit needs to be offset against $5,400

Just a guess but after taking account of offsets & mid winter - additional cash profit is $4K(?). Say 3 mens & 1 womens team - 120 players - $33 average reduction in fees. Most of our players spent that in the first hour clubbing later on a Saturday night!

In any event, if I was Treasurer I would be using the $4K to improve the Club’s cash position rather than reducing fees.

All based on assumptions but hope it provides a little context!

Ps Back of an envelope calculation FYI (Assumptions: I am assuming responsible drinking given 0.05 etc (or else u have other problems!) & my old Club did not have a huge supporter base).

40 Reserves players and 60 Supporters drink after the Ressies game (100). We might get some extra supporters because u can drink during the game but I reckon marginal. By the way we might get a few more than 100 early season but mid winter & the team is struggling- 100 is very optimistic!

Drink 2 cans each

Profit per can $3

9 home games

Additional net cash profit generated: 100x2x3x9 = $5,400 per season. Helpful but note even a small club’s expenses per annnum are well in excess of $200K.

Offsets:

More strain on Canteen volunteers to serve 200 additional drinks (net of coffees/soft drinks) in approx. 2 hours - might need to pay someone to assist $60 per game ($540 for the season)?

Wont sell as many coffees or soft drinks but more alcohol - loss of profit needs to offset against $5,400

Some of the 100 will now not stay for the aftermatch and specific event lunches would also cannibalise some of the revenue above - loss of profit needs to be offset against $5,400

Just a guess but after taking account of offsets & mid winter - additional cash profit is $4K(?). Say 3 mens & 1 womens team - 120 players - $33 average reduction in fees. Most of our players spent that in the first hour clubbing later on a Saturday night!

In any event, if I was Treasurer I would be using the $4K to improve the Club’s cash position rather than reducing fees.

All based on assumptions but hope it provides a little context!

Think you would find players more likely not less to stick around for post match.

Benefits beyond just the sale of the cans themselves- people sticking around, buying food, raffle tickets etc.

3 men's and 1 women's team clubs for the record are not the ones doing it tough.

200k again is unlikely to be the dollar amount of your div 3/4 club

Also- removing the restriction does not make it a requirement- clubs can of course choose not to do it if it isn't a worthwhile exercise.

Think you would find players more likely not less to stick around for post match.

Benefits beyond just the sale of the cans themselves- people sticking around, buying food, raffle tickets etc.

3 men's and 1 women's team clubs for the record are not the ones doing it tough.

Also- removing the restriction does not make it a requirement- clubs can of course choose not to do it if it isn't a worthwhile exercise.
My friend, it’s just an example based on assumptions for a specific set of circumstances based on my experience at a VAFA club.

Its meant to provide context rather than some of the uniformed second hand anecdotal non financial drivel I’ve read on here.

Get your Microsoft Excel spreadsheet out and have a go for your specific club - I’m sure they would benefit from
your considered input.

My friend, it’s just an example based on assumptions for a specific set of circumstances based on my experience at a VAFA club.

Its meant to provide context rather than some of the uniformed second hand anecdotal non financial drivel I’ve read on here.

Get your Microsoft Excel spreadsheet out and have a go for your specific club - I’m sure they would benefit from
your considered input.
It was one of the better posts on the matter TC:thumbsu:

Agreed .... this BS that it's only boozehounds who enjoy a beverage at local sport is absolute shite.

We served in isolated area, under VAFA guidelines, controlled the crowd with responsible service of alcohol policy through 3 games in 2022 and made $10k+ profit. We also sold 20+ social memberships, club merch, etc.

The crap the elite talk who don't need to look at extra revenue streams that others are trying to explore to help survive. It's pretty simple ....

• Serve in designated area
  • Clubs responsible for behaviour standards being met
  • Those who want to serve can, those that don't ... don't.

Move on people.

Chump 🏆

Agreed .... this BS that it's only boozehounds who enjoy a beverage at local sport is absolute shite.

We served in isolated area, under VAFA guidelines, controlled the crowd with responsible service of alcohol policy through 3 games in 2022 and made $10k+ profit. We also sold 20+ social memberships, club merch, etc.

The crap the elite talk who don't need to look at extra revenue streams that others are trying to explore to help survive. It's pretty simple ....

Move on people.

Chump 🏆
We did the same. We have a set up at Ferndale where we have a committee member or coach/team manager serving alcohol (strictly inside the clubrooms) and canteen staff worrying about food in a separate window.

In one of our toughest years on field it benefitted the club so much to have reserves players stick around to watch the seniors for a bit and be able to support.

Move on people.

Chump 🏆
cq7tI1y.jpg

Um! Chump.

Think you've become a bit distracted by a colourful term. The following is all you needed to post, cos it's what those who don't see the attraction/benefits of followers/randoms filling up around the ground have pretty much been putting. Subject to the 'designated' area being the only place the grog can be consumed. It works financially by ensuring all the proceeds go to the home clubs. It enables clubs to regulate behaviour and be held accountable. It's a middle course that may appease those who don't want change and who see the current policy as a positive point of difference for the VAFA. And reduces the possibility of an increase in umpire abuse around the ground.

