Roast Vent Here

Great post.
GWS are scary good & I only realised late in the season how good Daniels is.
On the Suns, however, I reckon Hardwick could do for them what Lyon did for us.
The parallels seem to be there.
So for mine, it gets even worse, competition-wise.
I turned 56 last weekend & I honestly don't think I will ever see a Freo premiership.
Thank goodness for South Freo
I saw the mighty Bulldogs lose in 79, 81, 89. 92. I missed 80 going to a mate's birthday party thinking there would be plenty of chances. At the wake afterwards at Freo oval I told Mal Brown, SF coach & a legend particularly with respect to the promotion of indigenous players to the highest level (at the time) asked me to not come to any more SF grand finals after I told him my record.
Then came the glorious 97 season. I went to the game with my uncle. It wasn't looking good & he left early. (Dear old Uncle Mick is the sweetest guy ever, but he is one of those rare breed who support South Freo - diehard, but also the evils) I don't get how that works & it explains why he left early. anyway, what a game! during that game there were 2 players I thought I could see being a success at AFL level. Clem Michael & Dean Rioli.
For a long time I maintained that Dean was the second best Rioli after Maurice, but really Cyril was.
I did see Dean Rioli at Marvel this year. He was with mates & he got some joy from me telling him I was at the 97 WAFL GF.
99 (loss again) I was in Esperance for a bit (beautiful town if you haven't been I highly recommend)
2000 Junior was born
01 (loss) was tied up, not literally with a very difficult "practice wife"
05 single dad, & we went with Junior's best mate (who is now an AFL player), his siblings & dad to watch the mighty Bulldogs comfortably beat Claremont.
That was it for me. WAFL interested, but we moved to Melbourne in 2013 (with wife upgrade) & hoping for at least one Freo flag
I also met Nicky Winmar at Marvel & shook his hand. I told him that I used to see him back in the day, before WAFL seniors, with a few girls around him. He used to gave me dirty looks (when we were both teens), but I wished he could have realised I was just a fan, so it was extra nice for him to shake my hand (bro shake - thumbs interlocked & chest to chest hug) twice.
I did live most of my life in East Freo & I even played little league for them. Man that hurt, but a lot of my mate are sharks, so congrats for the flag.
But.
I love Freo & I love South Freo
I was there in 80. Shit game.

Is the thesis: without afl provided advantage, if you are not a vic team there is very little chance of winning?

I suppose a generational Judd drafted who then is traded for a top 3 KPF was an outlier. And to a team who had a lot of advantages on starting.

I agree with that comment but I was more thinking the AFL won’t give any advantages to WA sides until they can see some sort of financial risk to the money but bucket that is the WA market. There’s no competition in WA so AFL have no reason to invest or give WA teams any sort of advantage.

Melbourne Storm have played a GF every 3-4yrs for the last 25 years. It’s no coincidence that VIC teams have dominated Aussie rules for the last 15yrs and GF is locked at MCG until 2037 or something.

I was there in 80. s**t game.
I remember my ex-father (long story, just a sperm donor) & Godfather (legend, RIP) tell my brother, 6 years younger & pseudo-cousin same age that there would be 2 guys wearing helmets running into each other.
The boys watched the game with intent, but Basil Campbell & Phil Narkle (both legends) didn't come to the party for some reason.

I remember my ex-father (long story, just a sperm donor) & Godfather (legend, RIP) tell my brother, 6 years younger & pseudo-cousin same age that there would be 2 guys wearing helmets running into each other.
The boys watched the game with intent, but Basil Campbell & Phil Narkle (both legends) didn't come to the party for some reason.
Basil would have ironed out Phil. We won our first 13 games that yea, you won your last 14. Result made my parents happy though. Helped them get over 75.

Caan the Dogs. I was in the 3 tier stand. It was awesome.
We camped outside overnight. Just kids so we stayed up all night running a muck. People started standing up at first light so we had to stand in a crush for about four hours. We got flogged and all I wanted to do was sleep.

Hated that ‘80 GF … went to the next year’s with mates - glorious game of footy (WAFL at the level of VFL at that time) … really, really enjoyed the next three.

Tonight highlights how much we have been frozen out of the AFL and become one of the big losers since equalisation was abandoned.
The first round now comprises over half the draft.
We had no picks in it and won’t enter till around pick 40.
Clubs like the suns have been (by stealth) provided every possible opportunity for success by the AFL, who are happy to pay the price of compromising draft fairness and shafting clubs like ours to achieve their aim.
If you are not entering the draft till pick 38 you are mainly taking about scraps, and a lot more hits than misses. Suns getting 4 top 26 players - how are we ever to compete with that?
I think the decision to hold the R1 picks next year was good. I didn’t think the opportunity presented itself for a value trade into the first round. Would be interesting to know that we offered Geelong for pick 10?
Now we need to hold out on our R1 picks next year and not bend to crazy demands from Sydney for LMD, then take someone in the top 15 or so that is likely to be a genuine talent.
We will be fortunate to get one decent role player from this years draft. We just don’t have the draft capital to expect more than that.

I agree, the draft is compromised bullshit.
But one thing about Walls, he finds diamonds in the rough. I'd back him to pick someone who no-one else rates, and be bloody right about them. Our problem is keeping them.
Don't reckon he's that good at trading, just finding players others can't see

I agree, the draft is compromised bullshit.
But one thing about Walls, he finds diamonds in the rough. I'd back him to pick someone who no-one else rates, and be bloody right about them. Our problem is keeping them.
Don't reckon he's that good at trading, just finding players others can't see
I’d expect walls to pull someone from complete left field tomorrow. He rarely drafts sliders that have fallen down the order. For it to be a potential gem, it probably needs to be someone we have never heard of

Seems a general consensus that we are happy with these 3

We had others that we would have also been happy with, but all 3 address needs, short to longer term

3 vics? Should we be angry with that?

I enjoy reading vents

I am happy with the picks

I just wanted some cheap entertainment

I enjoy reading vents

I am happy with the picks

I just wanted some cheap entertainment
The same nuffies who think we should move heaven and earth for a single player with an overblown ego will be wetting themselves when one of these 3 makes their debut.

Seems a general consensus that we are happy with these 3

We had others that we would have also been happy with, but all 3 address needs, short to longer term

3 vics? Should we be angry with that?

Whatever about anything else, the fact the players are from Vic and SA means nothing.
Nuffies who think we should only draft WA players know very little about the reality of talent selection in the AFL

Roast Vent Here