• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

VAFA General Discussion

Been seeing lots of comments re how VAFA clubs could survive without crowds. in all seriousness anyone who thinks this is the case is very very very disconnected from how the world works

VAFA footy is back!

I suspect there will be plenty of dog walkers this weekend between 2 and 4:30 on Saturday afternoon at venues that are accommodating. I cannot see too many people though making their way to the pit to watch the Lions take on the Snowdogs.

The school grounds collectively will be vacant. Be a fair few wandering along South Road for the match of the day! Or the regulars wandering around Como Park

Been seeing lots of comments re how VAFA clubs could survive without crowds. in all seriousness anyone who thinks this is the case is very very very disconnected from how the world works
No entry fee charged, no $5 beers available all day at the canteen. No salary cap to be managed through club revenue.

Easier to survive with no/low spectators than the suburban competitions.

It gets down to people doing the right thing doesn't it Maxie? Just as mask-wearing, using QR et al does too. There will always be people who have agendas, the 'no one tells me what to do' nuffies, even those who don't believe Covid is real who will buck the system. Let's hope the half-wits, selfish and inconsiderate don't stuff it up for the overwhelming majority who do the right thing. It's great to have community footy back.:thumbsu:

Well said mate

No entry fee charged, no $5 beers available all day at the canteen. No salary cap to be managed through club revenue.

Easier to survive with no/low spectators than the suburban competitions.
Easier but not easy.. Clubs make good money out of a home game, luncheons, canteen arvo tea post game etc etc.. My point is that Ammo clubs still cost heaps to run.

From a suburban club point of view, it's amazing how many people seem to think that player wages are basically the only expense.

Even this week with some calls for players to play for free... yeah it'd be a cost saving, but shit, it's hardly the only cost of running a football club. People just don't get it.

Also think it’s a bit unfair on the players for that to be the only real focus publicly. It’s a legitimate part time job for many.

From a suburban club point of view, it's amazing how many people seem to think that player wages are basically the only expense.

Even this week with some calls for players to play for free... yeah it'd be a cost saving, but sh*t, it's hardly the only cost of running a football club. People just don't get it.

Also think it’s a bit unfair on the players for that to be the only real focus publicly. It’s a legitimate part time job for many.
Well player wages arent an issue in the VAFA right so no worries about that ;)

Biggest issue this week is just how many pies and sausage rolls to put in the pie warmer.
No supporters but canteen can operate....... decisions decisions.....

If you don't put enough in at the beginning, just sell out. Don't do a De La Salle and shove frozen ones in for ten minutes and expect them to be cooked. Lukewarm pastry and crunchy interior. It's amazing what you'll eat when it's 3pm and you skipped breakfast.

I saw Bulleen Temp not field a side in either grade. Tbh I’ve never seen that before? Not have 22 guys available after 3 weeks off to at least get a seniors up. Hopefully they can turn it around.
Post on BT Facebook page:

"Today is a very sad day in our proud clubs history where we have unfortunately had to forfeit both the Seniors and Reserves games.
An extraordinary injury list of nearly 30 players together with a number of players being unavailable due to circumstances related to COVID and the current and recent restrictions resulted in us having only around ten available players.
We therefore made the difficult decision to forfeit this weekends games. In the past we have left no stone unturned to ensure we were able to put two sides on the park, including playing 50 year olds and players who have not pulled on the boots for several years. We have played with 16 players in the Reserves and with players still suffering the effects of injuries. These actions clearly indicate we do not like to forfeit games and that we are prepared to fight against the odds. Unfortunately the current circumstances stretched us to breaking point this week and, with player welfare in mind, we could not in good conscience put a make shift side on the field.
The next few weeks will likely still see us light on numbers however I am confident that we will be able to field two teams each week for the remainder of the season.
To our members, supporters and past players, to the VAFA and to MHSOB, our scheduled opponents today, please be assured that we very reluctantly and only as an extreme last resort made the decision to forfeit today.
On behalf of the Committee
Russell Wallis
President
BTAFC"

It's tough out there. Having enough players to fill 2 teams is more of a luxury than we think. Some clubs a very lucky. I know in the past we have struggled, and whilst in 2021, we have been a little fortunate, we know at any time this can change.

Fingers crossed for BT.

Certainly is a grim situation for the club, you never like to see local sport forfeited because of player shortages. Unfortunately the on-field hardship is only the tip of the iceberg, sounds like a bit going on off the field too.

Sums up what is happening to local footy in Victoria. The AFL has ignored it and poured hundreds of millions of dollars into the black holes of GWS & GCS.
Victoria needs some serious attention and the AFL needs to get off their bums very quickly.

Sums up what is happening to local footy in Victoria. The AFL has ignored it and poured hundreds of millions of dollars into the black holes of GWS & GCS.
Victoria needs some serious attention and the AFL needs to get off their bums very quickly.
Yet Old Trinity - only 2 kms away - are fielding 7 sides in 2021 (not successfully mind you). Seniors, Reserves, Thirds, u19 (1), u19 (4), Women Snr and Women Res.

It’s not the AFL’s fault.

Yet Old Trinity - only 2 kms away - are fielding 7 sides in 2021 (not successfully mind you). Seniors, Reserves, Thirds, u19 (1), u19 (4), Women Snr and Women Res.

Must be a helluva injury list. All clubs have had 3 weeks off so would be a good chance to reset and tackle second half of the year. How bad are their injuries that it affected not being able to field 2 full sides?!

I dont mean to beat up on a club that is clearly struggling but I dont think injuries are a reason why

Aren't you lucky, "Praise Be".

You like many clubs have had years where you have had to make "the call" to get players just to turn up and help.

It's the current environment. When those who work with tools can make so much money working weekends, that teams in all competitions are finding it hard to fill 2nd teams.

AFL just needs to understand that.

The strong will get stronger and the weak will continue to struggle.

The comp could see itself back to 60-70 clubs very quickly at this rate.

The Ammos are doing ok and the private schools continue to churn out players, but soccer is now becoming a much bigger competitor.
The suburban clubs in the Ammos and other comps are struggling. The AFL has totally neglected the schools, which they once dominated. Teachers openly preferring soccer and basketball. Local councils are not huge supporters of AFL grounds due to their size and the pressure on space. The saving grace for the AFL was the development of AFLW which was probably 10 years over due and has given a lot of clubs a lease of life.

How is the afl responsible for BT not fielding a side?

VAFA General Discussion