I'd be very surprised if the VAFA followed the alcohol policies of other comps. There's no need to.

cq7tI1y.jpg

Um! Chump.

Think you've become a bit distracted by a colourful term. The following is all you needed to post, cos it's what those who don't see the attraction/benefits of followers/randoms filling up around the ground have pretty much been putting. Subject to the 'designated' area being the only place the grog can be consumed. It works financially by ensuring all the proceeds go to the home clubs. It enables clubs to regulate behaviour and be held accountable. It's a middle course that may appease those who don't want change and who see the current policy as a positive point of difference for the VAFA. And reduces the possibility of an increase in umpire abuse around the ground.

I'd be very surprised if the VAFA followed the alcohol policies of other comps. There's no need to.
Agreed - I'm not calling for a big load of ute drinking bogans having free reign, but to suggest anyone who enjoys a beer is a boozehound or it could not improve some revenue (in a responsible way) sounds like a way to place in the too hard basket.

I'm just saying it worked for us last year under rules of designated areas, controlled behaviour, delivered much needed increased revenue and did not impact the differential of the VAFA and other metro comps.

Let's find a way, it's not that hard IMO

Chump 🏆

Ok I will try and be brief as possible & positive.

I understand this thread is for some banter and general Club scuttlebutt and information. But I will be serious for a minute.

Being a businessman I agree new revenue streams and cashflow generation is critical. I also understand the difficulties facing those Clubs that don’t have an elite school or old boys network to write a cheque when things get tough or for a special project.

I know this has been a long drawn out process re Alcohol sales & don’t understand where it is at, other than the VAFA are struggling with it. My suggestion is Club’s need to show the VAFA they have done their homework and demonstrate the upside of their proposal - a simple “other leagues are doing it & we will make heaps“ isn’t very compelling.

I suggest a simple 1 page Business Case:

Outline the financial & non financial advantages & disadvantages, risks (e.g. RSA, changes to Liquor Licence) and mitigants

Detail your preferred model (e.g. Sales after 12 noon, after Ressies; after 1/2 time in Seniors)

Model the net increase in profit with assumptions (guide a per my original post). So in the case of Chump it’s probably only an additional 6 games given you have pretty much a full event for 3 matches already in your $10K plus profit. Presumably you wouldn’t be selling approx. 1,200 cans on each of the other 6 days as they wouldnt be a special event? - but if you are well done - a pretty big business. You should flex the key assumptions to show your projection is robust.

Detail what you will use the additional funds for e.g. increase cash & viability, repay VAFA debt, Capex, reduce fees.

I’ll leave at that & no more correspondence will be entered into.

Good luck for the season!

Ok I will try and be brief as possible & positive.

I understand this thread is for some banter and general Club scuttlebutt and information. But I will be serious for a minute.

Being a businessman I agree new revenue streams and cashflow generation is critical. I also understand the difficulties facing those Clubs that don’t have an elite school or old boys network to write a cheque when things get tough or for a special project.

I know this has been a long drawn out process re Alcohol sales & don’t understand where it is at, other than the VAFA are struggling with it. My suggestion is Club’s need to show the VAFA they have done their homework and demonstrate the upside of their proposal - a simple “other leagues are doing it & we will make heaps“ isn’t very compelling.

I suggest a simple 1 page Business Case:

Outline the financial & non financial advantages & disadvantages, risks (e.g. RSA, changes to Liquor Licence) and mitigants

Detail your preferred model (e.g. Sales after 12 noon, after Ressies; after 1/2 time in Seniors)

Model the net increase in profit with assumptions (guide a per my original post). So in the case of Chump it’s probably only an additional 6 games given you have pretty much a full event for 3 matches already in your $10K plus profit. Presumably you wouldn’t be selling approx. 1,200 cans on each of the other 6 days as they wouldnt be a special event? - but if you are well done - a pretty big business. You should flex the key assumptions to show your projection is robust.

Detail what you will use the additional funds for e.g. increase cash & viability, repay VAFA debt, Capex, reduce fees.

I’ll leave at that & no more correspondence will be entered into.

Good luck for the season!
I agree with a financial modelling process, like the one you have suggested, as an element to the argument 'for'.

The next challenge though is that the argument 'against' is based on the suggestion of negative social behaviour and historical differentiation to other leagues.

So it's an interesting conundrum for the VAFA to try and navigate.

Anyway - thankfully the footy starts this weekend and we can all talk about that 😊

Chump 🏆

No field umpires for U/19 Div 3/4 or Men's Women's thirds

Lets hope there is a shitload on school holidays!

Why the eff, do they need 3 umpires in Prem A. Considering most of the grounds are not large. Brighton, King, Trott and Camberwell. They will be falling over themselves.

NFNL only use 2 umpires in their top grade.

Why the eff, do they need 3 umpires in Prem A. Considering most of the grounds are not large. Brighton, King, Trott and Camberwell. They will be falling over themselves.

NFNL only use 2 umpires in their top grade.
To give some clubs 3 umpires while 2 divisions go without (plus 19s, thirds)

Doesn’t fill lower grade clubs with a lot of love I’d imagine.

Go well!

Indeed. Looks like I could be in Prem B for a while this year. Nice to be back.

VAFA General Discussion