Vandenberg.. Best skipper in the league.

willydave

Oct 25, 2002
That is embarrassing Hawthorn. The guy is clearly not captain material. Would be bloody hard to be inspired by a guy with really average talent.

I admire him for his endeavour etc. Really hard at it.. But gee, if you were a Hawk player in that side tonight and he called you in to give you a spray... I know what i'd be saying.

Time to give it to Hodge. Hard at it, gets the footy, and superbly skilled. This is not a jab at Hawthorn who I think just lost their way against a well drilled Melbourne tonight. They need to arrest the situation now and not let their good start slip right away.

And FFS give the Dawson kid a break in the 2's. Not strong enough and he is clearly not up to it yet. Getting smashed every week is not going to help his development at all.

willydave said:
That is embarrassing Hawthorn. The guy is clearly not captain material. Would be bloody hard to be inspired by a guy with really average talent.

I admire him for his endeavour etc. Really hard at it.. But gee, if you were a Hawk player in that side tonight and he called you in to give you a spray... I know what i'd be saying.

Time to give it to Hodge. Hard at it, gets the footy, and superbly skilled. This is not a jab at Hawthorn who I think just lost their way against a well drilled Melbourne tonight. They need to arrest the situation now and not let their good start slip right away.

And FFS give the Dawson kid a break in the 2's. Not strong enough and he is clearly not up to it yet. Getting smashed every week is not going to help his development at all.

Agreed and yes Zac looks totally out of his depth. He can't play the position well at all. He needs more bulk to play against the bigger FFs. The Hawks are almost starting the game with a concession of about 3 goals to the opposition team.

One would hope the captaincy will be handed to Hodge or Mitchell at seasons end, but do we really need a thread about it every week?

Set a good example didn't he. Couple of elbows to the throat. Really inspiring stuff. Couple of weeks on the sideline I'm tipping.

Brock Machine said:
I never ralised how much he turns the ball over. Was last night the norm or was his disposal down?
No, last night was the norm - Richie had a good start to the season but has fallen right back into the pit. His skills and decision making are atrocious - a fact that often gets overlooked because of his "courage" and "leadership around the club". He wouldn't get a game in most (all?) clubs starting 22. Yes, it's embarrassing.

Dawson? I agree he would benefit from the two's - just to get the mental pressure off the kid (surely he couldn't be enjoying his footy) - but unfortunately, I don't think Hawthorn have any other options.

can a hawk tell me why Roughhead was not played in the backline at all....

why draft a KPP if he won't be played as one when u need him....

cos as Dermie said...Jacobs can't really play on a forward....and Zac..poor kid...clarko is just letting him rot out there....

so why weren't roughhead and even boyle for that matter tried there...

I have no doubt that Hodge will be captain next year....and RV will struggle to get a game. You can't question his endeavour and passion.....but he has few skills, little influence on a game and lacks discipline.

Collingwoodrow said:
I have no doubt that Hodge will be captain next year....and RV will struggle to get a game. You can't question his endeavour and passion.....but he has few skills, little influence on a game and lacks discipline.

I agree. Hodge showed plenty of maturaty last night. And well RV.....bloody hell you area an idiot.

willydave said:

agreed. he's probably not too bad at captaining i guess, but it's hard to lead when there's 10 better players in the side: poorest captain in the league by quite a way.

haha we won the fights.

i can't stand yze - easily softest player in the league. good to see bateman line up davey. and just like to mention melbs captain neitz, dog act. brown was on ground and neitz had his fist moving it back n forth with force. why isnt that reportably. a :D:D:D:Der of a guy neitz.

Bennycoff said:
haha we won the fights.

i can't stand yze - easily softest player in the league. good to see bateman line up davey. and just like to mention melbs captain neitz, dog act. brown was on ground and neitz had his fist moving it back n forth with force. why isnt that reportably. a :D:D:D:Der of a guy neitz.
haha nobody won the fights they were as weak as pis, but i reckon everyone shouldve cleared off and let pickett and hodge go toe-to-toe, that would have been a ripper!

The problem with Vandenberg is that he tries to do too much when he has the ball and doesn't play within his limitations - he tries to be the inspirational captain who creates brilliant pieces of play at will instead of the honest goer (at best) that he actually is.

There were no fights. Just push and shove. We were undisciplined. And we got spanked by 75 points.

Sorry hawk fans - no saving face on this one. It was an awful performance.

Vandenberg.. Best skipper in the league.